Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 13 – 14 pertaining to “First, Frackelton describes a UI display 110 and a memory 106 as a part of the DAQ system 100, such that the memory 106 is not located at the UI display 110. As such, DAQ system 100 and the UI display 110 of Frackelton are not separate devices but rather a part of a same device, and as such, Frackelton does not teach or suggest "a memory at the display device" or "receiving, at a display device separate from an electrical device " as recited in amended independent claim 1.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned in this Office Action (OA), the Examiner does not rely on Frackelton to teach "receiving, at a display device separate from an electrical device,". The Examiner relies on Hurst. Hurst teaches, “receiving, at a display (Fig. 1, computer 145) (Fig. 1, Equipment Under Test (EUT) 180) device separate from an electrical device (Fig. 1, Equipment Under Test (EUT) 180),”.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 14 pertaining to “Moreover, Frackelton describes the DAQ system compiling and storing measurement data for later analysis, however, fails to describe "in response to receiving the input signal indicating to display one or more measurement parameters of an electrical device, reading, from a memory at the display device, a previously stored first data associated with the one or more measurement parameters for display," as recited in amended independent claim 1.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Apparatuses for displaying measurement parameters and have memory inherently store the measured data in the memory. To display the data, it has to be read from memory. Displaying data written in memory is expected and well known in the art. Frackelton teaches “in response to receiving the input signal (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 67 interacting with the display 110 through signals input and output between the DAQ) indicating to display one or more measurement parameters of an electrical device, reading, from a memory at the display device, a previously stored first data (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 53-57 measurement data collected for later analysis, stored data in the memory 106) associated with the one or more measurement parameters for display,”. Since Frackelton has a display and memory. The data in the memory is displayed as configured by a user. All displays receive signals to display data sent to them.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 14 pertaining to “In addition, Frackelton fails to teach or suggest, "in response to receiving the input signal, reading, from a memory at the display device, a previously-stored first data associated with the one or more measurement parameters for display, and simultaneously generating an update request for the first data to obtain updated data associated with the one or more measurement parameters," as recited in amended independent claim 1 (emphasis added).”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Frackelton teaches, displaying previously-stored first data (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 67 interacting with the display 110 through signals input and output between the DAQ), and simultaneously generating an update request (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 44-45 data related to channel settings and/or scan configuration; Col. 16. Ln. 15-18 The buffer may transfer data automatically as new data is acquired according to predetermined event triggers) for the first data to obtain updated data. The channel settings and/or scan configurations are performed when the predetermined even triggers occur for updated measurements to be acquired. While the data stored in memory is being displayed, updated data is simultaneously being acquired. Nothing prevents Frackelton from simultaneously displaying previous data while acquiring updated data. Furthermore, displaying previous data stored in memory while simultaneously acquiring new data to be stored is not an inventive concept. A computer device with memory reads and simultaneously acquired new data as known.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 15 pertaining to “That is, the routine collection and storage of measurement data, as described in Frackelton, is different from "in response to receiving the input signal, reading, from a memory at the display device, a previously-stored first data associated with the one or more measurement parameters for display, and simultaneously generating an update request for the first data to obtain updated data associated with the one or more measurement parameters," as recited in amended independent claim I ( emphasis added).”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Frackelton teaches that as the previous data stored in memory is displayed (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 67 interacting with the display 110 through signals input and output between the DAQ), updated data is simultaneously being read into memory (Fig. 1. Col. 16. Ln. 15-18 The buffer may transfer data automatically as new data is acquired according to predetermined event triggers). The user configures this simultaneous action using the event triggers.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 16 pertaining to “Specifically, the storing module of Raghavan stores both current and updated data (i.e., the generated automation steps, the test data for the generated automation steps, the updated test data and the updated automation steps), which is functionally different from "writing the second data to the memory as the updated data to replace the first data," as recited in amended independent claim 1.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned in this OA, Raghavan teaches, "writing the second data (Fig. 2, ¶ 51 the test data) to the memory as the updated data (Fig. 2, ¶ 51 updated test data) to replace the first data". It would obvious for one skilled in the art to combine Frackelton and Raghavan to teach “reading, from a memory a previously-stored first data associated with the one or more measurement parameters for display, and simultaneously generating an update request for the first data” “writing the second data to the memory as the updated data to replace the first data”, for the benefit of acquiring a measurement form a device while saving time and cost by making the measurement more efficient.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 16 pertaining to “In addition, independent claim 17 is amended m accordance with the interview and recite subject matter that is substantially similar to the subject matter of independent claim 1.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Similar response to the arguments of claim 17 as the response to the arguments of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 10, 13 – 17, 25, 26, 29 – 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frackelton et al (US 10,462,541 B2) in view of HURST (US 2014/0359360 A1) (herein after Hurst), and further in view of RAGHAVAN et al (US 2020/0104247 A1) (herein after Raghavan).
