DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 11/10/2025.
Claims 1 and 12 have been amended.
Claims 8 and 19 have been canceled,
Claims 3, 7, 16-18, and 23 were previously canceled.
The amendments does not fully reflect the previously amended claims filed on 05/29/2025. Thus, claims 2, 12, 13, and 15 are objected
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12 filed on 11/10/2025 have been considered but are moot because the arguments were drawn to features amended from dependent claim 8 or 19 to independent claims, which have been addressed in the instant office action with previously identified prior art by mapping the relevant teachings for more clarification thereof and newly identified prior art that read on said added features, thus rendering Applicant’s arguments moot.
Applicant asserted that, in page 10 of the Applicant’s arguments,
Thus, Guo discloses, teaches or suggests determining whether to support two links on simultaneous data sending and receiving by comparing the minimum distance of the two links in frequency domain with the distance threshold. However, Guo does not disclose, teach or suggest determining whether to support two channels simultaneous sending and receiving operations by comparing an absolute value of a difference between their central frequency points with the first frequency interval threshold, nor does it disclose specific feature rules that, based on that comparison, explicitly allow or prohibit such simultaneous operations.
(Asserted portion in page 10 of the argument filed 11/10/2025)
However, Zhou et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0338285, which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 201910634696.6, filed on Jul. 12, 2019; hereinafter “Zhou”) in view of Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220225373; hereinafter “Li”), teach the added features as following:
wherein the first frequency interval threshold is further used for indicating a minimum value of an absolute value of (para [0069] of Zhou: The threshold (interpreted as “first frequency interval threshold”) indicates a minimum value of a difference between operating frequencies of two links that support simultaneous transmitting/receiving operations.) (Examiner’s note: The difference between operating frequencies of two links in Zhou is interpreted as an absolute value because difference in the frequency spectrum cannot be negative) (Examiner’s note: the missing/crossed out limitations (“a difference between central frequency points”) will be discussed in view of Li); and
wherein sending and receiving operations are not allowed to be performed simultaneously on such two channels among the channels of the first communication node that an absolute value of a difference between central frequency points corresponding to the two channels is less than the first frequency interval threshold; or, sending and receiving operations are allowed to be performed simultaneously on such two channels among the channels of the first communication node that an absolute value of a difference between central frequency points corresponding to the two channels is greater than or equal to the first frequency interval threshold (para [0069]: The threshold (interpreted as “first frequency interval threshold”) indicates a minimum value of a difference between operating frequencies of two links that support simultaneous transmitting/receiving operations. … The third node compares the operating frequency of the second station with an operating frequency of the first station that transmits the radio frame, to determine a difference between the operating frequency of the first station and the operating frequency of the second station. If the difference between the operating frequency of the first station and the operating frequency of the second station is greater than (or greater than or equal to) the threshold, the third station in the second multi-link device may determine that the first station and the second station in the first multi-link device support simultaneous transmitting/receiving operations (interpreted as “sending and receiving operations are allowed to be performed simultaneously on such two channels among the channels of the first communication node that an absolute value of a difference between central frequency points corresponding to the two channels is greater than or equal to the first frequency interval threshold”). If the difference between the operating frequency of the first station and the operating frequency of the second station is less than or equal to (or less than) the threshold, the third station in the second multi-link device may determine that the first station and the second station in the first multi-link device do not support simultaneous transmitting/receiving operations (interpreted as “sending and receiving operations are not allowed to be performed simultaneously on such two channels among the channels of the first communication node that an absolute value of a difference between central frequency points corresponding to the two channels is less than the first frequency interval threshold”). .
As noted above, Zhou does not explicitly disclose the “a difference between central frequency points” of amened claim 1.
It, however, had been known in the art at the time of instant application as shown by Li. Li discloses the “a difference between central frequency points” (para [0087] of Li: The frequency distance (interpreted as “difference”) between the two frequency bands may be understood as a distance between center frequencies of the two frequency bands,). Zhou and Li are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication technologies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Li and determine whether the two links support simultaneous data sending and receiving based on a difference between central frequency points of the two links.
