Applicant's Response After Final Rejection, dated June 30, 2026, has been received. Upon further consideration the prosecution is REOPENED and Applicant's response has been entered. By way of this submission, Applicant has amended claim 23 and cancelled claim 22.
Claims 23 and 32-34 are pending in the application and under examination before the Office.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that clinical trials with the claimed method unexpectedly revealed that there was a specific and severe problem from co-administration of the peptide and the thrombolytic agent due to plasmin induced by the thrombolytic agent tissue plasminogen activator cleaving the peptide, and that this problem was not obvious until revealed by the clinical trial; for this reason, there was an unexpected benefit of using the D-amino acid substituted peptide over the original molecule.
Applicant's arguments have been considered fully but are not found to be persuasive.
Tissue plasminogen activator (tPA), which Applicant used as their thrombolytic agent, was known in the art to activate plasmin when administered for stroke. For example, Thiebaut (Lancet Neurol. 2018 Dec;17(12):1121-1132) teaches that plasminogen activators can promote fibrinolysis by converting plasminogen into active plasmin for the purpose of fibrinolytic cleavage of clots, in other words, the degradation of blood plasma proteins (see, e.g., abstract). For this reason, it would be expected that administration of tPA would increase peptide cleavage. Applicant's specification also states that thrombolytic agents work by promoting production of plasmin, which clears cross-linked fibrin mesh, making the clot soluble and subject to further proteolysis by other enzymes.
Additionally, Meyer (US20090281036A1, cited previously) teaches that TAT-based peptides are vulnerable to proteolytic degradation in serum (para. 0012). Meyer also teaches that the use of D-enantiomeric amino acids confers resistance to proteolytic degradation (para. 0016 and 0021).
It is also noted that U.S. patent 10,064,910, which Applicant relies upon as proof that the peptide and thrombolytic agent can be administered in combination without complication also teaches the use of D-amino acids (col. 11, lines 11-42), and that plasmin from administration of tPA may also cause proteolytic degradation (col. 21, lines 19-34).
The problem of degradation of TAT-based proteins and an appropriate solution was known in the art, and the addition of an agent that increases protein degradation would naturally exacerbate this problem. The application of a known solution to a known problem is prima facie obvious.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Tymianski is therefore maintained.
Applicant further argues that the double patenting rejections over U.S. patents 8,080,518, 8,940,699, 10,064,910, and 10,967,041 should also be withdrawn for the same reasons as provided above. This is not found persuasive, for reasons describes supra.
The double patenting rejections over U.S. patents 8,080,518, 8,940,699, 10,064,910, and 10,967,041 in view of Tymianski are therefore maintained.
The provisional double patenting rejections over applications 17/800,523 and 18/271,407 in view of Tymianski are therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 32 recites a peptide with a sequence of ygrkkrrqrrrklsslESDV. This peptide is broader than what is claimed by parent claim 23, as the peptide ygrkkrrqrrrklsslESDV does not require an amino acid sequence comprising KLSSIESDV or KLSSIETDV. As such, claim 32 impermissibly broadens what is defined in its parent claim.
For the purpose of claim interpretation, this sequence is assumed to be ygrkkrrqrrrklssIESDV, which is consistent with Applicant's SEQ ID NO: 6.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23 and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tymianski (US20160228499A1).
Tymianski teaches a method for treating ischemic stroke, comprising administering a PSD-95 inhibitor to a subject having or at risk of ischemia, and performing reperfusion therapy on the subject (para. 0016).
Tymianski further teaches that such an agent may bind to an NDMAR2 subunit or NOS (para. 0018).
Tymianski further teaches that the reperfusion is performed by administering a thrombolytic agent such as tissue plasminogen factor (tPA) (para. 0086).
Tymianski further teaches that the subject may be human (para. 0020 and 0048).
Tymianski further teaches that the PSD-95 inhibitor is Tat-NR2B9c, which has the sequence YGRKKRRQRRRKLSSIESDV (para. 0010), which encompasses both the claimed internalization peptide of YGRKKRRQRRR, and the inhibitor peptide of KLSSIESDV.
