DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is the first Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-19 are currently pending and addressed below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application. No action on the part of the applicant is required at this time.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 7/11/2022, 4/8/2024, and 9/29/2024 were filed before the mailing date of the present Office Action. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Under 37 CFR 1.52(b)(6),
Other than in a reissue application or reexamination or supplemental examination proceeding, the paragraphs of the specification, other than in the claims or abstract, may be numbered at the time the application is filed, and should be individually and consecutively numbered using Arabic numerals, so as to unambiguously identify each paragraph. The number should consist of at least four numerals enclosed in square brackets, including leading zeros (e.g., [0001]). The numbers and enclosing brackets should appear to the right of the left margin as the first item in each paragraph, before the first word of the paragraph, and should be highlighted in bold. A gap, equivalent to approximately four spaces, should follow the number. Nontext elements (e.g., tables, mathematical or chemical formulae, chemical structures, and sequence data) are considered part of the numbered paragraph around or above the elements, and should not be independently numbered. If a nontext element extends to the left margin, it should not be numbered as a separate and independent paragraph. A list is also treated as part of the paragraph around or above the list, and should not be independently numbered.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the paragraphs are not numbered as requested by 37 CFR 1.52(b)(6). Examiner notes that numbering the paragraphs in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(6) assists with interviews and citations to the instant specification. Examiner kindly requests Applicant submit a new specification which follows the guidance under 37 CFR 1.52(b)(6).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 12 recites that “projections of the map traversal blocks in a vertical coordinate axis direction are overlapped,” and that “projections of the map traversal blocks in the horizontal coordinate axis direction are overlapped.” It is unclear what is meant by the term “projection,” or what is being projected that could be overlapping. Furthermore, the present disclosure merely reiterates the claim language without providing any description of what is being projected, or what a projection of a map traversal block means. Examiner is interpreting this limitation to mean that the traversal blocks are stacked or adjacent to each other.
Claims 3-8, 11, and 13-19 depends from claims 1 and 12 are indefinite for the same reasons.
The terms “effective length” and “effective width” in claims 4 and 14 are relative terms which renders the claims indefinite. The term “effective” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Examiner is interpreting the effective length to be the length of the global grid map and the effective width to be the width of the global grid map.
Claims 5-8, 11, and 15-19 depends from claims 4 and 14 are indefinite for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they recite an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis - Step 1
Claims 1-8 and 11 recite a method for establishing map traversal blocks, therefore claims 1-8 and 11 are a process/method, which is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Claims 9 and 12-19 recite a chip having a control program configured to divide a global grid map, therefore claims 9 and 12-19 are a machine, which is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis - Step 2A, Prong 1
Regarding Prong 1 of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1 recites:
A method for establishing map traversal blocks of a global grid map, comprising:
Sl, setting side lengths of the map traversal blocks according to a size of the global grid map;
S2, calculating a coverage number of map traversal blocks in each of a global coordinate axis direction of the global grid map in combination with a ratio relationship between the size of the global grid map and the side lengths of the map traversal blocks determined in S1;
S3, according to a constraint effect of the coverage number of the map traversal blocks determined in S2, carrying out a row-by-row and column-by-column accumulated operation on the side lengths of the map traversal blocks determined in S1 to calculate mapping coordinates of each of a map traversal block, so as to enable the map traversal blocks to be established in each row and each column of the global grid map;
wherein each of the map traversal block is formed by combining corresponding grids according to its mapping coordinates and side length.
These limitations, as drafted, is a method that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity/in the human mind. That is, nothing in the claim elements preclude the steps from practically being performed as human activity/in the mind. For example, “setting side lengths of a map...,” “calculating a coverage number of map traversal blocks…,” and “calculate mapping coordinates of each of a map traversal block...,” encompass a mental process of dividing a global grid map into blocks in the horizontal and vertical directions. Thus, the claims recite at least one abstract idea.
Regarding claim 9, the control program that is configure to divide the global grid map is only required to be capable of performing the steps of dividing the grid map and not required to actually divide the grid map. Examiner is interpreting the configured to divide limitation to mean that the control program is capable of performing the method steps of dividing the global grid map, but is not actually performing the steps. Therefore, the limitation of dividing the global grid map is not a positively recited limitation of claim 9. Examiner suggests amending claim 9 to positively recite the movement using “a control program which divides…” or “a control program that divides…” or something similar. However, Examiner notes that positively reciting performance of the methods steps alone does not remove the claim from being an abstract idea. Examiner suggests amending claim 1 and 9 to include the mobile robot expressly performing the method steps of dividing the global grid map.