Thus, the rejection of claims 1 is sustained. The rejection of claim 12 is also sustained for the same rejection ground with respect to the claim 1 as described above. Furthermore, the rejection of dependents claims is sustained for the same rejection ground with respect to the independent claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 12, 13, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: the amendments submitted as of Nov 10, 2025 does not fully reflect the amended claims filed on 05/29/2025.
In claim 2, the claim recites, in line 7, “sending, by the first communication node, a notification frame to a second communication …”. The term should be “sending, by the first communication node, a notification frame to [[a]] the second communication …” based on the prior amendment filed on 05/29/2025”.
In claim 12, the claim recites the term “receiving (S802),” in line 2. The term should be “receiving (S802),” based on the prior amendment filed on 05/29/2025”.
In claim 13, the claim recites the term “sent by a first communication node” in line 5. The term should be “sent by the first communication node” based on the prior amendment filed on 05/29/2025”.
In claim 15, the claim recites the language “15. (Original) The method according to claim 13, … to the channel, or a link number”. The language should be “15. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 13, … to the first channel, or a link number” based on the prior amendment filed on 05/29/2025”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0338285, which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 201910634696.6, filed on Jul. 12, 2019; hereinafter “Zhou”) in view of Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220225373; hereinafter “Li”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Zhou unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, A data transmission method (FIG. 3 and para [0056]: a multi-link communication method), comprising:
sending, by a first communication node, a first multi-channel capability parameter to a second communication node (Fig. 2 and para [0054]: The multi-link devices shown in FIG. 2 include a first multi-link device (interpreted as “a first communication node”) and a second multi-link device (interpreted as “a second communication node”).)(FIG. 3 and para [0057]: S302: The first station (interpreted as “a first communication node”) transmits the radio frame on the first link, and a third station in a second multi-link device (interpreted as “a second communication node”) receives the radio frame transmitted by the first station in the plurality of stations included in the first multi-link device, where the radio frame includes capability indication information (interpreted as “a first multi-channel capability parameter”),), wherein the first multi-channel capability parameter comprises: a first frequency interval threshold and whether to support simultaneous multi-channel sending and receiving (para [0062]: the capability indication information includes first indication information, and the first indication information indicates whether the first station and the second station support simultaneous transmitting/receiving operations (interpreted as “whether to support simultaneous multi-channel sending and receiving”)(para [0069]: the capability indication information may include second indication information. The second indication information includes a threshold (interpreted as “a first frequency interval threshold”).);
wherein the first frequency interval threshold is used to determine channels among the channels of the first communication node that sending and receiving operations are not allowed to be performed simultaneously, or channels among the channels of the first communication node that sending and receiving operations are allowed to be performed simultaneously (para [0069]: The threshold (interpreted as “first frequency interval threshold”) indicates a minimum value of a difference between operating frequencies of two links that support simultaneous transmitting/receiving operations. … The third node compares the operating frequency of the second station with an operating frequency of the first station that transmits the radio frame, to determine a difference between the operating frequency of the first station and the operating frequency of the second station. If the difference between the operating frequency of the first station and the operating frequency of the second station is greater than (or greater than or equal to) the threshold, the third station in the second multi-link device may determine that the first station and the second station in the first multi-link device support simultaneous transmitting/receiving operations (interpreted as “determine … channels among the channels of the first communication node that sending and receiving operations are allowed to be performed simultaneously”) .);
wherein the first frequency interval threshold is further used for indicating a minimum value of an absolute value of a difference between (para [0069]: The threshold (interpreted as “first frequency interval threshold”) indicates a minimum value of a difference between operating frequencies of two links that support simultaneous transmitting/receiving operations.) (Examiner’s note: The difference between operating frequencies of two links in Zhou is interpreted as an absolute value because difference in the frequency spectrum cannot be negative) (Examiner’s note: the missing/crossed out limitations (“a difference between central frequency points”) will be discussed in view of Li); and