Tymianski further teaches that the peptide can be modified by substitution of one or more of the amino acids in the natural L-isomeric form with amino acids in the D-isomeric form (para. 0065). Tymianski also teaches a variant of the above PSD-95 inhibitor comprising the amino acid sequence rrrqrrkkr, in which these amino acids are D-amino acids, linked to the peptide IETAV (para. 0067). Tymianski also teaches that the peptide IESDV is also effective in inhibiting binding of NMDAR2B to PSD-95 (para. 0067).
Tymianski further teaches that the PSD-95 inhibitor and reperfusion can be administered at the same time, or within 15 minutes of each other (para. 0103).
While Tymianski does not teach the claimed subject matter in a single embodiment, it would be prima facie obvious to arrive at the claimed subject matter by following the teachings of Tymianski. Tymianski teaches the PSD-95 inhibitor is Tat-NR2B9c, which has the sequence YGRKKRRQRRRKLSSIESDV, which encompasses both the claimed internalization peptide of YGRKKRRQRRR, and the inhibitor peptide of KLSSIESDV. Tymianski also teaches the use of D-amino acids, in particular a sequence of D-amino acids within the internalization peptide. Tymianski also teaches this peptide in the context of treatment for ischemic stroke. While Tymianski does not teach that cleavage of the active agent induced by the thrombolytic agent is reduced by the inclusion of the at least one D-amino acid, such a feature is a natural consequence of the inclusion of D-amino acids, and as such, must inherently be present within the peptide of Tymianski.
Double Patenting
Claims 23 and 32-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 7-9, and 11-13 of U.S. Patent No. 8,080,518 in view of Tymianski.
The '518 patent claims a method, comprising administering an internalization peptide comprising RKKRRQRRR, and a pharmacologic agent linked to the internalization peptide, comprising a peptide having an amino acid sequence comprising ESDV or ETDV (claim 1).
The '518 patent further claims the internalization peptide is a tat peptide having an amino acid sequence comprising YGRKKRRQRRR (claim 5).
The '518 patent further claims the pharmacologic agent is KLSSIESDV (claim 7).
The '518 patent further claims this method is useful for treating stroke (claim 11).
However, the '518 patent does not claim co-administration of a thrombolytic agent or D-amino acids.
Tymianski teaches a method for treating ischemic stroke, comprising administering a PSD-95 inhibitor to a subject having or at risk of ischemia, and performing reperfusion therapy on the subject (para. 0016).
Tymianski further teaches that such an agent may bind to an NDMAR2 subunit or NOS (para. 0018).
Tymianski further teaches that the reperfusion is performed by administering a thrombolytic agent such as tissue plasminogen factor (tPA) (para. 0086).
Tymianski further teaches that the subject may be human (para. 0020 and 0048).
Tymianski further teaches that the PSD-95 inhibitor is Tat-NR2B9c, which has the sequence YGRKKRRQRRRKLSSIESDV (para. 0010), which encompasses both the claimed internalization peptide of YGRKKRRQRRR, and the inhibitor peptide of KLSSIESDV.
Tymianski further teaches that the peptide can be modified by substitution of one or more of the amino acids in the natural L-isomeric form with amino acids in the D-isomeric form (para. 0065). Tymianski also teaches a variant of the above PSD-95 inhibitor comprising the amino acid sequence rrrqrrkkr, in which these amino acids are D-amino acids, linked to the peptide IETAV (para. 0067). Tymianski also teaches that the peptide IESDV is also effective in inhibiting binding of NMDAR2B to PSD-95 (para. 0067).
Tymianski further teaches that the PSD-95 inhibitor and reperfusion can be administered at the same time, or within 15 minutes of each other (para. 0103).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the claims of the '518 patent with teachings of Tymianski to arrive at the claimed invention. Peptides such as those claimed by the '518 patent were known to be useful in treating stroke. Tymianski teaches combinations of this peptide and a thrombolytic agent, as well as modifications to the peptide to prevent proteolytic degradation. One of ordinary skill could combine the peptide of the '518 patent with the thrombolytic agent and modifications of Tymianski to arrive at the claimed invention by known methods, with each component of the combination performing its known, usual function, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Claims 23 and 32-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 8,940,699 in view of Tymianski.
