DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1 and 2 have been amended; support for the amendment can be found in [0064].
Claims 10, 17 and 20 are canceled.
Claims 1-9, 11-16, 18, 19 and 21-23 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Yamato (US-20210265689-A1, cited in IDS filed 07/02/2025) and Fripp (US-20070003831-A1) are now relied on to teach “the sealing member comprises an electrically conductive material configured to permit current to flow from the lower can to the upper cap” as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “close” in claims 9 and 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation “contact” has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term “close”. For examination, “close contact” has been interpreted as “contact”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 20210399373 A1, previously cited) in view of Yamato (US-20210265689-A1, cited in IDS filed 07/02/2025) and Fripp (US-20070003831-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ko discloses a button-type secondary battery (Fig. 1; element 100) comprising:
an electrode assembly (Fig. 2; element 1000) including a first electrode tab (Fig. 2; element 140) and a second electrode tab (Fig. 2; element 150);
a lower can (Fig. 2; element 200) including an accommodation part (Fig. 2; 200), in which the electrode assembly (100) is accommodated and to which the first electrode tab (140) is connected, and
an upper cap (Fig. 2; element 300) including a cover part (Fig. 2; 300) installed on the accommodation part (200) covering (Fig. 2) the accommodation part (200) and
a terminal member (Fig. 2; element 400) coupled to the upper cap (300) and connected to the second electrode tab (150); and
an insulating member (Fig. 2; element 500) configured to insulate ([0059]) the terminal member (400) and the upper cap (300) from each other and seal a gap (Fig. 2; space between 400 and 300) between the terminal member (400) and the upper cap (300).
Ko fails to disclose a flange part on an outer circumferential surface of the accommodation part; a curl part provided on an outer circumferential surface of the cover part; wherein the flange part and the curl part are coupled to each other in a seaming manner to seal a gap between the lower can and the upper cap, a sealing member for increasing sealing force is provided at a coupling portion between the flange part and the curl part; and the sealing member comprises an electrically conductive material configured to permit current to flow from the lower can to the upper cap.
Yamato discloses a flange part (Fig. 2; 13) on an outer circumferential surface (annotated Fig. 2; OCS1) of an accommodation part (Fig. 2; 10);
a curl part (Fig. 2; 22) provided on an outer circumferential surface (annotated Fig. 2; OCS2) of a cover part (Fig. 2; 21);
wherein the flange part (13) and the curl part (22) are coupled to each other (Fig. 2) in a seaming manner (Fig. 2) to seal a gap (annotated Fig. 2; interface between 13 and 22) between a lower can (Fig. 2; 10) and an upper cap (Fig. 2; 21),
a sealing member (“sealing agent”; [0038]) for increasing sealing force ([0038]) is provided at (“a sealing agent (sealant) may be interposed between the peripheral edge portion of the sealing plate and the opening edge of the battery can”; [0038]) a coupling portion (Fig. 2; CP) between the flange part (13) and the curl part (22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Ko by substituting the sealing portion design of Ko’s upper and lower cans for the sealing portion design of Yamato’s upper and lower cans, such that Ko’s battery comprised a flange part on an outer circumferential surface of the accommodation part; a curl part provided on an outer circumferential surface of the cover part; wherein the flange part and the curl part are coupled to each other in a seaming manner to seal a gap between the lower can and the upper cap, a sealing member for increasing sealing force is provided at a coupling portion between the flange part and the curl part, as taught by Yamato. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to achieve a sealing part with improved airtightness ([0013]) and high impact resistance ([0085]) as taught by Yamato.
Ko in view of Yamato fails to disclose the sealing member comprises an electrically conductive material configured to permit current to flow from the lower can to the upper cap.
Fripp teaches a sealing member (“electrically conductive adhesive”; [0051]) that comprises an electrically conductive material ([0051]) configured to permit current (“electrically conductive”; [0051]) to flow from a lower can (Fig. 2; 30; “outer case”; [0051]) to an upper cap (Fig. 2; 54; “cap”; [0051])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Ko in view of Yamato by substituting the sealing member of Ko in view of Yamato for the sealing member of Fripp such that the sealing member comprises an electrically conductive material configured to permit current to flow from the lower can to the upper cap. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to predictably secure the upper can to the lower as taught by Fripp ([0051]) while permitting the upper cap to have the same polarity as the lower can as desired by Ko ([0053]).
