DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 6/5/2026 has been entered. Claims 15-31 are pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and the 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 12/18/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Connelly (US 6589229 B1).
Regarding claims 15, 20, 23, and 31, Connelly discloses a wearable device for delivery a medication (drug infusion device 200, abstract Col 16 lines 64-65 & Fig. 12), the device comprising: a reservoir for storing the medication for subsequent delivery to a patient (reservoir assembly 68’ and 70’ for storing medicament for deliver to a patient; “the liquid medication is contained in a reservoir formed by the membranes 68' and 70'…”, Col 17 lines 50-53 & Fig. 12); a needle for delivering the medication to the patient subcutaneously (delivery cannula 92’; “… quantity of liquid medication is delivered to the user through the delivery cannula 92'.”, Col 19 lines 9-12 & Fig. 12; “The device 30 is intended to be worn on the surface of the skin by the user, with a cannula (hollow needle) penetrating into the user's skin or transcutaneously through the skin into the subcutaneous tissue.”, Col 6 lines 55-59);
a MEMS device configured as a pump (piezoelectric transducer 36’ and membrane 50’ are being interpreted as a MEMS device; “The motive force for the liquid medication is provided by a micropump which comprises two injection-molded plastic parts, two membranes, and a piezoelectric [e]lement driven by electronic control.”, Col 17 lines 8-12 & Fig. 12-16) for pumping the medication from the reservoir through the needle or as a valve for preventing medication from flowing through MEMS device (“As in the previous embodiment, the liquid medication is contained in a reservoir formed by the membranes 68' and 70', which are sealed together with a septum 72' between them. A start cannula 82' is epoxy-bonded to a hub in the top cover 54', and pierces the septum 72' to start the flow of liquid medication to a flow channel 55' in the top surface of the top cover 54'…. At the end opposite to the start cannula 82', the flow channel 55' communicates with a hole 206 formed vertically through the top cover 54'. The hole 206 is aligned with a somewhat larger hole 208 formed in the valve membrane 202. The liquid medication passes through the aligned holes 206 and 208 and enters one end 210 of an inlet channel 212 that is formed in the top surface of the lower valve body 204. After passing through a pair of check valves (to be described shortly), the liquid medication flows through an outlet channel 214 in the lower valve body 204 and exits through a delivery cannula 92'.”, (emphasis added) see Col 17 last paragraph-Col 18 first paragraph & Fig. 12-16), the MEMS device including a piezoelectric transducer that functions as an actuator (piezoelectric transducer 36’ functions as an actuator; “the piezoelectric element 36' is energized and bows upwardly, pulling up the membrane 50' on the top cover 54'….The drive voltage to the piezoelectric element 36' is terminated and the piezoelectric element 36' collapses to a flat state, thereby creating an elevated pressure in the liquid-filled cavity beneath the membrane 50'... On the outlet side, the pressure causes the valve membrane 202 to separate from the valve seat 228 and thereby opens the flow path through the valve membrane 202 to the outlet channel 215, hub 216 and delivery cannula 92'.”, Col 18 last paragraph-Col 19 first paragraph & Fig. 15-16); control circuitry controlling operations of the piezoelectric transducer (control circuit 42, Fig. 3; “the pump being electrically connectable to the closed loop control circuit…”, Col 4 lines 39-40; “closed-loop operation of the drive circuit for the piezoelectric element is desired”, Col 7 lines 62-63; the drive voltage, as described above, provided by circuit board 42); and
an interposer integrated with the piezoelectric transducer (lower valve body 204 and top cover 54’, both operatively integrated with piezoelectric transducer 36’, are being interpreted as the interposer, Fig. 12 and 15-16; “the device 200 differs from the last device 30 in that it includes a modified top cover 54' that cooperates with a valve membrane 202 and a lower valve body 204. These two components, in combination with the lower side of the top cover 54' acting as an upper valve body, form a micropump that is driven by a piezoelectric element (not shown in FIG. 12) located in the disposable portion of the device 200.”, Col 17 lines 43-49), the interposer configured as an adapter for mounting the reservoir, the control circuitry and the needle (lower valve body 204 directly connected to reservoir 68’ and 70’, see Fig. 12, and connected to cannula 92’ through cannula hub 216, Col 18 lines 2-5 & Fig. 12-14; top cover 54’ configured to mount control circuit board 42, see Col 17 lines 11-17 & Fig. 2-3 and 12), the interposer including
