DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
1. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicants’ submission filed on 1/06/2026 has been entered.
2. Pending claims for reconsideration are claims 1-17, and 25-27. Claims 1-16, and 26 have been amended. Claims 18-24, and 28-32 have been cancelled.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 1-17, and 26-27 are allowed. claims 1-16, and 26 have been amended. Claims 18-24, and 28-32 have been cancelled.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The closest prior art issued to Patent No.: US 10,505,718 B1 to Suthar et al(hereafter referenced as Suthar) in view of Pub.No.: US 2022/0159460 A1 to Ben Henda et al (hereafter referenced as Ben Henda) fails to teach or suggest “the circuitry of the user equipment is configured to provide an authentication interface between the non-public network authentication-authorization-accounting server and an authentication server function entity in the mobile telecommunications system for authentication of at least another user equipment; the circuitry of the user equipment is configured to receive, via the authentication interface provided by the user equipment between the non-public network authentication-authorization-accounting server and the authentication server function entity, an authentication request from the at least another user equipment via the authentication server function entity; and the circuitry of the user equipment is configured to transmit, via the authentication interface provided by the user equipment between the non-public network authentication-authorization-accounting server and the authentication server function entity, the authentication request received from the at least another user equipment to the non-public network authentication-authorization-accounting server; and wherein the authentication interface that is provided by the user equipment for the authentication of the at least another user equipment is logically located between the non-public network authentication-authorization-accounting server and the authentication server function entity and provides a secure logical and physical channel between the non-public network authentication-authorization-accounting server and the authentication server function entity.”
Suthar in view of Ben Henda simply offers a user equipment that provides authentication via a core network node of a core network of a wireless communication system for authenticating a user equipment (UE) to the core network which includes receiving a first authentication request to authenticate the UE to the core network and network function ( NF ) entity in a communication network that determines a user equipment ( UE ) supporting a blockchain authentication procedure which exchanges authentication messages with a blockchain authentication, but does not address explicitly disclose “the circuitry of the user equipment is configured to provide an authentication interface between the non-public network authentication-authorization-accounting server and an authentication server function entity in the mobile telecommunications system for authentication of at least another user equipment; the circuitry of the user equipment is configured to receive, via the authentication interface provided by the user equipment between the non-public network authentication-authorization-accounting server and the authentication server function entity, an authentication request from the at least another user equipment via the authentication server function entity; and the circuitry of the user equipment is configured to transmit, via the authentication interface provided by the user equipment between the non-public network authentication-authorization-accounting server and the authentication server function entity, the authentication request received from the at least another user equipment to the non-public network authentication-authorization-accounting server; and wherein the authentication interface that is provided by the user equipment for the authentication of the at least another user equipment is logically located between the non-public network authentication-authorization-accounting server and the authentication server function entity and provides a secure logical and physical channel between the non-public network authentication-authorization-accounting server and the authentication server function entity” as cited in the amended claims.
Response to Arguments
4. With regards to claim 25, applicant's arguments filed 1/06/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks, applicant argues in substance:
That- claim 25 requires that the circuitry of the non-public network authentication-authorization-accounting server be configured to "obtain a predetermined secret
key stored in a secure memory. in advance" and to "generate and encrypt an extended master session key based on the predetermined secret key. Ben Henda does not disclose or suggest obtaining a predetermined secret key to encrypt an EMSK for transfer. Instead, Ben Henda relies on standard 5G AKA credentials (such as the "K" value) to generate a different key, the MSK, for deriving subsequent keys in the hierarchy. Because Ben Henda explicitly teaches away from the transfer of the EMSK and fails to disclose generating and encrypting an EMSK based on a predetermined secret key, the cited art fails to disclose or suggest the features of claim 25
In response to applicants’ argument – It is the combination of Suthar and Ben Henda that teaches the claimed language, neither Suthar nor Ben Henda alone. In its broadest most reasonable interpretation Ben Henda discloses "obtain a predetermined secret key stored in a secure memory. in advance" via an authentication architecture for non-public networks in which long-term subscription credentials and secret key material are provisioned and stored prior to session establishment (see, e.g. Abstract; Fig’s 2-4 in which sections describing storage of authentication credentials in AUSF/AAA functions). During authentication, the server retrieves this pre-provisioned secret material to perform key derivation. This teaches obtaining a predetermined secret key stored in secure memory in advance. Ben Henda further discloses “Generate…an extended master key session key(EMSK) based on the predetermined secret key” by describing an EAP/5G-AKA-based hierarchical key derivation in which master session keys, including EMSK, are derived from the underlying long term secret credentials, because the EMSK is cryptographically derived from the stored long-term secret, Ben Henda teaches generating an EMSK based on predetermined secret key. While Ben Henda focuses on key derivation within the authentication framework, Suthar expressly teaches protecting and securely transmitting derived authentication keys between network entities using encryption or cryptographic wrapping. Accordingly, Ben Henda(as to storage and derivation) in combination with Suthar (as to encrypted key transfer) teaches or renders obvious each claim limitation of claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent No.: US 10,505,718 B1 to Suthar et al(hereafter referenced as Suthar) in view of Pub.No.: US 2022/0159460 A1 to Ben Henda et al (hereafter referenced as Ben Henda) see provisional ap filed 2/27/2019.
Regarding claim 25, Suthar discloses “A non-public network authentication-authorization-accounting server” (i.e., mobile communications system [Fig 1] also see Authentication Server Function (AUSF) entity [Fig.2]).
Suthar does not explicitly disclose “comprising circuitry wherein the circuitry of the non-public network authentication -authorization -accounting server is configured to obtain a predetermined secret key stored in a secure memory in the non-public network authentication-authorization-accounting server in advance; the non-public network authentication -authorization -accounting server is configured to generate and encrypt an extended master session key based on the predetermined secret key; the non-public network authentication -authorization -accounting server is configured to transfer the generated and encrypted extended master session key to an authentication server function entity via a wired interface”
However, Ben Henda in an analogous art discloses “comprising circuitry wherein the circuitry of the non-public network authentication -authorization -accounting server is (AAA server on an non-public network Ben Henda[Fig.7]) configured to obtain a predetermined secret key stored in a secure memory in the non-public network authentication-authorization-accounting server in advance; the non-public network authentication -authorization -accounting server(AAA server on an non-public network Ben Henda[Fig.7]) is configured to generate and encrypt an extended master session key based on the predetermined secret key; the non-public network authentication -authorization -accounting server (AAA server on an non-public network Ben Henda[Fig.7]) is configured to transfer the generated and encrypted extended master session key to an authentication server function entity via a wired interface” (core network node includes a Authentication Server Function , AUSF , node , the master key includes a master session key , MSK , and the first key includes an AUSF security key , KAUSF Ben Henda [par.0019] also see AAA Ben Henda [Fig.7]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Suthar’s registration procedure within a wireless network with Ben Henda’s Non-Public network authentication process. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine because Suthar teaches user equipment for mobile system that utilizes a registration process, Ben Henda discloses a non-public network authentication process within a mobile system, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D ANDERSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433