DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 3/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-20 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to applicant’s argument on pages 6-8 that Kyomoto in view of Minigawa does not disclose a PC compound used in combination with a high concentration of a water-soluble inorganic salt, as recited in newly amended claim 1, the examiner disagrees. See rejection below.
With regard to applicant’s argument on pages 8-9 that Kyomoto does not teach the division of an IR peak ratio by a film thickness, as recited in claim 7, the examiner disagrees. As explained in the previous office action, Kyomoto teaches an index that is defined as the ratio of peak intensity of the phosphoric acid group to the peak intensity of the methylene group (paragraph 0081). Kyomoto also teaches using the index to evaluate the durability of the cup having the polymer layer (30) based on the thickness of the layer/film (paragraph 0083 shows how a thickness from 10 to 200 nm with an index of preferably 0.45 results in higher durability). Therefore, the examiner maintains that Kyomoto satisfies the claimed formula (though the claimed formula is not explicitly disclosed, it is construed to be met because the materials and polymerization processes are the same as applicant’s and the formula is satisfied, at least when the thickness does not undergo an excessive variation, for example: 0.45/10 ≥ 0.007nm-1).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., variations in film thickness are taken into account, density of graft chains present per unit area of the base member surface, to precisely ascertain the concentration of polymer chains per unit volume, evaluating the true quality of the film) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). It is also noted that Kyomoto acknowledges paying attention to the density of the film/layer in an attempt to improve the durability of the cup (paragraphs 0079-0080).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0306781 A1 to Kyomoto et al. (Kyomoto).
Regarding claim 7
Kyomoto meets the limitations of a sliding member for an artificial joint (acetabular cup; 10) (abstract), comprising: a base member (substrate; 12) comprising a compound having a methylene group (paragraph 0015 discloses the polymer material having a methylene group); and a polymer film (polymer layer; 30) that is formed on at least a portion of a surface of the base member and comprises a polymer chain in which a compound having a phosphorylcholine group is polymerized (paragraphs 0015 and 0018 disclose forming the polymer layer on the bearing surface of the base/substrate and that the layer comprises polymer chains in which a compound having a phosphorylcholine group is polymerized), wherein the following formula (1) is satisfied: (peak intensity of phosphoric acid group/peak intensity of methylene group in infrared spectral analysis spectrum)/film thickness of polymer film ≥ 0.007 nm-1...(1) (paragraphs 0081-0086 discloses the formula as claimed).
Regarding claim 10
Kyomoto meets the limitations of an artificial hip joint, comprising the sliding member for an artificial joint (paragraph 0014 discloses a bearing material for an artificial joint) according to claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above).
Regarding claim 11
Kyomoto teaches the artificial hip joint according to claim 10, comprising: an acetabular cup (10) comprising the base member and the polymer film (paragraph 0073 discloses the base member/substrate and the film/layer); and a femoral (22) head disposed in the acetabular cup (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12
Kyomoto teaches the artificial hip joint according to claim 11, wherein the polymer film is disposed only on the acetabular cup of the acetabular cup and the femoral head (paragraph 0073 discloses that only the sliding surface 16 of the acetabular cup includes the polymer film deposited thereon).
Regarding claim 13
Kyomoto teaches the artificial hip joint according to claim 11, wherein the polymer film is disposed on both the acetabular cup and the femoral head (paragraph 0104 discloses an embodiment in which the polymer layer/film is disposed on both the cup 10 and the outer head 42 of the head 22).
Regarding claim 14
Kyomoto teaches the artificial hip joint according to claim 11, wherein the acetabular cup has a contact surface (bearing surface; 16) configured to contact the femoral head, and the polymer film is disposed on the contact surface (paragraph 0074 discloses the polymer layer/film being disposed on the bearing surface of the cup which contacts the femoral head as shown in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15
Kyomoto teaches the artificial hip joint according to claim 11, wherein the femoral head is formed of a material different from that of the base member of the acetabular cup (the substrate/base of the cup is made of a polymer material, such as UHMWPE; paragraph 0093 while the femoral head is formed of ceramics or metal; paragraph 0101).
Regarding claim 16
Kyomoto teaches the artificial hip joint according to claim 11, wherein the femoral head is formed of a polymer, ceramic, or metal material (paragraph 0101 discloses forming the head of ceramics or a metal).