Regarding claim 5, Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp discloses wherein the flange part (13) includes a first flange (Yamato annotated Fig. 2; 1F) on the outer circumferential surface (OCS1) of the accommodation part (200) and a second flange (Yamato annotated Fig. 2; 2F) bent from an end (Yamato annotated Fig. 2; end of 1F) of the first flange (1F) toward a bottom surface (Yamato Fig. 2; bottommost surface of 200) of the accommodation part (200), and wherein the curl part (22) includes a first curl surface (Yamato annotated Fig. 2; 1CS) on the outer circumferential surface (OCS2) of the cover part (300) and supported on the first flange (1F), a second curl surface (Yamato annotated Fig. 2; 2CS) on an end (Yamato annotated Fig. 2; end of 1CS) of the first curl surface (1CS) and supported on an outer circumferential surface (Yamato annotated Fig. 2; OCS2F) of the second flange (2F), and a third curl surface (Yamato annotated Fig. 2; 3CS) on an end (Yamato annotated Fig. 2; end of 2CS) of the second curl surface (2CS) and inserted between (Yamato Fig. 2) the accommodation part (200) and the second flange (2F).
Regarding claim 11, Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp discloses wherein the terminal member (400) comprises a terminal part (Fig. 2; element 420) to which the second electrode tab (150) of the electrode assembly (100) is coupled while being inserted into a through-hole (Fig. 2) of the upper cap (300) and a support part (Fig. 2; element 410) having a diameter (Fig. 2) greater than that (Fig. 2; diameter of through hole of 300) of the through-hole (Fig. 2; through hole of 300) of the upper cap (300) and supported on a top surface (Fig. 2; topmost surface of 300) of the upper cap (300).
Regarding claim 21, Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp discloses wherein:
multiple coupling portions (Yamato annotated Fig. 2; CP, CP2, CP3, CP4) are provided between the flange part (13) and the curl part (22); the sealing member (Fripp’s adhesive) is provided only at one or some (Yamato [0038] permits the adhesive to be applied only to CP) but not all (CP, CP2, CP3, CP4) of the multiple coupling portions (CP, CP2, CP3, CP4) between the flange part (13) and the curl part (22); and the one or some (Yamato [0038] permits the adhesive to be applied only to CP) of the multiple coupling portions (CP, CP2, CP3, CP4) include the coupling portion (CP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have only applied the sealing member at one or some but not all of the multiple coupling portions between the flange part and the curl part of Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp because Yamato grants a PHOSITA the freedom to do so in [0038].
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 20210399373 A1, previously cited) in view of Yamato (US-20210265689-A1, cited in IDS filed 07/02/2025) and Fripp (US-20070003831-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Yamato’50 (JP 2020123450 A, previously cited, machine translation used for rejection below).
Regarding claim 3, Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp discloses wherein the flange part (13) has a thickness (Yamato Fig. 2; T1), wherein the curl part (22) has a thickness (Yamato Fig. 2; T2), wherein the accommodation part (200) has a thickness (annotated Fig. 2; T3) and the cover part (300) has a thickness (annotated Fig. 2; T4).
Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp fails to disclose less than that of the accommodation part, and less than that of the cover part.
Yamato’50 discloses a battery ([0001]), including an upper cap (Fig. 3; element 21) comprising a cover part (Fig. 3; element 21) and a curl part (Fig. 3; element 22), a lower can (Fig. 3; element 11A) including an accommodation part (Fig. 3; element 11A) and a flange part (Fig. 3; element 13), wherein the flange part (13) has a thickness (Fig. 3; element T1) less than that (Fig. 3; element T5) of the accommodation part (11A), and wherein the curl part (22) has a thickness (Fig. 3; element T2) less than that (Fig. 3; element T3) of the cover part (21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp by substituting the relative thicknesses of the flange, curl, cover and accommodation parts of Yamato’50 for that of Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp such that the flange part has a thickness less than that of the accommodation part, and the curl part has a thickness less than that of the cover part. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to improve the airtightness ([0008]), impact resistance and the strength ([0041]) of the battery as taught by Yamato’50.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 20210399373 A1) in view of Yamato (US-20210265689-A1, cited in IDS filed 07/02/2025) and Fripp (US-20070003831-A1) as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Zou (CN-207368144-U, machine translation used for rejection below).
Regarding claim 7, Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp discloses wherein the second flange (2F) has a thickness (Yamato Fig. 2; T1) and an end (Yamato annotated Fig. 2; E2F) and wherein the third curl surface (3CS) has a thickness (Yamato Fig. 2; T2) and an end (Yamato Fig. 2; E3CS) but fails to disclose that gradually increases toward an end thereof.
