Applicant's response to the previous Office action, dated March 31, 2026, has been received. By way of this submission, Applicant has amended claims 33-34.
Claims 22-23 and 32-34 are pending in the application and under examination before the Office.
The rejections of record can be found in the previous Office action, dated December 31, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 33-34 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant's amendments to the claims have addressed this issue, and this rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-23 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tymianski (US20160228499A1).
Applicant argues that Tymianski does not recognize the problem from co-administration of a thrombolytic agent and a PSD-95 inhibitor together, and Applicant's use of D-amino acids as part of the claimed method overcomes this problem. Applicant further argues that the inherent but unrecognized property of the claimed D-amino acid peptide cannot provide motivation for coadministration with a thrombolytic agent.
Applicant's arguments have been considered fully but are not found to be persuasive.
Tymianski is explicit in teaching combinations of a PSD-95 inhibitor and thrombolytic agents such as tPA for treatment of ischemic stroke (para. 0086: "Treatment of ischemic strokes with a PSD-95 inhibitor can be combined with reperfusion therapy. Such reperfusion can be achieved using the intravenous or intra-arterial administration of thrombolytic agents such as tPA, streptokinase or urokinase, by using mechanical means to re-open blocked arteries, or by other means to enhance the collateral circulation to an ischemic brain area. By administering the PSD-95 inhibitor, there is more time available time to perform a brain scan to determine presence of ischemic stroke, and then administer tPA or administer another reperfusion therapy if appropriate. Thus, more subjects with ischemic stroke can benefit from tPA treatment or from another therapy that enhances brain reperfusion and at the same time benefit from treatment with a PSD-95 inhibitor.").
The ability of D-amino acids within a peptide to resist proteolytic degradation is also known in the art. Bonny (US20120058137A1) teaches that polypeptides composed of D-enantiomeric amino acids and L-enantiomeric amino acids are resistant to proteolytic breakdown (para. 0057). Guichard (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 1994 Oct 11;91(21):9765–9769) teaches that the high susceptibility of peptides to proteolysis limits their effectiveness, and the substitution of D-amino acids is a known method of overcoming this limitation (page 9765, left column, first paragraph). Meyer (US20090281036A1) teaches that D-enantiomeric amino acids in peptides confer resistance to proteolytic breakdown (para. 0016). Meyer also teaches that the D-enantiomeric form of TAT-NR2B9c shows increased efficacy over the L-form (para. 0048 and Figure 2). Bach (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2012 Feb 28;109(9):3317-22, cited in IDS) teaches that using D-amino acids in the internalization peptide of YGRKKRRQRRR prevents degradation (page 3318, right column, second paragraph and Figure 2A).
It is also noted that claim 22 does not require coadministration with a thrombolytic agent; claim 22 only requires administration of the peptide.
The problem of proteolytic degradation of therapeutic peptides, and an appropriate solution, namely the use of D-amino acids, was clearly known in the art. It is therefore expected that a version of the claimed peptide would possess similar functions of resistance to proteolytic degradation. For this reason, the property that Applicant asserts cannot be said to be unexpected. The application of a known solution to a known problem is prima facie obvious.
This rejection is therefore maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-23 and 32-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following U.S. patents and patent applications in view of Tymianski:
Conflicting patent Conflicting
or application claims
8,080,518 1,5, 7-9, 11-13
8,940,699 1,5, 12
10,064,910 1, 5-6, 11-16, 23-27
10,967,041 1, 4-5, 8-12, 22
17/800,523 1-10, 17, 31-33, 42-43
18/271,407 62
Applicant argues that Tymianski does not remedy the alleged deficiencies of the cited conflicting patents or patent applications. This is not found persuasive, for reasons described supra.
The above rejections are therefore maintained.
The previous rejections on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting to applications 17/524,673 and 17/800,883 are withdrawn, as these applications are abandoned.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Belmares (US20080274977A1) teaches that the peptide YGRKKRRQRRRKLSSIESDV (Tat-NR2B9c) is useful in treatment of ischemic stroke (para. 0019-0021).
Garman (US20170119845A1) that that the peptide Tat-NR2B9c (YGRKKRRQRRRKLSSIESDV) is useful in treating stroke (para. 0004). Garman further teaches that this peptide may have 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, at least 50%, or all D-amino acid residues (para. 0048).
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER JOHANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1644