DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikens et al. (US20200036047A1), in view of Yang et al. (US2011/0052951A1), in view Forslow et al. (US2010/0026242A1), and in further view of Lee et al. (KR102064416B1).
As to claim 1 and 12, Aikens discloses an aircraft using a battery pack for propulsion [0038]. As applied to claim 12. Aikens further discloses the battery pack [Abstract] comprising: a plurality of battery cells [Abstract];
Aikens discloses a battery management system BMS (114) is configured to monitor performance of the battery pack 100 at least in part by monitoring various battery parameters (e.g., current, voltage, temperature, pressure). Responsive to detecting a triggering event in the battery pack 100 performance [0019]…The triggering event can also be any number of conditions indicative of a pending thermal increase within the battery pack 100. The thermal increase may be detected at least in part by detecting an overvoltage condition, an undervoltage condition, a temperature measured by a temperature probe exceeding a temperature threshold value [0020]…The BMS (114) then continues to monitor the battery parameters. Responsive to detecting a triggering event (e.g., short circuit, thermal increase conditions), the BMS (114) deenergizes the disconnect mechanism control (118) to cause the disconnect mechanism (104) to transition from the operational position (106) to the bypass position (108). [0025].
Aikens does not explicitly disclose a resistor (discharge resistor (12)) configured to discharge energy of the battery pack when a heat generation phenomenon occurs;
In the same field of endeavor Forslow discloses energy storage system 2 can comprise a plurality of batteries [0022] and further teaches, an energy discharger (electrical circuit (8) comprising switch (10) and discharge resistor (12) [0024], as exemplified by paragraph [10] of the instant specification) …(In case of an accident, the energy storage system 2 is a potential hazard… due to the high voltage of the system. In such situations it is therefore necessary to discharge the energy storage system 2 as fast as possible to zero [0023] For discharging the energy storage system 2, …the energy storage 2 are connected to a first electrical circuit 8 having a first switch 10. As soon as the first switch 10 is closed the discharge process is started by closing the electrical circuit 8. For controlling the discharge and preventing the energy storage system 2 from being damaged, the first electrical circuit 8 comprises a first discharge resistor 12 limiting the discharge current I [0024]..switch 10 is operated by a trigger signal 26 originating from a trigger signal generating source 28 which initializes the discharge process [0036]. Where the high voltage of the system would constitute a heat generation phenomenon for which discharge resistor (12) is configured.
Forslow teaches, it is also desirable to provide a method and an arrangement that reduces the risk exposure of the environment for hazardous side effects caused by the discharge process. [0008]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Aikens with the electrical circuit (8) comprising switch (10) and discharge resistor (12) of Forslow to reduce the risk exposure of the environment for hazardous side effects caused by the discharge process, [0008] and prevent damage to the battery [0024].
Aikens does not explicitly disclose, at least one fire extinguisher configured to discharge aerosol at an operating temperature or higher in order to extinguish flames generated in the battery pack, wherein the resistor supplies heat to the at least one fire extinguisher, and wherein the at least one fire extinguisher is disposed adjacent to the resistor, and a temperature of the at least one fire extinguisher reaches the operating temperature using thermal energy generated from the resistor when the heat generation phenomenon occurs.
In the same field of endeavor Lee discloses the structure that stores energy in the battery is called BESS (Battery Energy Storage System). Generally this is called ESS [Lee, 0002] and teaches, fire extinguisher 70 used to inject…solid aerosol extinguishing agent may be sprayed into the flames, so that the fire is completely extinguished. [Lee, 0014, 0039]… (thus addressing the limitation of at least one fire extinguisher configured to discharge aerosol at an operating temperature or higher in order to extinguish flames generated in the battery pack). Lee, teaches a solid aerosol extinguisher unit 70 including a resistor may be used to detonate the solid aerosol extinguishing agent [Lee, 0038] (Thus addressing the limitation the resistor supplies heat to at least one fire extinguisher). Lee, teaches solid aerosol extinguisher unit 70 includes a resistor inside the extinguishing agent as a starting means for combusting the solid aerosol extinguishing agent [Lee, 0038] (Thus meeting the limitation of at least one fire extinguisher is disposed adjacent to the resistor.). Lee, teaches a heating unit (resistor) heats the detonation part above the flash point of the solid aerosol extinguishing agent starting the extinguishing gas in response to a precursor signal from monitor unit (40) [Lee, 0038]… the monitoring unit 40 data communication with the fire precursor detection unit 30 (C), [Lee, 0040] or Indication of a heat generation phenomenon.(Thus meeting the limitation, a temperature of the at least one fire extinguisher reaches the operating temperature using thermal energy generated from the resistor when the heat generation phenomenon occurs.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Aikens with the solid aerosol extinguisher unit 70 of Lee to safely extinguish battery flames.
Aikens does not explicitly disclose a case configured to receive the plurality of battery cells; In the same field of endeavor Yang discloses a battery module is configured in a structure in which a battery cell stack including a plurality of battery cells or unit modules connected in series to each other while standing in a lateral direction thereof is mounted in a module case. Therefore, it is possible for the module case to safely protect the battery cell stack from external force [0016]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Aikens with the case of Yang to safely protect the battery stack.