Regarding Claim 1, Frackelton teaches, 1. (Currently Amended) A method for displaying measurement parameters (Fig. 1. Claim 1 a method for configuring a scan for a test and measurement device), the method comprising: — a previously-stored first data (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 53-57 measurement data collected for later analysis, stored data in the memory 106) associated with the one or more measurement parameters for display, and simultaneously generating an update request (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 44-45 data related to channel settings and/or scan configuration; Col. 16. Ln. 15-18 The buffer may transfer data automatically as new data is acquired according to predetermined event triggers) for the first data to obtain updated data (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 35 acquire the measurement data from the transducers) associated with the one or more measurement parameters; sending the update request (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 48-49 the DAQ system 100 programmatically cycles through specified channels) to the electrical device; —.
Frackelton fails to teach, — the method comprising: receiving, at a display device separate from an electrical device, an input signal indicating to display one or more measurement parameters of the electrical device; in response to receiving the input signal, reading, from a memory at the display device, — receiving, from the electrical device, a second data associated with the one or more measurement parameters; in response to receiving the second data, writing the second data to the memory as the updated data to replace the first data; and displaying the second data in response to receiving a subsequent input signal indicating to display the one or more measurement parameters.
In analogous art, Hurst teaches, — the method comprising: receiving, at a display device (Fig. 1, computer 145) separate from (Fig. 1, ¶ 19 remote modular test system) an electrical device (Fig. 1, Equipment Under Test (EUT) 180), an input signal (Fig. 1, ¶ 20 read test strategy file (TS) 140 and to send a test command) indicating to display one or more measurement parameters of the electrical device (Fig. 1, ¶ 18 automatic generation of test reports graphical plots); in response to receiving the input signal, reading, from a memory at the display device (Fig. 1, ¶ 19 TS 140 may be configured as a module/file resident in the memory of computer 145), —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton by combining the method performed by the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton with a method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising: receiving, at a display device separate from an electrical device, an input signal indicating to display one or more measurement parameters of the electrical device; in response to receiving the input signal, reading, from a memory at the display device; taught by Hurst for the benefit of acquiring a measurement form a device with reduced test times and having greater control of test programs [Hurst: ¶ 36].
Frackelton in view of Hurst fail to teach, — receiving, from the electrical device, a second data associated with the one or more measurement parameters; in response to receiving the second data, writing the second data to the memory as the updated data to replace the first data; and displaying the second data in response to receiving a subsequent input signal indicating to display the one or more measurement parameters.
In analogous art, Raghavan teaches, — receiving, from the electrical device, a second data (Fig. 2, ¶ 51 the test data) associated with the one or more measurement parameters (Fig. 2, ¶ 51 automation steps); in response to receiving the second data, writing the second data to the memory as the updated data to replace the first data (Fig. 2, ¶ 51 updated test data); and displaying the second data in response to receiving a subsequent input signal indicating to display the one or more measurement parameters (Fig. 2, ¶ 51 screens in each of the test scenarios).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton in view of Hurst by combining the method performed by the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton in view of Hurst with a method performed by an apparatus and receiving, from the electrical device, a second data associated with the one or more measurement parameters; in response to receiving the second data, writing the second data to the memory as the updated data to replace the first data; and displaying the second data in response to receiving a subsequent input signal indicating to display the one or more measurement parameters; taught by Raghavan for the benefit of acquiring a measurement form a device while saving time and cost by making the measurement more efficient [Raghavan: ¶22].
