Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 5-10 and 13-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the combination of Oni and Alain would not include the insert and the surface of the humeral tray to be circular and at best the constraint ridge would allow the meniscus of Oni to move relative to the runner in a single direction. This is not the intention of the examiner. Alain is used to show a constraint ridge is known, not to modify the shape of the runner of Oni. Further Alain states “it is possible to control the degree of freedom of the relative movement and to define one or more direction of movement” in lines 81-83. Alain clearly states the constraint ridge can be used to limit movement in multiple directions and can be applied different from the given figures. Alain is a teaching reference for a constraint ridge to keep the insert from moving past the limits of the humeral tray surface, it does not modify the shape of the runner of Oni.
Applicant argues Alain is not analogous art as it is not a reverse-type shoulder implant. MPEP 2141.01(a)(I) states “a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem). . .” Alain is a shoulder implant and from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 01/12/2026 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because Chinese Application Serial No. 202180010453.0 Response needs to be translated. The English claims to do show what has been changed and the content of the action cannot be examined.. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oni (GB 2166654 A) in view of Alain (FR 2825263 A1) and Lawrence (US 2019/0021867 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oni discloses an apparatus (fig. 1) comprising:
a humeral tray (runner, fig. 1) configured to be mounted to a proximal end of a humeral stem (fig. 1, lines 88-96); and
an insert (meniscus, fig. 1) positioned on an outer surface of the humeral tray (fig. 1) configured to articulate with a glenosphere (nipple, fig. 1, lines 88-96);
wherein the insert is not attached to the humeral tray such that the insert can articulate and move relative to the humeral tray (lines 88-96).
Oni fails to teach the humeral tray includes a constraint ridge. However, Alain discloses a shoulder joint prosthesis comprising a tray (20, base, fig 4B), an insert (24, movable plate, fig. 4B) and a glenosphere (12, head of the humerus, fig. 4B) that includes the humeral tray includes a constraint ridge (36, rim, fig. 3A) located around a periphery of the humeral tray (20, base, fig. 3A), wherein a height of the constraint ridge and a height of the insert are such that the insert is constrained from moving past the constraint ridge (fig. 3A and 3B, lines 79-110). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Oni to include the humeral tray includes a constraint ridges and the insert is circular as taught by Alain in order to control the degree of freedom of the relative movement (lines 81-83, Alain). For clarity, Alain is a teaching reference for the constraint rides it does not modify the shape of Oni.
Oni in view of Alain fail to teach the humeral tray and the insert is circular. However, Lawrence discloses a shoulder joint prosthesis that includes the insert includes a circular shape (4, plate, figs, 4a-4b) and the outer surface of the humeral tray within the constraint ridge defines a circular shape (3, second cup, figs. 3a-3b), wherein the circular shape of the insert is of a smaller diameter than a diameter of the outer surface of the humeral tray within the constraint ridge such that the insert articulates and moves in any direction relative to the humeral tray (fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of humeral tray and the insert of Oni to be circular as taught by Lawrence since it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.04) and since it would be obvious to try using a circular insert because the insert has to match the shape of the joint and the joint in this case is circular. Since matching the insert shape to joint shape merely involves choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions which are known to be successful, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a circular insert (see MPEP 2143 (I)(E))).
Regarding claim 2, Oni further discloses the humeral tray includes a concave articulation surface (fig. 1).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Oni fails to teach the insert includes a circumferential groove. However, Alain further discloses the insert includes a circumferential groove (groove, 42, fig. 3A) around an outer periphery of the insert (24, movable plate, fig. 3A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the insert of Oni to include a circumferential groove as taught by Alain in order to house lugs (lines 190-200, Alain) and align with the constraint ridge.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Oni fails to teach the insert has a height higher than a height of the constraint ridge. However, Alain further discloses the insert has a height higher than a height of the constraint ridge (fig. 3A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Oni to include the insert has a height higher that a height of the constraint ridge as taught by Alain in order to control the degree of freedom of the relative movement (lines 81-83, Alain).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Oni in view of Alain fails to teach the humeral tray includes a cut-out and the insert includes a post. However, Lawrence further discloses wherein the humeral tray includes a cut-out in a central surface of the humeral tray (12, aperture, fig. 3a) and wherein the insert includes a post extending from a bottom surface of the insert (16, trunion, fig. 4a), wherein the post is configured to ride in the cut-out so as to prevent excessive motion of the insert relative to the humeral tray (functional language). The phrase “the post is configured to ride in the cut-out so as to prevent excessive motion of the insert relative to the humeral tray” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. In this case, the trunion is considered to be capable of preventing excessive motion of the insert relative to the humeral tray. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus and system of Oni and Alain to include the humeral tray includes a cut-out and the insert includes a post as taught by Lawrence since it is a combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predicable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 8, Oni further discloses the insert includes a convex articulation surface for articulating with the humeral tray (fig. 1, lines 99-104) and a concave articulation surface for articulating with the glenosphere (fig. 1, lines 99-104), wherein the convex articulation surface has a greater radius than the concave articulation surface (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Oni discloses a system comprising (fig. 1):
a humeral stem configured to be implanted within a humerus (see annotated fig. 1, below);
a glenosphere (nipple, fig. 1) configured to be mounted on a scapula (see annotated fig. 1, below);
a humeral tray (runner, fig. 1) mounted to a proximal end of the humeral stem (fig. 1, lines 88-96);
an insert (meniscus, fig. 1) positioned on an outer surface of the humeral tray (fig. 1) configured to articulate with the glenosphere (lines 88-96);
wherein the insert is not attached to the humeral tray such that the insert can articulate and move relative to the humeral tray (lines 88-96).
Oni fails to teach the humeral tray includes a constraint ridge. However, Alain discloses a shoulder joint prosthesis comprising a tray (20, base, fig 4B), an insert (24, movable plate, fig. 4B) and a glenosphere (12, head of the humerus, fig. 4B) that includes the humeral tray includes a constraint ridge (36, rim, fig. 3A) located around a periphery of the humeral tray (20, base, fig. 3A), wherein a height of the constraint ridge and a height of the insert are such that the insert is constrained from moving past the constraint ridge (fig. 3A and 3B, lines 79-110). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Oni to include the humeral tray includes a constraint ridges and the insert is circular as taught by Alain in order to control the degree of freedom of the relative movement (lines 81-83, Alain). For clarity, Alain is a teaching reference for the constraint rides it does not modify the shape of Oni.
Oni in view of Alain fail to teach the humeral tray and the insert is circular. However, Lawrence discloses a shoulder joint prosthesis that includes the insert includes a circular shape (4, plate, figs, 4a-4b) and the outer surface of the humeral tray within the constraint ridge defines a circular shape (3, second cup, figs. 3a-3b), wherein the circular shape of the insert is of a smaller diameter than a diameter of the outer surface of the humeral tray within the constraint ridge such that the insert articulates and moves in any direction relative to the humeral tray (fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of humeral tray and the insert of Oni and Alain to be circular as taught by Lawrence since it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.04) and since it would be obvious to try using a circular insert because the insert has to match the shape of the joint and the joint in this case is circular. Since matching the insert shape to joint shape merely involves choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions which are known to be successful, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a circular insert (see MPEP 2143 (I)(E))).
Regarding claim 10, Oni further discloses the humeral tray includes a concave articulation surface (see annotated fig. 1, below).
Conclusion
/T.M.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774