DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 9,901,432 to Erickson et al.
Regarding Claims 1, 10, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 and 65, Erickson teaches a hatchling support and method comprising: a head holder (Erikson Fig. 4 #80) comprising a head cavity configured to receive a head of a hatchling and a keeper apparatus (Erikson Fig. 4 #84) configured to retain a head of a hatchling in the head cavity, the keeper apparatus movable between an open configuration and a closed configuration, wherein the head of a hatchling is retained in the head cavity when the keeper apparatus is in the closed configuration and wherein a head of a hatchling in the head cavity is free to move out of the head cavity when the keeper apparatus is in the open configuration; a cradle (Erikson Fig. 4 #60) operably attached to the head holder, wherein the cradle is movable between a loading configuration and a support configuration, a cradle is configured to rotate relative to the head holder (Erickson et al cradle #60 is configured to rotate relative to the head holder #80 where in Fig, 4 the cradle is lower than the head holder and in Fig.5 the cradle is higher than the head holder thus it rotated relative to the head holder) about a cradle axis-oriented transverse to a midline of a hatchling when moving between the loading configuration and the support configuration (Erickson Fig. 5 and 4) wherein the cradle supports a ventral surface of a hatchling having a head retained in the head cavity of the head holder when the cradle is in the support configuration and a calming band (Erickson Fig. 4 #70 concave portion and Col. 6 line 61-67; Col. 7 lines 1-4) operably attached to the head holder, wherein the calming band is movable between a retracted configuration and an activated configuration, wherein the calming band rotates about a band axis oriented transverse to a midline of a hatchling having a head retained in the head cavity of the head holder when moving between the retracted configuration and the activated configuration, wherein the calming band is positioned proximate a dorsal surface of a torso of a hatchling having a head retained in the head cavity of the head holder and a ventral surface supported by the cradle when the cradle is in the support configuration.
Regarding Claim 6, Erikson teaches the calming band comprises a left arm and a right arm (Erikson #70), wherein the left arm and the right arm are located on opposite sides of a midline of a hatchling having a head retained in the head cavity of the head holder and a ventral surface supported by the cradle when the cradle is in the support configuration, wherein the left arm and the right arm each comprise a base end, wherein the band axis extends through the base end of each of the left arm and the right arm.
Regarding Claims 7 and 8, Erikson teaches the calming band comprises a dorsal surface segment extending from one or both of the left arm and the right arm (Erikson #70).
Regarding Claim 13, Erickson teaches the cradle axis is aligned with the band axis (Erikson cradle axis Fig. 4 #11 and calming band axis for #70).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 9,901,432 to Erickson et al.
Regarding Claims 9 and 11, Erikson teaches the hoop comprises a top edge proximate the head cavity and a bottom edge distal from the head cavity when the calming band is in the activated configuration (Erkison #70), wherein the hoop has a height measured between the top edge and the bottom edge along a midline of a hatchling having a head retained in the head cavity of the head holder and a ventral surface supported by the cradle when the cradle is in the
support configuration, appears to teaches wherein, the height of the hoop is 3 centimeters or less, but is silent on explicitly teaching the claimed range. The examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Erikson before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success for a good fit with the hatchling. The modification is merely an obvious engineering design choice derived through routine tests and experimentation and does not present a patentable distinction over the prior art of record. The modification is merely an obvious change in size while performing the same intended function [In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 463, 105 USPQ 237, 40 (CCPA 1955)]. The modification is "obvious to try" choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. Applicant does not provide criticality for the claimed range in the specification and even states on page 18 of the specification line 17-19 that the height may vary depending of the size of the hatchling and breed.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 9,901,432 to Erickson et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 2,051,989 to Ellis.
Regarding Claim 2, Erikson teaches the cradle (Erikson #60) extends from a cranial end proximate the cradle axis to a seat end distal from the cradle axis, wherein the seat end comprises a cupped segment (Erikson concave portion of #70), but is silent on configured to extend between the legs of a hatchling having a ventral surface supported by the cradle when the cradle is in the support configuration. However, Ellis teaches the general knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art that it is known to configure to extend between the legs of a hatchling having a ventral surface supported by the cradle (Ellis Fig. 1 and 2 #9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Erikson with the teachings of Ellis before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to eliminate motion as taught by Ellis. The modification is merely the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 3, Erkison as modified teaches the cupped segment comprises a forked configuration comprising a vent slot extending towards the cranial end of the cradle (Ellis Fig. 1 and 2 #9 central inverted U is the vent and the upright side U is forked for the legs).
Regarding Claim 4, Erickson as modified teaches the cradle extends from a cranial end proximate the cradle (Erikson #60) axis to a seat end distal from the cradle axis, wherein the seat end comprises a vent slot (Ellis vent in #9) extending from the seat end dorsal surface towards the cranial end.
Regarding Claim 5, Erickson as modified teaches the seat end is configured to fit between the legs of a hatchling having a ventral surface supported by the cradle when the cradle is in the support configuration (Ellis Fig. 1 #9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 60-64 are allowed. Independent claim 60 incorporates objected claim 12 moved into independent claim 1. Claims 62-64 depend from allowed claim 60.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The amended claim language with regard to claim 1 and newly added claim 65 is not explicit enough to distinguish. The language “configured to rotate relative to the head holder” does not provide a structural distinction nor a distinct method step. It remains broad in nature and does not explicitly mean that the cradle bends around an axis to a loading position that puts the cradle at an obtuse angle with the head holder and then the cradle pivots to a loaded position where the cradle and head holder are linearly in line with each other. The language of the claim does not require for the head holder to remain stationary when the cradle is rotating. It is the examiner’s interpretation that Erikson satisfies the broad nature of the claim because the amendment is not explicit enough to describe the feature applicant is intending to claim. Erickson et al cradle #60 is configured to rotate relative to the head holder #80 where in Fig, 4 the cradle is lower than the head holder and in Fig.5 the cradle is higher than the head holder thus it rotated relative to the head holder. This feature needs to be claimed with more structural reference than the current amendment. Applicant needs to describe the structure in the loading and unloading position of the holder and the cradle.
Regarding the method claims of 16-18 it is the examiner’s position that Erickson satisfies the limitations of the claim since the movement of the cradle depends on what angle the operator is holding the bird when it is placed in the head holder. The operator can place the bird’s head in the head holder of Erickson Fig. 4 with the bird at an angle such that the bottom end of the bird is above the horizontal axis running through pivot point #11 and instead of the operator dropping the bottom end of the bird down to the cradle, the cradle is rotated up into contact with the bird’s bottom end. The claim does not distinguish the positioning of the head holder and the cradle when in the loading position versus a loaded position. The concept of the cradle being bent down creating an obtuse angle with the head holder in the loading position and that the cradle is raised up while the head hold remains stationary to put the cradle lined up linearly with the head holder in the loaded position is missing from the claim and lends itself to a broad interpretation. The claim merely claims putting the bird’s head in the head holder first, but it doesn’t put any limitation or requirements on the orientation of the bird’s body with respect to the cradle.
The examiner maintains that applicant hasn’t patentably distinguished over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREA M VALENTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643
24 March 2026