DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of the South Korean parent Application No. KR10-2020-0044947 (filed on 04/14/2020) was received with the present application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities thar requires appropriate corrections:
In claim 10, line 12, the limitation “in a direction perpendicular” should read -- in the direction perpendicular --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tazoe et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2008/0098590 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Tazoe”).
In regards to claim 1, Tazoe teach (Figures 1-10) a system (cell electrode plate forming apparatus illustrated in figure 1) for transferring an electrode substrate (10), comprising: a winding roll (1) on which the electrode substrate (10) is wound along a winding direction (circular winding direction of 10 around 1); a bending mitigation roller (15 of 3) configured to press the electrode substrate (10) supplied from the winding roll (1), including an electrode mixture layer (12) of said electrode substrate (10), in a direction (downward direction that is perpendicular to the travel direction ‘D’ of 10) opposite to a bending direction (upward direction that is perpendicular to the travel direction ‘D’ of 10) of the electrode substrate (10) based on the winding direction (circular winding direction of 10 around 1) (figures 1 clearly illustrate, 15 pressing on the upper surface of 10 in a downward direction that is perpendicular to the travel direction ‘D’ of 10, so as to stretch and tension 10; which would inherently mitigate or reduce the curling/bending of 10 caused by 10 being wound around 1; see also paragraphs 0023-0024 and 0029-0030); pairs of guide rollers (2 and 17/18) disposed before and after the bending mitigation roller (15 of 3) for controlling a transfer of the electrode substrate (10); and a controller (13 of 3) being configured to control (via 14 of 3) a position of the bending mitigation roller (15 of 3); wherein the position of the bending mitigation roller (15 of 3) is configured to be moved in a direction perpendicular (downward direction that is perpendicular to the travel direction ‘D’ of 10) to that of the electrode substrate (10) in response to a position at which the electrode substrate (10) is wound along a diameter of the winding roll (1) (figures 1 clearly illustrate, 15 being moved in a downward direction, which is perpendicular to the travel direction ‘D’ of 10, such that 15 can press on the upper surface of 10 during the unwinding and feeding of 10 from 1; therefore, it can reasonably be construed that the position of 15 changes in the downward direction, in response to the amount of 10 wound around 1 changing/decreasing or as the overall diameter of 1 changes/decreases) (see also paragraphs 0021-0045).
In regards to claim 10, Tazoe teach (Figures 1-10) a method of transferring an electrode substrate (10) using the system (cell electrode plate forming apparatus illustrated in figure 1) according to claim 1, comprising: controlling a level of the electrode substrate (vertical position of the section of 10 which is located at 2) by positioning the electrode substrate (10) that is supplied from the winding roll (1) having the electrode substrate wound thereon (10), between a first pair of guide rollers (2, which includes two rollers as clearly illustrated in figure 1); pressing the electrode substrate (10) that has passed through the first pair of guide rollers (2) in the direction (downward direction that is perpendicular to the travel direction ‘D’ of 10) opposite to the bending direction (upward direction that is perpendicular to the travel direction ‘D’ of 10) of the electrode substrate (10) based on the winding direction (circular winding direction of 10 around 1) (figures 1 clearly illustrate, 15 pressing on the upper surface of 10 in a downward direction that is perpendicular to the travel direction ‘D’ of 10), using the bending mitigation roller (15 of 3); and controlling a level of the electrode substrate (vertical position of the section of 10 which is located at 17/18) by positioning the electrode substrate (10) that has passed through the bending mitigation roller (15 of 3), between a second pair of guide rollers (17 and 18); wherein, during the positioning of the electrode substrate (10), the position of the bending mitigation roller (15 of 3) is configured to be moved in the direction perpendicular (downward direction that is perpendicular to the travel direction ‘D’ of 10) to that of the electrode substrate (10) in response to the position at which the electrode substrate (10) is wound along the diameter of the winding roll (1) (figures 1 clearly illustrate, 15 being moved in a downward direction, which is perpendicular to the travel direction ‘D’ of 10, such that 15 can press on the upper surface of 10 during the unwinding and feeding of 10 from 1; therefore, it can reasonably be construed that the position of 15 changes in the downward direction, in response to the amount of 10 wound around 1 changing/decreasing or as the overall diameter of 1 changes/decreases) (see also paragraphs 0021-0045).