Zou discloses a first flange (annotated Fig. 1; element 1F), and a second flange (annotated Fig. 1; element 2F), wherein the second flange (2F) has a thickness (annotated Fig. 1; thickness of 2F) that gradually increases (Fig. 1) toward an end (annotated Fig. 1; bottom end of 2F) thereof, a curl part (annotated Fig. 1; element 1CS, 2CS, and 3CS) including a first curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 1CS), a second curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 2CS) and a third curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 3CS), wherein the third curl surface (3CS) has a thickness (annotated Fig. 1; thickness of 3CS) that gradually increases (Fig. 1) toward an end (annotated Fig. 1; top end of 3CS) thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp by substituting the gradual increases of thickness of the second flange and third curl surface taught by Zou for the thicknesses of Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp, such that the second flange has a thickness that gradually increases toward an end thereof and the third curl surface has a thickness that gradually increases toward an end thereof, as taught by Zou. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would predictably expect to achieve a cooperation between the upper can and bottom can as taught by Zou ([0031]).
Regarding claim 8, Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp discloses wherein the third curl surface (3CS) has a thickness (Yamato Fig. 2; T2) and an end (Yamato Fig. 2; E3CS) and wherein the second flange (2F) has a thickness (Yamato Fig. 2; T1) and an end (Yamato annotated Fig. 2; E2F) but fails to disclose that gradually increases toward an end thereof.
Zou discloses a first flange (annotated Fig. 1; element 1F), and a second flange (annotated Fig. 1; element 2F), wherein the second flange (2F) has a thickness that gradually increases (Fig. 1) toward an end (annotated Fig. 1; bottom end of 2F) thereof, a curl part (annotated Fig. 1; element 1CS, 2CS, and 3CS) including a first curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 1CS), a second curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 2CS) and a third curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 3CS), wherein the third curl surface (3CS) has a thickness (Fig. 1) that gradually increases (Fig. 1) toward an end thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp by substituting the gradual increases of thickness of the second flange and third curl surface taught by Zou for the thicknesses of Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp, such that the second flange has a thickness that gradually increases toward an end thereof and the third curl surface has a thickness that gradually increases toward an end thereof, as taught by Zou. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would predictably expect to achieve a cooperation between the upper can and bottom can as taught by Zou ([0031]).
Regarding claim 9, Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp discloses an inner surface (Yamato annotated Fig. 2; IS2F) of the second flange (2F) facing the third curl surface (3CS) and an outer surface (Yamato annotated Fig. OS3CS) of the third curl surface (3CS) facing the second flange (2F) that is in close contact (Yamato Fig. 2) with the inner surface (IS2F) of the second flange (2F) but fails to disclose “includes a first inclined surface that gradually increases in thickness toward an end thereof”, and
“includes a second inclined surface that is in close contact with the first inclined surface”.
Zou discloses a button battery ([0012]) with a flange part (annotated Fig. 1; element 1F and 2F) comprising a first flange (annotated Fig. 1; element 1F) and a second flange (annotated Fig. 1; element 2F),
a curl part (annotated Fig. 1; element 1CS, 2CS, and 3CS) with a first curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 1CS), a second curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 2CS) and a third curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 3CS),
wherein an inner surface (annotated Fig. 1; inner surface of 2F) of the second flange (2F) facing the third curl surface (3CS) includes a first inclined surface (annotated Fig. 1; inclined surface of 2F) that gradually increases in thickness (Fig. 1) toward an end (Fig. 1; end of 2F) thereof and
wherein an outer surface (annotated Fig. 1; outer surface of 3F) of the third curl surface (3CS) facing the second flange (2F) includes a second inclined surface (annotated Fig. 1; inclined surface of 3CS) that is in close contact (Fig. 1) with the first inclined surface (inclined surface of 2F).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp by substituting the first and second inclined surfaces of Zou for the respective non-inclined surfaces found in Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp, such that the inner surface of the second flange facing the third curl surface includes a first inclined surface that gradually increases in thickness toward an end thereof, and an outer surface of the curl surface facing the second flange includes a second inclined surface that is in close contact with the first inclined surface, as taught by Zou. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would predictably expect to achieve a cooperation between the upper can and bottom can as taught by Zou ([0031]).
Claims 12 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 20210399373 A1) in view of Yamato (US-20210265689-A1, cited in IDS filed 07/02/2025) and Fripp (US-20070003831-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Yamamoto (JP-2014175323-A, machine translation used for rejection below).