a channel for distributing the medication from the reservoir to the needle (inlet channel 212, fluidly connected to the reservoir, outlet channel 214, laser-drilled holes 224 and 226, and a cavity created by membrane 50’ and transducer 36’ all define a channel for medication to flow from the reservoir 68’ and 70’ to the cannula 92’, see Col 17 last paragraph-Col 18 first paragraph & Fig. 12-16; “the piezoelectric element 36' is energized and bows upwardly, pulling up the membrane 50' on the top cover 54'…. This creates a vacuum beneath the membrane 50', which is transmitted to the check valves 218 and 220 through laser-drilled holes 224 and 226, respectively, formed in the top cover 54'…. This acts to seal off the flow hole 223 against the seat 228 of the downstream check valve 220. At the same time, the vacuum pulls the valve membrane 202 in an upward direction away from the seat 230 of the upstream check valve 218, thereby allowing the liquid medication to pass through the flow hole 222 of the check valve 218 from the inlet channel 212. The flow of liquid medication passes through the upstream check valve 218, through the laser-drilled hole 224, and into the cavity formed under the piezoelectric element 36' and membrane 50'. At this point, the intake stroke ends and the exhaust stroke of FIG. 16 begins…. This pressure is transmitted to the check valves 218 and 220 via the laser-drilled holes 224 and 226…. On the outlet side, the pressure causes the valve membrane 202 to separate from the valve seat 228 and thereby opens the flow path through the valve membrane 202 to the outlet channel 21[4], hub 216 and delivery cannula 92'.”, Col 18 last paragraph-Col 19 first paragraph & Fig. 15-16) and a thin membrane included as part of the MEMS device (membrane 50’, Fig. 15-16; “The membrane 50 is sufficiently thin, flexible and thermally conductive to allow the piezoelectric element 36… to perform their required functions. The membrane 50 may consist of any suitable material, but a preferred material is polycarbonate having a thickness of about 2 to 3 mils.”, Col 10 lines 23-29) and
defining a portion of the channel as a chamber (the cavity formed by membrane 50, Fig. 15; “The flow of liquid medication passes through the upstream check valve 218, through the laser-drilled hole 224, and into the cavity formed under the piezoelectric element 36' and membrane 50'.”, Col 18 lines 57-66 & Fig. 15; The Examiner notes that alternatively, the chamber can be interpreted as the cavity and hole 224 and/or 226. Membrane 50’ defining both holes 224 and 226 as chambers, as seen in Fig. 15), wherein
the piezoelectric transducer is positioned on the thin membrane, thereby deforming the thin membrane into the chamber as the piezoelectric transducer is actuated to close the channel and prevent the medication from flowing through the channel,
the piezoelectric transducer functions as an actuator for deforming the thin membrane away from and into the chamber, thereby moving medication into and out of the chamber, respectively, of the interposer (transducer 36’ positioned on membrane 50’, Fig. 15-16; “…adhesively bond the lower surface of the piezoelectric element 36' to the upper surface of the membrane 50', which in turn allows the piezoelectric element 36' to force the membrane 50' in either an upward or downward direction.”, Col 18 lines 24-30 & Fig. 15-16 and Fig. 7; ”During the intake stroke of FIG. 15, the piezoelectric element 36' is energized and bows upwardly, pulling up the membrane 50' on the top cover 54'…. The drive voltage to the piezoelectric element 36' is terminated and the piezoelectric element 36' collapses to a flat state, thereby creating an elevated pressure in the liquid-filled cavity beneath the membrane 50'… On the outlet side, the pressure causes the valve membrane 202 to separate from the valve seat 228 and thereby opens the flow path through the valve membrane 202 to the outlet channel 215, hub 216 and delivery cannula 92'…. During each intake and exhaust cycle, predetermined quantity of liquid medication is delivered to the user through the delivery cannula 92'”, Col 18 last paragraph; transducer 36’ is capable of deforming membrane 50’ into the cavity as transducer 36’ is deenergized and collapses, or is actuated downward, to close the channel and prevent medication from flowing/moving through the channel, as the cavity is closed, the valves 218, 220 are closed, and the holes 224, 226 are closed, Col 18 last paragraph-Col 19 first paragraph & Fig. 15-16; transducer 36’ functions to deform membrane 50’ away from the cavity (transducer 36’ can be interpreted as deforming membrane 50’ away from the cavity as the cavity begins and finishes forming) and into the cavity to move medication into and out of the cavity, Col 18 last paragraph-Col 19 first paragraph & Fig. 15-16).