Regarding Claim 9, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 9. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying the second data received from the electrical device as a control signal (Fig. 1. Col. 5. Ln. 21 UI buttons and/or other selectable icons); and in response to the identifying, performing a display-related operation or a communication-related operation based on the control signal (Fig. 1. Col. 5. Ln. 21 UI buttons and/or other selectable icons).
Regarding Claim 10, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 10. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 9, wherein the display-related operation comprises highlighting the display (Fig. 1. Col. 5. Ln. 21 UI buttons and/or other selectable icons), and the communication-related operation comprises cutting off a communication connection with the electrical device (Fig. 1. Col. 9. Ln. 3-4 switch the channel between an open and closed status; Col. 9. Ln. 9 channels in communication with the DAQ system 100; Examiner interpretation: when the switch is closed, the communication is cut).
Regarding Claim 13, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 13. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein the electrical device comprises a gateway (Fig. 1. multiplexer or multi-channel switch, card, or board 116) for establishing a communication channel.
Regarding Claim 14, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 14. (Currently Amended) The method of claim1, wherein the electrical device comprises at least one of an electrical load and a power distribution device (Fig. 1. Col. 15. Ln. 65 wattmeter; Examiner interpretation: watt-meters are used to measure electrical loads).
Regarding Claim 15, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 13, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 15. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 13, further comprising: receiving a character code (Fig. 1. Col. 14. Ln. 11 alphanumeric characters or other symbols) from the gateway to display the character code as it is, the character code indicating descriptive information associated with the electrical device (Fig. 1. Col. 14. Ln. 12-14 DAQ system 100 manages the definitions of identical and similar for use in determining the scan groups of channels).
Regarding Claim 16, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 16. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 15, wherein the character code is a Unicode encode (Fig. 1. Col. 14. Ln. 11 alphanumeric characters or other symbols).
Regarding Claim 17, Frackelton teaches, 17. (Currently Amended) An apparatus for displaying measurement parameters (Fig. 1, DAQ system 100; Col 4, Ln. 8-9 for collecting data from a system being tested or measured), comprising: a processor (Fig. 1, processor 108); and a memory (Fig. 1, memory 106) coupled to the processor, the memory having stored therein instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to perform actions comprising: — in response to receiving the input signal indicating to display one or more measurement parameters of an electrical device (Fig. 1. multiplexer or multi-channel switch, card, or board 116; Col. 4. Ln. 8-10 collecting data from a system being tested or measured, unit under test (UUT), or device under test (DUT) 118), reading, from the memory, a previously-stored first data (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 53-57 measurement data collected for later analysis, stored data in the memory 106) associated with the one or more measurement parameters for display, and simultaneously generating an update request (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 44-45 data related to channel settings and/or scan configuration; Col. 16. Ln. 15-18 The buffer may transfer data automatically as new data is acquired according to predetermined event triggers) for the first data to obtain updated data (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 35 acquire the measurement data from the transducers) associated with the one or more measurement parameters; sending the update (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 48-49 the DAQ system 100 programmatically cycles through specified channels) request to the electrical device; —.
Frackelton fails to teach, — cause the apparatus to perform actions comprising: receiving an input signal indicating to display one or more measurement parameters of an electrical device, wherein the apparatus for displaying the measurement parameters is separate from the electrical device; — receiving, from the electrical device, a second data associated with the one or more measurement parameters; in response to receiving, from the electrical device, a the second data associated with the one or more measurement parameters, writing the second data to the memory as the updated data to replace the first data; and displaying the second data in response to receiving a for use in subsequent input signal indicating to display the one or more measurement parameters.
In analogous art, Hurst teaches, — cause the apparatus to perform actions comprising: receiving an input signal indicating to display (Fig. 1, computer 145) one or more measurement parameters of an electrical device (Fig. 1, Equipment Under Test (EUT) 180), wherein the apparatus for displaying the measurement parameters is separate (Fig. 1, ¶ 19 remote modular test system) from the electrical device; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton by combining the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton with an apparatus for displaying measurement parameters, the apparatus to performing actions comprising: receiving an input signal indicating to display one or more measurement parameters of an electrical device, wherein the apparatus for displaying the measurement parameters is separate from the electrical device; taught by Hurst for the benefit of acquiring a measurement form a device with reduced test times and having greater control of test programs [Hurst: ¶ 36].
