DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on December 2, 2025, has been entered. Claims 25-37 are presently pending with claims 25 and 35-37 being independent. Claims 26-34 have been previously presented. Claims 1-24 are canceled. Claims 25 and 35-37 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, pages 7-11, filed December 2, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that when uplink transmission of the SRS is mentioned in Fan et al. (US 2022/0264561 A1; hereinafter Fan), ‘codebook’ and ‘antennaSwitching’ SRS resources are discussed together in the same paragraph as an optional implementation, whereas ‘nonCodebook’ SRS is not discussed at all. Applicant also states that handling both ‘codebook’ and ‘non-codebook’ based SRS resources identically without differentiation is also missing in Yu et al. (US 2021/0051668 A1; hereinafter Yu). Applicant further argues that “the teachings in Fan and Yu would lead one of ordinary skill in the art away from the teachings of the present application and claims that only focus on ‘codebook’ and ‘nonCodebook’ SRS resources and handle these two types of SRS resources identically without including ‘antennaSwitching’ SRS resources. However, amended claim 25 recites an SRS resource or SRS resource set having a parameter usage set to “codebook” or “nonCodebook”, but does not require exclusion of all other SRS usage types, does not require that the prior art expressly state that codebook and nonCodebook resources are handled “identically,” and does not recite any prohibition against disclosures that also address antennaSwitching resources. Thus, Applicant’s argument is not commensurate with the scope of the claim. Additionally, neither Fan nor Yu teaches away from the claimed subject matter. Fan discloses SRS for codebook based uplink transmission and explains that the disclosed solution may be selectively applied to one or more uplink channels/signals, including SRS, and to one or more SRS usage types rather than mandating all types in every implementation (¶ [0186]). Yu also recognizes that SRS resource set usage may be configured as one of beamManagement, codebook, nonCodebook, or antennaSwitching, and then separately provides implementations for SRS nonCodebook resources in §2.1 (¶ [0079) and for SRS codebook resources in Section 2.2 (¶ [0104]). Yu’s grouping of codebook and antennaSwitching resources as “SRS-ac” is stated to be merely “for ease of illustration” (¶ [0105). Accordingly, the cited prior art does not lead one of ordinary skill in the art away from the claimed subject matter, and Applicant’s teaching away argument is not persuasive.
Next, Applicant argues that both Fan and Yu fail to disclose a MAC-CE message that “associates a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource or an SRS resource set comprising at least one SRS resource configured with a parameter usage that is set to ‘codebook’ or ‘nonCodebook’, with a control resource set pool index.” Applicant argues that “Fan is silent about a MAC-CE based signaling method that associates a specific type of SRS resource (‘codebook’ or ‘nonCodebook’ type of SRS resource) with a control resource set pool index.” However, claim 25 is written in the alternative and is satisfied by the higher-layer configuration branch as well as the MAC-CE branch. Fan teaches that the claimed resource may be an SRS (¶ [0079]), that the resource is configured by RRC signaling (¶ [0080]), that an SRS resource set may have usage parameter codebook (¶ [0186]), that the spatial relation delivered by the network device may be carried in RRC signaling or MAC-CE signaling (¶ [0191], and that one SRS may be associated with one CORESET, with each CORESET being associated with a first index value such as CORESETPoolIndex (¶ [0252], ¶ [0258]). Yu teaches that SRS resource set usage may be configured as codebook or nonCodebook (¶ [0078]), that an SRS-nonCodebook resource may be associated with a CORESET by network implicit/explicit signaling (¶¶ [0084]-[0088], and that the pathloss reference RS/Spatial-domain transmission filter for such SRS may be determined from the QCL parameters of the CORESET (¶¶ [0097]-[0103]). Yu also teaches corresponding CORESET association and QCL-based determination for SRS codebook resources (¶¶ [0111]-[0115], ¶¶ [0125]-[0130]). Accordingly, the combined teachings of Fan and Yu overcome Applicant’s argument.