The '699 patent claims a method of treating or inhibiting or delaying at least one sign or symptom of a condition mediated by excitotoxicity, comprising administering to a human subject a peptide having the amino acid sequence YGRKKRRQRRRKLSSIESDV (claim 1). According to the specification of the '699 patent, stroke is one such condition (col. 6, line 22).
However, the '699 patent does not claim co-administration of a thrombolytic agent or D-amino acids.
Tymianski teaches a method for treating ischemic stroke, comprising administering a PSD-95 inhibitor to a subject having or at risk of ischemia, and performing reperfusion therapy on the subject (para. 0016).
Tymianski further teaches that such an agent may bind to an NDMAR2 subunit or NOS (para. 0018).
Tymianski further teaches that the reperfusion is performed by administering a thrombolytic agent such as tissue plasminogen factor (tPA) (para. 0086).
Tymianski further teaches that the subject may be human (para. 0020 and 0048).
Tymianski further teaches that the PSD-95 inhibitor is Tat-NR2B9c, which has the sequence YGRKKRRQRRRKLSSIESDV (para. 0010), which encompasses both the claimed internalization peptide of YGRKKRRQRRR, and the inhibitor peptide of KLSSIESDV.
Tymianski further teaches that the peptide can be modified by substitution of one or more of the amino acids in the natural L-isomeric form with amino acids in the D-isomeric form (para. 0065). Tymianski also teaches a variant of the above PSD-95 inhibitor comprising the amino acid sequence rrrqrrkkr, in which these amino acids are D-amino acids, linked to the peptide IETAV (para. 0067). Tymianski also teaches that the peptide IESDV is also effective in inhibiting binding of NMDAR2B to PSD-95 (para. 0067).
Tymianski further teaches that the PSD-95 inhibitor and reperfusion can be administered at the same time, or within 15 minutes of each other (para. 0103).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the claims of the '699 patent with teachings of Tymianski to arrive at the claimed invention. Peptides such as those claimed by the '699 patent were known to be useful in treating stroke. Tymianski teaches combinations of this peptide and a thrombolytic agent, as well as modifications to the peptide to prevent proteolytic degradation. One of ordinary skill could combine the peptide of the '699 patent with the thrombolytic agent and modifications of Tymianski to arrive at the claimed invention by known methods, with each component of the combination performing its known, usual function, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Claims 23 and 32-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6, 11-16, and 23-27 of U.S. Patent No. 10,064,910 in view of Tymianski.
The '910 patent claims a method of treating a damaging effect of ischemia on the central nervous system, comprising administering a PSD-95 inhibitor to a subject having or at risk of ischemia, and performing reperfusion therapy (claim 1).
The '910 patent further claims the ischemia may be cerebral ischemia (claim 5) or a stroke (claim 6).
The '910 patent further claims the PSD-95 inhibitor is the peptide tat-NR2B9c (claim 11-12).
The '910 patent further claims the reperfusion is performed by administering a thrombolytic agent such as tPA (claims 13-15).
The '910 patent further claims the interval between administering PSD-95 and reperfusion therapy is 30 minutes to 6 hours (claim 16).
However, the '910 patent does not claim a peptide with D-amino acids.
Tymianski teaches a method for treating ischemic stroke, comprising administering a PSD-95 inhibitor to a subject having or at risk of ischemia, and performing reperfusion therapy on the subject (para. 0016).
Tymianski further teaches that such an agent may bind to an NDMAR2 subunit or NOS (para. 0018).
Tymianski further teaches that the reperfusion is performed by administering a thrombolytic agent such as tissue plasminogen factor (tPA) (para. 0086).
Tymianski further teaches that the subject may be human (para. 0020 and 0048).
Tymianski further teaches that the PSD-95 inhibitor is Tat-NR2B9c, which has the sequence YGRKKRRQRRRKLSSIESDV (para. 0010), which encompasses both the claimed internalization peptide of YGRKKRRQRRR, and the inhibitor peptide of KLSSIESDV.
