DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to the amendment filed 10/27/2025. Claims 1-7, 12-27, and 30-33 are pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/19/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final on 07/25/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, 12-27, and 30-33 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2012/0314587 to Florean Curticapean (hereafter Curticapean).
Regarding claim 1, Curticapean discloses a wireless node, comprising:
at least one transceiver wireless node, comprising: at least one transceiver an interface configured to receive, from a first base station (BS) serving the wireless node, a measurement configuration (see Curticapean, ¶ 0003: An indication of round-trip time (RTT) measurement information is received at the communication device from the master access point; ¶ 0014: The master access point can also transmit an RTT measurement message comprising the RTT timing information to the communication device; ¶ 0021: the AP positioning unit 110 transmits an RTT measurement control message comprising an indication of the RTT timing information and AP position information. After the AP positioning unit 110 determines the RTT timing information (as described above in stages A-B), the AP positioning unit 110 can broadcast the RTT measurement control message comprising the RTT timing information; ¶ 0060: a control message indicating the start of an RTT measurement sequence between a master access point and a target access point is detected at a client station. In some implementations, the master access point 102 may be configured to automatically initiate the RTT measurement sequence at periodic time intervals. The master access point 102 may broadcast a "RTT measurement initiated" control message to notify all the client stations in the communication range of the master access point 102 regarding the start of the RTT measurement sequence. The "RTT measurement initiated" control message can comprise an indication of a time instant at which the RTT request message will be transmitted (e.g., to ensure that the client stations are listening at the appropriate time instant), a communication channel via which the RTT request message will be transmitted, an identifier of the target access point 104, etc) that is based on a timing difference between the first BS and one or more second BSs (see Curticapean, ¶ 0003: one or more request messages and one or more corresponding response messages exchanged between a master access point of a wireless communication network and one or more target access points of the wireless communication network are detected at a communication device of the wireless communication network. Time difference of arrival (TDOA) information is determined at the communication device based, at least in part, on the one or more request messages and the one or more corresponding response messages exchanged between the master access point and the one or more target access points….. The RTT measurement information is determined by the master access point based, at least in part, on the one or more request messages and the one or more corresponding response messages exchanged between the master access point and the one or more target access points; ¶ 0014: The master access point can determine RTT timing information associated with the one or more target access points based on the time difference between an RTT request message transmitted by the master access point and a corresponding RTT response message transmitted by the target access point….. determine TDOA timing information based on the time difference of arrival between the RTT request message and the corresponding RTT response message); and
a processing system configured to perform a measurement procedure by using one or more signals from the one or more second BSs, in accordance with the measurement configuration (see Curticapean, ¶ 0037: the client station 112 can transmit a "start RTT measurement sequence" trigger message to the master access point 102 to cause the AP positioning unit 110 to initiate the RTT measurement sequence with one or more target access points 104, 106, and 108).
Regarding claim 7, Curticapean discloses a method of wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (see Curticapean, Fig 1, client station 106), comprising:
receiving, from a first base station (BS) serving the UE, a measurement configuration (see Curticapean, ¶ 0003: An indication of round-trip time (RTT) measurement information is received at the communication device from the master access point; ¶ 0014: The master access point can also transmit an RTT measurement message comprising the RTT timing information to the communication device; ¶ 0021: the AP positioning unit 110 transmits an RTT measurement control message comprising an indication of the RTT timing information and AP position information. After the AP positioning unit 110 determines the RTT timing information (as described above in stages A-B), the AP positioning unit 110 can broadcast the RTT measurement control message comprising the RTT timing information; ¶ 0060: a control message indicating the start of an RTT measurement sequence between a master access point and a target access point is detected at a client station. In some implementations, the master access point 102 may be configured to automatically initiate the RTT measurement sequence at periodic time intervals. The master access point 102 may broadcast a "RTT measurement initiated" control message to notify all the client stations in the communication range of the master access point 102 regarding the start of the RTT measurement sequence. The "RTT measurement initiated" control message can comprise an indication of a time instant at which the RTT request message will be transmitted (e.g., to ensure that the client stations are listening at the appropriate time instant), a communication channel via which the RTT request message will be transmitted, an identifier of the target access point 104, etc) that is based on a timing difference between the first BS and one or more second BSs (see Curticapean, ¶ 0003: one or more request messages and one or more corresponding response messages exchanged between a master access point of a wireless communication network and one or more target access points of the wireless communication network are detected at a communication device of the wireless communication network. Time difference of arrival (TDOA) information is determined at the communication device based, at least in part, on the one or more request messages and the one or more corresponding response messages exchanged between the master access point and the one or more target access points….. The RTT measurement information is determined by the master access point based, at least in part, on the one or more request messages and the one or more corresponding response messages exchanged between the master access point and the one or more target access points; ¶ 0014: The master access point can determine RTT timing information associated with the one or more target access points based on the time difference between an RTT request message transmitted by the master access point and a corresponding RTT response message transmitted by the target access point….. determine TDOA timing information based on the time difference of arrival between the RTT request message and the corresponding RTT response message); and
performing a measurement procedure by using the one or more signals, in accordance with the measurement configuration (see Curticapean, ¶ 0037: the client station 112 can transmit a "start RTT measurement sequence" trigger message to the master access point 102 to cause the AP positioning unit 110 to initiate the RTT measurement sequence with one or more target access points 104, 106, and 108).
Regarding claim 35, Curticapean discloses the wireless node of claim 1, further comprising at least one antenna coupled to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one transceiver is configured to receive the measurement configuration via the at least one antenna, wherein the wireless node is configured as a user equipment (UE) (see Curticapean, Fig 2, client station 112; ¶ 0028: The time interval 216 can represent the propagation time interval inside the receiver unit associated with the client station 112 (e.g., between the receiver antenna associated with the client station 112 receiving the positioning control messages and the processing units associated with the client station 112 processing the positioning control messages)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0314587 to Florean Curticapean (hereafter Curticapean) in view of US 2020/0358547 to Liu et al. (hereafter Liu).