Frackelton in view of Hurst fail to teach, — receiving, from the electrical device, a second data associated with the one or more measurement parameters; in response to receiving, from the electrical device, a the second data associated with the one or more measurement parameters, writing the second data to the memory as the updated data to replace the first data; and displaying the second data in response to receiving a for use in subsequent input signal indicating to display the one or more measurement parameters. —
In analogous art, Raghavan teaches, — receiving, from the electrical device, a second data (Fig. 2, ¶ 51 the test data) associated with the one or more measurement parameters (Fig. 2, ¶ 51 automation steps); in response to receiving, from the electrical device, a the second data associated with the one or more measurement parameters, writing the second data to the memory as the updated data to replace the first data (Fig. 2, ¶ 51 updated test data); and displaying the second data in response to receiving a for use in subsequent input signal indicating to display the one or more measurement parameters (Fig. 2, ¶ 51 screens in each of the test scenarios).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton in view of Hurst by combining the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton in view of Hurst with an apparatus for displaying measurement parameters and receiving, from the electrical device, a second data associated with the one or more measurement parameters; in response to receiving, from the electrical device, a the second data associated with the one or more measurement parameters, writing the second data to the memory as the updated data to replace the first data; and displaying the second data in response to receiving a for use in subsequent input signal indicating to display the one or more measurement parameters; taught by Raghavan for the benefit of acquiring a measurement form a device while saving time and cost by making the measurement more efficient [Raghavan: ¶22].
Regarding Claim 25, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 17, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 25. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions further comprising: identifying the second data received from the electrical device as a control signal (Fig. 1. Col. 5. Ln. 22-23 control signals and/or control over the DAQ system 100); and in response to the identifying, performing a display-related operation or a communication-related operation based on the control signal (Fig. 1. Col. 5. Ln. 21 UI buttons and/or other selectable icons).
Regarding Claim 26, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 25, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 26. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the display-related operation comprises highlighting the display (Fig. 1. Col. 5. Ln. 21 UI buttons and/or other selectable icons), and the communication-related operation comprises cutting off a communication connection with the electrical device (Fig. 1. Col. 9. Ln. 3-4 switch the channel between an open and closed status; Col. 9. Ln. 9 channels in communication with the DAQ system 100; Examiner interpretation: when the switch is closed, the communication is cut).
Regarding Claim 29, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 17, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 29. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the electrical device comprises a gateway (Fig. 1. multiplexer or multi-channel switch, card, or board 116) for establishing a communication channel.
Regarding Claim 30, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 17, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 30. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the electrical device comprises at least one of an electrical load and a power distribution device (Fig. 1. Col. 15. Ln. 65 wattmeter; Examiner interpretation: watt-meters are used to measure electrical loads).
Regarding Claim 31, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 29, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 31. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 29, wherein the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions further comprising: receiving a character code (Fig. 1. Col. 14. Ln. 11 alphanumeric characters or other symbols) from the gateway to display the character code as it is, the character code indicating descriptive information associated with the electrical device (Fig. 1. Col. 14. Ln. 12-14 DAQ system 100 manages the definitions of identical and similar for use in determining the scan groups of channels).
Regarding Claim 32, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 31, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 32. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of to claim 31, wherein the character code is a Unicode encode (Fig. 1. Col. 14. Ln. 11 alphanumeric characters or other symbols).
Regarding Claim 33, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 17, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 33. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 17, further comprising: a display unit (Fig. 1. display 110) configured to display the measurement parameters.
Claim(s) 2 – 8, 11, 12, 18 – 24, 27, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frackelton et al (US 10,462,541 B2) in view of HURST (US 2014/0359360 A1) (herein after Hurst) in view of RAGHAVAN et al (US 2020/0104247 A1) (herein after Raghavan), and further in view of Rivera Trevino et al (US 2011/0099424 A1) (herein after Rivera).