Applicant asserts that “an additional enabling flag for the derivation of the spatial relation or the pathloss reference RS is different from Fan, where the UL beamforming is switched to multi-TRP scenario automatically when the DL is configured for multi-TRP transmissions. In the present application, if the additional flag is not enabled, the UE may only operate the DL transmissions in multi-TRP mode, while maintaining the UL SRS (and the corresponding PUSCH) transmission in single-TRP mode.” However, the claim does not require such a negative limitation or fallback behavior. The claim positively recites receipt of a higher-layer parameter that configures the UE to derive the spatial relation or pathloss reference signal for the SRS resource from QCL information of the CORESET associate with the control resource set pool index when more than one value is configured for the control resource set pool index. Fan teaches that, in a multi-TRP environment involving multiple CORESET groups or control resource set pool indices, the UE may determine uplink beam information and pathloss reference information based on the CORESET associated QCL/reference signal configuration, and Fan further teaches higher-layer configuration parameters that enable or control such derivation. Fan is not limited to a purely automatic beamforming switch based only on DL multi-TRP configuration, as alleged, but instead teaches network configured enablement of the claimed derivation behavior. Accordingly, the amendment does not patentably distinguish the claim over Fan, and the rejection is maintained.
Rejection of the remaining independent claims has been maintained mutatis mutandis. The rejection of dependent claims is maintained as the rejection of the independent claims has been maintained and there are no specific arguments related to the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-26, 32, and 34-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 2022/0264561 A1; hereinafter Fan) in view of Yu et al. (US 2021/0051668 A1; hereinafter Yu).
Regarding claims 25, Fan teaches a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) (Fig. 1, illustrates a Terminal device; ¶ [0054] The system architecture includes a terminal device.),
the method comprising:
receiving, from a network node (read as network device), a higher layer configuration (read as RRC) or a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) message that associates a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource or an SRS resource set comprising at least one SRS resource configured with a parameter usage that is set to "codebook" or "nonCodebook", with a control resource set pool index (¶ [0079] The resource may be an SRS.; ¶ [0080] The resource is configured by using RRC signaling.; ¶ [0186] An SRS for codebook-based uplink transmission (an SRS in an SRS resource set whose usage parameter is codebook).; ¶ [0191] The spatial relation that is delivered by the network device may be carried in downlink signaling, such as RRC signaling or media access control element (MAC-CE) signaling.; ¶ [0252] One SRS may be associated with one CORESET. Each CORESET may be associated with a CORESETPoolIndex.),
wherein the control resource set pool index is a higher-layer parameter in a configuration of a control resource set (CORESET) (¶ [0141] The CORESET may be configured by using a control-resource set parameter in RRC signaling.; ¶ [0258] The network device may configure a plurality of CORESETs for the terminal device, and each CORESET may be separately associated with one first index value (for example, CORESETPoolIndex).),
wherein the CORESET comprises resources on which a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is transmitted from the network node (read as network device) (¶ [0082] One CORESET includes a plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs). Transmission of a PDCCH is performed in the CORESET.; ¶ [0229] The network device sends the PDCCH to the terminal device.); and
deriving a spatial relation or a reference signal (RS) as pathloss (read as road loss) reference for said "codebook" or "nonCodebook" SRS resource or for said at least one SRS resource of the "codebook" or "nonCodebook" SRS resource set with reference to at least one reference signal (RS) from quasi-colocation (QCL) information of a CORESET associated with said control resource set pool index (¶ [0186] SRS for codebook-based uplink transmission (namely, an SRS in an SRS resource set whose usage parameter is codebook).; ¶ [0252] Each CORESET may be associated with a first index value, for example, CORESETPoolIndex.; ¶ [0290] The QCL reference signal resource of the typeD type in the TCI-state of the CORESET is used as the reference signal resource for road loss measurement for performing uplink transmission.),