Regarding claim 2, Curticapean discloses the wireless node of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the timing difference comprises at least one of a system frame number offset, a slot offset, or a symbol offset.
However, Liu discloses wherein the timing difference comprises at least one of a system frame number offset, a slot offset, or a symbol offset (see Liu, ¶ 0096: the UE may calculate the timing difference between serving cell and target cell. In some embodiments, the timing difference may include an SFN offset, a frame boundary offset and a subframe boundary offset between the serving cell and the target cell).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Liu and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean for efficient cell management and cell information acquisition and reporting in the network system (see Liu, ¶ 0004).
Regarding claim 4, Curticapean discloses the wireless node of claim 1, Curticapean does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement configuration comprises an indication of a measurement window associated with measuring the one or more signals from the one or more second BSs.
However, Liu discloses wherein the measurement configuration comprises an indication of a measurement window associated with measuring the one or more signals from the one or more second BSs (see Liu, ¶ 0038; ¶ 0039; ¶ 0112).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Liu and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean for efficient cell management and cell information acquisition and reporting in network system (see Liu, ¶ 0004).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0314587 to Florean Curticapean (hereafter Curticapean) in view of US 2020/0358547 to Liu et al. (hereafter Liu), and further in view of US Pub. 2019/0110254 to Yerramalli et al. (hereafter Yerramalli).
Regarding claim 3, Curticapean in view of Liu discloses the wireless node of claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the slot offset or the symbol offset is based on (i) a subcarrier spacing of one of the one or more second BSs or (ii) a subcarrier spacing of the first BS, or (iii) a highest subcarrier spacing between the first BS and the one or more second BSs.
However, Yerramalli discloses wherein at least one of the slot offset or the symbol offset is based on (i) a subcarrier spacing of one of the one or more second BSs or (ii) a subcarrier spacing of the first BS, or (iii) a highest subcarrier spacing between the first BS and the one or more second BSs (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0055: low band and high band transmissions may use different subcarrier spacing (SCS) and different timing requirements. Thus, if a low band carrier is synchronized within plus or minus two microseconds, such a timing difference may equate to an offset of one or more orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in a high band carrier; ¶ 0103: The first UE 115-a, in some cases, may derive the timing difference between low band transmissions 240 and the high band transmissions 225 in terms of a sampling rate associated with the high band transmissions 225. The timing difference may include a timing offset between reference subframes, slots, symbols, samples, or any combination of those or other timing or scheduling units included within a carrier utilizing low band transmissions 240 and another carrier utilizing high band transmissions 225; ¶ 0123: A UE 115 or a base station 105 may in some cases convert a timing difference for two carriers measured or indicated in terms of other timing or scheduling units into a timing offset between slots based on information about the two carriers (e.g., frequency, SCS, number of symbols per slot or subframe, number of samples per symbol, etc.); ¶ 0140: The relatively high band carrier may include HB slots 510. In some cases, the low band carrier may have an SCS of 30 kHz while the high band carrier may have an SCS of 480 kHZ. HB slots 510 may be offset relative to LB slots 505 by a timing difference 525).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Yerramalli and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean to achieve efficient communication on carriers in the communication system (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0004).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0314587 to Florean Curticapean (hereafter Curticapean) in view of US Pub. 2019/0110254 to Yerramalli et al. (hereafter Yerramalli).
Regarding claim 5, Curticapean discloses the wireless node of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein: the first BS is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) and a first duplexing mode; the one or more second BSs are associated with a second RAT and a second duplexing mode; and the measurement configuration is based on at least one of the first RAT, the first duplexing mode, the second RAT, or the second duplexing mode.
However, Yerramalli discloses the first BS is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0086; ¶ 0087) and a first duplexing mode (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0088);
the one or more second BSs are associated with a second RAT (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0086; ¶ 0087) and a second duplexing mode (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0088); and
the measurement configuration is based on at least one of the first RAT, the first duplexing mode, the second RAT, or the second duplexing mode (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0086-¶ 0088).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Yerramalli and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean to achieve efficient communication on carriers in the communication system (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0004).
Regarding claim 6, Curticapean in view of Yerramalli discloses the wireless node of claim 5, Curticapean does not explicitly disclose wherein: (i) the first RAT is Long Term Evolution (LTE), the first duplexing mode is frequency division duplexing (FDD), the second RAT is New Radio (NR), and the second duplexing mode is time division duplexing (TDD); (ii) the first RAT is LTE, the first duplexing mode is TDD, the second RAT is NR, and the second duplexing mode is TDD; (iii) the first RAT is NR, the first duplexing mode is FDD, the second RAT is NR, and the second duplexing mode is FDD; or (iv) the first RAT is NR, the first duplexing mode is TDD, the second RAT is LTE, and the second duplexing mode is FDD.