Regarding claim 17, Connelly discloses all the limitations of claim 15. Connelly further discloses the device wherein the interposer has one or more ports on a first side of the interposer and one or more ports on a second side of the interposer, the one or more ports on the first side communicate with the one or more ports on the second side via the channel (cannula hub 216 and hole 206 are being interpreted as one port on a first side and one port on a second side of the lower valve body 204 and top cover 54’, Col 17 line 46 and lines 59-end and Col 18 first paragraph & Fig. 12-14).
Regarding claim 18, Connelly discloses all the limitations of claim 15. Connelly further discloses the device wherein the micropump further includes the thin membrane of the interposer upon which the piezoelectric transducer is positioned, wherein the piezoelectric transducer and thin membrane of the interposer function together to draw the medication into the chamber or displace the medication from the chamber (transducer 36’ positioned on membrane 50’, see Fig. 15-16; “…adhesively bond the lower surface of the piezoelectric element 36' to the upper surface of the membrane 50', which in turn allows the piezoelectric element 36' to force the membrane 50' in either an upward or downward direction.”, Col 18 lines 24-30 & Fig. 15-16 and Fig. 7; ”During the intake stroke of FIG. 15, the piezoelectric element 36' is energized and bows upwardly, pulling up the membrane 50' on the top cover 54'…. The drive voltage to the piezoelectric element 36' is terminated and the piezoelectric element 36' collapses to a flat state, thereby creating an elevated pressure in the liquid-filled cavity beneath the membrane 50'… On the outlet side, the pressure causes the valve membrane 202 to separate from the valve seat 228 and thereby opens the flow path through the valve membrane 202 to the outlet channel 215, hub 216 and delivery cannula 92'…. During each intake and exhaust cycle, predetermined quantity of liquid medication is delivered to the user through the delivery cannula 92'”, Col 18 last paragraph).
Regarding claim 21, Connelly discloses all the limitations of claim 15. Connelly further discloses the device wherein the micropump comprise a flow sensor to monitor flowrate of the medication (thermal emitter 38 and thermal sensor 40, Fig. 3; “a flow sensor in at least one of the disposable and reusable portions for sensing the flow of liquid medication through the flow channel, the flow sensor being electrically connectable to the closed loop control circuit.”, Col 4 lines 40-44 & Fig. 3 and 6-7; “the flow sensor preferably comprises a thermal emitter and a thermal detector, both of which are in thermal contact with the liquid medication flowing in the flow channel”, Col 4 lines 55-58).
Regarding claim 22, Connelly discloses all the limitations of claim 15. Connelly further discloses the device wherein the medication is insulin (abstract and Col 1 lines 5-10).
Regarding claims 16 and 24, Connelly discloses all the limitations of claims 15 and 23. Connelly further discloses the device wherein the MEMS device includes the thin film membrane that deforms in response to actuation of the piezoelectric transducer thereby increasing or decreasing pressure within the chamber of the channel (“The flow of liquid medication passes through the upstream check valve 218, through the laser-drilled hole 224, and into the cavity formed under the piezoelectric element 36' and membrane 50'. At this point, the intake stroke ends and the exhaust stroke of FIG. 16 begins. The drive voltage to the piezoelectric element 36' is terminated and the piezoelectric element 36' collapses to a flat state, thereby creating an elevated pressure in the liquid-filled cavity beneath the membrane 50'. This pressure is transmitted to the check valves 218 and 220 via the laser-drilled holes 224 and 226”, Col 18 lines 57-67 & Fig. 15-16).
Regarding claims 19 and 25, Connelly discloses all the limitations of claims 15 and 23. Connelly further discloses the device wherein the patient is a user of the wearable device (Col 1 lines 6-10 and Col 6 lines 55-59).
Regarding claim 26, Connelly discloses all the limitations of claim 23. Connelly further discloses the device further comprising a plurality of interconnects electrically connecting the control circuity and the MEMS device (“It will be understood that the circuit board 42 includes suitable electrically conductive paths (not shown) for interconnecting the piezoelectric element 36… battery 56 and logic controller 58.”, Col 9 lines 30-34 & Fig. 3, 10, and 12; the conductive path from board 42 to transducer 36’ is being interpreted as a plurality of interconnects).