wherein sending and receiving operations are not allowed to be performed simultaneously on such two channels among the channels of the first communication node that an absolute value of a difference between (para [0069]: The threshold (interpreted as “first frequency interval threshold”) indicates a minimum value of a difference between operating frequencies of two links that support simultaneous transmitting/receiving operations. … The third node compares the operating frequency of the second station with an operating frequency of the first station that transmits the radio frame, to determine a difference between the operating frequency of the first station and the operating frequency of the second station. If the difference between the operating frequency of the first station and the operating frequency of the second station is greater than (or greater than or equal to) the threshold, the third station in the second multi-link device may determine that the first station and the second station in the first multi-link device support simultaneous transmitting/receiving operations (interpreted as “sending and receiving operations are allowed to be performed simultaneously on such two channels among the channels of the first communication node that an absolute value of a difference between central frequency points corresponding to the two channels is greater than or equal to the first frequency interval threshold”). If the difference between the operating frequency of the first station and the operating frequency of the second station is less than or equal to (or less than) the threshold, the third station in the second multi-link device may determine that the first station and the second station in the first multi-link device do not support simultaneous transmitting/receiving operations (interpreted as “sending and receiving operations are not allowed to be performed simultaneously on such two channels among the channels of the first communication node that an absolute value of a difference between central frequency points corresponding to the two channels is less than the first frequency interval threshold”). ).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose the “a difference between central frequency points” of amened claim 1.
It, however, had been known in the art at the time of instant application as shown by Li. Li discloses the “a difference between central frequency points” (para [0087] of Li: The frequency distance (interpreted as “difference”) between the two frequency bands may be understood as a distance between center frequencies of the two frequency bands,).
Zhou and Li are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication technologies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Li and determine whether the two links support simultaneous data sending and receiving based on a difference between central frequency points of the two links.
Regarding claim 12, A data transmission method, comprising:
receiving, by a second communication node, a first multi-channel capability parameter sent by a first communication node (Fig. 2 and para [0054]: The multi-link devices shown in FIG. 2 include a first multi-link device (interpreted as “a first communication node”) and a second multi-link device (interpreted as “a second communication node”).)(FIG. 3 and para [0057]: S302: The first station (interpreted as “a first communication node”) transmits the radio frame on the first link, and a third station in a second multi-link device (interpreted as “a second communication node”) receives the radio frame transmitted by the first station in the plurality of stations included in the first multi-link device, where the radio frame includes capability indication information (interpreted as “a first multi-channel capability parameter”),), wherein the first multi- channel capability parameter comprises : a first frequency interval threshold and whether to support simultaneous multi-channel sending and receiving (para [0062]: the capability indication information includes first indication information, and the first indication information indicates whether the first station and the second station support simultaneous transmitting/receiving operations (interpreted as “whether to support simultaneous multi-channel sending and receiving”)(para [0069]: the capability indication information may include second indication information. The second indication information includes a threshold (interpreted as “a first frequency interval threshold”).); and
determining, by the second communication node, channels among the channels of the first communication node that sending and receiving operations are not allowed to be performed simultaneously according to the first frequency interval threshold, or channels among the channels of the first communication node that sending and receiving operations are allowed to be performed simultaneously according to the first frequency interval threshold (para [0069]: The third node (‘third station’ in Zhou, is interpreted as “ second communication node”) may determine, based on the identification information of the second link, an operating frequency of the second station that operates on the second link in the first multi-link device. The third node compares the operating frequency of the second station with an operating frequency of the first station that transmits the radio frame, to determine a difference between the operating frequency of the first station and the operating frequency of the second station. If the difference between the operating frequency of the first station and the operating frequency of the second station is greater than (or greater than or equal to) the threshold, the third station in the second multi-link device may determine that the first station