Regarding Claim 2, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 2. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein sending the update request to the electrical device comprises: determining a device group to which the electrical device belongs (Fig. 1. Col. 10. Ln. 37 group assignment) based on the electrical device whose one or more measurement parameters are involved in the update request (Fig. 1. Col. 10. Ln. 37-38 different group assignment for each measurement type and transducer type); —.
Frackelton, Hurst, and Raghavan fail to teach, — pushing the update request into a request queue corresponding to the device group; and sending the update request to the electrical device according to the request queue.
In analogous art, Rivera teaches, pushing the update request into a request queue corresponding to the device group (Fig. 2, ¶ 77 test objects 226 may be added to a queue object 224); and sending the update request to the electrical device according to the request queue (Fig. 2, ¶ 77 send one or more test message(s) 228).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan by combining the method performed by the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan with a method performed by an apparatus for displaying measurement parameters by, pushing the update request into a request queue corresponding to the device group; and sending the update request to the electrical device according to the request queue; taught by Rivera for the benefit of concurrently testing more than one device in order to reduce test-time and final product cost [Rivera: ¶ 24].
Regarding Claim 3, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera teaches the limitations of claim 2, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 3. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 2, wherein sending the update request to the electrical device according to the request queue comprises: determining whether a value of a timer corresponding to the request queue is equal to zero (Fig. 1. Col. 6. Ln. 15-16 cycles through specific channels at preset time intervals), wherein the value equal to zero indicates that a data transceiver for sending the update request is in an idle state (Fig. 1. Col. 17. Ln. 33 wait to take the measurement); and in response to the value of the timer being equal to zero, sending the update request to the electrical device via the data transceiver (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 48-49 the DAQ system 100 programmatically cycles through specified channels).
Regarding Claim 4, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera teaches the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 4. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 3, further comprising starting the timer in response to sending the update request being sent, the timer starts to keep time (Fig. 1. Col. 16. Ln. 20-21 clock or timer for, tracking time).
Regarding Claim 5, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera teaches the limitations of claim 4, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton, Hurst, and Raghavan fail to teach, 5. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 4, further comprising, in response to the value of the timer exceeding a threshold, removing a corresponding update request from the request queue, and resetting the value of the timer to zero to send next update request, wherein the value exceeding the threshold indicates that the data transceiver has not received the second data as the updated data from the electrical device.
Rivera further teaches, 5. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 4, further comprising, in response to the value of the timer exceeding a threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 120 request status updates from the ATE 106 and/or wait to receive a message from the ATE 106; Examiner interpretation: the wait time is the threshold), removing a corresponding update request from the request queue (Fig. 1, ¶ 120 determine that the current tests are complete before proceeding), and resetting the value of the timer to zero to send next update request (Fig. 1, ¶ 121 and/or restore the original state of the ATE 106), wherein the value exceeding the threshold indicates that the data transceiver has not received from the electrical device the second data as the updated data from the electrical device (Fig. 8, ¶ 169 this bin is a "tag" that may be associated to the DUT 108 if it fails; Note: Fig 8 is process executed by DUT 108 of Fig 1, see ¶ 145).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera by combining the method performed by the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera with a method performed by an apparatus for displaying measurement parameters such that: in response to the value of the timer exceeding a threshold, removing a corresponding update request from the request queue, and resetting the value of the timer to zero to send next update request, wherein the value exceeding the threshold indicates that the data transceiver has not received the second data as the updated data from the electrical device; taught by Rivera for the benefit of concurrently testing more than one device in order to reduce test-time and final product cost [Rivera: ¶ 24].
Regarding Claim 6, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera teaches the limitations of claim 4, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton, Hurst, and Raghavan fail to teach, 6. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 4, further comprising, in response to receiving the second data associated with the one or more measurement parameters from the electrical device, removing a corresponding update request from the request queue, and resetting the value of the timer to zero to send next update request.