Regarding claim 27, Connelly discloses all the limitations of claim 26. Connelly further discloses the device wherein the plurality of interconnects transmit electrical signals from between the control circuitry and the MEMS device (the conductive path used to electrically control transducer 36’, Fig. 3, 10, and 12; “The logic controller chip 58 controls the piezoelectric element 36”, Col 9 lines 19-20; “The measured flow rate is compared with the desired value and used by the microcontroller 132 to energize the piezoelectric element 36 with a variable duty cycle by means of a pulse train generator 126 and a DC-to-DC converter 124. The DC-to-DC converter increases the voltage amplitude at the output of the pulse train generator 126 to a level that is adequate to drive the piezoelectric element 36.”, Col 13 lines 63-67-Col 14 lines 1-4 & Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 28, Connelly discloses all the limitations of claim 23. Connelly further discloses the device further comprising a battery for providing power to the control circuitry and the MEMS device (battery 56, see Col 9 lines 30-34 & Fig. 3 and 10).
Regarding claim 29, Connelly discloses an interposer to be used in a housing of a wearable device for delivering medication to a patient (lower valve body 204 and top cover 54’ are being interpreted as the interposer, see abstract and Fig. 12 and 15-16; “the device 200 differs from the last device 30 in that it includes a modified top cover 54' that cooperates with a valve membrane 202 and a lower valve body 204. These two components, in combination with the lower side of the top cover 54' acting as an upper valve body, form a micropump that is driven by a piezoelectric element (not shown in FIG. 12) located in the disposable portion of the device 200.”, Col 17 lines 43-49),
the wearable device including a reservoir for storing the medication (drug infusion device 200 including a reservoir assembly 68’ and 70’ for storing medicament for deliver to a patient; “the liquid medication is contained in a reservoir formed by the membranes 68' and 70'…”, Col 17 lines 50-53 & Fig. 12), a needle for releasing the medication in the patient (delivery cannula 92’; “quantity of liquid medication is delivered to the user through the delivery cannula 92'.”, Col 19 lines 9-12 & Fig. 12; “The device 30 is intended to be worn on the surface of the skin by the user, with a cannula (hollow needle) penetrating into the user's skin or transcutaneously through the skin into the subcutaneous tissue.”, Col 6 lines 55-59) and
a piezoelectric transducer functioning as an actuator for a pump or valve (piezoelectric transducer 36’, Fig. 15-16; “The motive force for the liquid medication is provided by a micropump which comprises two injection-molded plastic parts, two membranes, and a piezoelectric [e]lement driven by electronic control.”, Col 17 lines 8-12 & Fig. 12-16), the interposer configured to mount the reservoir and needle (lower valve body 204 directly connected to reservoir 68’ and 70’, see Fig. 12, and connected to cannula 92’ through cannula hub 216, see Col 18 lines 2-5 & Fig. 12-14), the interposer comprising:
a channel for distributing the medication from the reservoir to the needle (inlet channel 212, fluidly connected to the reservoir, outlet channel 214, laser-drilled holes 224 and 226, and a cavity created by membrane 50’ and transducer 36’ all define a channel for medication to flow from the reservoir to the cannula 92’, see Col 17 last paragraph-Col 18 first paragraph & Fig. 12-16; “the piezoelectric element 36' is energized and bows upwardly, pulling up the membrane 50' on the top cover 54'…. This creates a vacuum beneath the membrane 50', which is transmitted to the check valves 218 and 220 through laser-drilled holes 224 and 226, respectively, formed in the top cover 54'…. This acts to seal off the flow hole 223 against the seat 228 of the downstream check valve 220. At the same time, the vacuum pulls the valve membrane 202 in an upward direction away from the seat 230 of the upstream check valve 218, thereby allowing the liquid medication to pass through the flow hole 222 of the check valve 218 from the inlet channel 212. The flow of liquid medication passes through the upstream check valve 218, through the laser-drilled hole 224, and into the cavity formed under the piezoelectric element 36' and membrane 50'. At this point, the intake stroke ends and the exhaust stroke of FIG. 16 begins…. This pressure is transmitted to the check valves 218 and 220 via the laser-drilled holes 224 and 226…. On the outlet side, the pressure causes the valve membrane 202 to separate from the valve seat 228 and thereby opens the flow path through the valve membrane 202 to the outlet channel 21[4], hub 216 and delivery cannula 92'.”, Col 18 last paragraph-Col 19 first paragraph & Fig. 15-16) and a thin membrane (membrane 50’, Fig. 15-16; “The membrane 50 is sufficiently thin, flexible and thermally conductive to allow the piezoelectric element 36… to perform their required functions. The membrane 50 may consist of any suitable material, but a preferred material is polycarbonate having a thickness of about 2 to 3 mils.”, Col 10 lines 23-29)