and the second station in the first multi-link device support simultaneous transmitting/receiving operations (interpreted as “determining, by the second communication node, … channels among the channels of the first communication node that sending and receiving operations are allowed to be performed simultaneously according to the first frequency interval threshold”) If the difference between the operating frequency of the first station and the operating frequency of the second station is less than or equal to (or less than) the threshold, the third station in the second multi-link device may determine that the first station and the second station in the first multi-link device do not support simultaneous transmitting/receiving operations (interpreted as “determining, by the second communication node, channels among the channels of the first communication node that sending and receiving operations are not allowed to be performed simultaneously according to the first frequency interval threshold”));
wherein the first frequency interval threshold is used for indicating a minimum value of an absolute value of a difference (para [0069]: The threshold (interpreted as “first frequency interval threshold”) indicates a minimum value of a difference between operating frequencies of two links that support simultaneous transmitting/receiving operations.) (Examiner’s note: The difference between operating frequencies of two links in Zhou is interpreted as an absolute value because difference in the frequency spectrum cannot be negative) (Examiner’s note: the missing/crossed out limitations (“a difference between central frequency points”) will be discussed in view of Li) : and
wherein sending and receiving operations are not allowed to be performed simultaneously on such two channels among the channels of the first communication node that an absolute value of a difference between central frequency points corresponding to the two channels is less than the first frequency interval threshold: or, sending and receiving operations are allowed to be performed simultaneously on such two channels among the channels of the first communication node that an absolute value of a difference between central frequency points corresponding to the two channels is greater than or equal to the first frequency interval threshold (para [0069]: The third node compares the operating frequency of the second station with an operating frequency of the first station that transmits the radio frame, to determine a difference between the operating frequency of the first station and the operating frequency of the second station. If the difference between the operating frequency of the first station and the operating frequency of the second station is greater than (or greater than or equal to) the threshold, the third station in the second multi-link device may determine that the first station and the second station in the first multi-link device support simultaneous transmitting/receiving operations (interpreted as “sending and receiving operations are allowed to be performed simultaneously on such two channels among the channels of the first communication node that an absolute value of a difference between central frequency points corresponding to the two channels is greater than or equal to the first frequency interval threshold”). If the difference between the operating frequency of the first station and the operating frequency of the second station is less than or equal to (or less than) the threshold, the third station in the second multi-link device may determine that the first station and the second station in the first multi-link device do not support simultaneous transmitting/receiving operations (interpreted as “sending and receiving operations are not allowed to be performed simultaneously on such two channels among the channels of the first communication node that an absolute value of a difference between central frequency points corresponding to the two channels is less than the first frequency interval threshold”).).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose the “a difference between central frequency points” of amened claim 12.
It, however, had been known in the art at the time of instant application as shown by Li. Li discloses the “a difference between central frequency points” (para [0087] of Li: The frequency distance between the two frequency bands may be understood as a distance between center frequencies of the two frequency bands,).
Zhou and Li are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication technologies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Li and determine whether the two links support simultaneous data sending and receiving based on a distance between central frequency points of the two links in frequency domain.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 22, Zhou and Li teach A data transmission apparatus, Zhou further teaches comprising a processor configured to perform the data transmission method according to claim 1 when executing a computer program (FIG. 13 and para [0025]; a first multi-link device, including a processor, a memory, and a communication bus. … The processor executes a program stored in the memory to implement the steps in the first aspect and the third aspect.).
Regarding claim 24, Zhou and Li teach A data transmission apparatus, comprising a processor configured to perform the data transmission method according to claim 12 when executing a computer program (FIG. 13 para [0027]; a second multi-link device, including a processor, a memory, and a communication bus. … The processor executes a program stored in the memory to implement the steps in the second aspect.).