However, Yerramalli discloses wherein: (i) the first RAT is Long Term Evolution (LTE), the first duplexing mode is frequency division duplexing (FDD), the second RAT is New Radio (NR), and the second duplexing mode is time division duplexing (TDD); (ii) the first RAT is LTE, the first duplexing mode is TDD, the second RAT is NR, and the second duplexing mode is TDD; (iii) the first RAT is NR, the first duplexing mode is FDD, the second RAT is NR, and the second duplexing mode is FDD; or (iv) the first RAT is NR, the first duplexing mode is TDD, the second RAT is LTE, and the second duplexing mode is FDD (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0061: The wireless communications system 100 includes base stations 105, UEs 115, and a core network 130. In some examples, the wireless communications system 100 may be a Long Term Evolution (LTE) network, an LTE-Advanced (LTE-A) network, or a New Radio (NR) network; ¶ 0064: The wireless communications system 100 may include, for example, a heterogeneous LTE/LTE-A or NR network in which different types of base stations 105 provide coverage for various geographic coverage areas 110; ¶ 0076: wireless communications system 100 may employ License Assisted Access (LAA), LTE-Unlicensed (LTE-U) radio access technology, or NR technology in an unlicensed band such as the 5 GHz ISM band. When operating in unlicensed radio frequency spectrum bands, wireless devices such as base stations 105 and UEs 115 may employ listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures to ensure a frequency channel is clear before transmitting data. In some cases, operations in unlicensed bands may be based on a CA configuration in conjunction with CCs operating in a licensed band (e.g., LAA). Operations in unlicensed spectrum may include downlink transmissions, uplink transmissions, peer-to-peer transmissions, or a combination of these. Duplexing in unlicensed spectrum may be based on frequency division duplexing (FDD), time division duplexing (TDD), or a combination of both; ¶ 0086: Carriers may be downlink or uplink (e.g., in an FDD mode), or be configured to carry downlink and uplink communications (e.g., in a TDD mode); ¶ 0087: The organizational structure of the carriers may be different for different radio access technologies (e.g., LTE, LTE-A, NR, etc.)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Yerramalli and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean to achieve efficient communication on carriers in the communication system (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0004).
Claim(s) 12, 27, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0314587 to Florean Curticapean (hereafter Curticapean) in view of US 2017/0295568 to Takeda et al. (hereafter Takeda).
Regarding claim 12, Curticapean discloses a network node (see Curticapean, Fig 1, master access point 102), comprising:
a processing system configured to obtain a timing difference between the network node and one or more base stations (BSs) or at least one transceiver configured to receive the timing difference between the network node and the one or more BSs (see Curticapean, ¶ 0003: one or more request messages and one or more corresponding response messages exchanged between a master access point of a wireless communication network and one or more target access points of the wireless communication network are detected at a communication device of the wireless communication network. Time difference of arrival (TDOA) information is determined at the communication device based, at least in part, on the one or more request messages and the one or more corresponding response messages exchanged between the master access point and the one or more target access points….. The RTT measurement information is determined by the master access point based, at least in part, on the one or more request messages and the one or more corresponding response messages exchanged between the master access point and the one or more target access points; ¶ 0014: The master access point can determine RTT timing information associated with the one or more target access points based on the time difference between an RTT request message transmitted by the master access point and a corresponding RTT response message transmitted by the target access point….. determine TDOA timing information based on the time difference of arrival between the RTT request message and the corresponding RTT response message); and
the at least one transceiver is configured to transmit a measurement configuration to a user equipment (UE) served by the network node, the measurement configuration being associated with measuring one or more signals from the one or more BSs and being based on the timing difference between the network node and the one or more BSs (see Curticapean, ¶ 0003: An indication of round-trip time (RTT) measurement information is received at the communication device from the master access point; ¶ 0014: The master access point can also transmit an RTT measurement message comprising the RTT timing information to the communication device…. The master access point can determine RTT timing information associated with the one or more target access points based on the time difference between an RTT request message transmitted by the master access point and a corresponding RTT response message transmitted by the target access point….. determine TDOA timing information based on the time difference of arrival between the RTT request message and the corresponding RTT response message; ¶ 0021: the AP positioning unit 110 transmits an RTT measurement control message comprising an indication of the RTT timing information and AP position information. After the AP positioning unit 110 determines the RTT timing information (as described above in stages A-B), the AP positioning unit 110 can broadcast the RTT measurement control message comprising the RTT timing information; ¶ 0060: a control message indicating the start of an RTT measurement sequence between a master access point and a target access point is detected at a client station. In some implementations, the master access point 102 may be configured to automatically initiate the RTT measurement sequence at periodic time intervals. The master access point 102 may broadcast a "RTT measurement initiated" control message to notify all the client stations in the communication range of the master access point 102 regarding the start of the RTT measurement sequence. The "RTT measurement initiated" control message can comprise an indication of a time instant at which the RTT request message will be transmitted (e.g., to ensure that the client stations are listening at the appropriate time instant), a communication channel via which the RTT request message will be transmitted, an identifier of the target access point 104, etc).
Curticapean does not explicitly disclose wherein: the network node is in an asynchronous timing configuration with respect to the one or more BSs.
However, Takeda discloses the network node is in an asynchronous timing configuration with respect to the one or more BSs (see Takeda, ¶ 0049: it is conceivable for a case in which although the master base station MeNB and the secondary base station SeNB are asynchronous, the transmission timing difference between the cell groups at the user terminal is within the predetermined value. In this case, it is possible for the asynchronous dual connectivity to occur at a constant rate, and this cannot be resolved by station placement, etc., so long as the master base station MeNB and the secondary base station SeNB are asynchronous).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Takeda and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean achieve a control for synchronous dual connectivity and a control for asynchronous dual connectivity (see Takeda, ¶ 0011).
Regarding claim 27, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 12. Although phrased as a method claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 12.
Regarding claim 36, Curticapean in view of Takeda discloses the network node of claim 12, further comprising at least one antenna coupled to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one transceiver is configured to receive the timing difference and to transmit the measurement configuration via the at least one antenna, wherein the network node is configured as a base station (see Curticapean, Fig 2, master access point 102; ¶ 0025: the time interval 202 can represent the elapsed time between the master access point 102 generating the RTT request message and the transmit antenna associated with the master access point 102 transmitting the RTT request message to the target access point 104. Likewise, the time interval 218 can represent the elapsed time between the receiver antenna associated with the master access point 102 receiving the RTT response message and the processing units associated with the master access point 104 receiving the RTT request message for subsequent processing; ¶ 0028: the transit time between the transmit antenna associated with the master access point 102 and a receive antenna associated with the client station 112).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0314587 to Florean Curticapean (hereafter Curticapean) in view of US 2017/0295568 to Takeda et al. (hereafter Takeda) and further in view of in view of US 2020/0358547 to Liu et al. (hereafter Liu).