(a) defining a portion of the channel as a chamber for receiving the medication (cavity formed by membrane 50, Fig. 15; “The flow of liquid medication passes through the upstream check valve 218, through the laser-drilled hole 224, and into the cavity formed under the piezoelectric element 36' and membrane 50'.”, Col 18 lines 57-66; The Examiner notes that alternatively, the chamber can be interpreted as either hole 224 or 226. Membrane 50’ defining both holes 224 and 226 as chambers, as seen in Fig. 15) and
(b) configured to be deformed upon activation of the piezoelectric transducer positioned on the thin membrane (membrane 50’ configured to be deformed by transducer 36’, see Fig. 15-16 and see Fig. 7; “…adhesively bond the lower surface of the piezoelectric element 36' to the upper surface of the membrane 50', which in turn allows the piezoelectric element 36' to force the membrane 50' in either an upward or downward direction.”, Col 18 lines 24-30 & Fig. 15-16 and Fig. 7; ”During the intake stroke of FIG. 15, the piezoelectric element 36' is energized and bows upwardly, pulling up the membrane 50' on the top cover 54'…. The drive voltage to the piezoelectric element 36' is terminated and the piezoelectric element 36' collapses to a flat state, thereby creating an elevated pressure in the liquid-filled cavity beneath the membrane 50’…”Col 18 last paragraph),
wherein the thin membrane and piezoelectric transducer function together (a) as the pump for pumping the medication through the channel (piezoelectric transducer 36’ and membrane 50’ function as a micropump, see Fig. 15-16; “the piezoelectric element 36' is energized and bows upwardly, pulling up the membrane 50' on the top cover 54'….The drive voltage to the piezoelectric element 36' is terminated and the piezoelectric element 36' collapses to a flat state, thereby creating an elevated pressure in the liquid-filled cavity beneath the membrane 50'... On the outlet side, the pressure causes the valve membrane 202 to separate from the valve seat 228 and thereby opens the flow path through the valve membrane 202 to the outlet channel 215, hub 216 and delivery cannula 92'.”, Col 18 last paragraph-Col 19 first paragraph & Fig. 15-16; also see Col 17 last paragraph-Col 18 first paragraph) or
(b) as the valve for preventing the medication from moving through the channel (in the flat state of piezoelectric transducer 36’, medication cannot move through the channel, see Fig. 16; transducer 36’ and membrane 50’ also function to operate upstream and downstream check valves 218 and 220; “The operation of the check valves 218 and 220 during the pump intake and exhaust strokes is illustrated in FIGS. 15 and 16…. it becomes possible to adhesively bond the lower surface of the piezoelectric element 36' to the upper surface of the membrane 50', which in turn allows the piezoelectric element 36' to force the membrane 50' in either an upward or downward direction. This allows the check valves 218 and 220 to operate in the manner illustrated in FIGS. 15 and 16”, Col 18 lines 18-30).
Regarding claim 30, Connelly disclose all the limitations of claim 29. Connelly further discloses the interposer wherein the medication is insulin (abstract and Col 1 lines 5-10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to Applicant’s arguments that Connelly does not disclose a chamber, the Examiner finds Connelly discloses that a cavity, or chamber, is formed underneath membrane 50’ (“The flow of liquid medication passes through the upstream check valve 218, through the laser-drilled hole 224, and into the cavity formed under the piezoelectric element 36' and membrane 50'. At this point, the intake stroke ends and the exhaust stroke of FIG. 16 begins. The drive voltage to the piezoelectric element 36' is terminated and the piezoelectric element 36' collapses to a flat state, thereby creating an elevated pressure in the liquid-filled cavity beneath the membrane 50'.”, Col 18 lines 57-66 & Fig. 15). Membrane 50’ defines the cavity, which is positioned underneath membrane 50’ (see Fig. 15). The cavity is being interpreted as part of the fluid flow channel, as fluid moves through the cavity. The claims do not include further structural limitations directed toward the structure of the chamber, such as walls or other boundary defining features.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that Connelly does not disclose the transducer and membrane functioning to close the channel and prevent fluid flow, the Examiner finds that transducer 36’ and membrane 50’ can exist in a flat, collapsed state, in which membrane 50’ moves into the cavity and closes the cavity (Col 18 last paragraph-Col 19 first paragraph & Fig. 15-16). In this state, the transducer 36’ can be interpreted as closing the channel, as the cavity is part of the channel and the valves 218 and 220 are closed which close the remaining elements of the channel, like inlet 212 and outlet 214. Holes 224 and 226, which are also part of the channel, can also be interpreted as closed in this state of transducer 36’ and membrane 50’.
Conclusion
/MARTIN A RADOMSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783