Claims 2, 4-6, 9, 11, 13-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, in view of Li, in view of Guo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220346166, which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 202010019310.3, filed on Jan. 8, 2020; hereinafter “Guo”), and further in view of Ahn et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0376486; hereinafter “Ahn”).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou and Li teach The method according to claim 1, the combination of Zhou and Li fails to teach wherein after sending, by the first communication node, the first multi-channel capability parameter to the second
communication node, the method further comprising:
succeeding, by the first communication node, in channel contention on a first channel;
performing, by the first communication node, channel detection on a second channel within a preset duration before a sending moment of the first channel to acquire a detection result; and
sending, by the first communication node, a notification frame to a second communication node on the second channel in response to the detection result being idle, wherein the notification frame is used for instructing the second communication node not to send data on the second channel; and
wherein the notification frame comprises at least one of the following:
a type of the notification frame;
an identifier of the first channel;
a sending duration of the first communication node on the first channel; or
a sending moment of the first communication node on the first channel;
wherein the identifier of the first channel comprises at least one of the following: a channel number, a central frequency point corresponding to the channel, or a link number.
In analogous art, Guo teaches:
succeeding, by the first communication node, in channel contention on a first channel (FIG. 9 and para [0226] of Guo; Step 901: A multi-link device contends for a channel on a primary link (interpreted as “a first channel”));
performing, by the first communication node, channel detection on a second channel within a preset duration before a sending moment of the first channel to acquire a detection result (FIG. 9 and para [0230] of Guo: Step 902: The multi-link device determines a channel state of a channel corresponding to each secondary link (interpreted as “channel detection on a second channel”), and performs step 903 if the channel state is idle, or performs step 904 if the channel state is non-idle.)(para [0232] of Guo: the multi-link device may monitor signal energy on the secondary link, and if a network allocation vector NAV of a channel corresponding to the secondary link is equal to 0, and the signal energy on the secondary link is less than a first preset threshold, determine that the channel state is idle.)(para [0235] of Guo: a time period in which the multi-link device monitors signal energy on the secondary link (interpreted as “a preset duration before a sending moment of the first channel to acquire a detection result”) may be a predefined time period before the multi-link device performs data transmission through the primary link, and the predefined time period may be a point coordination function inter-frame space (point coordination function inter-frame space, PIFS); and
sending, by the first communication node, a notification frame to the second communication node on the second channel in response to the detection result being idle, wherein the notification frame is used for instructing the second communication node not to send data on the second channel (para [0245] of Guo: When the multi-link device sends data through the primary link, only the multi-link device can contend for a channel through a secondary link that is in the same link group as the primary link. When sending data through the primary link, another device is not allowed to contend for a channel on a secondary link that is in the same link group as the primary link. Optionally, the multi-link device may send, to another device, indication information (interpreted as “a notification frame … instructing the second communication node not to send data on the second channel”) indicating that the another device is not allowed to perform channel contention on the secondary link.).
Zhou, Li and Guo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication technologies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Zhou and Li to incorporate the teachings of Guo in order to perform the steps of channel contention, channel detection, and sending a notification frame in response to the detection result. After successfully contending for the channel, the multi-link device may send the data to the peer multi-link device through the primary link and a secondary link in an idle state, so that each link can be effectively utilized (see para [0067] of Guo).
Zhou, Li, and Guo do not explicitly teach the limitation “wherein the notification frame comprises at least one of the following: a type of the notification frame; an identifier of the first channel; a sending duration of the first communication node on the first channel; or a sending moment of the first communication node on the first channel; wherein the identifier of the first channel comprises at least one of the following: a channel number, a central frequency point corresponding to the channel, or a link number.”