As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Aikens discloses the plurality of battery cells (plurality of lithium-ion battery cells, [Abstract]) received in the battery pack (battery pack, [Abstract]) is divided into two or more sections. (The battery packs depicted, here the battery packs 202-1, 202-2, 202-3, and 202-N, indicate any number of battery packs may be wired in series, [0027], figure 2, providing two or more sections of battery packs containing lithium-ion battery cells.
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, modified Aikens discloses the resistor is installed in only one of the two or more sections (Instead of using two different discharge resistors comprised in two different electrical circuits, it is also possible to use a single discharge resistor with an adjustable resistance. [Forslow, 0043]). Where a single discharge resistor may be used provides only one energy discharger in two sections.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Aikens with a single discharge resistor of Forslow to reduce the number of components and improve manufacturability and commercial viability.
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, modified Aikens discloses the energy discharger is installed in each of the two or more sections. (It is also possible to place the first discharge resistor 12 in the vicinity of the energy storage system 2 or to integrate the first discharge resistor 12 or part of it into the energy storage system 2. This simplifies the providing of the coolant 14 to both the first discharge resistor 12 and the energy storage system 2. [Forslow, 0034]. Where integrating the discharge resistor into the energy storage system 2 or battery would place the energy discharger in each section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Aikens with the placement of the discharge resistor of Forslow to simplify the providing of the coolant.
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, modified Aikens discloses comprising a controller (BMS (114)) configured to perform overall management of the battery pack and to control operation of the resistor. (BMS (114) which monitors the battery for triggering events of pending thermal increase exceeding a threshold value or abnormal phenomenon, after detecting a triggering event, the BMS 114 sends a signal, via the disconnect mechanism control 118 to the disconnect mechanism 104 in order to cause the BMS to cause the disconnect mechanism 104 to be in the bypass position 108 [0022], and therefore it would be obvious in a similar manner BMS (114) would send a trigger signal to switch (10) to initiate the discharge process through discharge resistor (12), to reduce the risk exposure of the environment for hazardous side effects caused by the discharge process, [0008] and prevent damage to the battery [0024].
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, modified Aikens discloses the at least one fire extinguisher (solid aerosol fire extinguisher 70 of fire suppression system (1) [Lee, 0020]) comprises a fire extinguishing chemical (KNO3, [Lee, 0039]), a cooler (container, [0039], and the energy storage system 10 may include a plurality of lithium-ion batteries [0022] and further teaches, the inside of the energy storage system 10 there is a nozzle 110 for increasing the injection force of the extinguishing agent [0023].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Aikens with the nozzle of Lee to increase the injection force of the coolant.
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, modified Aikens discloses the fire extinguishing chemical is an aerosol foaming compound (AFC) (potassium nitrate (KNO3) [Lee, 0039] as exemplified in paragraph [0017] of the instant specification) configured to be in a solid state at lower than the operating temperature and to be sprayed in aerosol form at higher than the operating temperature [Lee, 0038].
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated, modified Aikens discloses the AFC comprises at least one of potassium nitrate [Lee,0039], strontium nitrate, and magnesium nitrate.
As to claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, modified Aikens discloses the case of Yang to safely protect the battery stack [Yang, 0016] and Lee discloses, at least one fire extinguisher (the solid aerosol fire extinguisher 70) may be installed on top of the energy storage system 10 [Aikens, 0039] providing all elements within the case and meeting the limitation, the resistor and the fire extinguisher are located in the case.
As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, modified Aikens discloses the at least one fire extinguisher comprises (Solid aerosol fire extinguisher 70 of fire suppression system (1) [Lee, 0020]): a fire extinguishing chemical (potassium nitrate (KNO3) [Lee, 0039]; a cooler below the fire extinguishing chemical (The solid aerosol extinguisher unit 70 includes a solid aerosol receiving container for storing a solid aerosol extinguishing agent [Lee, 0038]) Where a container storing the fire extinguishing agent would be below the agent.; and a nozzle (The inside of the energy storage system 10 there is a nozzle 110 [Lee, 0023]) below the cooler (the inside of the energy storage system 10 there is a nozzle 110 for increasing the injection force of the extinguishing agent sprayed from the pipe 20 [Lee, 0023], and as shown in fig. 1 of Lee (20) is below (70).
As to claim 14, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, modified Aikens discloses comprising a plurality of partitions dividing the plurality of battery cells into sections [Lee, 0022] Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Aikens with the partitions as taught by Lee to detect temperature changes in certain regions [0030] and protect the battery pack.
wherein the at least one fire extinguisher is a plurality of fire extinguishers, and wherein each of the sections has one of the plurality of fire extinguishers. (It is also possible to place the first discharge resistor 12 in the vicinity of the energy storage system 2 or to integrate the first discharge resistor 12 or part of it into the energy storage system 2. This simplifies the providing of the coolant 14 to both the first discharge resistor 12 and the energy storage system 2. [Forslow, 0034]. Where integrating the discharge resistor into the energy storage system 2 or battery would place the energy discharger in each section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Aikens with the placement of the discharge resistor of Forslow to simplify the providing of the coolant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, page 5, the configuration of Forslow precludes the amended limitation of claim 1 of the resistor is disposed adjacent to the fire extinguisher so the heat energy generated by the resistor upon the occurrence of an abnormal condition is directly transferred to the fire extinguisher. The office notes Lee is applied for this limitation in claim 1, not Forslow as discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Ito et al. (US2016/0346577A1) Aerosol fire extinguisher.
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728