Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the communication filed 6/10/2025.
Cancellation of claims 8 and 10, filed 6/10/2025, are acknowledged and accepted.
Amendments to claims 1, 5-7, and 9, filed 6/10/2025, are acknowledged and accepted.
As a result of the claim amendments and cancellations, the previous objection to claims 5-7 and rejections of claims 8-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are now withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments concerning rejections of claims 1-7, 9, and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues (pgs. 6-7) that the prior art relied upon in the previous office action does not teach a newly amended limitation included in claim 1. Examiner disagrees and notes that, upon remapping of the affected claim elements, the same prior art can be shown to teach all limitations recited in the newly amended claims – see rejections below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 6/24/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emura (US 5768038 A) in view of Kakuta (US 20100321805 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Emura discloses a lens driving device (see FIGs. 2-5), comprising:
a first movable part and a second movable part (moving frames 201 and 401) that are disposed in a direction of an optical axis and are capable of holding a first movable lens and a second movable lens (movable lens groups L2 and L4), respectively (see FIGs. 2 and 4, column 3 lines 27-31 and 58-59, column 4 lines 9-10);
a first driving part (comprising rotation stopper 202, guide bushing 203, and piezoelectric vibrator 803) and a second driving part (comprising guide bushing 402, rotation stopper 403, and piezoelectric vibrator 903), the first driving part and the second driving part being configured to drive the first movable part and the second movable part (moving frames 201 and 401) in the direction of the optical axis, respectively (see FIGs. 2-5; column 3 line 58 through column 4 line 22; column 5 lines 35-40 and 56-59); and
a guide part (guide poles 500 and 600) that is configured to guide movement of each of the first movable part and the second movable part (moving frames 201 and 401) in the direction of the optical axis (see FIGs. 2-5, column 3 lines 58-65, column 4 lines 9-15), wherein
the first driving part (rotation stopper 202, guide bushing 203, and piezoelectric vibrators 803) includes a first ultrasonic motor (piezoelectric vibrator 803 – note: as is known in the lens driving art, methods based on the piezoelectric effect often implement ultrasonic sources/motors; piezoelectric vibrator 803 is thus technically analogous to an ultrasonic motor) and a first frame (rotation stopper 202, guide bushing 203) connected (“integrally provided”) to the first movable part (moving frame 201) (see column 3 lines 58-65),
the second driving part (guide bushing 402, rotation stopper 403, and piezoelectric vibrator 903) includes a second ultrasonic motor (piezoelectric vibrator 903 – note: as is known in the lens driving art, methods based on the piezoelectric effect often implement ultrasonic sources/motors; piezoelectric vibrator 903 is thus technically analogous to an ultrasonic motor) and a second frame (guide bushing 402, rotation stopper 403) connected (“integrally provided”) to the second movable part (moving frame 401) (see column 4 lines 9-15), and
the guide part includes a plurality of guide shafts (guide poles 500 and 600) that extend in the direction of the optical axis and are disposed to be spaced apart from each other (see FIGs. 3, 4, and 5), the plurality of guide shafts (guide poles 500 and 600) being configured to cooperate to support both of the first frame (rotation stopper 202, guide bushing 203) and the second frame (guide bushing 402, rotation stopper 403) such that the first frame and the second frame are movable in the direction of the optical axis. (See FIGs. 2-5, column 3 lines 58-65, column 4 lines 9-15 – Emura states that moving frames 201/401 are integrally provided with guide bushings 203/402 and rotation stoppers 202/403 to engage with guide poles 500 and 600 and be made “slidable along the optical axis”.)
each of the plurality of guide shafts (guide poles 500 and 600) guides a movement of each of the first frame (rotation stopper 202, guide bushing 203) and the second frame (guide bushing 402, rotation stopper 403) by supporting both of the first frame and the second frame (see FIGs. 3-5).
Emura does not disclose:
a first driving part and a second driving part, both of which are disposed on one end side of opposite ends of the first movable part and the second movable part with respect to the optical axis,
a guide part that is disposed on the one end side
the first ultrasonic motor and the second ultrasonic motor are disposed side by side in the direction of the optical axis on the one end side, and are configured to respectively drive the first movable part and the second movable part independently in the direction of the optical axis, and
Emura and Kakuta are related as being directed to lens driving apparatuses for camera modules.
Kakuta discloses:
a first driving part and a second driving part (first/second drive means 21/31, including first/second piezoelectric motors 23/33), both of which are disposed on one end side of opposite ends of the first movable part and the second movable part (first/second lens-group holding frames 11/12) with respect to the optical axis (see FIG. 2 – first/second drive means 21/31 are disposed on the same side of first/second lens-group holding frames 11/12),
a guide part (first/second guide poles 20/30) that is disposed on the one end side (see FIG. 2).
the first ultrasonic motor and the second ultrasonic motor (first/second piezoelectric motors 23/33, included in first/second drive means 21/31) are disposed side by side in the direction of the optical axis on the one end side (see FIG. 2), and are configured to respectively drive the first movable part and the second movable part (first/second lens-group holding frames 11/12) independently in the direction of the optical axis (see ¶s 29-30, 35-36, 39-41, and 62-64).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Emura by implementing Kakuta’s lens driving device design, to allow for further reduction in overall device size (Kakuta Abstract, ¶s 16-19).