when more than one value is configured for the control resource set pool index (¶ [0258] Each CORESET may be separately associated with one first index value (for example, CORESETPoolIndex). First index values associated with some CORESETs are 0, and first index values associated with some CORESETs are 1.), and
when a higher-layer parameter is received from the network node that configures the UE to derive the spatial relation or the RS as pathloss reference for the SRS resource from the QCL information of the CORESET associated with the control resource set pool index (¶ [0157] A reference signal resource used to indicate quasi-co-location information (for example, quasi-co-location information of the typeD type).; ¶ [0251] The reference signal resource used to determine the spatial relation.; ¶ [0252] CORESET may be associated with one PUCCH/PUSCH/SRS. Each CORESET may be associated with a CORESETPoolIndex.; ¶ [0271] RRC signaling may be used for configuration. A parameter in one piece of RRC signaling is used to indicate that one of the plurality of solutions for determining the spatial relation for uplink transmission is selected.; ¶ [0280] Configure a parameter enableDefaultBeamP1ForSRS.; ¶ [0291] QCL reference signal resource of the typeD type in the TCI-state of the PDCCH corresponding to the CORESET. In the CORESET group associated with the uplink transmission is used as the reference signal resource for road loss measurement.; ¶ [0304] RRC may be used for configuration. A parameter in one piece of RRC signaling is used to indicate that one of the plurality of solutions is selected.; ¶ [0312] The network device may configure a parameter enablePLRSupdateForPUSCHSRS.),
Fan does not explicitly teach wherein the QCL information comprises a relationship between one or more reference signals and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port(s) of the PDCCH, transmitted on the CORESET and the relationship indicates channel parameter(s) or reception type parameter(s) that are obtained from the reference signals.
In analogous art, Yu teaches wherein the QCL information comprises a relationship between one or more reference signals and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port(s) of the PDCCH, transmitted on the CORESET and the relationship indicates channel parameter(s) or reception type parameter(s) that are obtained from the reference signals (¶ [0034], Table 1, QCL assumption is applied for the CORESET used for the transmission of Physical DL Control Channel (PDCCH). QCL parameter(s) used for the PDCCH QCL indication of the CORESET.; ¶ [0133] The “properties of the channel” may include Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, and spatial Reception (Rx) parameters. These properties may be categorized into different QCL parameters.; ¶ [0155] A TCI state may contain parameters for configuring a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and a target RS set. For example, a target RS set may be the DMRS ports of a PDCCH.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine QCL information taught by Yu with SRS configuration and beam management taught by Fan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase efficiency and improve reliability by saving UL beam indication signaling for enabling spatial relation information based on the DL QCL assumption. (Yu: ¶¶ [0005-0008] & ¶ [0034]).
Regarding claim 26, Fan teaches wherein the higher layer configuration of an SRS resource comprises the higher layer parameter CORESETpoolIndex (¶ [0079] The resource may be an uplink signal resource. An uplink signal resource includes an SRS.; ¶ [0080] The resource is configured by using RRC signaling.; ¶ [0252] One SRS may be associated with one CORESET (for example, associated with one CORESET index). Each CORESET may be associated with a first index value, for example, CORESETPoolIndex.).
Regarding claim 32, Fan teaches transmitting, to the network node, said SRS according to the spatial relation with a reference to a RS associated with the QCL information of the CORESET having the lowest identification number (ID) (read as minimum index) among the CORESETs associated with said control resource set pool index (¶ [0212] The spatial relation may be determined based on the reference signal resource in the QCL corresponding to the CORESET with the minimum index.; ¶ [0251] The reference signal resource corresponding to the currently activated TCI-state of the control-resource set with the minimum index in the control-resource sets that are associated with the SRS is used to determine the spatial relation for transmission of the SRS.; ¶ [0252] One SRS may be associated with one CORESET. Each CORESET may be associated with a CORESETPoolIndex.).
