DETAILED ACTION
This Office action details a final action on the merits for the above referenced application No. Claims 1, 5-9, 11, 19, 21, 25, 27-28, and 30 are pending in this application.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 27-28, and 30 are amended. Claims 2-4, 10, 12-18, 20, 22-24, 26, 29, and 31-33 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The claim amendments filed on 6 Jul. 2026 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicants amendments, the object to claim 16 because of minor informalities is withdrawn.
In view of Applicants amendments, the rejection of claims 1, 5-10, 12,16, 21, and 25 under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Ndinguri et al. (US 2017/0157263 A1; published 8 Jun. 2017), in view of Babich et al. (WO 2013/103813 A1; published 11 Jul. 2013) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, 11, 21, 25, and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ndinguri et al. (US 2017/0157263 A1; published 8 Jun. 2017), in view of Babich et al. (WO 2013/103813 A1; published 11 Jul. 2013), in further view of Lane et al. (Nucl. Med. Biol.; published 2008) and Jamous et al. (Nucl. Med. Biol.; published 2014) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 5 Mar. 2026.
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, 19, 21, 25, 27, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ndinguri et al. (US 2017/0157263 A1; published 8 Jun. 2017), in view of Babich et al. (WO 2013/103813 A1; published 11 Jul. 2013), and Lane et al. (Nucl. Med. Biol.; published 2008), in further view of Dapueto et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem.; published 2015) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 5 Mar. 2026.
Applicants Arguments
Applicants assert that the combination of references fails at least because the basis for combining such references fails in view of claim 1. The tridentate structures of Babich are not diethylenetriamine. The cited structure (Re-(7)) in table 2 of Babich has a completely distinct tridentate structure. The tridentate structure of Lane comprises 99mTc and NOT the rhenium species. There is no reason to incorporate any of the teachings of Lane. Jamous and Dapueto fail to overcome the deficiencies of Ndinguri, Babich, and Lane.
Applicant's arguments filed 6 Jul. 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The combination of Ndinguri, Babich, and Lane teach, suggest and motivate all of the limitations of claim 1 as amended including a LHRH peptide of SEQ ID NO: 2; an amino alkyl carboxylic acid linker with an alkyl between 1 and 25 carbons in length covalently bound to X3; a diethylenetriamine tridentate structure; and a metal such as 188Re. Regarding the LHRH peptide composition, Ndinguri provides the claimed LHRH peptide of SEQ ID NO: 2 having an alkyl carboxylic acid linker attached to dLys (instant X3) and a bidentate structure optionally comprising Pt. Ndinguri explains that the Pt-LHRH conjugate targets and binds to the LHRH receptors of any cancer cell or any tumor microenvironment that expresses theses receptors and achieves more effective concentrations of the platinum drug or derivative therapeutic agent in the target area. Like Ndinguri, Babich teaches specific tumor receptor honing bioactive molecules covalently tethered to one of Pt, 186Re, 188Re, and 99mTc using a tridentate chelator. Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood a tridentate structure comprised of 3 amines to be advantageous since in addition to linking Pt to a tumor receptor honing bioactive molecule, it additionally enables linking 186Re, 188Re or 99mTc to the specific tumor receptor honing bioactive molecule for radiotherapy and/or imaging. The cited compounds 7 and Re-(7) use an amino alkyl carboxylic acid linker wherein the alkyl is of about 11 carbons in length. Similar to Ndinguri and Babich, Lane teaches a specific tumor receptor honing bioactive molecule covalently tethered to a chelator, namely diethylenetriamine. While Lane exemplifies a 99mTc chelated diethylenetriamine comprised of three amines, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood from Babich and the knowledge of one or ordinary skill in the art that diethylenetriamine chelator is capable of chelating Pt, 186Re and 188Re whereby enabling (radio)therapy. A recognized advantage is the strongest reason to combine. The cited compounds in Lane use an amino alkyl carboxylic acid linker that is of about 1 carbon in length. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the composition of Ndinguri by substituting the linker, bidentate structure, and metal with an amino alkyl carboxylic acid linker, diethylenetriamine tridentate structure, and 186Re or 188Re metal as taught by Lane and Babich because the substituting would have been expected to advantageously enable treating cancer cells expressing LHRH receptors or any tumor microenvironment that expresses these receptors by achieving more effective concentrations of 186Re or 188Re in the target area using a stable and therapeutically effective LHRH receptor conjugate. Jamous teaches and motivates linker comprising PEG to advantageously enhance pharmacokinetic properties. Dapueto teaches and motivates dimer complexes including those of instant formula III to advantageously provide extremely stable radiometal complexes formed in high yield in to enabling multivalency and specificity for the LHRH receptor.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-9, 11, 19, 21, 25, 27-28, and 30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,130,717 B2, in view of Babich et al. (WO 2013/103813 A1; published 11 Jul. 2013), Lane et al. (Nucl. Med. Biol.; published 2008), Jamous et al. (Nucl. Med. Biol.; published 2014) and Dapueto et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem.; published 2015) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 5 Mar. 2026.
Claims 1, 5-9, 11, 19, 21, 25, 27-28, and 30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,197,888 B2, in view of Babich et al. (WO 2013/103813 A1; published 11 Jul. 2013), Lane et al. (Nucl. Med. Biol.; published 2008), Jamous et al. (Nucl. Med. Biol.; published 2014) and Dapueto et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem.; published 2015) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 5 Mar. 2026.
Claims 1, 5-9, 11, 19, 21, 25, 27-28, and 30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,152,089 B2, in view of Babich et al. (WO 2013/103813 A1; published 11 Jul. 2013), Lane et al. (Nucl. Med. Biol.; published 2008), Jamous et al. (Nucl. Med. Biol.; published 2014) and Dapueto et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem.; published 2015) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 5 Mar. 2026.
Applicants Arguments
Applicants assert that the above combinations are non-obvious for at least the same reasons articulated with regards to 35 USC 103 addressed supra.
Applicant's arguments filed 6 Jul. 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Each of the ‘717, ‘888, and ‘089 patents claim the LHRH receptor conjugates discussed above in Ndinguri. Babich, Lane, Jamous, and Dapueto are not deficient for the reasons discussed above and the reasons cited in the Office actions filed on 5 Mar. 2026
New Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 27-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In this case, instant claim 11 is dependent to cancelled claim 10 rendering the claim indefinite. In the case that is amended to be dependent to claim 1. Each of claims 27-28 and 30 comprise a structure comprising a ()n; however the claims have been amended to remove the definition of n and claim 1 has been amended so that linker comprises an amino alkyl carboxylic acid wherein the alkyl is of between 1 and 25 carbons in length. Since n is not defined in any of claims 1, 27-28 and 29, the meaning of the ()n as shown in those structures is not understood. In addition, formula II in claim 28 comprises a mPegn wherein the mPegn is not understood and therefore indefinite.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/SEAN R. DONOHUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1618