Tymianski further teaches that the peptide can be modified by substitution of one or more of the amino acids in the natural L-isomeric form with amino acids in the D-isomeric form (para. 0065). Tymianski also teaches a variant of the above PSD-95 inhibitor comprising the amino acid sequence rrrqrrkkr, in which these amino acids are D-amino acids, linked to the peptide IETAV (para. 0067). Tymianski also teaches that the peptide IESDV is also effective in inhibiting binding of NMDAR2B to PSD-95 (para. 0067).
Tymianski further teaches that the PSD-95 inhibitor and reperfusion can be administered at the same time, or within 15 minutes of each other (para. 0103).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the claims of the '910 patent with teachings of Tymianski to arrive at the claimed invention. Peptides such as those claimed by the '910 patent were known to be useful in treating stroke. Tymianski teaches combinations of this peptide and a thrombolytic agent, as well as modifications to the peptide to prevent proteolytic degradation. One of ordinary skill could combine the peptide of the '910 patent with the thrombolytic agent and modifications of Tymianski to arrive at the claimed invention by known methods, with each component of the combination performing its known, usual function, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Claims 23 and 32-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 8-12, and 22 of U.S. Patent No. 10,967,041 in view of Tymianski.
The '041 patent claims a method of treating a damaging effect of ischemia on the central nervous system, comprising administering a PSD-95 inhibitor to a subject having or at risk of ischemia, and performing reperfusion therapy on the subject (claim 1).
The '041 patent further claims the ischemia may be cerebral ischemia (claim 4) or a stroke (claim 5).
The '041 patent further claims the PSD-95 inhibitor is the peptide tat-NR2B9c (claim 8).
The '041 patent further claims the reperfusion is performed by administering a thrombolytic agent such as tPA (claims 9-11).
The '041 patent further claims the interval between administering PSD-95 and reperfusion therapy is 30 minutes to 6 hours (claim 12).
However, the '041 patent does not claim a peptide with D-amino acids.
Tymianski teaches a method for treating ischemic stroke, comprising administering a PSD-95 inhibitor to a subject having or at risk of ischemia, and performing reperfusion therapy on the subject (para. 0016).
Tymianski further teaches that such an agent may bind to an NDMAR2 subunit or NOS (para. 0018).
Tymianski further teaches that the reperfusion is performed by administering a thrombolytic agent such as tissue plasminogen factor (tPA) (para. 0086).
Tymianski further teaches that the subject may be human (para. 0020 and 0048).
Tymianski further teaches that the PSD-95 inhibitor is Tat-NR2B9c, which has the sequence YGRKKRRQRRRKLSSIESDV (para. 0010), which encompasses both the claimed internalization peptide of YGRKKRRQRRR, and the inhibitor peptide of KLSSIESDV.
Tymianski further teaches that the peptide can be modified by substitution of one or more of the amino acids in the natural L-isomeric form with amino acids in the D-isomeric form (para. 0065). Tymianski also teaches a variant of the above PSD-95 inhibitor comprising the amino acid sequence rrrqrrkkr, in which these amino acids are D-amino acids, linked to the peptide IETAV (para. 0067). Tymianski also teaches that the peptide IESDV is also effective in inhibiting binding of NMDAR2B to PSD-95 (para. 0067).
Tymianski further teaches that the PSD-95 inhibitor and reperfusion can be administered at the same time, or within 15 minutes of each other (para. 0103).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the claims of the '041 patent with teachings of Tymianski to arrive at the claimed invention. Peptides such as those claimed by the '041 patent were known to be useful in treating stroke. Tymianski teaches combinations of this peptide and a thrombolytic agent, as well as modifications to the peptide to prevent proteolytic degradation. One of ordinary skill could combine the peptide of the '041 patent with the thrombolytic agent and modifications of Tymianski to arrive at the claimed invention by known methods, with each component of the combination performing its known, usual function, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Claims 23 and 32-34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, and 44 of copending Application No. 17/800,523 in view of Tymianski.
The '523 application claims a method of treating ischemic stroke, comprising administering to the human subjects an active agent that inhibits PSD-95, cleavable by plasmin, and reperfusion, wherein the active agent that inhibits PSD-95 is administered at least 10 minutes before the tissue plasminogen activator, and wherein the active agent that inhibits PSD-95 is nerinetide (claim 1).
However, the '523 application does not claim co-administration of a thrombolytic agent or D-amino acids.
