DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application/Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-7, 9 and 19-25) and SEQ ID NO:8 in the reply filed on January 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8, 10 and 16-18 are canceled. Claims 1-7, 9, 11-15 and 19-25 are pending in this application. Claims 11-15 are withdrawn without traverse (filed 01/20/2026) from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 20, 2026.
Claims 1-7, 9 and 19-25 are under examination with respect to SEQ ID NO:8 in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
The attempt to incorporate subject matter into this application by reference to GenBank accession number NP_004343.1 (p. 8; p.15), GenBank accession number NP_002513.2 (p. 9; p.16-17) and GenBank ID AC50727.1 (p. 10; p. 16 of the amended specification filed 02/17/2023) to define the CBLN1 protein, NPTX1 protein and human neuropentraxin-1 respectively is ineffective. The claims and specification depend on the description of GenBank accession number NP_004343.1, GenBank accession number NP_002513.2 and GenBank ID AC50727.1 to define the CBLN1 protein, NPTX1 protein and human neuropentraxin-1 respectively encompassed by the claims. But since accession numbers can be updated, the specification fails to define the claimed sequences, and therefore the claims include any number of undefined variants. For example, Accession No. X87832 has been updated eight times since its initial submission. It is unclear which sequence, the initial or the updated, should be used in the claimed method.
Based on MPEP 608.01(p) Completeness, the recitation of GenBank accession Nos. to define genes/proteins in the claims and the specification is inappropriate because the genes/proteins as defined by accession no. are essential materials, which are required by the claimed multimer or fusion proteins. Thus, the incorporation by reference as by recitation of GenBank accession no. is not effective. The incorporation of essential material in the specification by reference to an unpublished U.S. application, foreign application or patent, or to a publication is improper. Applicant is required to amend the disclosure to include the material incorporated by reference, if the material is relied upon to overcome any objection, rejection, or other requirement imposed by the Office. The amendment must be accompanied by a statement executed by the applicant, or a practitioner representing the applicant, stating that the material being inserted is the material previously incorporated by reference and that the amendment contains no new matter. 37 CFR 1.57(f). Also See MPEP 608.01 (p). I. Incorporation by reference & 37CFR 1.57. Incorporation by reference:
“(c) “Essential material” may be incorporated by reference, but only by way of an incorporation by reference to a U.S. patent or U.S. patent application publication, which patent or patent application publication does not itself incorporate such essential material by reference. “Essential material” is material that is necessary to: (1) Provide a written description of the claimed invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out the invention as required by the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112; (2) Describe the claimed invention in terms that particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention as required by the second paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112…”
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The use of the term “QuixStand”, “Supferdex”, “PG HiLoad” “Optilab T-rEx” (p. 17), “DyLight 405”, “Alexa 488, 546, 647”, “pDisplay” (p. 18), or “Fluoromount-G” (p. 19), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 19 and 24-25 are objected to because of the following informalities: The recitation “a AMPA receptor-binding region” recited in claims 1 and 19 should be “an AMPA receptor-binding region”. Appropriate correction is required.
The recitation “Nrx(S4+)” recited in claims 24-25 is not a unique or common abbreviation in the art. Applicants are required to spell out “Nrx(S4+)” at the first usage. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 19-25 are indefinite because:
i. Regarding claim 19, the term "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
ii. Regarding claim 23, the limitations “the amino acid sequence represented by…” recited in claim 23 is indefinite because it is unclear what other sequences are included and within the scope of the claim. Applicant fails to set forth the metes and bounds of what is encompassed within the limitation “the amino acid sequence represented by…”. Since the metes and bounds are unknown, a skilled artisan cannot envision what other sequences are included and within the scope of the claim. Thus, the claim is indefinite.
iii. The rest of claims is indefinite as depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 9, 19-22 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
To provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of a claimed genus, the specification must provide sufficient distinguishing identifying characteristics of the genus. The factors to be considered include disclosure of complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics, structure/function correlation, methods of making the claimed product, or any combination thereof.
Claims 1-7, 9 and 25 encompass a genus of multimer of one or more fusion proteins, each fusion protein comprising a neurexin (Nrx)-binding region of a cerebellin-1 (CbIn1) protein, a multimerization domain, and an AMPA receptor-binding region of a neuronal pentraxin-1 (Nptx1) protein. Claim 9 encompasses a genus of one or more fusion protein comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:2, which includes fragments within SEQ ID NO:2. Claims 19-22 and 24 encompass a genus of fusion protein comprising a neurexin (Nrx)-binding region of a cerebellin-1 (CbIn1) protein, a multimerization domain, and an AMPA receptor-binding region of a neuronal pentraxin-1 (Nptx1) protein.