Regarding claim 2, modified Emura discloses the lens driving device according to claim 1.
Emura further discloses a restricting portion that is disposed between the first frame and the second frame in the direction of the optical axis, and is configured to restrict movement of the first frame and movement of the second frame. (Lens frame 301, holding fixed lens groups L3, is fixed between moving lens groups L2/L4 and associated moving frames 201/401 – corresponding to Applicant’s first/second movable parts which are connected to first/second frames. Lens frame 301 consequently serves to restrict the first and second frames’ range of motion/movement. See FIGs. 2 and 4, column 3 line 66 to column 4 line 8.)
Regarding claim 3, modified Emura discloses the lens driving device according to claim 1.
Emura further discloses (see FIGs. 2-5):
a housing (main barrel 100) that houses at least the first movable part, the second movable part (moving frames 201/401), the first driving part (rotation stopper 202, guide bushing 203, and piezoelectric vibrator 803), and the second driving part (comprising guide bushing 402, rotation stopper 403, and piezoelectric vibrator 903),
wherein the housing (main barrel 100) includes a bottom wall and a pair of walls, the pair of walls being disposed on both end sides of the optical axis and extending from the bottom wall (see annotated FIG. 3 below),
and the plurality of guide shafts include a first guide shaft and a second guide shaft (guide poles 500 and 600) supported by the pair of walls. (See FIG. 4, column 3 lines 43-49 – note: supporting portions, 105a/105b for guide pole 500 and 106a/106b for guide pole 600, extend from main barrel 100’s pair of walls (FIG. 4 is a plan view).)
[AltContent: textbox (Emura’s FIG. 3 is annotated to highlight main barrel 100’s bottom wall and pair of walls.)]
Regarding claim 5, modified Emura discloses the lens driving device according to claim 1.
Emura further discloses an absorbing part (rotation stoppers 202/403) for absorbing a deviation in a positional relationship (i.e. by preventing rotations) between the guide part (first/second guide poles 20/30) and at least one of the first frame (rotation stopper 202, guide bushing 203) and the second frame (guide bushing 402, rotation stopper 403).
Regarding claim 11 , modified Emura discloses a camera module (see column 3 lines 14-18 and FIGs. 2-5 which “show a lens device for video cameras”), comprising:
the lens driving device according to claim 1;
a lens part including the first movable lens and the second movable lens (movable lens groups L2 and L4) held by the first movable part and the second movable part (moving frames 201 and 401); and
the first movable lens and the second movable lens (movable lens groups L2 and L4) are driven in the direction of the optical axis (see column 3 lines 58-65, column 4 lines 9-15).
Kakuta further discloses an image capturing part (“image sensor (CCD)”) configured to capture a subject image imaged by the lens part (see ¶ 28).
Regarding claim 12, modified Emura discloses a camera-mounted device comprising the camera module according to claim 11.
Kakuta further discloses:
a camera-mounted device that is an information apparatus (mobile phone 101; see FIG. 2, ¶ 28) or a transporting apparatus,
an image capturing control part that processes image information obtained by the camera module (“image information is converted to an electrical signal and output”; see ¶ 28).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emura in view of Kakuta, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Ito et al (US 20060061233 A1) – henceforth referred to as “Ito”.
Regarding claim 4, modified Emura discloses the lens driving device according to claim 3.
Emura further discloses wherein the second guide shaft (guide pole 600) is disposed on the bottom wall side of the first guide shaft (guide pole 500). (See FIG. 3, where guide pole 600 is disposed below guide pole 500 – i.e., on the side closest to the bottom wall of main barrel 100).
Modified Emura does not disclose the bottom wall is provided with a bearing portion for the second guide shaft, the bearing portion being disposed in a range including a center of the second guide shaft between the opposite ends.
Emura and Ito are related as being directed to lens driving apparatuses for camera modules
Ito discloses the bottom wall (fixed to frame member 23) is provided with a bearing portion (shaft supporting members 24) for the second guide shaft (drive shafts 20 and 21), the bearing portion being disposed in a range including a center of the second guide shaft between the opposite ends.
(See FIG. 3, ¶s 43 and 51 – Ito discloses that plural shaft supporting members 24 are fixed to frame member 23. They support/bear drive shafts 20 and 21 for guided driving of lens holding frames 18 and 19, and they are distributed along nearly the entire length/range of the camera section 13.)
