DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant's claim of priority under 35 U.S.C.§371 as a national stage entry of PCT/US2021/013262 filed Jan. 13, 2021, and which claims priority to provisional application 62/960,513 filed Jan. 13, 2020, is hereby acknowledged.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Group I (claims 1-4, 20, 21, 23, 24, 26,30 and 31) in the reply filed on Nov. 7, 2025, to the restriction requirement dated Sept. 24, 2025, is hereby acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 1-4, 20, 21, 23, 24, 26, 30 and 31 have been examined in the instant Office action whereas claims 5, 8-12, 36, 44 and 45 have been withdrawn from consideration as drawn to a nonelected invention but remains pending with the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 20, 21, 24, 26, 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §§102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as anticipated by Enayati (“One-Pot Synthesis of Cross-Linked Polymer Networks as a Hydrophilic Super-Adsorbent for Efficient Recovery of Heparin” by Mojtaba Enayati et al., ACS April Polym. Mater. 2019, I, pages 230-238 Department of Food Science, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, United States). This article was cited by Applicant in its Information Disclosure Statement filed July 12, 2022.
Enayati discloses a crosslinked polymer compound that serves as a super-absorbent to enhance recovery of heparin, which is based on a polymeric network containing a crosslinked acrylamide compound core (present Formula I, polymerizable compound) that acts as a solid/water swellable support, and (3-acrylamidopropyl)-trimethylammonium chloride (APTMAC)/bis-acrylamide (present Formula II/polymerizable compound) as the heparin adsorbent-binder, wherein the compound is polymerized mostly on the surface of the cross-linked but still growing acrylamide prepolymer network (Abstract; pages 230-232; Scheme 2; Table 1 of Enayati; particularly, cyclic compound depicted in Scheme 2; present claims 1, 4, 20 and 21). In the experimental section, Enayati discloses the polymerized compounds formed from Scheme 2 as absorbent beads (Scheme II; pages 232-233; present claims 2 and 3).
Enayati further discloses that beads can have size of between 400 and 800 microns (page 233, col. 1, third full paragraph; present claims 30 and 31). Moreover, samples of its beads described in the experimental section are formed from an 85:15 weight ratio of acrylamide to bis-acrylamide monomers (page 236, second full paragraph). Thus, the second monomer is present within the 5 to 75 percent by weight as recited in dependent claim 24.
Thus, the instant claims are anticipated by Enayati.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as unpatentable over Enayati
Enayati was discussed above in the instant action.
However, although Enayati discloses beads wherein the acrylamide monomer is present in an amount of 85 percent by weight, it does not disclose a sample of its beads wherein the first monomer (acrylamide) is present between 5 and 75 percent/ratio as recited in present dependent claim 23.
However, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to optimize the molar/weight ratios of the various monomers having the ratio recited in present claim 23, in accordance with a preferred/optimal efficiency of heparin recovery. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955) ("where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation" (citations omitted); Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2007). Generally, differences in size or in weight/volume ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ranges is critical1955). See also, In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969).
Thus, present claim 23 is unpatentable over Enayati.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JOHN J FIGUEROA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763
February 21, 2026