Regarding claim 34, Fan teaches transmitting, to the network node (read as network device), an SRS using the derived spatial relation and/or pathloss (read as road loss) reference RS when more than one value is configured for the control resource set pool index (Fig. 1, illustrates a terminal device sending and receiving signals from a network device; ¶ [0056] Transmission performed by the terminal device in a direction of the network device may be referred to as uplink transmission.; ¶ [0180] A reference signal resource for road loss measurement that is used for the SRS.; ¶ [0185] Uplink transmission performed by the terminal device. The uplink transmission is uplink transmission of an SRS.; ¶ [0251] The reference signal resource of the control-resource set with the minimum index in the control-resource sets that are associated with the SRS used to determine the spatial relation for transmission of the SRS.; ¶ [0252] The first index value may be 0 or 1.; ¶ [0278] All CORESETs configured by the network device for the terminal device are associated with two different first index values (for example, CORESETPoolIndex). The network device needs to indicate an SRS spatial relation for uplink transmission.).
Regarding claim 35, Fan teaches a user equipment (UE) (read as terminal device) comprising a processor and a memory containing instructions executable by the processor (read as computer program code) (Fig. 5, element 50 terminal device, element 501 Processor, element 502 Memory containing computer program code; ¶ [0328] The memory is configured to store instructions.; ¶ [0342] The processor is configured to execute a computer program or instructions, to enable the communication device to implement the method on the terminal device. ¶ [0343] The terminal device may include memory and a processor.),
whereby said UE is operative to:
receive, from a network node (read as network device), a higher layer configuration (read as RRC) or a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) message that associates a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource or an SRS resource set comprising at least one SRS resource configured with a parameter usage that is set to "codebook" or "nonCodebook", with a control resource set pool index (¶ [0079] The resource may be an SRS.; ¶ [0080] The resource is configured by using RRC signaling.; ¶ [0186] An SRS for codebook-based uplink transmission (an SRS in an SRS resource set whose usage parameter is codebook).; ¶ [0191] The spatial relation that is delivered by the network device may be carried in downlink signaling, such as RRC signaling or media access control element (MAC-CE) signaling.; ¶ [0252] One SRS may be associated with one CORESET. Each CORESET may be associated with a CORESETPoolIndex.),
wherein the control resource set pool index is a higher-layer parameter in a configuration of a control resource set (CORESET) (¶ [0141] The CORESET may be configured by using a control-resource set parameter in RRC signaling.; ¶ [0258] The network device may configure a plurality of CORESETs for the terminal device, and each CORESET may be separately associated with one first index value (for example, CORESETPoolIndex).),
wherein the CORESET comprises resources on which a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is transmitted from the network node (read as network device) (¶ [0082] One CORESET includes a plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs). Transmission of a PDCCH is performed in the CORESET.; ¶ [0229] The network device sends the PDCCH to the terminal device.); and
derive a spatial relation or a reference signal (RS) as pathloss (read as road loss) reference for said "codebook" or "nonCodebook" SRS resource or for said at least one SRS resource of the "codebook" or "nonCodebook" SRS resource set with reference to at least one reference signal (RS) from quasi-colocation (QCL) information of a CORESET associated with said control resource set pool index (¶ [0186] SRS for codebook-based uplink transmission (namely, an SRS in an SRS resource set whose usage parameter is codebook).; ¶ [0252] Each CORESET may be associated with a first index value, for example, CORESETPoolIndex.; ¶ [0290] The QCL reference signal resource of the typeD type in the TCI-state of the CORESET is used as the reference signal resource for road loss measurement for performing uplink transmission.),
when more than one value is configured for the control resource set pool index (¶ [0258] Each CORESET may be separately associated with one first index value (for example, CORESETPoolIndex). First index values associated with some CORESETs are 0, and first index values associated with some CORESETs are 1.), and
when a higher-layer parameter is received from the network node that configures the UE to derive the spatial relation or the RS as pathloss reference for the SRS resource from the QCL information of the CORESET associated with the control resource set pool index (¶ [0157] A reference signal resource used to indicate quasi-co-location information (for example, quasi-co-location information of the typeD type).; ¶ [0251] The reference signal resource used to determine the spatial relation.; ¶ [0252] CORESET may be associated with one PUCCH/PUSCH/SRS. Each CORESET may be associated with a CORESETPoolIndex.; ¶ [0271] RRC signaling may be used for configuration. A parameter in one piece of RRC signaling is used to indicate that one of the plurality of solutions for determining the spatial relation for uplink transmission is selected.; ¶ [0280] Configure a parameter enableDefaultBeamP1ForSRS.; ¶ [0291] QCL reference signal resource of the typeD type in the TCI-state of the PDCCH corresponding to the CORESET. In the CORESET group associated with the uplink transmission is used as the reference signal resource for road loss measurement.; ¶ [0304] RRC may be used for configuration. A parameter in one piece of RRC signaling is used to indicate that one of the plurality of solutions is selected.; ¶ [0312] The network device may configure a parameter enablePLRSupdateForPUSCHSRS.),
Fan does not explicitly teach wherein the QCL information comprises a relationship between one or more reference signals and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port(s) of the PDCCH, transmitted on the CORESET and the relationship indicates channel parameter(s) or reception type parameter(s) that are obtained from the reference signals.