In regards to claims 4-5, Tazoe teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Tazoe further teach (Figures 1-10), each pairs of guide rollers (2 and 17/18) are formed by a pair of rollers respectively facing each other (as clearly illustrated in figure 1), based on the electrode substrate (10); the bending mitigation roller (15 of 3) being formed as a single roller adapted to press the electrode substrate (10) in the direction (downward direction that is perpendicular to the travel direction ‘D’ of 10) opposite to the bending direction (upward direction that is perpendicular to the travel direction ‘D’ of 10) of the electrode substrate (10) based on the winding direction (circular winding direction of 10 around 1); wherein, each pairs of guide rollers (2 and 17/18) includes a first pair of guide rollers (2) positioned at a front region of the bending mitigation roller (15 of 3) and a second pair of guide rollers (17 and 18) positioned at a rear region of the bending mitigation roller (15 of 3).
In regards to claims 6 and 11, Tazoe teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Tazoe further teach (Figures 1-10), a portion of the electrode substrate positioned between the first pair of guide rollers (section of 10 located at 2) and a portion of the electrode substrate positioned between the second pair of guide rollers (section of 10 located at 17 and 18), being at a same level (figure 1 clearly illustrate, the section of 10 that is located at 2 and the section of 10 that is located at 17/18, both having the same vertical positioning or both being disposed at a similar height in a direction perpendicular to the travel direction ‘D’ of 10); wherein, a level of the electrode substrate pressed by the bending mitigation roller (vertical positioning of the section of 10 located at 15) is lower than a level of the electrode substrate positioned between the first pair of guide rollers (vertical positioning of the section of 10 located at 2) and a level of the electrode substrate positioned between the second pair of guide rollers (vertical positioning of the section of 10 located at 17 and 18) (figure 1 clearly illustrate, the section of 10 that is located at 15, having a lower vertical positioning compared to the vertical positionings of the sections of 10 that are located at 2 and 17/18).
In regards to claim 9, Tazoe teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Tazoe further teach (Figures 1-10), the electrode substrate (10) includes a current collector layer (11) formed of a metal foil; wherein, the electrode mixture layer (12) is formed on one or opposite surfaces of the current collector layer (11) (see also paragraph 0022)
In regards to claim 14, Tazoe teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Tazoe further teach (Figures 1-10), during the pressing of the electrode substrate (10), a pressing level is changed when a position of the bending mitigation roller (15 of 3) is moved (via 13 and 14) in a direction perpendicular to the electrode substrate (downward direction that is perpendicular to the travel direction ‘D’ of 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tazoe et al in view of Kang et al. (WIPO Patent Application/Publication WO2019/103490 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Kang”).
In regards to claims 7-8, Tazoe teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Yet, Tazoe fail to disclose, at least one of the guide rollers (2 and 17/18) includes a heating coil for heating electrode substrate (10) at a temperature between 60°C and 140°C.
However, Kang teach (Figures 1-2) a system (guide roll system 30 illustrated in figure 2) for transferring an electrode substrate (electrode sheet unwound form the roll 11), comprising: a winding roll (roll 11) on which the electrode substrate (electrode sheet unwound form the roll 11) is wound; pairs of guide rollers (rolls 31-35) for controlling a transfer of the electrode substrate (electrode sheet unwound form the roll 11); and at least one of the guide rollers (rolls 31-35) includes a heating coil (heating devices 61-65) mounted thereon; wherein, the electrode substrate (electrode sheet unwound form the roll 11) is heated by the guide rollers (rolls 31-35) having the heating coils (heating devices 61-65), at a heating temperature in a range of 60°C to 140°C (as disclose in paragraphs 0047-0048 in the translated WO2019/103490 A1 provided with this office action).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the guide rollers in Tazoe’s system with a heating coil that is capable of heating the electrode substrate to a temperature between 60°C and 140°C, as suggested by Kang. Heating the electrode substrate using the heating coils of the guide rollers, in such a manner would decrease the occurrence of camber and it would prevent the folding or breaking of a part of the electrode substrate during the transfer process (see also paragraph 0031 in the translated WO2019/103490 A1 provided with this office action).
In regards to claims 12-13, Tazoe teach all intervening claim limitations as shown above. Tazoe further teach (Figures 1-10), the first pair of guide rollers (2) and the second pair of guide rollers (17 and 18) guiding the electrode substrate (10). Yet, Tazoe fail to disclose, at least one of the first and second pair of guide rollers (2 and 17/18) including a heating coil for heating electrode substrate (10) at a temperature between 60°C and 140°C.
