DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 7/17/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 9-17 are withdrawn herein.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the reference strip as described in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner wishes to point out to applicant that claims 1-8 are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under such conditions. The material worked upon or the process of using the apparatus is viewed as recitation of intended use and is given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus (Please see MPEP 2112.01 I and 2114-2115 for further details).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Reference unit”
“Fixing unit”
Regarding “reference unit”: there is no single definition for this unit, however based on the disclosure the “reference unit” is seen as a shaping surface structure.
Regarding “fixing unit”: paragraphs 0127, 0130, and 0131 show the fixing unit as a holding structure, and more specifically a flat surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the annular strips" at the end of line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Nowhere previously was strip pluralized, therefore there is no antecedent basis for having more than one strip. Claim 4 is rejected due to its dependency. For examination purposes “the annular strips” will be treated as “the annular strip”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the innermost annular strip" at the start of line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Nowhere previously was strip pluralized, therefore one cannot describe a strip as the innermost, since this indicates a plurality of strips. For examination purposes claim 7 will be interpreted similarly to claim 6, where the innermost shape will be used as the stacking surface limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beshgetoor (US 2441747). Regarding claim 1:
Beshgetoor teaches winding a metal tape T around a core C (Figure 1) and then shaping the wound tape to create a Fresnel lens mold (Figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 2:
The core C is the claimed reference unit and is shaped as claimed.
Regarding claims 3 and 4:
The core C is round which matches the shape of the tape T when wound. As seen in Figure 1 the tape T is wound on the contour surface of core C. The core C becomes part of the mold, thus it has an optical structure.
Regarding claim 5:
The core C is circular.
A Fresnel lens mold, comprising a stacked strip, wherein the strip is bendable, and wherein an optical structure, which is complementary to a lens structure on a corresponding annular strip of a designed Fresnel lens, is provided at one edge of the strip
Regarding claim 8:
The mold of Beshgetoor would be made on a flat surface which matches the 112(f) interpretation of “fixing unit.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beshgetoor. Regarding claim 6:
Beshgetoor teachers a holder H for the tape T as seen in Figures 1-4, which matches the shape of the outermost layer of tape. The holder H is however not in the shape of a strip. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the holder in the needed shape, since the shape of a known structure is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the claimed shape is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV B).
Regarding claim 7:
Beshgetoor teachers a core C that the tape T is wound on (as previously discussed), which matches the shape of the innermost layer of tape. The core C is however not in the shape of a strip. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the holder in the needed shape, since the shape of a known structure is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the claimed shape is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
GB 485629 teaches a plurality of rings with a fixing unit to make a Fresnel lens mold
US 2404448 teaches a wound lens mold
US 3739455 teaches a plurality of mold components to make a Fresnel lens mold
JP S52128151 teaches stacking plates to make a Fresnel lens mold
JP H06234532 teaches a plurality of rings with a fixing unit to make a Fresnel lens mold
JP H08332638 teaches plurality of mold components to make a Fresnel lens mold
/TIMOTHY KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743