Regarding claim 12, Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp discloses a part (adhesive surface of Fripps’ adhesive) for increasing coupling force (Yamato [0038]; Fripp [0051]) between the accommodation part (200) and the cover part (300), wherein the part (surface of Fripps’ adhesive) is on the outer circumferential surface (OCS2; Yamato “the peripheral edge portion of the sealing plate”; [0038]) of the cover part (300) facing the accommodation part (200; Yamato “opening edge of the battery can”; [0038]). Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp fails to disclose uneven.
Yamamoto discloses an uneven part (“adhesive layer” with “bump made of conductive paste” per [0008] (example shown as 2 in Fig. 2), where “the average height h of the bumps 3 may be larger than the average thickness of the conductive adhesive layer 2”; [0040]) for increasing coupling force (“mechanical adhesive strength”; [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp by substituting the uneven part taught by Yamamoto for the part of Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp such that the part is an uneven part. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to achieve both the improvement of mechanical adhesive strength and the improvement of electrical connectivity in the adhesion of adherend members disposed facing each other as taught by Yamamoto ([0007]).
Regarding claim 22, Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp discloses wherein the sealing member (Fripp’s adhesive) is disposed at the coupling portion (CP) between the flange part (13) and the curl part (22) but fails to disclose wherein:
the sealing member comprises a plurality of coating surfaces, each of which has a closed curve shape; and the plurality of coating surfaces are disposed at the coupling portion between the flange part and the curl part and are spaced apart from one another at regular intervals.
Yamamoto discloses wherein:
a sealing member (“adhesive layer” with “bump made of conductive paste” per [0008] (example shown as 2 in Fig. 2), where “the average height h of the bumps 3 may be larger than the average thickness of the conductive adhesive layer 2”; [0040] and where bump 3 has an apex and side that is a curve per [0018]) comprises a plurality of coating surfaces (plurality of a “bump made of conductive paste” per [0008]), each of which has a closed curve shape (bump 3 may have an apex and side that is a curve per [0018]); and the plurality of coating surfaces (bump 3) are spaced apart (Fig. 2d) from one another at regular intervals (Fig. 2d; regular intervals between 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp by substituting the sealing member taught by Yamamoto for the sealing member of Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp such that the sealing member comprises a plurality of coating surfaces, each of which has a closed curve shape; and the plurality of coating surfaces are disposed at the coupling portion between the flange part and the curl part and are spaced apart from one another at regular intervals as taught by Yamamoto. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to achieve both the improvement of mechanical adhesive strength and the improvement of electrical connectivity in the adhesion of adherend members disposed facing each other as taught by Yamamoto ([0007]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 20210399373 A1) in view of Yamato (US-20210265689-A1, cited in IDS filed 07/02/2025) and Fripp (US-20070003831-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Wang’061 (US 20140315061 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp fails to disclose wherein an insulating tape is attached to each of the first electrode tab and the second electrode tab.
Wang’061 discloses a button-type secondary battery ([0004]) wherein an insulating tape (“insulation tapes”; [0015]; Fig. 1; element 7a) is attached to an electrode tab (Fig. 1; element 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp by adding the insulation tape of Wang’061 such that it was attached to each of the first electrode tab and the second electrode tab. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to prevent short circuit, enable longer cycle life ([0015]), and prevent corrosion ([0044]) of the electrode tab as Wang’061 teaches.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 20210399373 A1) in view of Yamato (US-20210265689-A1, cited in IDS filed 07/02/2025) and Fripp (US-20070003831-A1) as applied to claim 1 as set forth above and further in view of Wang’362 (US 20210359362 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp discloses an uppermost point (Yamato Fig. 2; uppermost point of 22; “UP1”) among the flange part (13) and the curl part (22) and an uppermost point (Ko Fig. 2; uppermost point of 400; “UP2”) of the terminal member (400) but fails to disclose “is located above”.
Wang’362 discloses wherein an uppermost point (Fig. 2; uppermost point of 30) of a terminal member (Fig. 2; 30) is flush with an uppermost point (Fig. 2; uppermost point of 201) of a cover part (Fig. 2; 201).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp by substituting the terminal configuration taught by Wang’362 for the terminal configuration of Ko in view Yamato and Fripp such that, an uppermost point of the terminal member is flush with the uppermost point of the cover part. In doing so one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to improve space utilization of the battery and increase the energy density of the battery as taught by Wang’362 ([0021]).