In analogous art, Ahn disclose the missing limitations;
wherein the notification frame comprises at least one of the following:
a type of the notification frame (para [0077] of Ahn; A receiving terminal (i.e., the AP in FIG. 7) … transmits the clear to send (CTS) frame (interpreted as “a type of the notification frame”)...); … a sending duration of the first communication node on the first channel (para [0077] of Ahn; The CTS frame includes the information on a receiver address and duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Zhou, Li, and Guo by using the features of Ahn in order to have more effective method such that the AP and STAs in the BSS contend in order to obtain an authority for transmitting data on a first channel, so that no data transmission is performed on the second channel within the time duration.
Regarding claim 4, Zhou, Li, Guo and Ahn teach The method according to claim 2, Guo further teaches wherein the second channel is such a channel among channels of the first communication node that sending and receiving operations are not allowed to be performed on the first channel and on the second channel simultaneously (para [0229] of Guo: when the multi-link device sends data over the successfully contended channel on the primary link, to avoid a case in which data cannot be normally received due to signal sending interference between links that do not support simultaneous data sending and receiving, the multi-link device also sends data over a channel corresponding to a secondary link.).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou, Li, Guo and Ahn teach The method according to claim 2, Guo further teaches wherein the second communication node is a communication node associated with the first communication node and currently not operating on the first channel (para [0248] of Guo; If the peer multi-link device (interpreted as “second communication node”) does not support simultaneous data sending and receiving between one link group and another link group in the at least one link group, when sending data to the peer multi-link device by using the link group, the multi-link device needs to ensure that the peer multi-link device does not use the another link group to send data (interpreted as “currently not operating on the first channel”)).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou, Li, Guo and Ahn teach The method according to claim 2, Guo further teaches wherein sending, by the first communication node, the notification frame to the second communication node on the second channel comprises:
sending, by the first communication node, the notification frame to the second communication node on the second channel at a preset moment (para [0245] of Guo: When the multi-link device sends data through the primary link, only the multi-link device can contend for a channel through a secondary link that is in the same link group as the primary link. When sending data through the primary link, another device is not allowed to contend for a channel on a secondary link that is in the same link group as the primary link. Optionally, the multi-link device may send, to another device, indication information indicating that the another device is not allowed to perform channel contention on the secondary link.) (Examiner’s note; sending moment of “CTS” frame in Fig. 2 is corresponding to “at a preset moment” )… on .. the secondary channel … ), wherein the preset moment is not later than the sending moment of the first channel (Examiner’s note: the “When sending data through the primary link, another device is not allowed to contend for a channel on a secondary link” discussed in para [0245] of Guo is interpreted as the moment of sending the indication information to the another device is not later than the sending moment of the primary link in order to not allow to contend for a channel on a secondary link.).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou, Li, Guo and Ahn teach The method according to claim 2, wherein before succeeding, by the first communication node, in the channel contention on the first channel, the method further comprising: Guo further teaches
receiving, by the first communication node, a second multi-channel capability parameter sent by the second communication node, wherein the second multi-channel capability parameter comprises a second frequency interval threshold (para [0160] of Guo: After receiving the link grouping information (“a first multi-channel capability parameter”), the peer multi-link device (“second communication node”) may determine, based on the grouping result of the plurality of links by the multi-link device, whether the peer multi-link device supports simultaneous data sending and receiving between any two links in the plurality of link groups, to obtain the capability information, and send the capability information (interpreted as “a second multi-channel capability parameter”) to the multi-link device.)(para [0215] of Guo: In a possible design, a frame structure of the capability information may be shown in FIG. 8, and may include a plurality of link pair profile (Link Pair Profile) fields. Each link pair profile field may include identifiers of two links, for example, a link 1 identifier (Link 1 ID) and a link 2 identifier (Link 2 ID). The identifiers indicate that the two links corresponding to the identifiers may support simultaneous data sending and receiving, or indicate that the two links corresponding to the identifiers do not support simultaneous data sending and receiving (interpreted as “the second multi-channel capability parameter comprises a second frequency interval threshold”)).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou, Li, Guo and Ahn teach The method according to claim 2, wherein performing, by the first communication node, the channel detection on the second channel within the preset duration before the sending moment of the first channel to acquire the detection result comprises:
Guo further teaches determining that the detection result is idle in response to the first communication node determining that a result of signal intensity detection on the second channel within the preset duration before the sending moment of the first channel is idle (para [0235] of Guo: a time period in which the multi-link device monitors signal energy on the secondary link (interpreted as “the preset duration before the sending moment of the first channel”) may be a predefined time period before the multi-link device performs data transmission through the primary link, and the predefined time period may be a point coordination function inter-frame space (point coordination function inter-frame space, PIFS)(para [0026] of Guo: When signal energy on the secondary link is less than a first preset threshold, the channel state is idle) and in response to a network allocation vector corresponding to the second channel being zero (para [0026]: … or when a network allocation vector NAV of the channel corresponding to the secondary link is equal to 0, and signal energy on the secondary link is less than a first preset threshold, the channel state is idle.).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou and Li The method according to claim 12, the combination of Zhou and Li fails to teach wherein after receiving, by the second communication node, the first multi-channel capability parameter sent by the first communication node, the method further comprising:
receiving, by the second communication node on a second channel, a notification frame sent by a first communication node, wherein the notification frame is used for instructing the second communication node not to send data on the second channel; and
determining, by the second communication node according to the notification frame, not to send data on the second channel; and
wherein the notification frame comprises at least one of the following:
a type of the notification frame;
an identifier of a first channel;
a sending duration of the first communication node on the first channel; or
a sending moment of the first communication node on the first channel.
In analogous art, Guo teaches:
receiving, by the second communication node on a second channel, a notification frame sent by a first communication node, wherein the notification frame is used for instructing the second communication node not to send data on the second channel (para [0245] of Guo: When the multi-link device sends data through the primary link, only the multi-link device can contend for a channel through a secondary link that is in the same link group as the primary link. When sending data through the primary link, another device is not allowed to contend for a channel on a secondary link that is in the same link group as the primary link. Optionally, the multi-link device may send, to another device (interpreted as “the second communication node”), indication information (interpreted as “a notification frame is used for instructing the second communication node not to send data on the second channel”) indicating that the another device is not allowed to perform channel contention on the secondary link.) ; and
determining, by the second communication node according to the notification frame, not to send data on the second channel (para [0245] of Guo: the multi-link device may send, to another device, indication information indicating that the another device is not allowed to perform channel contention on the secondary link.)
Zhou, Li and Guo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication technologies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Zhou and Li to incorporate the teachings of Guo in order to perform the steps of receiving a notification frame instructing the second communication node not to send data on the second channel and determining not to send data on the second channel. After successfully contending for the channel, the multi-link device may send the data to the peer multi-link device through the primary link and a secondary link in an idle state, so that each link can be effectively utilized (see para [0067] of Guo).
Zhou, Li and Guo do not explicitly teach the limitation of wherein the notification frame comprises at least one of the following: a type of the notification frame; an identifier of a first channel; a sending duration of the first communication node on the first channel; or a sending moment of the first communication node on the first channel.
In analogous art, Ahn disclose that, in para [0077] of Ahn, A receiving terminal (i.e., the AP (interpreted as “first communication node”) in FIG. 7) … transmits the clear to send (CTS) frame... Ahn further discloses that, in para [0078] of Ahn, adjacent terminals (interpreted as “second communication node”) that receive at least one of the RTS frame and the CTS frame (interpreted as “a notification frame”) in the course of the transmission procedure set a network allocation vector (NAV). Ahn disclose the following limitation;
wherein the notification frame comprises at least one of the following: a type of the notification frame (para [0077] of Ahn; A receiving terminal (i.e., the AP in FIG. 7) … transmits the clear to send (CTS) frame (interpreted as “a type of the notification frame”)...); … a sending duration of the first communication node on the first channel (para [0077] of Ahn; The CTS frame includes the information on a receiver address and duration); …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the combination of Zhou, Li, and Guo by using the features of Ahn in order to have more effective method such that the AP and STAs in the BSS contend in order to obtain an authority for transmitting data on a first channel, so that no data transmission is performed on the second channel within the time duration.