101 Analysis - Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding Prong 2 of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. It must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, there are no additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea contained in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the examiner submits that the addition of a computer chip and a control program to perform the above-noted abstract idea does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements of a computer chip and control program, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular process for determining a route for the mobile body, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP§ 2106.05). These additional limitations are mere instructions to apply the above-noted abstract idea by using a general processor and computer system to perform the process. In particular, the devices recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis - Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of a computer chip and control program to divide a global grid map into blocks in the horizontal and vertical directions amounts to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions cannot provide an inventive concept. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Therefore, claim 1 is ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Dependent claims 2-8 and 11-19 specifies limitations that elaborate on the abstract idea of claims 1 and 9, and thus are directed to an abstract idea, do not recite additional limitations that integrate the claim into a practical application or amount to “significantly more” for similar reasons.
As noted above, Examiner directs Applicant to claim 10 in which the mobile robot is positively claimed, reciting significantly more than an abstract idea. Examiner also encourages Applicant to request an interview to discuss proposed claim language for overcoming the current rejections under § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0251717 to Liu et al. (hereafter, “Liu I”).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 10, Liu I discloses:
A method for establishing map traversal blocks of a global grid map (¶ [0002]), comprising:
Sl, setting side lengths of the map traversal blocks according to a size of the global grid map (¶ [0045] describing setting a length of one tile area as a unit of measurement for horizontal coordinates and setting a width of one tile as a unit of measurement for vertical coordinates, and setting the side lengths according to the size of the global grid map);
S2, calculating a coverage number of map traversal blocks in each of a global coordinate axis direction of the global grid map in combination with a ratio relationship between the size of the global grid map and the side lengths of the map traversal blocks determined in S1 (¶¶ [0045], [0056], [0123] describing calculating a coverage area based on the number of tiles in combination with a ratio of the size of the global map and the tile lengths; see also Figure 2 depicting calculation of the number of map tiles);
S3, according to a constraint effect of the coverage number of the map traversal blocks determined in S2, carrying out a row-by-row and column-by-column accumulated operation on the side lengths of the map traversal blocks determined in S1 to calculate mapping coordinates of each of a map traversal block, so as to enable the map traversal blocks to be established in each row and each column of the global grid map (¶¶ [0041], [0045], [0046], [0127] describing a row-by-row and column-by-column accumulation of map tiles; ¶ [0052] describing mapping coordinates of each tile in each row and each column);
wherein each of the map traversal block is formed by combining corresponding grids according to its mapping coordinates and side length (Figure 5).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Liu I discloses a chip and control program (Figure 8) and a mobile robot comprising the chip and control program (¶ [0063] virtual object)
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Liu I discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 9. Liu I further discloses:
wherein map traversal blocks of each row of the global grid map are arranged in a horizontal coordinate axis direction and projections of the map traversal blocks in a vertical coordinate axis direction are overlapped, and map traversal blocks of each column of the global grid map are arranged in the vertical coordinate axis direction and projections of the map traversal blocks in the horizontal coordinate axis direction are overlapped; the global coordinate axis directions comprise the vertical coordinate axis direction and the horizontal coordinate axis direction (Figure 5 depicting the map tiles in the vertical and horizontal axis directions overlapping in the global map; ¶ [0056] describing how the coordinate system is set up for each of the map tiles).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Liu I discloses all the limitations of claims 2 and 12. Liu I further discloses:
wherein S1 specifically comprises:
S11, presetting a standard side length, and then entering S12 (¶ [0056] presetting a length as one unit);
S12, judging whether a length and a width of the global grid map are both greater than 2 times of the standard side length or not, in a case that the length and the width of the global grid map are both greater than 2 times of the standard side length, setting the side length of the map traversal blocks as the standard side length, otherwise, entering S13 (¶ [0045] describing setting the lengths of the map tiles and dividing the global map into equal areas; Figure 2 depicting that the length and width of the global map can be any number (m) times greater than the side length of the tiles);
