DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 9-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Baechtle (US-10431945-B1) is newly applied in combination with Motohashi to teach the inclined guide. Therefore, applicant’s arguments regarding Hashida are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motohashi (JP-2019186037-A) (see translation), and further in view of Baechtle (US-10431945-B1).
Regarding claim 1, Motohashi discloses a battery module comprising:
a stack of battery cells (see e.g., Motohashi; [0022], fig. 4, regarding cells 10);
a cover accommodating the stack of battery cells (see e.g., Motohashi; figs. 1-2, [0012], regarding upper case 400);
a bus bar electrically connecting the battery cells (see e.g., Motohashi; [0054], [0056], annotated fig., 6 regarding bus bar 250);
a relay comprising a connection terminal coupled to the bus bar (see e.g., Motohashi; annotated fig. 6, [0054], regarding relay 220 comprising connection terminal);
and a joint block coupled to the bus bar and the connection terminal of the relay (see e.g., Motohashi; annotated fig. 6, [0054], regarding base 210),
wherein the joint block comprises a main body (see e.g., Motohashi; annotated fig. 6 wherein the large rectangular flat portion of base 210 may be the main body);
a seating groove formed in the main body such that the bus bar and the connection terminal are seated therein (see e.g., Motohashi; annotated fig. 6 regarding the area around hole 212 which connects holes 221 and 251 of the bus bar and the connection terminal),
wherein a guide portion is formed in the seating groove such that a first fastening hole (251) formed in the bus bar and a second fastening hole (221) formed in the connection terminal of the relay are aligned (see e.g., Motohashi; annotated fig. 6, wherein the walls that extend vertically up from the main body to align holes 212, 251, and 221 correspond with the guide portion),
wherein the guide portion is an inclined guide comprising an inclination formed along a circumference of the seating groove (see e.g., Motohashi; annotated fig. 6, wherein the guide portion is vertical around the circumference of the area of the hole 212),
wherein the inclined guide is configured such that the bus bar and the connection terminal are in contact with each other and descend toward a third fastening hole (212) along the inclined guide (see e.g., Motohashi; fig. 6, regarding holes 251 and 221 aligning with hole 212, fig. 7 which shows the holes aligned and secured and in contact), and
wherein the first fastening hole of the bus bar, the second fastening hole of the connection terminal of the relay, and the third fastening hole are aligned by the guide portion (see e.g., Motohashi; annotated fig. 6, fig. 7, wherein the guide portion borders the aligned holes).
Motohashi does not explicitly disclose wherein the guide portion is an inclined guide comprising an inclination at acute angle. However, Baechtle discloses a housing having a base, wherein the base includes chamfered lead-ins (226 and 228) which open up to bus bar slots (224) to guide mating with the busbars (102) (see e.g., Baechtle; section 4 lines 43-47, section 7 lines 36-38, figs. 3, 7), which corresponds with the claimed guide portion having an inclined guide with an inclination at an acute angle. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the guide portions disclosed by Motohashi to comprise of chamfered lead-ins as disclosed by Baechtle in order to guide mating with the busbars (see e.g., Baechtle; section 4 lines 43-47).
Regarding claim 3, modified Motohashi teaches the battery module of claim 1,
wherein a third fastening hole in which a female screw is formed is formed in the joint block (see e.g., Motohashi; fig. 6, [0054], regarding fastening member 212), and a fastening bolt is inserted into the second fastening hole and the first fastening hole, and is fastened to the female screw of the third fastening hole (see e.g., Motohashi; figs. 6-7, [0054], regarding bolt 252 which inserts into the second and first fastening holes and fastened to fastening member 212).
Regarding claim 5, modified Motohashi teaches the battery module of claim 3. Motohashi discloses wherein the third fastening hole is formed inside the seating groove (see above regarding claim 1, annotated fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, modified Motohashi teaches the elements of claim 1 as described above. Motohashi also teaches a battery pack 1 comprising a battery module 100 (see e.g., Motohashi; [0010]-[0012]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Motohashi teaches the elements of claim 1 as described above. Motohashi also teaches that the battery pack 1 with battery module 100 may be mounted and used in a vehicle (see e.g., Motohashi; [0011]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motohashi (JP-2019186037-A) (see translation) and Baechtle (US-10431945-B1), and further in view of Motohashi (2) (US-20190006648-A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Motohashi teaches the battery module of claim 1. Motohashi discloses wherein a bolt secures the first fastening hole and the second fastening hole (see e.g., Motohashi; figs. 6-7, regarding bolt 252). Motohashi does not explicitly disclose wherein a protruding bolt is integrally formed on the joint block, and the protruding bolt is inserted into the first fastening hole and the second fastening hole and fastened to a nut. However, Motohashi (2) discloses a protruding bolt is integrally formed on the joint block (see e.g., Motohashi (2); figs. 3-4, 12, regarding studs 203), and the protruding bolt is inserted into the first fastening hole and the second fastening hole and fastened to a nut (see e.g., Motohashi (2); fig. 3, [0103], wherein a first fastening hole is in busbars 281 or 282, a second fastening hole is in the relay 220 such as openings 221, and the stud 203 connects with a nut 290 to secure the first and second holes). Motohashi (2) is further analogous art because Motohashi (2) discloses guide portions such as ribs 202 (see e.g., Motohashi (2); [0095], [0104], fig. 12) which are formed around the seating groove of the studs. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the joint block such that a protruding bolt is integrally formed on the joint block, and the protruding bolt is inserted into the first fastening hole and the second fastening hole and fastened to a nut. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve productivity by shortening the takt time for assembly (see e.g., Motohashi (2); [0006]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motohashi (JP-2019186037-A) (see translation) and Baechtle (US-10431945-B1), and further in view of Aizawa (US-20180151859-A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Motohashi teaches the battery module of claim 3. Motohashi teaches that the fastening bolt 252 is inserted into the first fastening hole 251 of the bus bar, the second fastening hole 221 of the relay, and the third fastening hole sequentially and fixed (see e.g., fig. 6-7). Motohashi does not specifically teach that the fastening bolt is inserted into the second fastening hole, the first fastening hole, and the third fastening hole sequentially and fixed.
However, Aizawa teaches a cell module wherein the relay 53 sits on top of the bus bar 16 (see e.g., [0052], figs. 9-10). Aizawa is equivalent analogous art to Motohashi because Aizawa similarly teaches a battery cell stack with a plurality of cells, wherein the module has a cover, and wherein bus bars electrically connected the battery cells, and relays are used. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery module disclosed by Motohashi by changing the arrangement of the relay 220 and the bus bar 250 such that the relay is secured over the bus bar as disclosed by Aizawa, resulting in the fastening bolt being inserted into the second fastening hole of the relay, the first fastening hole of the bus bar, and the third fastening hole sequentially and fixed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent dimensional errors of assembly components (see e.g., Aizawa; [0007]).
Conclusion
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728