Applicant's response to the previous Office action, dated November 19, 2025, has been received. By way of this submission, Applicant has amended claims 22-23, and cancelled claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 11, 16-21, and 35.
Claims 22-23 and 32-34 are pending in the application and under examination before the Office.
The rejections of record can be found in the previous Office action, dated August 19, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 19, 2025 was filed after the mailing date of the first Office action on the merits on August 19, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 was previously objected to because of the following informalities.
Applicant's amendments to the claims have addressed this issue, and this objection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-23 and 32-34 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement.
Applicant's amendments to the claims have addressed this issue, and this objection is hereby withdrawn.
Claims 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. This is a new grounds of rejection.
Claims 33 and 34 recite the limitation of "the thrombolytic agent". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim, as parent claim 22 does not recite a thrombolytic agent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-23 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tymianski (US20160228499A1).
Applicant argues that the claimed peptide has properties that are not appreciated by Tymianski; specifically, the claimed peptide is resistant to degradation by plasmin when co-administered with a thrombolytic agent due to the inclusion of D-amino acids.
Applicant's arguments have been considered fully but are not found to be persuasive.
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). MPEP 2112(I).
There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Toro Co. v. Deere & Co., 355 F.3d 1313, 1320, 69 USPQ2d 1584, 1590 (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[T]he fact that a characteristic is a necessary feature or result of a prior-art embodiment (that is itself sufficiently described and enabled) is enough for inherent anticipation, even if that fact was unknown at the time of the prior invention.") MPEP 2112(II).
Tymianski teaches the PSD-95 inhibitor Tat-NR2B9c, which has the sequence YGRKKRRQRRRKLSSIESDV (para. 0010), which encompasses both the claimed internalization peptide of YGRKKRRQRRR, and the inhibitor peptide of KLSSIESDV.
Tymianski further teaches that the peptide can be modified by substitution of one or more of the amino acids in the natural L-isomeric form with amino acids in the D-isomeric form (para. 0065). Tymianski also teaches a variant of the above PSD-95 inhibitor comprising the amino acid sequence rrrqrrkkr, in which these amino acids are D-amino acids, linked to the peptide IETAV (para. 0067). Tymianski also teaches that the peptide IESDV is also effective in inhibiting binding of NUDAR2B to PSD-95 (para. 0067).
Tymianski also teaches administering a thrombolytic agent such as tissue plasminogen factor (tPA) (para. 0086). Tymianski further teaches that the PSD-95 inhibitor and reperfusion can be administered at the same time, or within 15 minutes of each other (para. 0103).
As Tymianski teaches a peptide with identical composition of the instantly claimed peptide, it must also have the same functional properties. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d. While Tymianski may not recognize the asserted property of resistance to plasmin degradation due to the use of D-amino acids, this property is inherently present. As such, Tymianski anticipates this property of the claimed method.
It is noted that In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to "prove that subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess characteristic relied on" (205 USPQ 594, second column, first full paragraph). Applicant has not met this burden.
This rejection is therefore maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-23 and 32-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following U.S. patents and patent applications in view of Tymianski:
Conflicting patent Conflicting
or application claims
8,080,518 1,5, 7-9, 11-13
8,940,699 1,5, 12
10,064,910 1, 5-6, 11-16, 23-27
10,967,041 1, 4-5, 8-12, 22
17/524,673 31-36, 38, 40-43
17/800,523 1-10, 17, 31-33, 42-43
17/800,883 1, 3, 10-13, 15, 19-21
18/271,407 62
Applicant argues that Tymianski does not remedy the alleged deficiencies of the cited conflicting patents or patent applications. This is not found persuasive, for reasons described supra.
The above rejections are therefore maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bach (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2012 Feb 28;109(9):3317-22, cited in IDS) teaches that using D-amino acids in the internalization peptide of YGRKKRRQRRR prevents degradation (page 3318, right column, second paragraph and Figure 2A).
No claim is allowed.
/PETER JOHANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1644