Yamato discloses wherein an uppermost point (Fig. 2; uppermost point of 21) of a cover part (Fig. 2; 21) is below an uppermost point (Fig. 2; uppermost point of 22) among a flange part (Fig. 2; 13) and a curl part (Fig. 2; 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified Ko in view of Yamato, Fripp and Wang’362 by making the uppermost part of the cover part lower than the uppermost point among the flange and curl parts as taught by Yamato, in order to improve the airtightness and the impact resistance of the sealing part of the battery as taught by Yamato ([0013]).
The examiner notes that in doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would naturally arrive at wherein an uppermost point among the flange part and the curl part is located above an uppermost point of the terminal member because the terminal of Ko in view of Yamato, Fripp and Wang’362 is flush with the cover part, which is lower than the uppermost point among the flange and curl parts.
Claim(s) 2, 6, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 20210399373 A1, previously cited) in view of Yamato (US-20210265689-A1, cited in IDS filed 07/02/2025), Fripp (US-20070003831-A1) and Wang (CN-109346775-A, machine translation used for rejection below, previously cited).
Regarding claim 2, Ko discloses a button-type secondary battery (Fig. 1; element 100) comprising:
an electrode assembly (Fig. 2; element 1000) including a first electrode tab (Fig. 2; element 140) and a second electrode tab (Fig. 2; element 150);
a lower can (Fig. 2; element 200) provided including an accommodation part (Fig. 2; 200), in which the electrode assembly (100) is accommodated and to which the first electrode tab (140) is connected, and
an upper cap (Fig. 2; element 300) including a cover part (Fig. 2; 300) installed on the accommodation part (200) covering (Fig. 2) the accommodation part (200) and
a terminal member (Fig. 2; element 400) coupled to the upper cap (300) and connected to the second electrode tab (150); and
an insulating member (Fig. 2; element 500) configured to insulate ([0059]) the terminal member (400) and the upper cap (300) from each other and seal a gap (Fig. 2; space between 400 and 300) between the terminal member (400) and the upper cap (300).
Ko fails to disclose a curl part on an outer circumferential surface of the accommodation part; a flange part on an outer circumferential surface of the cover part; wherein the flange part and the curl part are coupled to each other in a seaming manner to seal a gap between the lower can and the upper cap, a sealing member for increasing sealing force is provided at a coupling portion between the flange part and the curl part; and the sealing member comprises an electrically conductive material configured to permit current to flow from the lower can to the upper cap.
Yamato discloses a flange part (Fig. 2; 13) on an outer circumferential surface (annotated Fig. 2; OCS1) of an accommodation part (Fig. 2; 10);
a curl part (Fig. 2; 22) provided on an outer circumferential surface (annotated Fig. 2; OCS2) of a cover part (Fig. 2; 21);
wherein the flange part (13) and the curl part (22) are coupled to each other (Fig. 2) in a seaming manner (Fig. 2) to seal a gap (Fig. 2; interface between 13 and 22) between a lower can (Fig. 2; 10) and an upper cap (Fig. 2; 21),
a sealing member (“sealing agent”; [0038]) for increasing sealing force ([0038]) is provided at a coupling portion (annotated Fig. 2; CP) between the flange part (13) and the curl part (22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Ko by substituting the sealing portion design of Ko’s upper and lower cans for the sealing portion design of Yamato’s upper and lower cans, such that Ko’s battery comprised a flange part on an outer circumferential surface of the accommodation part; a curl part provided on an outer circumferential surface of the cover part; wherein the flange part and the curl part are coupled to each other in a seaming manner to seal a gap between the lower can and the upper cap, a sealing member for increasing sealing force is provided at a coupling portion between the flange part and the curl part, as taught by Yamato. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to achieve a sealing part with improved airtightness ([0013]) and high impact resistance ([0085]) as taught by Yamato.
Ko in view of Yamato fails to disclose the curl part on the outer circumferential surface of the accommodation part; the flange part on the outer circumferential surface of the cover part; and the sealing member comprises an electrically conductive material configured to permit current to flow from the lower can to the upper cap.
Fripp teaches a sealing member (“electrically conductive adhesive”; [0051]) that comprises an electrically conductive material ([0051]) configured to permit current (“electrically conductive”; [0051]) to flow from a lower can (Fig. 2; 30; “outer case”; [0051]) to an upper cap (Fig. 2; 54; “cap”; [0051])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Ko in view of Yamato by substituting the sealing member of Ko in view of Yamato for the sealing member of Fripp such that the sealing member comprises an electrically conductive material configured to permit current to flow from the lower can to the upper cap. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to predictably secure the upper can to the lower as taught by Fripp ([0051]).
Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp still fails to disclose the curl part on the outer circumferential surface of the accommodation part; the flange part on the outer circumferential surface of the cover part.
Wang discloses a battery (Fig. 1) with
a lower can (Fig. 1; element 1) including an accommodation part (Fig. 1; space inside element 1),
a flange part (Fig. 2; portion of 1 contacting 2 and 3; “FP”) on an outer circumferential surface (annotated Fig. 2; OCS1) of the accommodation part (1);
an upper cap (Fig. 1; element 2) on the accommodation part (1) covering the accommodation part (Fig. 2) and a curl part (annotated Fig. 2; portion of 2 contacting 1 and 3, CPP) provided on an outer circumferential surface (annotated Fig. 2; OCS2) of the cover part (annotated Fig. 2; element CP);
wherein the flange part (FP) and the curl part (CPP) are coupled to each other in a seaming manner (Fig. 2) to seal a gap (Fig. 2; gap between 1 and 2) between the lower can (1) and the upper cap (2).
Wang further discloses another embodiment described as “substantially the same” ([0042]) as that above. In this second embodiment, Wang discloses the accommodation part (Fig. 4; element 1) including a curl part (Fig. 4; portion of 1 contacting 2 and 3, CPP) on an outer circumferential surface (annotated Fig. 4; OCS2) of the accommodation part (1), the upper cap (Fig. 4; element 2) including a flange part (annotated Fig. 4; portion of 2 contacting 1 and 3, FP) on an outer circumferential surface (annotated Fig. 4; OCS2) of the cover part (Fig. 4; element 2) and wherein the flange part (FP) and the curl part (CPP) are coupled to each other in a seaming manner (Fig. 4) to seal a gap (Fig. 4) between the lower can (1) and the upper cap (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp by rearranging the positions of the curl part and the flange part such that the battery comprised the curl part on the outer circumferential surface of the accommodation part; and the flange part on the outer circumferential surface of the cover part as taught by Wang. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to strengthen the sealing, improve the quality of the battery and ensure safety of use of the battery as taught by Wang ([0046]). The examiner notes that this rearrangement of parts would have been an obvious modification because Wang teaches that the first embodiment of Wang, which teaches the same configuration of the curl and flange parts as Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp, and the second embodiment of Wang achieve the same advantages ([0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Ko in view of Yamato, Fripp and Wang discloses wherein the flange part (Wang annotated Fig. 4; element 1F and 2F; “FP”) includes a first flange (Wang annotated Fig. 4; element 1F) on the outer circumferential surface (Ko Fig. 2; outer circumferential surface of 300) of the cover part (Ko 300) and a second flange (Wang annotated Fig. 4; element 2F) bent from an end (Wang annotated Fig. 4; end of 1F) of the first flange (1F) toward a bottom surface (Ko Fig. 2; bottom surface of 200) of the accommodation part (AP), and
wherein the curl part (Wang annotated Fig. 4; element 1CS, 2CS, and 3CS; “CuP”) includes a first curl surface (Wang annotated Fig. 4; element 1CS) on the outer circumferential surface (Ko; Fig. 2; outer circumferential surface of 200; see Wang Fig. 4; outer circumferential surface of 20 for modification) of the accommodation part (Ko 200) and supported on the first flange part (Wang 1F), a second curl surface (Wang annotated Fig. 4; element 2CS) on an end (Wang annotated Fig. 4; end of 1CS) of the first curl surface (1CS) and supported on an outer circumferential surface (Wang annotated Fig. 4; outer circumferential surface of 2F) of the second flange (Wang 2F), and a third curl surface (Wang annotated Fig. 4; element 3CS) on an end (Wang annotated Fig. 4; end of 2CS) of the second curl surface (Wang 2CS) and inserted between the cover part (Ko 300; see Wang CP for modification) and the second flange (Wang 2F).