Nevertheless, Kang teach (Figures 1-2) a method of transferring (via the guide roll system 30 illustrated in figure 2) an electrode substrate (electrode sheet unwound form the roll 11), comprising: unwinding the electrode substrate (electrode sheet unwound form the roll 11) from a winding roll (roll 11); and guiding of the electrode substrate (electrode sheet unwound form the roll 11) using a plurality of guide rollers (rolls 31-35), while also heating (via the heating devices 61-65) said electrode substrate (electrode sheet unwound form the roll 11) using said plurality of guide rollers (rolls 31-35); wherein, the plurality of guide rollers (rolls 31-35) heats (via the heating devices 61-65) the electrode substrate (electrode sheet unwound form the roll 11) at a heating temperature of 60°C to 140°C (as disclose in paragraphs 0047-0048 in the translated WO2019/103490 A1 provided with this office action).
Consequently, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first and second pair of guide rollers employed in Tazoe’s method, with a heating coil that can be used to heat the electrode substrate to a temperature between 60°C and 140°C, as suggested by Kang. Heating the electrode substrate during the guiding of said electrode substrate (via the first and second pair of guide rollers), in such a manner would decrease the occurrence of camber and it would prevent the folding or breaking of a part of the electrode substrate during the transfer process (see also paragraph 0031 in the translated WO2019/103490 A1 provided with this office action).
Response to Arguments
With respect to applicant’s arguments in pages 6 (section-II) of the remarks filed on 02/02/2026, regarding the previously set forth objections to the claims 2 and 14, all have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, said claim objections has been withdrawn.
With respect to applicant’s arguments in pages 6-7 (section-III) of the remarks filed on 02/02/2026, regarding the previously set forth rejection for claims 1 and 4-14 under 35 U.S.C. 1112(b), all have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, said rejections under 35 U.S.C. 1112(b) has been withdrawn.
With respect to applicant’s arguments in pages 7-8 (section-IV) of the remarks filed on 02/02/2026, regarding the previously set forth 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejections for claims 1 and 10, in view of Tazoe et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2008/0098590 A1), all have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
It’s the applicant’s position that Tazoe et al. fails to teach the electrode substrate transferring system including a controller configured to controller configured to control a position of the bending mitigation roller, in a pressing direction that is perpendicular to the that of the electrode substrate. In response, examiner first notes that the claim 1 limitations do not explicitly disclose the specific structure of the controller in the claimed invention; instead, claim 1 limitations simply describe the operative functionality and/or the intended used of the claimed invention. Furthermore, based on the examiner’s understanding of the recitation of claim 1, “a direction perpendicular to that of the electrode substrate” appear to be a vertical direction (e.g. upward-downward pressing direction) that is orthogonal to a conveying/traveling direction of the electrode substrate. Therefore, any control mechanism in a prior-art electrode substrate transferring system, which is capable of moving the bending mitigation roller in the vertical direction (e.g. downward direction) relative to the conveying/traveling direction of the electrode substrate (i.e. such that said bending mitigation press on said electrode substrate), would sufficiently meet the claim. As details above, Tazoe’s electrode substrate transferring system (cell electrode plate forming apparatus illustrated in figure 1) does comprise a controller (13) configured to control/change the position of the bending mitigation roller (15) in the vertical direction (downward direction that is perpendicular to the travel direction ‘D’ of 10) that is perpendicular to the conveying/traveling direction (travel direction ‘D’ of 10) of the electrode substrate (10), when the portions of the electrode substrate (10) forming the winding roll (1) is unwound (which causes the diameter of said winding roll to reduce in size) and conveyed pass the bending mitigation roller (15). Resultingly, it’s the examiner’s conclusion that Tazoe still anticipate an electrode substrate transferring system according to amended claim 1, and an electrode substrate transferring methos according to amended claim 10.
With respect to applicant’s arguments in pages 7-8 (section-IV) of the remarks filed on 02/02/2026, regarding the previously set forth 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections for claims 7-8 and 12-13, in view of Tazoe et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2008/0098590 A1) and Kang et al. (WO2019/103490 A1, all have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
/R.J.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654