Tymianski teaches a method for treating ischemic stroke, comprising administering a PSD-95 inhibitor to a subject having or at risk of ischemia, and performing reperfusion therapy on the subject (para. 0016).
Tymianski further teaches that such an agent may bind to an NDMAR2 subunit or NOS (para. 0018).
Tymianski further teaches that the reperfusion is performed by administering a thrombolytic agent such as tissue plasminogen factor (tPA) (para. 0086).
Tymianski further teaches that the subject may be human (para. 0020 and 0048).
Tymianski further teaches that the PSD-95 inhibitor is Tat-NR2B9c, which has the sequence YGRKKRRQRRRKLSSIESDV (para. 0010), which encompasses both the claimed internalization peptide of YGRKKRRQRRR, and the inhibitor peptide of KLSSIESDV.
Tymianski further teaches that the peptide can be modified by substitution of one or more of the amino acids in the natural L-isomeric form with amino acids in the D-isomeric form (para. 0065). Tymianski also teaches a variant of the above PSD-95 inhibitor comprising the amino acid sequence rrrqrrkkr, in which these amino acids are D-amino acids, linked to the peptide IETAV (para. 0067). Tymianski also teaches that the peptide IESDV is also effective in inhibiting binding of NMDAR2B to PSD-95 (para. 0067).
Tymianski further teaches that the PSD-95 inhibitor and reperfusion can be administered at the same time, or within 15 minutes of each other (para. 0103).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the claims of the '523 application with teachings of Tymianski to arrive at the claimed invention. Peptides such as those claimed by the '523 application were known to be useful in treating stroke. Tymianski teaches combinations of this peptide and a thrombolytic agent, as well as modifications to the peptide to prevent proteolytic degradation. One of ordinary skill could combine the peptide of the '523 application with the thrombolytic agent and modifications of Tymianski to arrive at the claimed invention by known methods, with each component of the combination performing its known, usual function, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 23 and 32-34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 62 of copending Application No. 18/271,407 in view of Tymianski.
The '407 application claims a method of treating a subject having or at risk of stroke, comprising administering the peptide YGRKKRRQRRRKLSSIESDV (claim 62).
However, the '407 application does not claim co-administration of a thrombolytic agent or D-amino acids.
Tymianski teaches a method for treating ischemic stroke, comprising administering a PSD-95 inhibitor to a subject having or at risk of ischemia, and performing reperfusion therapy on the subject (para. 0016).
Tymianski further teaches that such an agent may bind to an NDMAR2 subunit or NOS (para. 0018).
Tymianski further teaches that the reperfusion is performed by administering a thrombolytic agent such as tissue plasminogen factor (tPA) (para. 0086).
Tymianski further teaches that the subject may be human (para. 0020 and 0048).
Tymianski further teaches that the PSD-95 inhibitor is Tat-NR2B9c, which has the sequence YGRKKRRQRRRKLSSIESDV (para. 0010), which encompasses both the claimed internalization peptide of YGRKKRRQRRR, and the inhibitor peptide of KLSSIESDV.
Tymianski further teaches that the peptide can be modified by substitution of one or more of the amino acids in the natural L-isomeric form with amino acids in the D-isomeric form (para. 0065). Tymianski also teaches a variant of the above PSD-95 inhibitor comprising the amino acid sequence rrrqrrkkr, in which these amino acids are D-amino acids, linked to the peptide IETAV (para. 0067). Tymianski also teaches that the peptide IESDV is also effective in inhibiting binding of NMDAR2B to PSD-95 (para. 0067).
Tymianski further teaches that the PSD-95 inhibitor and reperfusion can be administered at the same time, or within 15 minutes of each other (para. 0103).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the claims of the '407 application with teachings of Tymianski to arrive at the claimed invention. Peptides such as those claimed by the '407 application were known to be useful in treating stroke. Tymianski teaches combinations of this peptide and a thrombolytic agent, as well as modifications to the peptide to prevent proteolytic degradation. One of ordinary skill could combine the peptide of the '407 application with the thrombolytic agent and modifications of Tymianski to arrive at the claimed invention by known methods, with each component of the combination performing its known, usual function, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PETER JOHANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1644