Regarding claim 18, Ko in view of Yamato, Fripp and Wang discloses wherein the terminal member (Ko 400) comprises a terminal part (Ko Fig. 2; element 420) to which the second electrode tab (Ko 150) of the electrode assembly (Ko 100) is coupled while being inserted into a through-hole (Ko Fig. 2; through hole of 300) of the upper cap (Ko 300) and a support part (Ko Fig. 2; element 410) having a diameter (Ko Fig. 2; diameter of 410) greater than that of the through-hole (Ko Fig. 2) of the upper cap (Ko Fig. 2; element 300) and supported on a top surface (Ko Fig. 2; topmost surface of 300) of the upper cap (Fig. 2; element 300).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 20210399373 A1, previously cited) in view of Yamato (US-20210265689-A1, cited in IDS filed 07/02/2025), Fripp (US-20070003831-A1) and Wang (CN-109346775-A, machine translation used for rejection below, previously cited) as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Yamato’50 (JP 2020123450 A, previously cited, machine translation used for rejection below).
Regarding claim 4, Ko in view of Yamato, Fripp and Wang discloses wherein the flange part (1F, 2F) has a thickness (Wang annotated Fig. 4; thickness of 1F and 2F), wherein the curl part (CPP) has a thickness (Wang annotated Fig. 4; thickness of CPP), wherein the accommodation part (200) has a thickness (annotated Fig. 2; T3) and the cover part (300) has a thickness (annotated Fig. 2; T4).
Ko in view of Yamato, Fripp and Wang fails to disclose less than that of the accommodation part, and less than that of the cover part.
Yamato’50 discloses a battery ([0001]), including an upper can (Fig. 3; element 21) comprising a cover part (Fig. 3; element 21) and a curl part (Fig. 3; element 22), a lower can (Fig. 3; element 11A) including an accommodation part (Fig. 3; element 11A) and a flange part (Fig. 3; element 13), wherein the flange part (13) has a thickness (Fig. 3; element T1) less than that (Fig. 3; element T5) of the accommodation part (11A), and wherein the curl part (22) has a thickness (Fig. 3; element T2) less than that (Fig. 3; element T3) of the cover part (21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Ko in view of Yamato, Fripp and Wang by substituting the relative thicknesses of the flange, curl, cover and accommodation parts of Yamato’50 for that of Ko in view of Yamato, Fripp and Wang such that the flange part has a thickness less than that of the accommodation part, and the curl part has a thickness less than that of the cover part. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to improve the airtightness ([0008]), impact resistance and the strength ([0041]) of the battery as taught by Yamato’50.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 20210399373 A1, previously cited) in view of Yamato (US-20210265689-A1, cited in IDS filed 07/02/2025), Fripp (US-20070003831-A1) and Wang (CN-109346775-A, machine translation used for rejection below, previously cited) as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of Zou (CN-207368144-U, machine translation used for rejection below).
Regarding claim 14, Ko in view of Yamato, Fripp and Wang discloses wherein the second flange (2F) has a thickness (Wang annotated Fig. 4; thickness of 2F) and an end (Wang annotated Fig. 4; E2F) and the third curl surface (3CS) has a thickness (Wang annotated Fig. 4; thickness of 3CS) and an end (Wang annotated Fig. 4; E3CS) but fails to disclose that gradually increases toward an end thereof.
Zou discloses a first flange (annotated Fig. 1; element 1F), and a second flange (annotated Fig. 1; element 2F), wherein the second flange (2F) has a thickness (annotated Fig. 1; thickness of 2F) that gradually increases (Fig. 1) toward an end (annotated Fig. 1; bottom end of 2F) thereof, a curl part (annotated Fig. 1; element 1CS, 2CS, and 3CS) including a first curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 1CS), a second curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 2CS) and a third curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 3CS), wherein the third curl surface (3CS) has a thickness (annotated Fig. 1; thickness of 3CS) that gradually increases (Fig. 1) toward an end (annotated Fig. 1; top end of 3CS) thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ko in view of Yamato, Fripp and Wang by substituting the gradual increases of thickness of the second flange and third curl surface taught by Zou for the thicknesses of Ko in view of Yamato, Fripp and Wang, such that the second flange has a thickness that gradually increases toward an end thereof and the third curl surface has a thickness that gradually increases toward an end thereof, as taught by Zou. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would predictably expect to achieve a cooperation between the upper can and bottom can as taught by Zou ([0031]).
Regarding claim 15, Ko in view of Yamato, Fripp and Wang discloses wherein the third curl surface (3CS) has a thickness (Wang annotated Fig. 4; thickness of 3CS) and an end (Wang annotated Fig. 4; E3CS) and the second flange (2F) has a thickness (Wang annotated Fig. 4; thickness of 2F) and an end (Wang annotated Fig. 4; E2F) but fails to disclose that gradually increases toward an end thereof.
