DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 19-20, 24-26, and 30-31 are pending, claims 1-18, 21-23, 27-29, and 32-42 have been cancelled, and claims 19-20, 24-26, and 30-31 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 19-20, 24-26, 30-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an annular attachment mechanism” in claim 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-20, 24-26, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanchik (US 2006/0258904), in view of Nobis (US 2005/0261674) and Adams (US 2007/0078430).
Regarding claim 19, Stefanchik discloses a method of delivering a gastrostomy tube (figure 25-29), comprising: attaching a gastrostomy tube (600, figure 1b) to an endoscope (200, figure 1b); passing the endoscope and attached gastrostomy tube through an oral cavity and into a stomach (see figure 25); inserting a large bore needle (needle 22, figure 25) through an abdominal wall, a gastric wall, and into a lumen of the stomach (see figure 25); grabbing a distal loop of the gastrostomy tube (tether/suture 830, figure 38 | tether/suture can be a loop); pulling the distal loop distally such that the gastrostomy tube is pulled distally out of the stomach (figure 29); and attaching the gastrostomy tube to the abdominal wall and the gastric wall (see figure 30). Stefanchik is silent regarding after attaching the gastrostomy tube to the endoscope, passing the endoscope and attached gastrostomy tube together through an oral cavity and into a stomach; grabbing a distal loop of the gastrostomy tube with the large bore needle
Nobis teaches an endoscope (100, figures 4a and 15) with a rail (30, figure 4a). A first device (118, figure 15) may be a feeding tube that is introduced onto the rail and advanced distally along the rail ([0084]). The rail can be positioned within the body lumen by being associated with an endoscope which is introduced into the body lumen ([0084]). The rail is supported on the endoscope prior to insertion of the endoscope into the patient ([0044]).
Adams teaches a kit (111, figure 7) for positioning a guide element in a patient ([0013]). A dual-function tool (113, figure 7) has a needle tip (115, figure 7) at the distal end to insert through an incision and extend into the patient’s stomach (abstract; same manner as a style 19 [0043]). A j-hook (117, figure 7 | same manner as tool 15 [0043]) is used to catch a looped leading end (see P, figure 4e) and withdraw into the cannula (17, figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the method to use a rail (30, figure 4a) supported on the endoscope prior to insertion of the endoscope into the patient ([0044]) as taught by Nobis. Doing so would allow the rail to be positioned near a field of view or distal end of the endoscope prior to insertion into a patient ([0044]). Further, it would have been obvious to modify the method to use a large bore needle with a built in j-hook (117, figure 7). Doing so would provide a dual-function tool (113, figure 7; [0043]). The modified method would comprise after attaching the gastrostomy tube to the endoscope (feeding tube 600 can be positioned on the carrier 500 outside of the patient’s body [0121]; Stefanchik | rail 30 can be supported on the endoscope prior to insertion of the endoscope into the patient [0044]; Nobis), passing the endoscope and attached gastrostomy tube together through an oral cavity and into a stomach (the modified method would have both the feeding tube and carrier/rail positioned on the endoscope prior to insertion into the patient); grabbing a distal loop of the gastrostomy tube with the large bore needle (see j-hook 117, figure 7; Adams).
Regarding claim 20, Stefanchik further discloses pulling the distal loop distally disengages the gastrostomy tube from the endoscope (as feeding tube is pushed off the sheath assembly…grasped with…[0128]; Stefanchik).
Regarding claim 24, Stefanchik further discloses attaching the gastrostomy tube to the endoscope comprises placing an annular attachment mechanism (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as continuous lobes | endcap 400, figure 2a, see carrier 500, figure 2, track 300, figure 3; Stefanchik) around a distal tip of the endoscope (endcap 400 disposed at the distal end [0071]) and extending the gastrostomy tube parallel to the endoscope (see figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 25, Stefanchik further discloses disengaging the gastrostomy tube from the endoscope by pulling laterally on the distal loop (as feeding tube is pushed off the sheath assembly…grasped with…[0128]; Stefanchik). Laterally pulling on 830 can also disengage from the gastronomy tube (see figure 28).
Regarding claim 26, Stefanchik further discloses the endoscope is left in the stomach during the step of pulling the distal loop distally (see figures 28-29).
Regarding claim 30, Stefanchik and Adams further disclose the large bore needle comprises an inner stylet (113, figure 7; Adams) and an outer sheath (17, figure 7; Adams | 24, figure 25; Stefanchik), and wherein grabbing the distal loop of the gastrostomy tube with the large bore needle comprises grabbing the distal loop with a groove in the inner stylet (see 117, figure 7; Adams).
Regarding claim 31, Stefanchik further discloses pushing the outer sheath over the distal loop when the distal loop is positioned in the groove (24 can be pushed over the distal loop caught by 32, see figure 28 of Stefanchik) prior to the step of pulling the distal loop distally (24 is withdrawn along with pulling the distal loop, see figure 29).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
March 11, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795