In analogous art, Yu teaches wherein the QCL information comprises a relationship between one or more reference signals and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port(s) of the PDCCH, transmitted on the CORESET and the relationship indicates channel parameter(s) or reception type parameter(s) that are obtained from the reference signals (¶ [0034], Table 1, QCL assumption is applied for the CORESET used for the transmission of Physical DL Control Channel (PDCCH). QCL parameter(s) used for the PDCCH QCL indication of the CORESET.; ¶ [0133] The “properties of the channel” may include Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, and spatial Reception (Rx) parameters. These properties may be categorized into different QCL parameters.; ¶ [0155] A TCI state may contain parameters for configuring a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and a target RS set. For example, a target RS set may be the DMRS ports of a PDCCH.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine QCL information taught by Yu with SRS configuration and beam management taught by Fan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase efficiency and improve reliability by saving UL beam indication signaling for enabling spatial relation information based on the DL QCL assumption. (Yu: ¶¶ [0005-0008] & ¶ [0034]).
Regarding claim 36, Fan teaches a method performed by a network node (read as network device) (Fig. 6, element 60 Network device; ¶ [0343] A network device.),
the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a higher layer configuration (read as RRC) or a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) message that associates a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource or an SRS resource set comprising at least one SRS resource configured with a parameter usage that is set to "codebook" or "nonCodebook", with a control resource set pool index (¶ [0079] The resource may be an SRS.; ¶ [0080] The resource is configured by using RRC signaling.; ¶ [0186] An SRS for codebook-based uplink transmission (an SRS in an SRS resource set whose usage parameter is codebook).; ¶ [0191] The spatial relation that is delivered by the network device may be carried in downlink signaling, such as RRC signaling or media access control element (MAC-CE) signaling.; ¶ [0252] One SRS may be associated with one CORESET. Each CORESET may be associated with a CORESETPoolIndex.),
wherein the control resource set pool index is a higher-layer parameter in a configuration of a control resource set (CORESET) (¶ [0141] The CORESET may be configured by using a control-resource set parameter in RRC signaling.; ¶ [0258] The network device may configure a plurality of CORESETs for the terminal device, and each CORESET may be separately associated with one first index value (for example, CORESETPoolIndex).),
wherein the CORESET comprises resources on which a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is transmitted from the network node (read as network device) (¶ [0082] One CORESET includes a plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs). Transmission of a PDCCH is performed in the CORESET.; ¶ [0229] The network device sends the PDCCH to the terminal device.),
for enabling the UE to derive a spatial relation or a reference signal (RS), as pathloss (read as road loss) reference for said "codebook" or "nonCodebook" SRS resource or for said at least one SRS resource of the "codebook" or "nonCodebook" SRS resource set with reference to at least one reference signal (RS) from quasi-colocation (QCL) information of a CORESET associated with said control resource set pool index (¶ [0186] SRS for codebook-based uplink transmission (namely, an SRS in an SRS resource set whose usage parameter is codebook).; ¶ [0252] Each CORESET may be associated with a first index value, for example, CORESETPoolIndex.; ¶ [0290] The QCL reference signal resource of the typeD type in the TCI-state of the CORESET is used as the reference signal resource for road loss measurement for performing uplink transmission.),