The claims also encompass a genus of neurexin (Nrx)-binding region of a cerebellin-1 (CbIn1) protein, a genus of multimerization domain and a genus of AMPA receptor-binding region of a neuronal pentraxin-1 (Nptx1) protein or corresponding to a pentraxin domain of neuropentraxin-1 within the claimed genus of fusion protein.
Applicant has not disclosed sufficient species for the broad genus of multimer of one or more fusion proteins, the broad genus of neurexin (Nrx)-binding region of a cerebellin-1 (CbIni) protein, the broad genus of multimerization domain and the broad genus of AMPA receptor-binding region of a neuronal pentraxin-1 (Nptx1) protein.
The specification only discloses a CBLN1-NPTX1 fusion protein comprising the amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:2 or encoded by the nucleotide of instant SEQ ID NO:1 (see p.11).
In making a determination of whether the application complies with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, it is necessary to understand what Applicant is in possession of and what Applicant is claiming.
M.P.E.P. § 2163 instructs:
An invention described solely in terms of a method of making and/or its function may lack written descriptive support where there is no described or art-recognized correlation between the disclosed function and the structure(s) responsible for the function. . . .
An applicant may show possession of an invention by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that are sufficiently detailed to show that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention as a whole. . . .
An applicant may also show that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics which provide evidence that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention, i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics.”
This standard has not been met in this case. From the specification, Applicant is in possession of a CBLN1-NPTX1 fusion protein comprising the amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:2 or encoded by the nucleotide of instant SEQ ID NO:1 (see p.11). However, Applicant is not in possession of other structurally and functionally undefined fusion protein comprising a genus of Nrx-binding region of Cblin1, a genus of multimerization domain and a genus of AMP receptor-binding region of Nptx1.
The specification provides no identification of any particular portion of the structure that must be conserved for the claimed genus of Nrx-binding region of Cblin1, the claimed genus of multimerization domain and the claimed genus of AMP receptor-binding region of Nptx1 encompassed within the claimed genus of fusion protein.
The instant specification fails to provide sufficient descriptive information, such as definitive structural or functional features of the claimed genus of Nrx-binding region of Cblin1, the claimed genus of multimerization domain and the claimed genus of AMP receptor-binding region of Nptx1 encompassed within the claimed genus of fusion protein.
It is known that a single amino acid change on a molecule or protein can abolish the binding ability or activity of the molecule or protein. For example, a substitution of lysine residue by glutamic acid at position 118 of acidic fibroblast growth factor results in a substantial loss of its biological activity including the binding ability to heparin and its receptor (Burgess et al. J of Cell Bio. 1990, 111:2129-2138). Even if an active or binding site were identified in the specification, they may not be sufficient, as the ordinary artisan would not immediately recognize that an active or binding site must assume the proper three-dimensional configuration to be active because conformation is dependent upon surrounding residues; i.e. substitution of non-essential residues can often destroy activity. In addition to a core determinant sequence, the protein-protein interaction also relies on the flanking or noncontiguous residues (see p. 445 the second column, first paragraph, Pawson et al. 2003, Science 300:445-452). The optimal binding motif for a domain is not necessarily suitable for physiological or in vivo interaction. The predictive data always need to be validated by actual analyses in cells (see p. 445, the third column, second paragraph, Pawson et al. 2003, Science 300:445-452). Alaoui-lsmaili teaches that designing a mutein having predictable activities is difficult because of the complexity of the interactions between ligands and receptors (Alaoui-lsmaili et al., Cytokine Growth Factor Rev. 2009; 20:501-507). For example, given the complexity of BMP-BMP receptor interactions, it is difficult to design BMPs with improved affinity and/or specificity for one specific receptor. More importantly, predicting the in vivo biological activity of such altered BMPs remains a challenging undertaking (see p. 502, right col., 2th paragraph). Further, when multiple mutations are introduced, there is even less predictability because Guo et al. teaches that the effects of mutations on protein function are largely additive (see p. 9207, left col., 2th paragraph, Guo et al., PNAS 2004; 101:9205-9210).
The specification fails to teach what other structures/amino acid sequences can or cannot be included/changed in the claimed genus of Nrx-binding region of Cblin1, the claimed genus of multimerization domain and the claimed genus of AMP receptor-binding region of Nptx1 encompassed within the claimed genus of fusion protein in order to preserve the activity of a CBLN1-NPTX1 fusion protein comprising the amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:2.