S13, judging whether the length and the width of the global grid map are both greater than the standard side length or not, in a case that the length and the width of the global grid map are both greater than the standard side length, setting the side length of the map traversal blocks to be half of the standard side length, otherwise, entering S14 (¶ [0045] describing setting the lengths of the map tiles and dividing the global map into equal areas; Figure 2 depicting that the length and width of the global map can be any number (m) times greater than the side length of the tiles, including half the length, which would result in simply a 2x2 tile map);
S14, setting the side length of the map traversal blocks to be one fourth of the standard side length; wherein the global grid map is a rectangular map region, and the map traversal blocks are squares (¶ [0045] and Figure 5; Liu I teaches that the side lengths of the map tiles can be any length as compared to the global map, including a 0:0 ration up to an m:n ratio, meaning that Liu et al teaches any combination of lengths and widths in relation to the global map).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Liu I discloses all the limitations of claims 3 and 13. Liu I further discloses:
wherein S2 specifically comprises:
calculating a ratio of an effective length of the global grid map to the side length of the map traversal blocks, and carrying out plus-one processing to obtain a coverage number of the map traversal blocks in the vertical coordinate axis direction of the global grid map; and calculating a ratio of an effective width of the global grid map to the side length of the map traversal blocks, and carrying out plus-one processing to obtain a coverage number of the map traversal blocks in the horizontal coordinate axis direction of the global grid map (Examiner interprets this limitation to be determining the number of tiles/blocks needed in both the horizontal and vertical directions and then adding one tile at a time until the global map is complete, which is depicting in Figures 5 and 6 of Liu I and described in ¶¶ [0056] – [0060] and [0083] – [0087]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Liu I discloses all the limitations of claims 4 and 14. Liu I further discloses:
wherein S3 specifically comprises:
S31, taking a grid position at a lower left corner of the global grid map as a reference original point, and then entering S32 (Figure 5, tile coordinate (0,0);
S32, starting from the reference original point, adding a coordinate of the reference original point on the vertical coordinate axis with the side length of the map traversal block to calculate and determine a mapping coordinate of a currently determined map traversal block on the vertical coordinate axis (Figure 5, tile coordinate (1,0)), meanwhile, determining that a mapping coordinate of a currently determined map traversal block on the horizontal coordinate axis is equal to a coordinate of the reference original point on the horizontal coordinate axis (Figure 5, the horizontal coordinate remained zero at (1,0)), and then entering S33, wherein the reference original point is a position with a minimum coordinate value on each of the global coordinate axis of the global grid map (Figure 5, tile coordinate (0,0));
S33, judging whether a number of the map traversal blocks of which the mapping coordinates have been determined in the vertical coordinate axis direction is smaller than the coverage number of the map traversal blocks in the vertical coordinate axis direction of the global grid map or not, in a case that the mapping coordinates have been determined in the vertical coordinate axis direction is smaller than the coverage number of the map traversal blocks in the vertical coordinate axis direction of the global grid map, entering S34, otherwise, entering S35 (Figure 5, at coordinate (1,0) the number of map tiles with coordinates is smaller than the coverage map, which extends to coordinate (m,0));
S34, adding the mapping coordinate of the currently determined map traversal block on the vertical coordinate axis with the side length of the map traversal block to calculate and determine a mapping coordinate of an adjacent map traversal block in the same vertical coordinate axis direction on the vertical coordinate axis, meanwhile, determining that a mapping coordinate of the adjacent map traversal block in the same vertical coordinate axis direction on the horizontal coordinate axis is the same as the mapping coordinate of the currently determined map traversal block on the horizontal coordinate axis, and then returning to S33, so that mapping coordinates of each of the map traversal block in the same vertical coordinate axis direction are determined row by row under a constraint effect of a coverage number in the same vertical coordinate axis direction (Figure 5 depicting adding coordinates to all tiles in the vertical direction from (1,0) to (m,0); see also [0056] – [0060] and [0083] – [0087] describing the process of determining the coordinates of the tiles in the vertical direction);