Regarding claim 13, Curticapean in view of Takeda discloses the network node of claim 12, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the timing difference comprises at least one of a system frame number offset, a slot offset, or a symbol offset.
However, Liu discloses wherein the timing difference comprises at least one of a system frame number offset, a slot offset, or a symbol offset (see Liu, ¶ 0096: the UE may calculate the timing difference between serving cell and target cell. In some embodiments, the timing difference may include an SFN offset, a frame boundary offset and a subframe boundary offset between the serving cell and the target cell).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Liu and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean for efficient cell management and cell information acquisition and reporting in the network system (see Liu, ¶ 0004).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0314587 to Florean Curticapean (hereafter Curticapean) in view of US 2017/0295568 to Takeda et al. (hereafter Takeda) and US 2020/0358547 to Liu et al. (hereafter Liu), and further in view of US Pub. 2019/0110254 to Yerramalli et al. (hereafter Yerramalli).
Regarding claim 14, Curticapean in view of Liu discloses the network node of claim 13, but does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the slot offset or the symbol offset is based on (i) a subcarrier spacing of one of the one or more second BSs or (ii) a subcarrier spacing of the network node, or (iii) a highest subcarrier spacing between the network node and the one or more second BSs.
However, Yerramalli discloses wherein at least one of the slot offset or the symbol offset is based on (i) a subcarrier spacing of one of the one or more second BSs or (ii) a subcarrier spacing of the network node, or (iii) a highest subcarrier spacing between the network node and the one or more second BSs (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0055: low band and high band transmissions may use different subcarrier spacing (SCS) and different timing requirements. Thus, if a low band carrier is synchronized within plus or minus two microseconds, such a timing difference may equate to an offset of one or more orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in a high band carrier; ¶ 0103: The first UE 115-a, in some cases, may derive the timing difference between low band transmissions 240 and the high band transmissions 225 in terms of a sampling rate associated with the high band transmissions 225. The timing difference may include a timing offset between reference subframes, slots, symbols, samples, or any combination of those or other timing or scheduling units included within a carrier utilizing low band transmissions 240 and another carrier utilizing high band transmissions 225; ¶ 0123: A UE 115 or a base station 105 may in some cases convert a timing difference for two carriers measured or indicated in terms of other timing or scheduling units into a timing offset between slots based on information about the two carriers (e.g., frequency, SCS, number of symbols per slot or subframe, number of samples per symbol, etc.); ¶ 0140: The relatively high band carrier may include HB slots 510. In some cases, the low band carrier may have an SCS of 30 kHz while the high band carrier may have an SCS of 480 kHZ. HB slots 510 may be offset relative to LB slots 505 by a timing difference 525).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Yerramalli and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean to achieve efficient communication on carriers in the communication system (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0004).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0314587 to Florean Curticapean (hereafter Curticapean) in view of US 2017/0295568 to Takeda et al. (hereafter Takeda) and further in view of US 2019/0110254 to Yerramalli et al. (hereafter Yerramalli).
Regarding claim 15, Curticapean in view of Takeda discloses the network node of claim 12, but does not explicitly disclose wherein: the network node is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) and a first duplexing mode; the one or more BSs are associated with a second RAT and a second duplexing mode; and the measurement configuration is based on at least one of the first RAT, the first duplexing mode, the second RAT, or the second duplexing mode.
However, Yerramalli discloses the network node is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0086; ¶ 0087) and a first duplexing mode (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0088);
the one or more BSs are associated with a second RAT (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0086; ¶ 0087) and a second duplexing mode (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0088); and
the measurement configuration is based on at least one of the first RAT, the first duplexing mode, the second RAT, or the second duplexing mode (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0086-¶ 0088).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Yerramalli and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean to achieve efficient communication on carriers in the communication system (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0004).
Claim(s) 16-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0314587 to Florean Curticapean (hereafter Curticapean) in view of US 2017/0295568 to Takeda et al. (hereafter Takeda) and US 2019/0110254 to Yerramalli et al. (hereafter Yerramalli) and further in view of US Pub. 2009/0207814 to ISHII et al. (hereafter Ishii).
Regarding claim 16, Curticapean in view of Takeda and Yerramalli discloses the network node of claim 15, wherein:
Yerramalli discloses the timing difference is a single timing difference value (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0005: the UE may measure a timing difference between transmissions in the first frequency band and one or more of the transmissions in the second frequency band. The UE may transmit an indication of the timing difference to a base station, and the base station may determine a connectivity mode that the UE is to use to establish a connection using a second carrier in the second frequency band based, at least in part, on the timing difference; ¶ 0019: determining that the UE is to use the asynchronous carrier aggregation mode for communications using the second carrier in the second frequency band based at least in part on the timing difference may include comparing the timing difference to a threshold timing difference); and
the processing system is further configured to set the single timing difference value to a difference between the first time stamp and the second time stamp (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0056: the UE may measure the timing difference between a reference timing unit (e.g., subframe, slot, etc.) of the low band carrier and a reference timing unit (e.g., subframe, slot, etc.) of the high band carrier).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Yerramalli and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean to achieve efficient communication on carriers in the communication system (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0004).
Curticapean in view of Takeda and Yerramalli does not explicitly disclose “the at least one transceiver is further configured to transmit a synchronization request comprising a first time stamp to one of the one or more BSs via a network interface between the network node and the one BS; and
receive, from the one BS via the network interface, a synchronization response comprising at least a second time stamp”.