The specification provides no description of the conserved regions which are critical to the function of the genus claimed. There is no description of the sites at which variability may be tolerated and there is no information regarding the relation of structure of other fusion proteins to the function of CBLN1-NPTX1 fusion protein of instant SEQ ID NO:2.
Furthermore, the prior art does not provide compensatory structural or correlative teachings sufficient to enable one of skill to identify what other fusion proteins might be. Since the common characteristics/features of other fusion proteins are unknown, a skilled artisan cannot contemplate the functional correlations of the genus with the claimed invention. Accordingly, in the absence of sufficient recitation of distinguishing identifying characteristics, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the genus of fusion proteins, neurexin (Nrx)-binding region of CbIn1 protein, multimerization domain and AMPA receptor-binding region of Nptx1 protein or corresponding to a pentraxin domain of neuropentraxin-1 within the claimed genus of fusion protein.
Based on MPEP § 2161.01 and §2163, “to satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Moba, B.V. v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d at 1563, 19 USPQ2d at 1116”.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d 1111, clearly states “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116).
As discussed above, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed genus of fusion proteins, neurexin (Nrx)-binding region of CbIn1 protein, multimerization domain and AMPA receptor-binding region of Nptx1 protein or corresponding to a pentraxin domain of neuropentraxin-1 within the claimed genus of fusion protein, and therefore conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method of isolating it. The compound itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481 at 1483.
Therefore, the claimed multimer of one or more fusion proteins and the claimed fusion protein have not met the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph. Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 1115). Applicant is directed to the Guidelines for the Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112, ¶ 1 "Written Description" Requirement. See MPEP § 2161.01 and 2163.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 19-22 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. (Development of a novel designer synapse connector and control of synapse formation and behavior In vivo. Program No. 368.28/B53. 2017 Neuroscience Meeting Planner. Washington, DC: Society for Neuroscience, 2017. Online, cited previously) as evidenced by Cheng et al. (Structure, 2016; 24:2163-2173), Elegheert et al. (Science, 2016; 353:295-299) and Sia et al. (Neuron, 2007; 55:87-102).
Claims 1-5 and 25 are drawn to a multimer of one or more fusion proteins, each fusion protein comprising a neurexin (Nrx)-binding region of a cerebellin-1 (CbIn1) protein, a multimerization domain, and a AMPA receptor-binding region of a neuronal pentraxin-1 (Nptx1) protein.
Claims 19-22 and 24 are drawn to a fusion protein comprising a neurexin (Nrx)-binding region of a cerebellin-1 (Cbln1) protein, a multimerization domain including a trimerization domain, and a AMPA receptor-binding region of a neuronal pentraxin-1 (Nptx1) protein.
Suzuki et al. teach a novel synapse connector protein, Cerebellin-Pentraxin chimeric protein (CPTX) (i.e. a fusion protein) which comprises the stalk domain of Cbln1 and the pentraxin domain of neuronal pentraxin 1 (Nptx1), wherein the CPTX makes connection between presynaptic neurexins with splice site 4 and postsynaptic AMPA receptors via respective domains (see p. 1 of the abstract). Suzuki teaches that the CPTX fusion protein bound to HEK cells expressing neurexins with splice site 4 and N-terminal domain of AMPA receptor subunits (GluA1-4) (see p. 1 of the abstract).
The cysteine-rich N-terminal "stalk" domain of Cbln1 disclosed by Suzuki comprises a neurexin (Nrx)-binding region of Cbln1 protein and a multimerization domain which is a trimerization domain and is involved in the interaction with presynaptic neurexin receptors. The cysteine-rich N-terminal "stalk" domain of Cbln1 in the CPTX fusion proteins automatically form a hexamer consisting of two trimers of the CPTX chimeric fusion protein, wherein the trimers are linked to each other by a disulfide bond as evidenced by Cheng et al. (see p. 2164, 1st col.-p. 2166, 2nd col.; Cheng et al., Structure, 2016; 24:2163-2173) and Elegheert et al. (see p. 295-299, Figures 1-2; Science, 2016; 353:295-299). The pentraxin domain of Nptx1 comprising a AMPA receptor-binding region as evidenced by Sia et al. (see p. 87, abstract; p.88, 1st col; p. 92, 1st col.-p.97, 2nd col; Sia et al. Neuron, 2007; 55:87-102). Thus, CPTX fusion proteins disclosed by Suzuki automatically form a multimer comprising two dimers of the CPTX chimeric fusion protein and thus, meet the limitations recited in claims 1-5, 19-22 and 24-25. Accordingly, claims 1-5, 19-22 and 24-25 are anticipated by Suzuki et al. as evidenced by Cheng et al., Elegheert et al. and Sia et al..
