DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on November 21, 2025.
Claim 9 has been amended and is hereby entered.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendments
Applicant's amendments to the claims, filed November 21, 2025, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 21, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Park does not specifically disclose the structure of a compound comprising the claimed features and that compound T and compound Z, cited by the Examiner, and that both compounds have different structures from claimed Chemical Formula 1. Applicant argues that Park does not provide any motivation for a skilled artisan to modify either compound T or compound Z to arrive at the claimed polymer. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted in the rejection below, Formula Ia of Park encompasses polymers, including those claimed. The structures of Park explicitly taught require minor modifications, allowed by the definitions of Formula Ia to arrive at the claimed compound. The teachings of Park are not limited to or defined by only those embodiments disclosed in the Examples. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 424 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant argues that as demonstrated by Table 2 in the instant specification, by using the polymer, resulting devices had lower driving voltage, and better efficiency, compared to the comparative polymer, which is Compound T of Park. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The data in the table is not commensurate in scope with the claims for at least the reasons that the data provided is for the use of the compound in a device, whereas the claims are directed to a polymer only. Examiner also notes that in the Table, the polymer is provided in a particular layer (the hole transport layer), with a particular dopant and host compound in the light emitting layer, none of which are required by the claims as currently presented.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 18 of copending Application No. 18/698883 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compounds in claim 15 in the ‘883 application read on Chemical Formula 1 in the instant application. Claims 17 and 18 in the ‘883 application define second and terminal units that are the same as compounds of Chemical Formula 2 and 3 in the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 9, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US20130087779A1).
As per claims 1, 3 – 8, Park teaches:
A polymer comprising a repeating unit represented by the following Chemical Formula 1
(Park teaches compounds of Formula Ia
([0141]), wherein Ar1 and Ar2 are represented by Formula b
([0143]). A specific compound within the scope of Formula Ia taught by Park is compound T
. While compound T does not contain the claimed R4 or R5 substituents, the definitions for R7 in Formula Ia allow for those substituents and Park teaches compounds such as compound Z, wherein there are methyl substitutions in the claimed R4 position
. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify compound T to include methyl groups in the claimed R4 position as shown in Compound Z. Furthermore, in the definition for i, i is selected to be an integer from 0 – 4, so it would have been obvious to include two methyl groups on each of the rings as claimed. When compound T is modified to include two methyl groups on each of the rings directly bonded to the nitrogen atom in the biphenylene branch, the resulting compound reads on the claimed compound wherein L is an unsubstituted C12 arylene, namely a biphenyl group as required by claim 3 and represented by
in claim 4; R1 is an unsubstituted C6 alkyl, namely a straight chain hexyl as required by claim 5; R2 is an unsubstituted C1 alkyl, namely a methyl as required by claim 6; R3 is an unsubstituted C3 alkyl, namely a propyl as required by claim 7; R4 is an unsubtituted C1 alkyl, namely a methyl group as required by claim 8 and R5 are not present.)
Park includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Park being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of polymeric hole transport materials able to be formed via continuous coating in electronic devices ([0011]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 2 and 9, Park does not limit the bonding of the substituents on the ring directly bonded to the nitrogen atom in the biphenylene branch, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select positions of the ring, resulting in a compound of Chemical Formula 1’
and specifically a compound represented by
in claim 9, because there are a limited, finite number of options for substituents on that ring.
Park includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Park being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of polymeric hole transport materials able to be formed via continuous coating in electronic devices ([0011]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 17, Park teaches:
Wherein the polymer has a weight average molecular weight of 3,000 to 1,000,000 g/mol (In [0216 – 0217], Park teaches Example polymers with molecular weights ranging from 140,399 – 1,058,617.)
As per claim 18, Park teaches:
An organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode that is disposed opposite to the anode, a light emitting layer that is provided between the anode and the cathode, a hole transport layer that is provided between the anode and the light emitting layer ([0165]: “Fig. 2 is an exemplary electronic device, an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display that includes at least two organic active layers positions between two electrical contact layers. The electronic device 100 includes one or more layers 120 and 130 to facilitate the injection of holes from the anode layer 110 into the emissive layer 140. In general, when two layers are present, the layer 120 adjacent the anode is called the hole injection layer, sometimes called a buffer layer. The layer 130 adjacent to the emissive layer is called the hole transport layer. An optional electron transport layer 150 is located between the emissive layer 140 and a cathode layer 160.”)
Wherein the hole transport layer comprises the polymer as set forth in claim 1 ([0188]: “In some embodiments, the hole transport layer consists essentially of a material having Formula I or Formula I’.”)
Park teaches an anode, a cathode, and an hole transport layer and that the compound is in the hole transport layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Park as Park demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 10 – 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US20130087779A1) as applied to claims 1 – 9, 17 and 18 above, and further in view of Radu (US20160329497A1).
As per claims 10 – 16, 19 and 20, Park does not teach:
Wherein the polymer further comprises a repeating unit represented by Chemical Formula 2
, wherein the repeating unit of Chemical Formula 2 is contained in an amount of 10 to 50 moles based on 100 moles of the repeating unit of Chemical Formula 1
Wherein the polymer further comprises a terminal group represented by Chemical Formula 3
, wherein the repeating unit of Chemical Formula 3 is contained in an amount of 20 to 65 moles based on 100 moles of the repeating unit of Chemical Formula 1
Radu teaches a copolymer useful as a hole transporting compound of Formula I
, wherein A is a monomeric unit containing at least one triaryl amine group (Abstract). Radu teaches that the monomeric unit containing at least one triaryl amine group can be of Formula III-b, which is structurally similar to the compounds of Park
([0095]). Unit B’ of the copolymer is a monomeric unit having at least three points of attachment in the copolymer (Abstract). Representative compounds of unit B’ include compound B1
([0198]). Unit E is shown as a terminal group and is defined as being selected from among a crosslinkable group (Abstract). Representative compounds of unit E include compound E1
([0221]). Radu teaches representative copolymers wherein a monomeric unit containing at least one triaryl amine group that is structurally similar to those taught by Park is included in a copolymer with compound B1 and E1, as in Copolymer Type 3
([0254]). Unit B reads on the claimed Formula 2 wherein L’ is an unsubstituted C6 arylene, namely phenylene as required by claim 11; Z is an n-valent unsubstituted C6 aromatic ring, namely a trivalent benzene as required by claim 12; n is 3. The compound is the same as
in claim 13. Unit E reads on Chemical Formula 3 wherein Ar is a substituted C6 aryl, wherein the group is substituted with a photocurable group as required by claim 15 and is the same as
in claim 16. Radu teaches that the repeating unit A may be present in an amount greater than 0.50 of the total weight of the copolymer ([0222]), repeating unit B may be present in an amount between 0.01 – 0.5 ([0227]), and terminal group E is present in an amount between 0.05 – 0.60 ([0246]). The ratios of these compounds overlap with the claimed amounts of each component.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the polymer of Park to include the claimed repeating unit and the claimed terminal group in the amounts claimed because Park teaches that arylamine polymers containing units of Formula 1 are suitable for use as polymers in hole transport layers, and Radu teaches that the units may be included in copolymers for use in hole transport layers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789