However, Ishii discloses the at least one transceiver is further configured to transmit a synchronization request comprising a first time stamp to one of the one or more BSs via a network interface between the network node and the one BS (see Ishii, ¶ 0044: the radio network controller 10 transmits a node synchronization request signal to the base station 20A (or 20B) and the base station 20A (or 20B) transmits a node synchronization response signal to the radio network controller 10 in response to the node synchronization request signal); and
receive, from the one BS via the network interface, a synchronization response comprising at least a second time stamp (see Ishii, ¶ 0044: the radio network controller 10 transmits a node synchronization request signal to the base station 20A (or 20B) and the base station 20A (or 20B) transmits a node synchronization response signal to the radio network controller 10 in response to the node synchronization request signal); and
the processing system is further configured to set the single timing difference value to a difference between the first time stamp and the second time stamp (see Ishii, ¶ 0014: the cell unique timing offset being a difference between transmission timing of a base station common frame which is common in the base station and transmission timing of a cell unique frame which is unique to each of the plurality of cells, the cell common channel timing offset being a difference between the transmission timing of the cell unique frame and transmission timing of a cell common channel frame which is common in the plurality of cells; ¶ 0096: the cell unique timing offset is a difference between transmission timing of a base station common frame which is common in the base station 20A (or 20B) and transmission timing of a cell unique frame which is unique to each of the plurality of cells 1-1 to 2-2; ¶ 0103).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Ishii and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean to improve reception quality of communication system (see Ishii, ¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 17, Curticapean in view of Takeda and Yerramalli and Ishii discloses the network node of claim 16, Yerramalli further discloses wherein:
the first RAT is Long Term Evolution (LTE) and the first duplexing mode is frequency division duplexing (FDD); and the second RAT is New Radio (NR) and the second duplexing mode is time division duplexing (TDD) (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0061: The wireless communications system 100 includes base stations 105, UEs 115, and a core network 130. In some examples, the wireless communications system 100 may be a Long Term Evolution (LTE) network, an LTE-Advanced (LTE-A) network, or a New Radio (NR) network; ¶ 0064: The wireless communications system 100 may include, for example, a heterogeneous LTE/LTE-A or NR network in which different types of base stations 105 provide coverage for various geographic coverage areas 110; ¶ 0076: wireless communications system 100 may employ License Assisted Access (LAA), LTE-Unlicensed (LTE-U) radio access technology, or NR technology in an unlicensed band such as the 5 GHz ISM band. When operating in unlicensed radio frequency spectrum bands, wireless devices such as base stations 105 and UEs 115 may employ listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures to ensure a frequency channel is clear before transmitting data. In some cases, operations in unlicensed bands may be based on a CA configuration in conjunction with CCs operating in a licensed band (e.g., LAA). Operations in unlicensed spectrum may include downlink transmissions, uplink transmissions, peer-to-peer transmissions, or a combination of these. Duplexing in unlicensed spectrum may be based on frequency division duplexing (FDD), time division duplexing (TDD), or a combination of both; ¶ 0086: Carriers may be downlink or uplink (e.g., in an FDD mode), or be configured to carry downlink and uplink communications (e.g., in a TDD mode); ¶ 0087: The organizational structure of the carriers may be different for different radio access technologies (e.g., LTE, LTE-A, NR, etc.)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Yerramalli and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean to achieve efficient communication on carriers in the communication system (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0004).
Regarding claim 18, Curticapean in view of Takeda and Yerramalli and Ishii discloses the network node of claim 16, Yerramalli further discloses wherein: the first RAT is Long Term Evolution (LTE) and the first duplexing mode is time division duplexing (TDD); and the second RAT is New Radio (NR) and the second duplexing mode is TDD (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0061: The wireless communications system 100 includes base stations 105, UEs 115, and a core network 130. In some examples, the wireless communications system 100 may be a Long Term Evolution (LTE) network, an LTE-Advanced (LTE-A) network, or a New Radio (NR) network; ¶ 0064: The wireless communications system 100 may include, for example, a heterogeneous LTE/LTE-A or NR network in which different types of base stations 105 provide coverage for various geographic coverage areas 110; ¶ 0076: wireless communications system 100 may employ License Assisted Access (LAA), LTE-Unlicensed (LTE-U) radio access technology, or NR technology in an unlicensed band such as the 5 GHz ISM band. When operating in unlicensed radio frequency spectrum bands, wireless devices such as base stations 105 and UEs 115 may employ listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures to ensure a frequency channel is clear before transmitting data. In some cases, operations in unlicensed bands may be based on a CA configuration in conjunction with CCs operating in a licensed band (e.g., LAA). Operations in unlicensed spectrum may include downlink transmissions, uplink transmissions, peer-to-peer transmissions, or a combination of these. Duplexing in unlicensed spectrum may be based on frequency division duplexing (FDD), time division duplexing (TDD), or a combination of both; ¶ 0086: Carriers may be downlink or uplink (e.g., in an FDD mode), or be configured to carry downlink and uplink communications (e.g., in a TDD mode); ¶ 0087: The organizational structure of the carriers may be different for different radio access technologies (e.g., LTE, LTE-A, NR, etc.)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Yerramalli and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean to achieve efficient communication on carriers in the communication system (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0004).
Regarding claim 19, Curticapean in view of Takeda and Yerramalli and Ishii discloses the apparatus of claim 16, Yerramalli further discloses wherein: the processing system is further configured to determine a measurement window associated with measuring the one or more signals from the one or more BSs, based on the single timing difference value; and the measurement configuration comprises the measurement window (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0006: the base station may configure the UE to observe at least a minimum amount of reporting delay between receiving a downlink transmission via the second carrier and sending a related uplink transmission via the first carrier. For example, the base station may configure the UE to observe at least a minimum amount of delay between receiving a packet via the second carrier and reporting (e.g., transmitting) an acknowledgement for the packet via the first carrier. As another example, the base station may configure the UE to observe at least a minimum amount of delay between receiving a packet via the second carrier and reporting (e.g., transmitting) channel state information (CSI) corresponding to the packet via the first carrier; ¶ 0030: instructions for measuring a processing time for the packet, and transmitting an indication of the processing time to the base station; ¶ 0031: measuring a second slot duration for the second carrier, and transmitting an indication of the second slot duration for the second carrier to the base station. Some examples of the method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described above may further include processes, features, means, or instructions for measuring at least one of an uplink timing advance for the first carrier, a processing time for the packet, or a second slot duration for the second carrier, and transmitting an indication of at least one of the uplink timing advance, the processing time, or the second slot duration for the second carrier, to the base station; ¶ 0206: In some cases, measuring the timing difference includes deriving the timing difference based on a common timing reference used to measure timing of transmissions of both the first frequency band and the second frequency band. Timing component 1325 may also measure an uplink timing advance for the first carrier, measure a processing time for the packet, measure a second slot duration for the second carrier, and measure the timing difference in terms of a sampling rate associated with the second frequency band; ¶ 0104).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Yerramalli and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean to achieve efficient communication on carriers in the communication system (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0004).