Zou discloses a first flange (annotated Fig. 1; element 1F), and a second flange (annotated Fig. 1; element 2F), wherein the second flange (2F) has a thickness that gradually increases (Fig. 1) toward an end (annotated Fig. 1; bottom end of 2F) thereof, a curl part (annotated Fig. 1; element 1CS, 2CS, and 3CS) including a first curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 1CS), a second curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 2CS) and a third curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 3CS), wherein the third curl surface (3CS) has a thickness (Fig. 1) that gradually increases (Fig. 1) toward an end thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp by substituting the gradual increases of thickness of the second flange and third curl surface taught by Zou for the thicknesses of Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp, such that the second flange has a thickness that gradually increases toward an end thereof and the third curl surface has a thickness that gradually increases toward an end thereof, as taught by Zou. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would predictably expect to achieve a cooperation between the upper can and bottom can as taught by Zou ([0031]).
Regarding claim 16, Ko in view of Yamato, Fripp and Wang discloses an inner surface (Wang annotated Fig. 4; IS2F) of the second flange (2F) facing the third curl surface (3CS) and an outer surface (Wang annotated Fig.4; OS3CS) of the third curl surface (3CS) facing the second flange (2F) that is in close contact (Wang Fig. 4) with the inner surface (IS2F) of the second flange (2F) but fails to disclose “includes a first inclined surface that gradually increases in thickness toward an end thereof”, and
“includes a second inclined surface that is in close contact with the first inclined surface”.
Zou discloses a button battery ([0012]) with a flange part (annotated Fig. 1; element 1F and 2F) comprising a first flange (annotated Fig. 1; element 1F) and a second flange (annotated Fig. 1; element 2F),
a curl part (annotated Fig. 1; element 1CS, 2CS, and 3CS) with a first curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 1CS), a second curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 2CS) and a third curl surface (annotated Fig. 1; element 3CS),
wherein an inner surface (annotated Fig. 1; inner surface of 2F) of the second flange (2F) facing the third curl surface (3CS) includes a first inclined surface (annotated Fig. 1; inclined surface of 2F) that gradually increases in thickness (Fig. 1) toward an end (Fig. 1; end of 2F) thereof and
wherein an outer surface (annotated Fig. 1; outer surface of 3F) of the third curl surface (3CS) facing the second flange (2F) includes a second inclined surface (annotated Fig. 1; inclined surface of 3CS) that is in close contact (Fig. 1) with the first inclined surface (inclined surface of 2F).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp by substituting the first and second inclined surfaces of Zou for the respective non-inclined surfaces found in Ko in view of Yamato and Fripp, such that the inner surface of the second flange facing the third curl surface includes a first inclined surface that gradually increases in thickness toward an end thereof, and an outer surface of the curl surface facing the second flange includes a second inclined surface that is in close contact with the first inclined surface, as taught by Zou. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would predictably expect to achieve a cooperation between the upper can and bottom can as taught by Zou ([0031]).
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US 20210399373 A1, previously cited) in view of Yamato (US-20210265689-A1, cited in IDS filed 07/02/2025), Fripp (US-20070003831-A1) and Wang (CN-109346775-A, machine translation used for rejection below, previously cited) as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Yamamoto (JP-2014175323-A, machine translation used for rejection below).
Regarding claim 19, Ko in view of Yamato, Fripp and Wang discloses a part (adhesive surface of Fripps’ adhesive) for increasing coupling force (Yamato [0038]; Fripp [0051]) between the accommodation part (200) and the cover part (300), wherein the part (surface of Fripps’ adhesive) is on the outer circumferential surface (OCS2; Yamato “the peripheral edge portion of the sealing plate”; [0038]) of the cover part (300) facing the accommodation part (200; Yamato “opening edge of the battery can”; [0038]). Ko in view of Yamato, Fripp and Wang fails to disclose uneven.
Yamamoto discloses an uneven part (“adhesive layer” with “bump made of conductive paste” per [0008] (example shown as 2 in Fig. 2), where “the average height h of the bumps 3 may be larger than the average thickness of the conductive adhesive layer 2”; [0040]) for increasing coupling force (“mechanical adhesive strength”; [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Ko in view of Yamato, Fripp and Wang by substituting the uneven part taught by Yamamoto for the part of Ko in view of Yamato, Fripp and Wang such that the part is an uneven part. In doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to achieve both the improvement of mechanical adhesive strength and the improvement of electrical connectivity in the adhesion of adherend members disposed facing each other as taught by Yamamoto ([0007]).
Conclusion
/G.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723