S35, adding the mapping coordinate of the currently determined map traversal block on the horizontal coordinate axis with the side length of the map traversal block to calculate and determine a mapping coordinate of the adjacent map traversal block in the same horizontal coordinate axis direction on the horizontal coordinate axis (Figure 5, coordinate (0, 1), meanwhile, determining that a mapping coordinate of the adjacent map traversal block in the same horizontal coordinate axis direction on the vertical coordinate axis is the same as the mapping coordinate of the currently determined map traversal block on the vertical coordinate axis (Figure 5, the vertical coordinate remained zero at (0,1)), and then entering S36, so that mapping coordinates of each of the map traversal block in the same horizontal coordinate axis direction are determined column by column under a constraint effect of a coverage number in the same horizontal coordinate axis direction (Figure 5 depicting adding coordinates to all tiles in the horizontal direction from (0,1) to (0,n); see also ¶¶ [0056] – [0060] and [0083] – [0087] describing the process of determining the coordinates of the tiles in the vertical direction; the constrain effect is the boundary of the global map);
S36, judging whether a number of the map traversal blocks of which the mapping coordinates have been determined in the horizontal coordinate axis direction is smaller than the coverage number of the map traversal blocks in the horizontal coordinate axis direction of the global grid map or not, in a case that the number of the map traversal blocks of which the mapping coordinates have been determined in the horizontal coordinate axis direction is smaller than the coverage number of the map traversal blocks in the horizontal coordinate axis direction of the global grid map, returning to S33, otherwise, determining that the mapping coordinates of each of the map traversal block in the global grid map have been calculated row by row and column by column, so that the map traversal blocks are established in each row and each column of the global grid map, and a block processing of the global grid map is completed (Examiner interprets this limitation to be determining that all coordinates of all tiles within the global map, including in the horizontal and vertical directions, have been determined and mapped, which is depicted by Liu I in Figures 5 and 6 and described in ¶¶ [0056] – [0060] and [0083] – [0087]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Liu I discloses all the limitations of claims 4 and 14. Liu I further discloses:
wherein S3 specifically comprises:
S31, taking a grid position at a lower left corner of the global grid map as a reference original point, and then entering S32 (Figure 5, tile coordinate (0,0);
S32, starting from the reference original point, adding a coordinate of the reference original point on the horizontal coordinate axis with the side length of the map traversal block to calculate and determine a mapping coordinate of a currently determined map traversal block on the horizontal coordinate axis (Figure 5, tile coordinate (0,1)), meanwhile, determining that a mapping coordinate of a currently determined map traversal block on the vertical coordinate axis is equal to a coordinate of the reference original point on the vertical coordinate axis (Figure 5, the horizontal coordinate remained zero at (0,1)), and then entering S33, wherein the reference original point is a position with a minimum coordinate value on each of the global coordinate axis of the global grid map (Figure 5, tile coordinate (0,0));
S33, judging whether a number of the map traversal blocks of which the mapping coordinates have been determined in the horizontal coordinate axis direction is smaller than the coverage number of the map traversal blocks in the horizontal coordinate axis direction of the global grid map or not, in a case that the mapping coordinates have been determined in the horizontal coordinate axis direction is smaller than the coverage number of the map traversal blocks in the horizontal coordinate axis direction of the global grid map, entering S34, otherwise, entering S35 (Figure 5, at coordinate (0,1) the number of map tiles with coordinates is smaller than the coverage map, which extends to coordinate (0,n));
S34, adding the mapping coordinate of the currently determined map traversal block on the horizontal coordinate axis with the side length of the map traversal block to calculate and determine a mapping coordinate of an adjacent map traversal block in the same horizontal coordinate axis direction on the horizontal coordinate axis, meanwhile, determining that a mapping coordinate of the adjacent map traversal block in the same horizontal coordinate axis direction on the horizontal coordinate axis is the same as the mapping coordinate of the currently determined map traversal block on the vertical coordinate axis, and then returning to S33, so that mapping coordinates of each of the map traversal block in the same horizontal coordinate axis direction are determined row by row under a constraint effect of a coverage number in the same horizontal coordinate axis direction (Figure 5 depicting adding coordinates to all tiles in the horizontal direction from (0,1) to (0,n); see also [0056] – [0060] and [0083] – [0087] describing the process of determining the coordinates of the tiles in the horizontal direction);