receiving, from the UE, a "codebook" or "nonCodebook" SRS according to the spatial relation or a "codebook" or "nonCodebook" SRS with a transmit power derived using the pathloss estimate, with a reference to a RS associated with the QCL information of a CORESET associated with said control resource set pool index (¶ [0056] Transmission performed by the terminal device in a direction of the network device may be referred to as uplink transmission. The uplink transmission may include transmission of an SRS.; ¶ [0076] The spatial relation may include an index of an SRS resource, indicating that uplink transmission is performed by using a transmission beam of the SRS resource.; ¶ [0160] The reception beam of the PDCCH is determined by using the TCI-state of the CORESET. The transmission beam for the uplink transmission may be determined by using the reference signal resource in the TCI-state of the CORESET with the minimum index.; ¶ [0257] The network device may configure a plurality of CORESETs for the terminal device, and each CORESET may be separately associated with one first index value (for example, CORESETPoolIndex)., ¶ [0290] The QCL reference signal resource in the TCI-state of the CORESET with the minimum index in the CORESET group to which the PDCCH for scheduling the uplink transmission belongs is used as the reference signal resource.; ¶ [0321] An SRS whose usage is a codebook.).
when more than one value is configured for the control resource set pool index (¶ [0258] Each CORESET may be separately associated with one first index value (for example, CORESETPoolIndex). First index values associated with some CORESETs are 0, and first index values associated with some CORESETs are 1.), and
when a higher-layer parameter is received from the network node that configures the UE to derive the spatial relation or the RS as pathloss reference for the SRS resource from the QCL information of the CORESET associated with the control resource set pool index (¶ [0157] A reference signal resource used to indicate quasi-co-location information (for example, quasi-co-location information of the typeD type).; ¶ [0251] The reference signal resource used to determine the spatial relation.; ¶ [0252] CORESET may be associated with one PUCCH/PUSCH/SRS. Each CORESET may be associated with a CORESETPoolIndex.; ¶ [0271] RRC signaling may be used for configuration. A parameter in one piece of RRC signaling is used to indicate that one of the plurality of solutions for determining the spatial relation for uplink transmission is selected.; ¶ [0280] Configure a parameter enableDefaultBeamP1ForSRS.; ¶ [0291] QCL reference signal resource of the typeD type in the TCI-state of the PDCCH corresponding to the CORESET. In the CORESET group associated with the uplink transmission is used as the reference signal resource for road loss measurement.; ¶ [0304] RRC may be used for configuration. A parameter in one piece of RRC signaling is used to indicate that one of the plurality of solutions is selected.; ¶ [0312] The network device may configure a parameter enablePLRSupdateForPUSCHSRS.),
Fan does not explicitly teach wherein the QCL information comprises a relationship between one or more reference signals and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port(s) of the PDCCH, transmitted on the CORESET and the relationship indicates channel parameter(s) or reception type parameter(s) that are obtained from the reference signals;
In analogous art, Yu teaches wherein the QCL information comprises a relationship between one or more reference signals and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port(s) of the PDCCH, transmitted on the CORESET and the relationship indicates channel parameter(s) or reception type parameter(s) that are obtained from the reference signals (¶ [0034], Table 1, QCL assumption is applied for the CORESET used for the transmission of Physical DL Control Channel (PDCCH). QCL parameter(s) used for the PDCCH QCL indication of the CORESET.; ¶ [0133] The “properties of the channel” may include Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, and spatial Reception (Rx) parameters. These properties may be categorized into different QCL parameters.; ¶ [0155] A TCI state may contain parameters for configuring a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and a target RS set. For example, a target RS set may be the DMRS ports of a PDCCH.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine QCL information taught by Yu with SRS configuration and beam management taught by Fan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase efficiency and improve reliability by saving UL beam indication signaling for enabling spatial relation information based on the DL QCL assumption. (Yu: ¶¶ [0005-0008] & ¶ [0034]).