Regarding claim 20, Curticapean in view of Takeda and Yerramalli discloses the network node of claim 15, wherein:
Yerramalli discloses the timing difference comprises a plurality of timing difference values (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0059: The UE may derive timing differences based at least in part on a common timing reference used to measure timing of transmissions of both the high band and the low band transmissions. In some cases, the UE may measure and report timing differences in terms of a sampling rate associated with the high band transmissions. The UE may provide reports including measured timing differences; ¶ 0145: In some cases, the UE 115-d may be configured to detect and measure timing differences between transmissions of two or more base stations 105, and report the measured timing differences to a serving base station 105); and
the processing system is further configured to, for each second time stamp received from a second BS, set a different one of the plurality of timing difference values to a difference between the first time stamp and the second time stamp (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0056: the UE may measure the timing difference between a reference timing unit (e.g., subframe, slot, etc.) of the low band carrier and a reference timing unit (e.g., subframe, slot, etc.) of the high band carrier; ¶ 0059: The UE may derive timing differences based at least in part on a common timing reference used to measure timing of transmissions of both the high band and the low band transmissions. In some cases, the UE may measure and report timing differences in terms of a sampling rate associated with the high band transmissions).
Curticapean in view of Takeda and Yerramalli does not explicitly disclose “the at least one transceiver is further configured to transmit a synchronization request comprising a first time stamp to each of the one or more BSs via a network interface between the network node and the BS;
receive, from each of the one or more BSs via the network interface, a synchronization response comprising at least a second time stamp”.
However, Ishii discloses the at least one transceiver is further configured to transmit a synchronization request comprising a first time stamp to each of the one or more BSs via a network interface between the network node and the BS (see Ishii, ¶ 0044: the radio network controller 10 transmits a node synchronization request signal to the base station 20A (or 20B) and the base station 20A (or 20B) transmits a node synchronization response signal to the radio network controller 10 in response to the node synchronization request signal); and
receive, from each of the one or more BSs via the network interface, a synchronization response comprising at least a second time stamp (see Ishii, ¶ 0044: the radio network controller 10 transmits a node synchronization request signal to the base station 20A (or 20B) and the base station 20A (or 20B) transmits a node synchronization response signal to the radio network controller 10 in response to the node synchronization request signal); and
the processing system is further configured to, for each second time stamp received from a second BS, set a different one of the plurality of timing difference values to a difference between the first time stamp and the second time stamp (see Ishii, ¶ 0014: the cell unique timing offset being a difference between transmission timing of a base station common frame which is common in the base station and transmission timing of a cell unique frame which is unique to each of the plurality of cells, the cell common channel timing offset being a difference between the transmission timing of the cell unique frame and transmission timing of a cell common channel frame which is common in the plurality of cells; ¶ 0096: the cell unique timing offset is a difference between transmission timing of a base station common frame which is common in the base station 20A (or 20B) and transmission timing of a cell unique frame which is unique to each of the plurality of cells 1-1 to 2-2; ¶ 0103).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Ishii and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean to improve reception quality of communication system (see Ishii, ¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 21, Curticapean in view of Takeda and Yerramalli and Ishii discloses the network node of claim 20, Yerramalli discloses wherein: the first RAT is New Radio (NR) and the first duplexing mode is frequency division duplexing (FDD); and the second RAT is NR and the second duplexing mode is FDD (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0061: The wireless communications system 100 includes base stations 105, UEs 115, and a core network 130. In some examples, the wireless communications system 100 may be a Long Term Evolution (LTE) network, an LTE-Advanced (LTE-A) network, or a New Radio (NR) network; ¶ 0064: The wireless communications system 100 may include, for example, a heterogeneous LTE/LTE-A or NR network in which different types of base stations 105 provide coverage for various geographic coverage areas 110; ¶ 0076: wireless communications system 100 may employ License Assisted Access (LAA), LTE-Unlicensed (LTE-U) radio access technology, or NR technology in an unlicensed band such as the 5 GHz ISM band. When operating in unlicensed radio frequency spectrum bands, wireless devices such as base stations 105 and UEs 115 may employ listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures to ensure a frequency channel is clear before transmitting data. In some cases, operations in unlicensed bands may be based on a CA configuration in conjunction with CCs operating in a licensed band (e.g., LAA). Operations in unlicensed spectrum may include downlink transmissions, uplink transmissions, peer-to-peer transmissions, or a combination of these. Duplexing in unlicensed spectrum may be based on frequency division duplexing (FDD), time division duplexing (TDD), or a combination of both; ¶ 0086: Carriers may be downlink or uplink (e.g., in an FDD mode), or be configured to carry downlink and uplink communications (e.g., in a TDD mode); ¶ 0087: The organizational structure of the carriers may be different for different radio access technologies (e.g., LTE, LTE-A, NR, etc.)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Yerramalli and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean to achieve efficient communication on carriers in the communication system (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0004).