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the lens driving device of Emura with the teachings of Ito by providing the bottom wall with bearing portions (support members) for the second guide shaft – and to further to dispose them anywhere in a range that includes a center of the second guide shaft – in order to provide additional support for the second guide shaft and fortify the lens guidance mechanism.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emura in view of Kakuta, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yaegashi et al (JP 2018036416 A, hereinafter “Yaegashi”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Emura discloses the lens driving device according to claim 1.
Emura further discloses (see FIGs. 3-4) the plurality of guide shafts includes two guide shafts (guide poles 500 and 600) arranged in a predetermined direction.
Modified Emura does not disclose that at least one of the first frame and the second frame includes:
a first portion extending in the direction of the optical axis,
a second portion that extends in the predetermined direction from one end of the first portion and through which the two guide shafts pass, and
a third portion that extends in the predetermined direction from another end of the first portion and through which one of the two guide shafts passes, the third portion being disposed to be spaced apart from the other of the two guide shafts.
Emura and Yaegashi are related as being directed to lens driving apparatuses for camera modules.
Yaegashi discloses (see annotated FIG. 7A below) that at least one of the first frame and the second frame includes:
a first portion extending in the direction of the optical axis,
a second portion that extends in the predetermined direction from one end of the first portion and through which the two guide shafts pass, and
a third portion that extends in the predetermined direction from another end of the first portion and through which one of the two guide shafts passes, the third portion being disposed to be spaced apart from the other of the two guide shafts.
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Emura so that either one or two guide shafts pass through different frame portions, as taught by Yaegashi, in order to open up additional space in the lens driving device and make room for additional optical components (e.g., Yaegashi’s diaphragm unit 123, shown in FIG. 7A below).
[AltContent: textbox (Yaegashi’s FIG. 7A has been annotated to highlight the predetermined direction and first/second/third portions of a frame (second lens group holder 122).)]
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emura in view of Kakuta, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kajino (US 20190103823 A1).
Regarding claim 7, modified Emura discloses the lens driving device according to claim 1.
Emura further discloses the first driving part and the second driving part include:
an interposition part (vibrator supporting frame 800) interposed between the first ultrasonic motor (piezoelectric vibrator 803) and the first frame (rotation stopper 202, guide bushing 203) (see column 5 lines 19-40, FIGs. 2-4; vibrating support frame 800 encloses piezoelectric vibrator 203 and is attached to guide bushing portion 203 – thus interposing the two) and
an interposition part (sliding surface 902) interposed between the second ultrasonic motor (piezoelectric vibrator 903) and the second frame (guide bushing 402, rotation stopper 403) (see column 5 lines 41-55; FIGs. 4-5; sliding surface 902 is provided on guide bushing 402 and contacts piezoelectric vibrator 903’s contact portion 901 – thus interposing the two), respectively.
Modified Emura does not disclose
wherein each ultrasonic motor includes a resonant portion including a first oscillator and a second oscillator that resonate,
the interposition part includes:
a pair of contact portions that are disposed to sandwich the resonant portion and make contact with the first oscillator and the second oscillator, respectively, and
a main body portion connecting the pair of contact portions, and
each of the contact portions includes a wear suppressing portion for suppressing wear caused by contact with one of the first oscillator and the second oscillator.
Emura and Kajino are related as being directed to (lens) driving based on the piezoelectric effect.
Kajino discloses:
wherein each ultrasonic motor (piezoelectric drive device 1) includes a resonant portion including a first oscillator and a second oscillator that resonate (piezoelectric element(s) 5(A-E) expand and contract according to oscillatory drive signals; see FIGs. 2-7, ¶s 61-62. Note: like virtually all forms of matter, the piezoelectric ceramics – recited in ¶ 64 for manufacturing piezoelectric elements 5(A-E) – have resonant frequencies and may be driven to resonate (notwithstanding effects like damping which may render such resonance negligible)),
the interposition part includes:
a pair of contact portions (vibration portions 31 and 41) that are disposed to sandwich the resonant portion and make contact with the first oscillator and the second oscillator (piezoelectric element(s) 5(A-E) are sandwiched by and in contact with vibration portions 31 and 41; see FIG. 2, ¶ 61), respectively, and
a main body portion (piezoelectric body 51) connecting the pair of contact portions (see FIG. 2, ¶ 62), and
each of the contact portions (vibration portions 31 and 41) includes a wear suppressing portion (transfer portion 14) for suppressing wear caused by contact with one of the first oscillator and the second oscillator (piezoelectric element(s) 5(A-E)). (See ¶s 57 and 61-62, regarding durability of transfer portion 14 and efficient transfer of vibrations generated by piezoelectric element(s) 5(A-E)).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Emura’s first/second driving parts and associated ultrasonic motors according to the design and teachings of Kajino, in order to achieve more accurate and efficient piezoelectric/ultrasonic drive that is easier to control (Kajino ¶s 26-29).
Regarding claim 9, modified Emura discloses the lens driving device according to claim 7.
Kajino further discloses wherein the wear suppressing portion (transfer portion 14) is formed of ceramic (e.g., zirconia ceramic; see ¶ 57).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872