Regarding claim 37, Fan teaches a network node (read as network device) comprising a processor and a memory containing instructions executable by the processor (read as computer program code) (Fig. 5, element 60 Network device, element 601 Processor, element 602 Memory containing computer program code; ¶ [0032] The communication device is the network device. The communication device includes a processor and a memory. The memory is configured to store program code. The processor is configured to invoke the program code from the memory, to perform the method.; ¶ [0033] When the processor executes the computer program or instructions in the memory, the communication device is enabled to perform any implementation of any communication method.),
whereby said network node is operative to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a higher layer configuration (read as RRC) or a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) message that associates a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource or an SRS resource set comprising at least one SRS resource configured with a parameter usage that is set to "codebook" or "nonCodebook", with a control resource set pool index (¶ [0079] The resource may be an SRS.; ¶ [0080] The resource is configured by using RRC signaling.; ¶ [0186] An SRS for codebook-based uplink transmission (an SRS in an SRS resource set whose usage parameter is codebook).; ¶ [0191] The spatial relation that is delivered by the network device may be carried in downlink signaling, such as RRC signaling or media access control element (MAC-CE) signaling.; ¶ [0252] One SRS may be associated with one CORESET. Each CORESET may be associated with a CORESETPoolIndex.),
wherein the control resource set pool index is a higher-layer parameter in a configuration of a control resource set (CORESET) (¶ [0141] The CORESET may be configured by using a control-resource set parameter in RRC signaling.; ¶ [0258] The network device may configure a plurality of CORESETs for the terminal device, and each CORESET may be separately associated with one first index value (for example, CORESETPoolIndex).),
wherein the CORESET comprises resources on which a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is transmitted from the network node (read as network device) (¶ [0082] One CORESET includes a plurality of physical resource blocks (PRBs). Transmission of a PDCCH is performed in the CORESET.; ¶ [0229] The network device sends the PDCCH to the terminal device.),
for enabling the UE to derive a spatial relation or a reference signal (RS), as pathloss (read as road loss) reference for said "codebook" or "nonCodebook" SRS resource or for said at least one SRS resource of the "codebook" or "nonCodebook" SRS resource set with reference to at least one reference signal (RS) from quasi-colocation (QCL) information of a CORESET associated with said control resource set pool index (¶ [0186] SRS for codebook-based uplink transmission (namely, an SRS in an SRS resource set whose usage parameter is codebook).; ¶ [0252] Each CORESET may be associated with a first index value, for example, CORESETPoolIndex.; ¶ [0290] The QCL reference signal resource of the typeD type in the TCI-state of the CORESET is used as the reference signal resource for road loss measurement for performing uplink transmission.),
receive, from the UE, a "codebook" or "nonCodebook" SRS according to the spatial relation or a "codebook" or "nonCodebook" SRS with a transmit power derived using the pathloss estimate, with a reference to a RS associated with the QCL information of a CORESET associated with said control resource set pool index (¶ [0056] Transmission performed by the terminal device in a direction of the network device may be referred to as uplink transmission. The uplink transmission may include transmission of an SRS.; ¶ [0076] The spatial relation may include an index of an SRS resource, indicating that uplink transmission is performed by using a transmission beam of the SRS resource.; ¶ [0160] The reception beam of the PDCCH is determined by using the TCI-state of the CORESET. The transmission beam for the uplink transmission may be determined by using the reference signal resource in the TCI-state of the CORESET with the minimum index.; ¶ [0257] The network device may configure a plurality of CORESETs for the terminal device, and each CORESET may be separately associated with one first index value (for example, CORESETPoolIndex)., ¶ [0290] The QCL reference signal resource in the TCI-state of the CORESET with the minimum index in the CORESET group to which the PDCCH for scheduling the uplink transmission belongs is used as the reference signal resource.; ¶ [0321] An SRS whose usage is a codebook.).