Conclusion
12. NO CLAIM IS ALLOWED.
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20040242470 teach a human neuronal pentraxin 1 precursor protein comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1, which is 64.2% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:2 (see the sequence alignment below).
SEQ ID NO:2
ADU70308
(NOTE: this sequence has 2 duplicates in the database searched)
ID ADU70308 standard; protein; 429 AA.
XX
AC ADU70308;
XX
DT 24-FEB-2005 (first entry)
XX
DE Neuronal pentraxin I precursor (NPX-I), SEQ ID 1.
XX
KW Antiarteriosclerotic; Vasotropic; Gene therapy;
KW smooth muscle cell proliferation inhibitor; smooth muscle cell;
KW restenosis; atherosclerosis; neuronal pentraxin I precursor;
KW neuronal pentraxin; apoptosis.
XX
OS Homo sapiens.
XX
CC PN US2004242470-A1.
XX
CC PD 02-DEC-2004.
XX
CC PF 30-MAY-2003; 2003US-00448664.
XX
PR 30-MAY-2003; 2003US-00448664.
XX
CC PA (FUJI/) FUJISE K.
CC PA (MNJO/) MNJOYAN Z H.
XX
CC PI Fujise K, Mnjoyan ZH;
XX
DR WPI; 2005-011659/01.
DR GENBANK; Q15818.
XX
CC PT New inhibitor of smooth muscle cell proliferation comprising a soluble
CC PT protein, its natural or synthetic protein or biologically active region,
CC PT useful for treating atherosclerosis and restenosis.
XX
CC PS Claim 8; SEQ ID NO 1; 40pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to inhibitors of smooth muscle cell
CC proliferation comprising a soluble protein, disclosed as PARIS-1 to -4
CC (ADU70308-ADU70311), where PARIS stands for Protein Associated with
CC Restenosis Inhibition and Secreted. The soluble proteins are secreted by
CC a proliferating vascular smooth muscle cell (VSMC) of a vascular tissue
CC which is resistant to post-angioplasty restenosis to a greater extent
CC than the soluble proteins are secreted by a proliferating VSMC of a
CC vascular tissue that is prone to post-angioplasty restenosis. The
CC inhibitors are useful for treating restenosis or atherosclerosis. The
CC present sequence is PARIS-1, which is also known as neuronal pentraxin I
CC precursor (NPX-1). Neuronal pentraxin is a 47 kDa secreted protein,
CC homologous to C-reactive protein and amyloid protein. Overexpression of
CC pentraxin has been associated with apoptosis.
XX
SQ Sequence 429 AA;
Query Match 64.2%; Score 1128; Length 429;
Best Local Similarity 66.2%;
Matches 229; Conservative 15; Mismatches 22; Indels 80; Gaps 8;
Qy 48 CDSNPTSDP-------------------------------TGTALGIT-----GRMKQIE 71
|:| | || | : || | |:: :|
Db 87 CESQSTLDPGAGEARAGGGRKQPGSGKNTMGDLSRTPAAETLSQLGQTLQSLKTRLENLE 146
Qy 72 -----------DKIEEIL-SKIYHIENEI-ARIKKLIGERGGSGGSGGST---------- 108
: ::::| ||| :| :: :|: | | || |
Db 147 QYSRLNSSSQTNSLKDLLQSKIDELERQVLSRVNTL---EEGKGGPKNDTEERVKIETAL 203
Qy 109 -----------------GPGDKFQLTFPLRTNYMYAKVKKSLPEMYAFTVCMWLKSSATP 151
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 204 TSLHQRISELEKGQKDNRPGDKFQLTFPLRTNYMYAKVKKSLPEMYAFTVCMWLKSSATP 263
Qy 152 GVGTPFSYAVPGQANELVLIEWGNNPMEILINDKVAKLPFVINDGKWHHICVTWTTRDGV 211
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 264 GVGTPFSYAVPGQANELVLIEWGNNPMEILINDKVAKLPFVINDGKWHHICVTWTTRDGV 323
Qy 212 WEAYQDGTQGGSGENLAPYHPIKPQGVLVLGQEQDTLGGGFDATQAFVGELAHFNIWDRK 271
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 324 -EAYQDGTQGGSGENLAPYHPIKPQGVLVLGQEQDTLGGGFDATQAFVGELAHFNIWDRK 382
Qy 272 LTPGEVYNLATCSTKALSGNVIAWAESHIEIYGGATKWTFEACRQI 317
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 383 LTPGEVYNLATCSTKALSGNVIAWAESHIEIYGGATKWTFEACRQI 428
Chang-Yu Wang
March 30, 2026
/CHANG-YU WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675