S35, adding the mapping coordinate of the currently determined map traversal block on the vertical coordinate axis with the side length of the map traversal block to calculate and determine a mapping coordinate of the adjacent map traversal block in the same vertical coordinate axis direction on the horizontal coordinate axis (Figure 5, coordinate (1,0), meanwhile, determining that a mapping coordinate of the adjacent map traversal block in the same vertical coordinate axis direction on the horizontal coordinate axis is the same as the mapping coordinate of the currently determined map traversal block on the vertical coordinate axis (Figure 5, the vertical coordinate remained zero at (1,0)), and then entering S36, so that mapping coordinates of each of the map traversal block in the same vertical coordinate axis direction are determined column by column under a constraint effect of a coverage number in the same vertical coordinate axis direction (Figure 5 depicting adding coordinates to all tiles in the vertical direction from (1,0) to (m,0); see also ¶¶ [0056] – [0060] and [0083] – [0087] describing the process of determining the coordinates of the tiles in the horizontal direction; the constrain effect is the boundary of the global map);
S36, judging whether a number of the map traversal blocks of which the mapping coordinates have been determined in the vertical coordinate axis direction is smaller than the coverage number of the map traversal blocks in the vertical coordinate axis direction of the global grid map or not, in a case that the number of the map traversal blocks of which the mapping coordinates have been determined in the vertical coordinate axis direction is smaller than the coverage number of the map traversal blocks in the vertical coordinate axis direction of the global grid map, returning to S33, otherwise, determining that the mapping coordinates of each of the map traversal block in the global grid map have been calculated row by row and column by column, so that the map traversal blocks are established in each row and each column of the global grid map, and a block processing of the global grid map is completed (Examiner interprets this limitation to be determining that all coordinates of all tiles within the global map, including in the horizontal and vertical directions, have been determined and mapped, which is depicted by Liu I in Figures 5 and 6 and described in ¶¶ [0056] – [0060] and [0083] – [0087]).
Regarding claims 7, 11, 17, and 18, Liu I discloses all the limitations of claims 5, 6, 15, and 16. Liu I further discloses:
wherein a coordinate of a grid point traversed by a robot on the vertical coordinate axis is greater than or equal to the mapping coordinate of the map traversal block on the vertical coordinate axis; the coordinate of the grid point traversed by the robot on the vertical coordinate axis is smaller than or equal to a result obtained by subtracting one from the sum of the mapping coordinate of the map traversal block on the vertical coordinate axis and the side length of the map traversal block (Examiner is interpreting this limitation to mean that the robot travels to a block that in the vertical direction, but is at least one block short of the maximum coordinate in the vertical direction, which is taught by Liu I in Figures 5 and 6 and ¶¶ [0056] – [0060] and [0083] – [0087]); a coordinate of the grid point traversed by the robot on the horizontal coordinate axis is greater than or equal to the mapping coordinate of the map traversal block on the horizontal coordinate axis; the coordinate of the grid point traversed by the robot on the horizontal coordinate axis is smaller than or equal to a result obtained by subtracting one from the sum of the mapping coordinate of the map traversal block on the horizontal coordinate axis and the side length of the map traversal block, and it is determined that the grid point traversed by the robot is located in the map traversal block (Examiner is interpreting this limitation to mean that the robot travels to a block that in the horizontal direction, but is at least one block short of the maximum coordinate in the horizontal direction, which is taught by Liu I in Figures 5 and 6 and ¶¶ [0056] – [0060] and [0083] – [0087]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu I, as applied above to claims 4 and 14, in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0192399 to Liu et al. (hereafter, Liu II).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Liu I discloses all the limitations of claims 4 and 14. Liu I further discloses:
wherein when a robot traverses any grid in the map traversal block, a corresponding map traversal block is marked as a traversed map traversal block (¶ [0063] describing updating the tile as traversed after the robot leaves the central area and arrives at a tile).
Liu I does not expressly disclose that the robot is a cleaning robot.
Liu II, in the same field of endeavor, teaches creating a map for a cleaning robot that includes determining tile coordinates in the vertical and horizontal directions (Figure 4; ¶ [0095], cleaning robot).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu I’s invention to incorporate the method of mapping into a cleaning robot, as taught by Liu II, with a reasonable expectation of success in creating a map of an area to be cleaned by a cleaning robot and determining whether obstacles exist in the mapped area (Liu II at ¶¶ [0047] – [0050]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0206122 to Zhan et al. teaches a method for establishing traversal blocks of a global grid map by carrying out a row-by-row and column-by-column of lengths and widths of blocks that include mapping coordinates.
/JDH/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/TIFFANY P YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666