Regarding claim 22, Curticapean in view of Takeda and Yerramalli and Ishii discloses the network node of claim 20, Yerramalli discloses wherein: the first RAT is New Radio (NR) and the first duplexing mode is time division duplexing (TDD); and the second RAT is Long Term Evolution (LTE) and the second duplexing mode is frequency division duplexing (FDD) (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0061: The wireless communications system 100 includes base stations 105, UEs 115, and a core network 130. In some examples, the wireless communications system 100 may be a Long Term Evolution (LTE) network, an LTE-Advanced (LTE-A) network, or a New Radio (NR) network; ¶ 0064: The wireless communications system 100 may include, for example, a heterogeneous LTE/LTE-A or NR network in which different types of base stations 105 provide coverage for various geographic coverage areas 110; ¶ 0076: wireless communications system 100 may employ License Assisted Access (LAA), LTE-Unlicensed (LTE-U) radio access technology, or NR technology in an unlicensed band such as the 5 GHz ISM band. When operating in unlicensed radio frequency spectrum bands, wireless devices such as base stations 105 and UEs 115 may employ listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures to ensure a frequency channel is clear before transmitting data. In some cases, operations in unlicensed bands may be based on a CA configuration in conjunction with CCs operating in a licensed band (e.g., LAA). Operations in unlicensed spectrum may include downlink transmissions, uplink transmissions, peer-to-peer transmissions, or a combination of these. Duplexing in unlicensed spectrum may be based on frequency division duplexing (FDD), time division duplexing (TDD), or a combination of both; ¶ 0086: Carriers may be downlink or uplink (e.g., in an FDD mode), or be configured to carry downlink and uplink communications (e.g., in a TDD mode); ¶ 0087: The organizational structure of the carriers may be different for different radio access technologies (e.g., LTE, LTE-A, NR, etc.)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Yerramalli and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean to achieve efficient communication on carriers in the communication system (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0004).
Regarding claim 23, Curticapean in view of Takeda and Yerramalli and Ishii discloses the network node of claim 20, wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to determine a measurement window associated with measuring the one or more signals from the one or more second BSs, based on the plurality of timing difference values; and the measurement configuration comprises the measurement window (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0006: the base station may configure the UE to observe at least a minimum amount of reporting delay between receiving a downlink transmission via the second carrier and sending a related uplink transmission via the first carrier. For example, the base station may configure the UE to observe at least a minimum amount of delay between receiving a packet via the second carrier and reporting (e.g., transmitting) an acknowledgement for the packet via the first carrier. As another example, the base station may configure the UE to observe at least a minimum amount of delay between receiving a packet via the second carrier and reporting (e.g., transmitting) channel state information (CSI) corresponding to the packet via the first carrier; ¶ 0030: instructions for measuring a processing time for the packet, and transmitting an indication of the processing time to the base station; ¶ 0031: measuring a second slot duration for the second carrier, and transmitting an indication of the second slot duration for the second carrier to the base station. Some examples of the method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described above may further include processes, features, means, or instructions for measuring at least one of an uplink timing advance for the first carrier, a processing time for the packet, or a second slot duration for the second carrier, and transmitting an indication of at least one of the uplink timing advance, the processing time, or the second slot duration for the second carrier, to the base station; ¶ 0206: In some cases, measuring the timing difference includes deriving the timing difference based on a common timing reference used to measure timing of transmissions of both the first frequency band and the second frequency band. Timing component 1325 may also measure an uplink timing advance for the first carrier, measure a processing time for the packet, measure a second slot duration for the second carrier, and measure the timing difference in terms of a sampling rate associated with the second frequency band; ¶ 0104).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Yerramalli and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean to achieve efficient communication on carriers in the communication system (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0004).
Regarding claim 24, Curticapean in view of Takeda and Yerramalli and Ishii discloses the network node of claim 23, Curticapean does not explicitly wherein the measurement window is based on a sum of the plurality of timing difference values.
However, Ishii discloses wherein the measurement window is based on a sum of the plurality of timing difference values (see Ishii, ¶ 0105: delay time measuring unit 11 of the radio network controller 10 can calculate the above mentioned delay time (in an example of FIG. 11, the "RFN_BFN timing offset"--a "BFN_MFN timing offset"), by using the "BFN_MFN timing offset", which is the sum of the "BFN_SFN timing offset T1" and the "SFN_MFN timing offset TC1", and the "RFN_BFN timing offset").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Ishii and incorporate it into the system of Yerramalli to improve reception quality of communication system (see Ishii, ¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 25, Curticapean in view of Takeda and Yerramalli and Ishii discloses the network node of claim 23, Yerramalli discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to select the one or more BSs from a plurality of BSs neighboring the network node (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0061: one or more UEs 115 may provide indications of timing differences between carriers to one or more base stations 105, and, based at least in part on the indicated timing differences, base stations 105 may determine that UEs 115 are to establish communications on multiple carriers using asynchronous CA; ¶ 0096: one or more of the base stations 105 may provide low band connections (e.g., connections via one or more low band carriers), and one or more of the base stations 105 may provide high band connections (e.g., connections via one or more high band carriers). Further, in comes cases carriers provided by different base stations 105 or at different frequencies (e.g., in different frequency bands) may not be time synchronized, and a UE 115 may measure a timing difference between two carriers and provide to one or more base stations 105 an indication of the timing difference; ¶ 0103: the first UE 115-a may derive the low band and high band clock from the common timing reference, and may monitor for one or more reference signals (e.g. a discovery reference signal (DRS) or a synchronization signal such as a primary synchronization signal (PSS) or secondary synchronization signal (SSS)) from both the first base station 105-a and the second base station 105-b (and also for reference signals from any other base stations 105, such as third base station 105-c, that may be detected by the first UE 115-a)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Yerramalli and incorporate it into the system of Curticapean to achieve efficient communication on carriers in the communication system (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0004).
Regarding claim 26, Curticapean in view of Takeda and Yerramalli and Ishii discloses the network node of claim 25, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more BSs is selected based on at least one of a location of the UE or a signal strength of the BS (see Curticapean, ¶ 0036: the AP positioning unit 110 can designate the access points 104, 106, and 108 as target access points that belong to the AP cluster if the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) associated with beacon messages received from the access points 104, 106, and 108 is greater than a predetermined RSSI threshold).