Rivera further teaches, 6. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 4, further comprising, in response to receiving the second data associated with the one or more measurement parameters from the electrical device (Fig. 1, ¶ 120 receive a message from the ATE 106 to determine that the current tests are complete), removing a corresponding update request from the request queue (Fig. 1, ¶ 120 determine that the current tests are complete before proceeding), and resetting the value of the timer to zero to send next update request (Fig. 1, ¶ 121 and/or restore the original state of the ATE 106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera by combining the method performed by the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera with a method performed by an apparatus for displaying measurement parameters such that: in response to receiving the second data associated with the one or more measurement parameters from the electrical device, removing a corresponding update request from the request queue, and resetting the value of the timer to zero to send next update request; taught by Rivera for the benefit of concurrently testing more than one device in order to reduce test-time and final product cost [Rivera: ¶ 24].
Regarding Claim 7, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan fail to teach, 7. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying the second data received from the electrical device as a notification signal indicative of a fault; and in response to the identifying, displaying information associated with the fault indicated by the notification signal.
In analogous art, Rivera teaches, 7. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying the second data received from the electrical device as a notification signal indicative of a fault (Fig. 1, ¶ 111 result may come in a binary form (e.g., pass or fail)); and in response to the identifying, displaying information associated with the fault indicated by the notification signal (Fig. 11, Display devices 1147; Examiner interpretation: Fig 11 is a physical embodiment of Fig 1, see ¶ 214).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan by combining the method performed by the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan with a method performed by an apparatus for displaying measurement parameters further comprising: identifying the second data received from the electrical device as a notification signal indicative of a fault; and in response to the identifying, displaying information associated with the fault indicated by the notification signal; taught by Rivera for the benefit of concurrently testing more than one device in order to reduce test-time and final product cost [Rivera: ¶ 24].
Regarding Claim 8, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera teaches the limitations of claim 7, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton, Hurst, and Raghavan fail to teach, 8. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 7, wherein displaying the information associated with the fault indicated by the notification signal comprises: obtaining corresponding fault information through a look-up table based on the notification signal; and displaying the obtained corresponding fault information.
Rivera further teaches, 8. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 7, wherein displaying the information associated with the fault indicated by the notification signal comprises: obtaining corresponding fault information through a look-up table (Fig. 1, ¶ 221 looking up (e.g., looking up in a table)) based on the notification signal; and displaying the obtained corresponding fault information (Fig. 1, ¶ 111 result may come in a binary form (e.g., pass or fail)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera by combining the method performed by the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera with a method performed by an apparatus for displaying measurement parameters wherein; displaying the information associated with the fault indicated by the notification signal comprises: obtaining corresponding fault information through a look-up table based on the notification signal; and displaying the obtained corresponding fault information.; taught by Rivera for the benefit of concurrently testing more than one device in order to reduce test-time and final product cost [Rivera: ¶ 24].
Regarding Claim 11, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan fail to teach, 11. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein sending the update request to the electrical device further comprises sending the update request to the electrical device via a wireless communication channel.
In analogous art, Rivera teaches, 11. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein sending the update request to the electrical device further comprises sending the update request to the electrical device via a wireless communication channel (Fig. 1, ¶ 91 wireless communication technologies, 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) technologies).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan by combining the method performed by the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan with a method performed by an apparatus for displaying measurement parameters wherein, sending the update request to the electrical device further comprises: sending the update request to the electrical device via a wireless communication channel; taught by Rivera for the benefit of concurrently testing more than one device in order to reduce test-time and final product cost [Rivera: ¶ 24].
Regarding Claim 12, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera teaches the limitations of claim 11, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan fail to teach, 12. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 11, wherein the wireless communication channel is a communication channel established using Zigbee technology.
Rivera further teaches, 12. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 11, wherein the wireless communication channel is a communication channel established using Zigbee technology. (Fig. 1, ¶ 91 wireless communication technologies, 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) technologies).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera by combining the method performed by the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera with a method performed by an apparatus for displaying measurement parameters wherein, the wireless communication channel is a communication channel established using Zigbee technology; taught by Rivera for the benefit of concurrently testing more than one device in order to reduce test-time and final product cost [Rivera: ¶ 24].
