DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 10, 12, 14-16, 19-20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mills WO 2008/052249 in view of Bligh AU 2005237179.
Regarding claim 1, 12, 14-15, and 20, Mills teaches a process of calcining aluminum hydroxide (Abstract) by directly calcining at least a portion of the aluminum hydroxide with steam (Abstract). Mills also teaches that the process may include another calcination stage, wherein aluminum hydroxide is further calcined with direct or indirect combustion of the fuel gases (Claim 10). Mills teaches that the steam produced in the process may be recycled (Page 13, l. 10).
As a matter of claim interpretation claim 1 includes the possibility of calcining the aluminum hydroxide by combusting hydrogen both directly and indirectly. Directly meaning that hydrogen is combusted in the same vessel where the aluminum hydroxide is being calcined and indirectly meaning that hydrogen is combusted in a separate vessel and the heat produced therein is transferred to the aluminum hydroxide calcination vessel. Mills teaches that a fuel may be combusted to calcine aluminum hydroxide to alumina both directly and indirectly (Claim 10).
Mills is silent with respect the names of the fuels that may be combusted.
Bligh teaches a process that for calcining aluminum hydroxide to form alumina to liberate the water in the crystallize hydroxide (Abstract, Page 7, l. 25-30). Bligh teaches that the combustion heat fuel may include a burning process of hydrogen (Page 2, l. 26). The burning of hydrogen inherently requires a mixture of oxygen and hydrogen, which produces water. The steam generated in the reaction chamber would be considered transport gas because it would transport the gases from the reaction chamber.
Regarding claim 3, Mills teaches that the temperature is at least 250 degrees C, which is above the 100 deg C condensation temperature of water (Page 6, l. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Mills does not expressly state that the pressure is at atmospheric pressure.
Bligh teaches that the calcination may occur at ambient pressure in order to produce a condensed water that is may be used for consumption (Page 2-3). At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to perform the process of Mills including calcining at ambient temperature in view of Bligh. The suggestion or motivation for doing so would have been to provide a condensable water supply that could be used for consumption (Bligh Pages 2-3).
Regarding claim 5, the steam generated in the reaction chamber would be considered transport gas because it would transport the gases from the reaction chamber.
Regarding claim 6, the steam generated in the reaction chamber is a heat transfer medium because it transfers heat to the aluminum hydroxide to drive the calcination.
Regarding claim 8, Mills and Bligh do not expressly state that the flue gas from the reaction chamber is 95% by volume steam. However, since the reaction in the reaction chamber is the combustion of hydrogen, which produces steam as a product. It would be obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to completely combust the hydrogen before it leaves the reaction chamber, which would result if a flue gas having a steam content of greater than 95%.
Regarding claim 10 and 16, hydrogen is combusted by a reaction with oxygen.
Regarding claim 19, Mills teaches a process of calcining aluminum hydroxide (Abstract) by directly calcining at least a portion of the aluminum hydroxide with steam (Abstract). Mills also teaches that the process may include another calcination stage, wherein aluminum hydroxide is further calcined with direct or indirect combustion of the fuel gases (Claim 10). The process of Mills is performed in a plant (Figures 1 and 2) that would inherently require startup, and Mills teaches that the aluminum hydroxide is preheated by the combustion products (Page 12, l. 25 – Page 13, l. 10), preheating would inherently end when a steady state temperature condition was reached.
Mills is silent with respect the names of the fuels that may be combusted.
Bligh teaches a process that for calcining aluminum hydroxide to form alumina to liberate the water in the crystallize hydroxide (Abstract, Page 7, l. 25-30). Bligh teaches that the combustion heat fuel may include a burning process of hydrogen (Page 2, l. 26). The burning of hydrogen inherently requires a mixture of oxygen and hydrogen, which produces water. The steam generated in the reaction chamber would be considered transport gas because it would transport the gases from the reaction chamber.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to perform the process of Mills while using the burning of hydrogen as the fuel source in view of Bligh. The suggest or motivation for doing so would have been to provide a suitable fuel in Mills that was required but not disclosed. The person having ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the use of hydrogen as fuel was a heat source that would have provided predictable results in view of Bligh (Bligh, Page 2, l. 26).
Regarding claim 22, the combustion of the fuel in Mills would inherently require oxygen.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art of Mills does not teach or suggest the feature of transferring at least some of the steam produced in and discharged from the reaction chamber back to the reaction chamber. In response, Mills teaches that the steam produced in the process may be recycled (Page 13, l. 10). Also, Mills expressly state that the steam provided the reaction chamber for calcining aluminum hydroxide is recirculated steam (Figure 2, Item 34).
Applicant further argues that Mills does not directly transfer back the steam into the reaction chamber. In response, the claims require “transferring at least some of the steam produced in and discharged from the reaction chamber back to the reaction chamber” not that the steam is directly transferred back to the reaction. The instant invention also includes embodiments that recirculate steam after subsequent unit operation that do not directly transfer back the steam (Specification, See e.g. Figure 4)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES A FIORITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731