when more than one value is configured for the control resource set pool index (¶ [0258] Each CORESET may be separately associated with one first index value (for example, CORESETPoolIndex). First index values associated with some CORESETs are 0, and first index values associated with some CORESETs are 1.), and
when a higher-layer parameter is received from the network node that configures the UE to derive the spatial relation or the RS as pathloss reference for the SRS resource from the QCL information of the CORESET associated with the control resource set pool index (¶ [0157] A reference signal resource used to indicate quasi-co-location information (for example, quasi-co-location information of the typeD type).; ¶ [0251] The reference signal resource used to determine the spatial relation.; ¶ [0252] CORESET may be associated with one PUCCH/PUSCH/SRS. Each CORESET may be associated with a CORESETPoolIndex.; ¶ [0271] RRC signaling may be used for configuration. A parameter in one piece of RRC signaling is used to indicate that one of the plurality of solutions for determining the spatial relation for uplink transmission is selected.; ¶ [0280] Configure a parameter enableDefaultBeamP1ForSRS.; ¶ [0291] QCL reference signal resource of the typeD type in the TCI-state of the PDCCH corresponding to the CORESET. In the CORESET group associated with the uplink transmission is used as the reference signal resource for road loss measurement.; ¶ [0304] RRC may be used for configuration. A parameter in one piece of RRC signaling is used to indicate that one of the plurality of solutions is selected.; ¶ [0312] The network device may configure a parameter enablePLRSupdateForPUSCHSRS.),
Fan does not explicitly teach wherein the QCL information comprises a relationship between one or more reference signals and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port(s) of the PDCCH, transmitted on the CORESET and the relationship indicates channel parameter(s) or reception type parameter(s) that are obtained from the reference signals;
In analogous art, Yu teaches wherein the QCL information comprises a relationship between one or more reference signals and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port(s) of the PDCCH, transmitted on the CORESET and the relationship indicates channel parameter(s) or reception type parameter(s) that are obtained from the reference signals (¶ [0034], Table 1, QCL assumption is applied for the CORESET used for the transmission of Physical DL Control Channel (PDCCH). QCL parameter(s) used for the PDCCH QCL indication of the CORESET.; ¶ [0133] The “properties of the channel” may include Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, and spatial Reception (Rx) parameters. These properties may be categorized into different QCL parameters.; ¶ [0155] A TCI state may contain parameters for configuring a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and a target RS set. For example, a target RS set may be the DMRS ports of a PDCCH.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine QCL information taught by Yu with SRS configuration and beam management taught by Fan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase efficiency and improve reliability by saving UL beam indication signaling for enabling spatial relation information based on the DL QCL assumption. (Yu: ¶¶ [0005-0008] & ¶ [0034]).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan in view of Yu further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0287054 A1; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 27, Fan and Yu do not explicitly teach wherein the higher layer configuration is an information element (IE), comprising a list of at least one SRS resource or at least one SRS resource set and further comprising said control resource set pool index.
In analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the higher layer configuration is an information element (IE) (read as SRS resource indicator field and ControlResourceSet information element (IE)), comprising a list of at least one SRS resource or at least one SRS resource set and further comprising said control resource set pool index (¶ [0172] Configured SRS resources in an SRS resource set associated with higher layer parameter may be indicated by an SRS resource indicator field. ¶ [0214] ControlResourceSet information element (IE) that is a higher layer parameter is used to configure a CORESET. The ControlResourceSet IE may include an index of a CORESET pool for CORESET (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an information element (IE) comprising an SRS resource or SRS resource set and control resource set pool index with QCL information taught by Yu and an SRS configuration and beam management taught by Fan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce power consumption, improve efficient use of spectrum, and increase reliability by allowing the UE to derive its SRS transmit beam, path-loss estimate and power settings from one higher layer message without extra configuration steps. (Kim: ¶ [0081], ¶¶ [0169-0174], and ¶¶ [0213-0214]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28-31 and 33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matsumura et al. (US 2023/0007675 A1) discloses “Terminal and Radio Communication Method”
Wu et al. (US 2022/0330043 A1) discloses “Method and Device in Nodes Used for Wireless Communication”
Yao et al. (US 2023/0024375 A1) discloses “Transmission Parameter Determining Method, Electronic Apparatus, Device, and Medium”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464