Regarding Claim 18, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 17, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 18. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 17, wherein, to send the update request to the electrical device, the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions comprising: determining a device group to which the electrical device belongs (Fig. 1. Col. 10. Ln. 37 group assignment) based on the electrical device whose one or more measurement parameters are involved in the update request (Fig. 1. Col. 10. Ln. 37-38 different group assignment for each measurement type and transducer type); —
Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan fail to teach, — pushing the update request into a request queue corresponding to the device group; and sending the update request to the electrical device according to the request queue.
Rivera teaches, — pushing the update request into a request queue corresponding to the device group (Fig. 2, ¶ 77 test objects 226 may be added to a queue object 224); and sending the update request to the electrical device according to the request queue (Fig. 2, ¶ 77 send one or more test message(s) 228).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan by combining the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan with an apparatus for displaying measurement parameters and, pushing the update request into a request queue corresponding to the device group; and sending the update request to the electrical device according to the request queue; taught by Rivera for the benefit of concurrently testing more than one device in order to reduce test-time and final product cost [Rivera: ¶ 24].
Regarding Claim 19, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera teaches the limitations of claim 18, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 19. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 18, wherein, to send the update request to the electrical device according to the request queue, the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions comprising: determining whether a value of a timer corresponding to the request queue is equal to zero (Fig. 1. Col. 6. Ln. 15-16 cycles through specific channels at preset time intervals), wherein the value equal to zero indicates that a data transceiver for sending the update request is in an idle state (Fig. 1. Col. 17. Ln. 33 wait to take the measurement); and in response to the value of the timer being equal to zero, sending the update request to the electrical device via the data transceiver (Fig. 1. Col. 4. Ln. 48-49 the DAQ system 100 programmatically cycles through specified channels).
Regarding Claim 20, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera teaches the limitations of claim 19, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton further teaches, 20. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 19, wherein the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions further comprising starting the timer (Fig. 1. Col. 16. Ln. 20-21 clock or timer for, tracking time) in response to sending the update request.
Regarding Claim 21, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera teaches the limitations of claim 20, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan fail to teach, 21. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 20, wherein the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions further comprising, in response to the value of the timer exceeding a threshold, removing a corresponding update request from the request queue, and resetting the value of the timer to zero to send next update request, wherein the value exceeding the threshold indicates that the data transceiver has not received the second data as the updated data from the electrical device.
Rivera further teaches, 21. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 20, wherein the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions further comprising, in response to the value of the timer exceeding a threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 120 request status updates from the ATE 106 and/or wait to receive a message from the ATE 106; Examiner interpretation: the wait time is the threshold), removing a corresponding update request from the request queue (Fig. 1, ¶ 120 determine that the current tests are complete before proceeding), and resetting the value of the timer to zero to send next update request (Fig. 1, ¶ 121 and/or restore the original state of the ATE 106), wherein the value exceeding the threshold indicates that the data transceiver has not received the second data as the updated data (Fig. 8, ¶ 169 this bin is a "tag" that may be associated to the DUT 108 if it fails; Note: Fig 8 is process executed by DUT 108 of Fig 1, see ¶ 145) from the electrical device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera by combining the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera with an apparatus for displaying measurement parameters, wherein the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions further comprising, in response to the value of the timer exceeding a threshold, removing a corresponding update request from the request queue, and resetting the value of the timer to zero to send next update request, wherein the value exceeding the threshold indicates that the data transceiver has not received the second data as the updated data from the electrical device; taught by Rivera for the benefit of concurrently testing more than one device in order to reduce test-time and final product cost [Rivera: ¶ 24].
Regarding Claim 22, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera teaches the limitations of claim 20, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan fail to teach, 22. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 20, wherein the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions further comprising, in response to receiving the second data associated with the one or more measurement parameters from the electrical device, removing a corresponding update request from the request queue, and resetting the timer to zero to send next update request.