Regarding claim 17
Kyomoto teaches the artificial hip joint according to claim 11, wherein surfaces of the acetabular cup have a first region and a second region having the polymer film thicker than the first region (the outer surface 14 of the cup is construed to be the first region and the inner bearing surface 16 is the second region – since the outer surface is fixed to the acetabulum, it does not include a film/layer and is therefore thinner than the film thickness that is present in the second region on the inner bearing surface).
Regarding claim 18
Kyomoto teaches the artificial hip joint according to claim 17, wherein the first region is located on an outer surface of the surfaces, and the second region is located on an inner surface configured to contact the femoral head of the surfaces (the outer surface of the cup is not disclosed to have a film/layer and therefore meets the limitation of being a first region having a thinner film/layer than the second region which is the inner bearing surface 16).
Regarding claim 19
Kyomoto teaches the artificial hip joint according to claim 17, wherein the first region is located on an edge portion located between an outer surface and an inner surface of the surfaces, the inner surface being configured to contact the femoral head, and the second region is located on the inner surface (the outer surface of the cup, which includes an edge portion/rim as shown in fig. 1, is not disclosed to have a film/layer and therefore meets the limitation of being a first region having a thinner film/layer than the second region which is the inner bearing surface 16).
Regarding claim 20
Kyomoto teaches the artificial hip joint according to claim 11, wherein the acetabular cup has a contact surface (16) configured to contact the femoral head (fig. 1), and the polymer film (30) is disposed only on the contact surface (fig. 1 shows that the film/layer 30 is disposed only on the contact/bearing surface 16).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0274940 A1 to Kyomoto et al. (Kyomoto ‘940).
Kyomoto ‘940 teaches a graft polymerization method characterized in that a polymerization product is obtained by immersing a polymer base having a ketone group on the surface into a reaction system containing a monomer and then irradiating the polymer base with light so that polymerization of the monomer starts from the surface of the polymer base (abstract). Kyomoto ‘940 meets the limitations of a sliding member for an artificial joint (paragraph 0002 discloses using the surface treatment techniques to provide plastic molded product materials, medical materials, etc. for the purpose of exhibiting desired properties such as high hydrophilicity and lubricity as disclosed in paragraph 0035, which are construed to be a sliding member that is fully capable of being used for an artificial joint as claimed), comprising: a base member (substrate; i) comprising a compound (paragraph 0041 discloses that the base member/substrate comprises a ketone group on the surface that is used as a reaction field, wherein a reaction system includes a monomer) having a benzene ring (paragraph 0043 discloses a ketone group that is preferably an aromatic ketone such as a benzene ring); and a polymer film (layer of the polymerization product; paragraph 0028) that is formed on at least a portion of a surface of the base member (paragraph 0076 discloses forming the coating layer on the surface of the substrate) and comprises a polymer chain (paragraph 0043 discloses a polymer chain) in which a compound (vinyl compound; paragraph 0044) having an ester group (paragraph 0046 discloses esters) and a phosphorylcholine group (paragraph 0046 discloses phosphorylcholine) is polymerized (paragraph 0048 discloses polymerization), wherein the following formula (2) is satisfied: (peak intensity of ester group/peak intensity of benzene ring in infrared spectral analysis spectrum)/film thickness of polymer film > 0.0005 nm-1...(2) (paragraphs 0069-0075 discloses deriving the peak from MPC found in the graft polymerized PEEK surface – though the claimed formula is not explicitly disclosed, it is construed to be met because the materials and polymerization processes are the same as applicant’s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0306781 Kyomoto (Kyomoto) in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0008520 A1 to Minigawa et al. (Minigawa).
Regarding claim 1
Kyomoto teaches a bearing material that is excellent in durability and is capable of maintaining wear resistance over a long period of time (abstract). Kyomoto meets the limitations of a method for manufacturing a sliding member (polymer layer; 30) for an artificial joint (paragraph 0088 discloses manufacture of the bearing material of an acetabular cup), comprising exposing a base member (substrate; 12) to ultraviolet rays (paragraph 0088 discloses polymerization by means of ultraviolet-ray irradiation), the base member contacted with an aqueous treatment solution (paragraph 0141 discloses immersion of the substrate in an aqueous solution), the aqueous treatment solution comprising a compound comprising a phosphorylcholine group (paragraph 0091 discloses an MPC monomer that is a compound having phosphorylcholine group), wherein a molar concentration of the compound comprising the phosphorylcholine group is 0.20 mol/L or more and less than 0.30 mol/L (paragraph 0145 discloses a molar concentration of 0.25 mol/L which is more than 0.20 mol/L and less than 0.3 mol/L).
