DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-16 are cancelled.
Claims 17, 27, 28, 30, and 32 are amended.
Claims 17-32 are included in the prosecution.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 21 November 2025 are sufficient to withdraw the previous rejections under 35 USC 112(b) and 35 USC 103 over the teachings of Rolf.
Examiner additionally relies on Ma (CN208339669U Machine English Translation) in a new ground of rejection, therefore this action is made NON-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102/103
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 17-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ma (CN208339669U Machine English Translation).
Anticipation
Regarding claims 17-32, Ma is drawn to a medical dressing that promotes rapid wound healing. Its structure includes four layers, from bottom to top: a polyurethane film backing layer, a hydrocolloid layer adhered to the polyurethane film backing layer, a functional nonwoven fabric layer adhered to the hydrocolloid layer, and a release paper layer adhered to the functional nonwoven fabric layer; the functional nonwoven fabric layer is a water-soluble chitosan fiber nonwoven fabric or an alginate fiber nonwoven fabric. The dressing provided by this utility model is soft in texture, has strong hydrophilicity, obvious self-dissolving debridement effect, is waterproof, breathable, antibacterial, heat-insulating, does not stick to the wound surface, reduces the number of dressing changes, has low production cost, fast wound healing speed, is simple to prepare, and is easy to industrial production and promotion (abstract).
Ma discloses a medical dressing that promotes rapid wound healing, comprising four layers, from bottom to top: a polyurethane film backing layer, a hydrocolloid layer adhered to the polyurethane film backing layer, a functional nonwoven fabric layer adhered to the hydrocolloid layer, and a release paper layer adhered to the functional nonwoven fabric layer; the functional nonwoven fabric layer is a water-soluble chitosan fiber nonwoven fabric or an alginate fiber nonwoven fabric [0007]. Ma also discloses a hydrocolloid dressing and its preparation method [0004].
Ma discloses a polyurethane film backing layer 1 with a thickness of 0.02-0.03 mm; a hydrocolloid layer 2 with a thickness of 0.3-1.2 mm, preferably 0.46-0.85 mm; and a functional nonwoven fabric layer made of commercially available water soluble chitosan fiber nonwoven fabric or alginate nonwoven fabric [0020].
Ma discloses the hydrocolloid layer is a hydrophilic polymeric rubber elastomer layer containing sodium carboxymethylcellulose (NaCMC) and gelatin. It also contains elastic polymers and adhesives, which are commercially available materials. When placed on the polyurethane film backing layer, it ultimately forms an absorbent, self-adhesive, and waterproof dressing sheet that is opaque or translucent, biodegradable, and has good adhesion. At the same time, the hydrocolloid layer can maintain a good moist environment, promoting fibrinolysis, angiogenesis, and wound healing [0018].
Obviousness
Ma does not explicitly disclose each of the components of the composition in a single embodiment for an anticipation rejection.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ma, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Ma discloses all the required ingredients and Ma discloses when placed on the polyurethane film backing layer, it ultimately forms an absorbent, self-adhesive, and waterproof dressing sheet that is opaque or translucent, biodegradable, and has good adhesion. At the same time, the hydrocolloid layer can maintain a good moist environment, promoting fibrinolysis, angiogenesis, and wound healing [0018]. Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615