Claim(s) 30-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0110254 to Yerramalli et al. (hereafter Yerramalli) in view of US Pub. 2009/0207814 to ISHII et al. (hereafter Ishii).
Regarding claim 30, Yerramalli discloses a network node for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one transceiver configured to obtain a synchronization request comprising a first time stamp from a base station (BS) via a network interface between the network node and the BS (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0117), wherein the network node is in an asynchronous timing configuration with respect to the BS (see Yerramalli, Fig 6, step 615; ¶ 0005: support carrier aggregation (CA) using asynchronous carriers…….an asynchronous CA mode to establish a connection using the second carrier in the second frequency band; ¶ 0056; ¶ 0142: process flow 600 that supports asynchronous CA in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. In some examples, process flow 600 may be implemented by aspects of wireless communications system 100 or 200); and
Yerramalli does not explicitly disclose a processing system configured to generate a synchronization response comprising at least a second time stamp, wherein the at least one transceiver is further configured to output the synchronization response to the BS.
However, Ishii discloses at least one transceiver configured to obtain a synchronization request comprising a first time stamp from a base station (BS) via a network interface between the network node and the BS (see Ishii, ¶ 0044: the radio network controller 10 transmits a node synchronization request signal to the base station 20A (or 20B) and the base station 20A (or 20B) transmits a node synchronization response signal to the radio network controller 10 in response to the node synchronization request signal); and
a processing system configured to generate a synchronization response comprising at least a second time stamp, wherein the at least one transceiver is further configured to output the synchronization response to the BS (see Ishii, ¶ 0044: the radio network controller 10 transmits a node synchronization request signal to the base station 20A (or 20B) and the base station 20A (or 20B) transmits a node synchronization response signal to the radio network controller 10 in response to the node synchronization request signal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Ishii and incorporate it into the system of Yerramalli to improve reception quality of communication system (see Ishii, ¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 31, Yerramalli in view of Ishii discloses the network node of claim 30, wherein:
the network node is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0086; ¶ 0087) and a first duplexing mode (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0088);
the BS is associated with second RAT (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0086; ¶ 0087) and a second duplexing mode (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0088).
Regarding claim 32, Yerramalli in view of Ishii discloses the network node of claim 31, wherein: (i) the first RAT is New Radio (NR), the first duplexing mode is time division duplexing (TDD), the second RAT is Long Term Evolution (LTE), and the second duplexing mode is frequency division duplexing (FDD); (ii) the first RAT is NR, the first duplexing mode is TDD, the second RAT is LTE, and the second duplexing mode is TDD; (iii) the first RAT is NR, the first duplexing mode is FDD, the second RAT is NR, and the second duplexing mode is FDD; or (iv) the first RAT is LTE, the first duplexing mode is FDD, the second RAT is NR, and the second duplexing mode is TDD (see Yerramalli, ¶ 0061: The wireless communications system 100 includes base stations 105, UEs 115, and a core network 130. In some examples, the wireless communications system 100 may be a Long Term Evolution (LTE) network, an LTE-Advanced (LTE-A) network, or a New Radio (NR) network; ¶ 0064: The wireless communications system 100 may include, for example, a heterogeneous LTE/LTE-A or NR network in which different types of base stations 105 provide coverage for various geographic coverage areas 110; ¶ 0076: wireless communications system 100 may employ License Assisted Access (LAA), LTE-Unlicensed (LTE-U) radio access technology, or NR technology in an unlicensed band such as the 5 GHz ISM band. When operating in unlicensed radio frequency spectrum bands, wireless devices such as base stations 105 and UEs 115 may employ listen-before-talk (LBT) procedures to ensure a frequency channel is clear before transmitting data. In some cases, operations in unlicensed bands may be based on a CA configuration in conjunction with CCs operating in a licensed band (e.g., LAA). Operations in unlicensed spectrum may include downlink transmissions, uplink transmissions, peer-to-peer transmissions, or a combination of these. Duplexing in unlicensed spectrum may be based on frequency division duplexing (FDD), time division duplexing (TDD), or a combination of both; ¶ 0086: Carriers may be downlink or uplink (e.g., in an FDD mode), or be configured to carry downlink and uplink communications (e.g., in a TDD mode); ¶ 0087: The organizational structure of the carriers may be different for different radio access technologies (e.g., LTE, LTE-A, NR, etc.)).
Regarding claim 33, Yerramalli in view of Ishii discloses the network node of claim 30, wherein the at least one transceiver is further configured to transmit one or more signals to a user equipment (UE) served by the BS (see Yerramalli, Fig 10; ¶ 0062: Base stations 105 may wirelessly communicate with UEs 115 via one or more base station antennas; ¶ 0160: Transmitter 720 may transmit signals generated by other components of the device; ¶ 0181).
Regarding claim 34, Yerramalli in view of Ishii discloses the network node of claim 30, wherein the apparatus is configured as a base station (see Yerramalli, Fig 10, device 1005; ¶ 0181: Device 1005 may be an example of or include the components of wireless device 705, wireless device 805, or a base station 105 as described above, e.g., with reference to FIGS. 7 and 8) but does not explicitly disclose further comprising at least one antenna coupled to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one transceiver is configured to receive the synchronous request and to transmit the synchronization response via the at least one antenna.
However, Ishii discloses at least one antenna coupled to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one transceiver is configured to receive the synchronous request and to transmit the synchronization response via the at least one antenna (see Ishii, ¶ 0044: the radio network controller 10 transmits a node synchronization request signal to the base station 20A (or 20B) and the base station 20A (or 20B) transmits a node synchronization response signal to the radio network controller 10 in response to the node synchronization request signal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Ishii and incorporate it into the system of Yerramalli to improve reception quality of communication system (see Ishii, ¶ 0008).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RASHEED GIDADO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464