Kyomoto also teaches that the compound has excellent tribological characteristics, so as to render biocompatibility and surface lubrication (paragraphs 0006 and 0076). However, Kyomoto does not teach that the aqueous treatment solution also comprises a water-soluble inorganic salt or wherein a molar concentration of the water-soluble inorganic salt is 1.0 mol/L or more and 5.0 mol/L or less.
Minigawa teaches surface-modified metals having a surface at least partially treated by polymerizing a monomer (abstract). Minigawa also teaches that it is known to use both phosphorylcholine based monomers (paragraph 0056) and alkali or alkaline earth metal salts (paragraphs 0057-0060), each for the purpose of polymerization to form coating that increase lubricity (abstract), as is done by Kyomoto (paragraph 0088).
Though Minigawa does not explicitly teach the use of a combination of the components, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition which is to be used for the very same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). More specifically, the formation of a copolymer of these monomers is held to be obvious over the citation of both materials being used for the same purpose. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to replace all or part of the phosphorylcholine monomer of Kyomoto with the monomer of Minigawa as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143).
Further, Minigawa does not explicitly state that the salts are organic or inorganic. Since there are only two possibilities (i.e., organic or inorganic), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try either, given the limited number of possibilities wherein both would reasonably provide an expectation of success (see MPEP 2143).
Further still, given that Kyomoto teaches a monomer concentration of 0.1-2 mol/L and that the rejection is based upon replacing at least some, but not all, of the range of monomer concentration, the established concentration range for the use of the salt in the invention of Kyomoto would be >0 to <2 mol/L, which would substantially overlap and read upon the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the concentration of salt of Kyomoto in view of Minigawa from between >0 to <2 mol/L to between 0.1-2 mol/L, as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see pp. [0022] indicating the concentration “can” be within the claimed range) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2
Kyomoto in view of Minigawa teaches the method for manufacturing a sliding member for an artificial joint according to claim 1. Kyomoto also teaches wherein a concentration of the compound comprising the phosphorylcholine group is 0.20 mol/L or more and 0.30 mol/L or less (paragraph 0145 teaches a concentration of 0.25 mol/L).
Regarding claim 3
Kyomoto in view of Minigawa teaches the method for manufacturing a sliding member for an artificial joint according to claim 1. Kyomoto also teaches wherein the concentration of the compound having the phosphorylcholine group is 0.225 mol/L or more and 0.30 mol/L or less (paragraph 0145 teaches a concentration of 0.25 mol/L).
Regarding claim 4
Kyomoto in view of Minigawa teaches the method for manufacturing a sliding member for an artificial joint according to claim 1. Minigawa also teaches wherein the water-soluble inorganic salt is an alkali metal salt or an alkaline earth metal salt (paragraphs 0057-0060), for the purpose of polymerization to form coating that increase lubricity (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify that the water-soluble inorganic salt of Minigawa that is used to replace all or part of the phosphorylcholine monomer of Kyomoto is an alkali metal salt or an alkaline earth metal salt, in order to form the coating/film with an increased lubricity via polymerization.
Regarding claim 5
Kyomoto in view of Minigawa teaches the method for manufacturing a sliding member for an artificial joint according to claim 4. Minigawa also teaches wherein the alkali metal salt is one or more selected from a sodium salt, a potassium salt, a lithium salt, and a cesium salt (paragraph 0058 discloses sodium or potassium salt).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify that the alkali metal salt is one or more selected from a sodium salt, a potassium salt, a lithium salt, and a cesium salt, since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for an intended purpose (See MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 6
Kyomoto in view of Minigawa teaches the method for manufacturing a sliding member for an artificial joint according to claim 5. Kyomoto also teaches further comprising heating the base member after the exposing (paragraph 0096 discloses applying a heat treatment after irradiation).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyomoto.
Kyomoto teaches the sliding member for an artificial joint according to claim 7. Kyomoto also teaches that the thickness of the polymer layer is preferable in a range from 10 to 200 nm, for the purpose of obtaining excellent wear resistance (paragraph 0077). However, Kyomoto does not explicitly teach wherein the polymer film has a film thickness of 100 nm or more.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of Kyomoto from between 10 and 100 nm to 100 nm or more, as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see pp. [0053] indicating the film thickness “may” be within the claimed range and also providing other suitable ranges, for example 50 to 1000 nm) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.A.H/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774