Rivera further teaches, 22. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 20, wherein the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions further comprising, in response to receiving the second data associated with the one or more measurement parameters from the electrical device (Fig. 1, ¶ 120 receive a message from the ATE 106 to determine that the current tests are complete), removing a corresponding update request from the request queue (Fig. 1, ¶ 120 determine that the current tests are complete before proceeding), and resetting the timer to zero to send next update request (Fig. 1, ¶ 121 and/or restore the original state of the ATE 106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera by combining the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera with an apparatus for displaying measurement parameters comprising: in response to receiving the second data associated with the one or more measurement parameters from the electrical device, removing a corresponding update request from the request queue, and resetting the timer to zero to send next update request; taught by Rivera for the benefit of concurrently testing more than one device in order to reduce test-time and final product cost [Rivera: ¶ 24].
Regarding Claim 23, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 17, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan fail to teach, 23. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions further comprising: identifying the second data received from the electrical device as a notification signal indicative of a fault; and in response to the identifying, displaying information associated with the fault indicated by the notification signal.
In analogous art, Rivera teaches, 23. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions further comprising: identifying the second data received from the electrical device as a notification signal indicative of a fault (Fig. 1, ¶ 111 result may come in a binary form (e.g., pass or fail)); and in response to the identifying, displaying information associated with the fault indicated by the notification signal (Fig. 11, Display devices 1147; Examiner interpretation: Fig 11 is a physical embodiment of Fig 1, see ¶ 214).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan by combining the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan with an apparatus for displaying measurement parameters, wherein the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions further comprising: identifying the second data received from the electrical device as a notification signal indicative of a fault; and in response to the identifying, displaying information associated with the fault indicated by the notification signal; taught by Rivera for the benefit of concurrently testing more than one device in order to reduce test-time and final product cost [Rivera: ¶ 24].
Regarding Claim 24, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera teaches the limitations of claim 23, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan fail to teach, 24. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 23, wherein, to display the information associated with the fault indicated by the notification signal, the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions comprising: obtaining corresponding fault information through a look-up table based on the notification signal; and displaying the obtained corresponding fault information.
Rivera further teaches, 24. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 23, wherein, to display the information associated with the fault indicated by the notification signal, the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions comprising: obtaining corresponding fault information through a look-up table (Fig. 1, ¶ 221 looking up (e.g., looking up in a table)) based on the notification signal; and displaying the obtained corresponding fault information (Fig. 1, ¶ 111 result may come in a binary form (e.g., pass or fail)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera by combining the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera with an apparatus for displaying measurement parameters wherein, to display the information associated with the fault indicated by the notification signal, the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions comprising: obtaining corresponding fault information through a look-up table based on the notification signal; and displaying the obtained corresponding fault information; taught by Rivera for the benefit of concurrently testing more than one device in order to reduce test-time and final product cost [Rivera: ¶ 24].
Regarding Claim 27, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan teaches the limitations of claim 17, which this claim depends on.
Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan fail to teach, 27. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 17, wherein, to send the update request to the electrical device, the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions further comprising sending the update request to the electrical device via a wireless communication channel.
In analogous art, Rivera teaches, 27. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 17, wherein, to send the update request to the electrical device, the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions further comprising sending the update request to the electrical device via a wireless communication channel (Fig. 1, ¶ 91 wireless communication technologies, 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) technologies).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan by combining the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan with an apparatus for displaying measurement parameters wherein, to send the update request to the electrical device, the instructions cause the apparatus to perform the actions further comprising sending the update request to the electrical device via a wireless communication channel; taught by Rivera for the benefit of concurrently testing more than one device in order to reduce test-time and final product cost [Rivera: ¶ 24].
Regarding Claim 28, Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera teaches the limitations of claim 27, which this claim depends on.
Rivera further teaches, 28. (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 27, wherein the wireless communication channel is a communication channel established using Zigbee technology (Fig. 1, ¶ 91 wireless communication technologies, 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) technologies).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera by combining the apparatus for displaying measurement parameters taught by Frackelton in view of Hurst in view of Raghavan in view of Rivera with an apparatus for displaying measurement parameters wherein, the wireless communication channel is a communication channel established using Zigbee technology; taught by Rivera for the benefit of concurrently testing more than one device in order to reduce test-time and final product cost [Rivera: ¶ 24].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JOO et al. (US 2019/0378590 A1) teaches, an apparatus for displaying measurement parameters (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 system 10 includes an automated test equipment (ATE) 20).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858