Regarding claim 14, Zhou, Li, Guo and Ahn teach The method according to claim 13, wherein in response to the notification frame comprising the sending duration of the first communication node on the first channel, determining, by the second communication node according to the notification frame, not to send data on the second channel comprises: Ahn further teaches:
determining, by the second communication node according to the notification frame, not to send data on the second channel within the duration. (para [0078] of Ahn: The transmitting terminal STA1 that receives the CTS frame transmits the data after a SIFS time (interpreted as “not to send data on the second channel within the duration”))
Regarding claim 20, Zhou, Li, Guo and Ahn teach The method according to claim 13, wherein before receiving, by the second communication node on the second channel, the notification frame sent by the first communication node, the method further comprising: Guo further teaches:
sending, by the second communication node, a second multi-channel capability parameter to the first communication node, wherein the second multi-channel cap ability parameter comprises at least a second frequency interval threshold (para [0160] of Guo: After receiving the link grouping information (“a first multi-channel capability parameter”), the peer multi-link device (“second communication node”) may determine, based on the grouping result of the plurality of links by the multi-link device, whether the peer multi-link device supports simultaneous data sending and receiving between any two links in the plurality of link groups, to obtain the capability information (interpreted as “a second multi-channel capability parameter”), and send the capability information to the multi-link device.)(para [0215]: In a possible design, a frame structure of the capability information may be shown in FIG. 8, and may include a plurality of link pair profile (Link Pair Profile) fields. Each link pair profile field may include identifiers of two links, for example, a link 1 identifier (Link 1 ID) and a link 2 identifier (Link 2 ID). The identifiers indicate that the two links corresponding to the identifiers may support simultaneous data sending and receiving, or indicate that the two links corresponding to the identifiers do not support simultaneous data sending and receiving (interpreted as “the second multi-channel capability parameter comprises at least a second frequency interval threshold”)).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, in view of Li, in view of Guo, in view of Ahn, and further in view of Korea Patent Application Publication No. KR20180050807A (hereinafter “KR`807”; translated by Google Translation).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou, Li, Guo and Ahn teach The method according to claim 13, Zhou, Li, Guo and Ahn fail to explicitly teach wherein the identifier of the first channel comprises at least one of the following: a channel number, a central frequency point corresponding to the channel, or a link number.
In analogous art, KR`807 disclose the above limitation (Page 5 of KR`807 English translation by Google, lines 14-16; The QTP requesting terminal inserts the QTP channel information (interpreted as “a channel number”) as one of the QTP request information of the QTP request frame (interpreted as “notification frame”), and the AP terminal which has received the QTP channel information performs the QTP setting for each channel through the QTP response and the QTP set-up frame.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify a combination of Zhou, Li, Guo, and Ahn by using the features of KR`807 in order to have included the QTP channel information as one of the QTP request information of the QTP request frame.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 10 and 21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10 and 21 contain the following underlined features which, when combined with other features of the claim, prior art of record failed to anticipate or render obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application was filed:
wherein the second frequency interval threshold is used for indicating a minimum value of an absolute value of a difference between central frequency points corresponding to such two channels among channels of the second communication node that sending and receiving operations are allowed to be performed on the two channels simultaneously; wherein
sending and receiving operations are not allowed to be performed simultaneously on such two channels among the channels of the second communication node that an absolute value of a difference between central frequency points corresponding to the two channels is less than the second frequency interval threshold; or
sending and receiving operations are allowed to be performed simultaneously on such two channels among the channels of the second communication node that an absolute value of a difference between central frequency points corresponding to the two channels is greater than or equal to the second frequency interval threshold.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411 /DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411