Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 27, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that the cited references are silent regarding plate parts supplying a respective half of the passage opening. However, providing a circular passage in two parts as shown in King necessarily requires providing two halves, as any other division would have an opening too small to accept the tube, and King explicitly teaches that the pieces should be self-identical, as cited in the rejection of claim 19. In addition, providing such a two-part passage in the plate of Einoegg necessarily requires two plate parts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 14, 17-20, 22, 23, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Einoegg et al. (DE 102018210444 B3, with reference to US 2021/0257691 as a direct English translation) in view of Johnson et al. (US 2011/0262785 A1), King (US Patent 5,105,844 A), and either of Davis (US Patent No. 4,881,348) or Kobmann et al. (US 2002/0117811 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Einoegg teaches a battery for a motor vehicle (Abstract; Fig. 1), the battery comprising:
a first stack of battery cells (see Fig. 1 below, circled in blue), wherein pressure is applied to the battery cells in a stack direction of the battery cells, and
a second stack of battery cells (see Fig. 1 below, circled in red), wherein the second stack is arranged adjacent to the first stack in the stack direction, and wherein pressure is also applied to the battery cells of the second stack in the stack direction,
and a pressure plate (intermediate pressure plate 16), to which pressure is applied in the stack direction, which is arranged in an intermediate space formed between the first stack and the second stack.
Einoegg does not teach that the pressure plate is formed from plastic. Johnson is directed to a battery module. Johnson teaches that pressure plates for stacked cell battery packs may be made from injection molded plastic (Johnson [0016]). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07.
Einoegg does not teach that the pressure plate has a first plate part and a second plate part which form the pressure plate when coupled to each other. Einoegg teaches that the pressure plate has passages (17,18) for coolant lines (14,15) (Fig. 1 and Abstract). The use of two-piece elements to provide two halves of a passageway encasing existing pipes is well known. See, for Example, King (Fig. 13 and 14). King is directed to a pipe enclosure (King Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use any conventional means, including the use of two plate pieces each providing half of a passageway, to encase the coolant lines of Einoegg within the pressure plate. Moreover, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2143 I A).
Einoegg does not teach that the pressure plate includes weldable inserts separate from the passage openings. Einoegg teaches that the intermediate pressure plate should be welded to the clamps (Einoegg [0012]). Metal inserts are a well-known means of making structures made of non-weldable material (such as plastic) weldable to metal surfaces. See, for example, Davis (col. 1, lines, 34-47) and Kobmann ([0007]). Davis is directed to welding inserts for construction (Davis Abstract) and Kobmann is directed to automotive components (Kobmann Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use metal inserts to make the plastic pressure plate of modified Einoegg weldable, since Einoegg teaches that they are preferably attached by welding. Such inserts would necessarily be separated from the passageways, since the ends of the passageways will be obstructed by coolant pipes.
Regarding claim 14, modified Einoegg teaches the entire pressure plate to be made of plastic (see [0016] of Johnson), which would correspond to the claimed “at least one base body having bearing regions of the pressure plates”)
Regarding claim 17, modified Einoegg teaches that the use of identical self-mating elements (i.e. identical first and second plates) reduces production costs (King: col. 5, lines 9-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use identical parts for the first plate part and the second plate part of modified Einoegg to reduce production costs.
Regarding claim 18, modified Einoegg teaches the use of injection-molded plastic (Johnson: [0016]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Einoegg teaches that the use of identical self-mating elements (i.e. with mutually corresponding positive-locking elements which engage with one another when the first part and the second part are coupled to each other) reduces production costs (King col. 5, lines 9-23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use self-mating parts for the first plate part and the second plate part of modified Einoegg to reduce production costs.
Regarding claim 20, the pressure plate of modified Einoegg is situated between stacked, flat batteries in a stacking direction (Einoegg Fig. 1 and Description, [0001]-[0002]) to apply pressure to both stacks. The bearing regions are therefore necessarily formed to be flat and oriented perpendicular to the stack direction.
Regarding claim 22, modified Einoegg teaches that the first stack and the second stack are components of a battery module of the battery (Einoegg Abstract; Fig. 1),
the battery module comprises a module frame (module frame 5 in Fig. 1), and
the module frame encloses the two stacks of the battery module and pressure is applied to the module frame (Einoegg Abstract).
Regarding claim 23, modified Einoegg teaches that the battery comprises a plurality of battery modules which are connected to one another in an electrically conductive fashion (Einoegg [0031]; high voltage battery 2, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 26, the insert of modified Einoegg is configured to connect with a bracket (clamps 8 and 9) for the high-voltage storage device by welding (Einoegg [0029]).
Claim(s) 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Einoegg in view of Johnson, King, and Davis or Kobmann as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Speck (“Fastener Functions and Assembly Testing”, Chapter 1 in Mechanical Fastening, Joining, and Assembly (2nd Edition), ISBN 978-0-8247-5378-8, December 2016).
Regarding claim 24, modified Einoegg teaches that the plate should be attached to the clamping means, preferably by welding (Einoegg [0012]). Speck is directed to fasteners (Speck Title). Speck teaches that both welding and screws with tapped holes (i.e., bolts with threaded holes) are commonly used for fastening pieces together (Speck 1.2 Analysis of a Simple Metal Assembly). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use any conventional means, including threaded holes, to attach the plate of modified Einoegg. Moreover, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2143 I A).
Regarding claim 25, the pressure plate of modified Einoegg has passages for accommodating the coolant lines, and any threaded hole for attaching the plate will necessarily be adjacent to a distal end.
Einoegg does not specify any particular relationship between the passages and the attachment locations. However, Einoegg does not specify any elements between the passages and attachment locations. The two are therefore assumed to be adjacent.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select an appropriate depth for the threaded hole to securely attach the plate, including to depths that bring the hole near a passage opening.
Conclusion
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722