DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/18/2025.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that the chemical formula of Claim 7 is not interpreted as a traditional chemical formula in which the formula represents ratios of bonded chemical moieties to form a coherent chemical compound; instead, it is interpreted as a formula representative of the relative compositions of materials in the composite composition as oxide equivalents, i.e., the coefficients a, c, and e are representative of the molar ratio of each metal in the composition represented as oxide equivalents normalized to the molar amount of silica. This is a common convention in the art of inorganic materials. Accordingly, the coefficients a, c, and e have implied units of mols of metal per mol of silica.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai et al. (Synthesis of TMBQ using Cu(II)-substituted MCM-41 as the catalyst, Applied Catalysis A, 2001), hereinafter ‘Tsai’.
Regarding Claim 1, Tsai discloses a porous silica comprising:
a SiO4 skeleton (2.1.1. MCM-41: the synthesized material is MCM-41, a silicate framework comprising SiO4);
a metal X that is Mn or Cu (2.1.1. MCM-41: the MCM 41 is substituted with Cu);
a metal Y selected from the group consisting of Al and Zr (2.1.1. MCM-41: the MCM is substituted with Al);
wherein at least a first portion of the SiO4 skeleton is doped with the metal X incorporated in a position of a Si element of the SiO4 skeleton; and wherein at least a second portion of the SiO4 skeleton is doped with the metal Y incorporated in a position of a Si element of the SiO4 skeleton (2.1.1. MCM-41, 3.1. Catalyst characterization: the Cu and Al are substituted within the MCM-41 framework).
Regarding Claim 2, Tsai discloses a porous silica comprising:
a SiO4 skeleton (2.1.1. MCM-41: the synthesized material is MCM-41, a silicate framework comprising SiO4);
a metal X that is Mn or Cu (2.1.1. MCM-41: the MCM 41 is substituted with Cu);
a metal Y selected from the group consisting of Al and Zr (2.1.1. MCM-41: the MCM is substituted with Al);
wherein at least a first portion of the SiO4 skeleton is doped with the metal X incorporated in a position of a Si element of the SiO4 skeleton; and wherein at least a second portion of the SiO4 skeleton is doped with the metal Y incorporated in a position of a Si element of the SiO4 skeleton (2.1.1. MCM-41, 3.1. Catalyst characterization: the Cu and Al are substituted within the MCM-41 framework).
Further regarding Claim 2, with regard to the language of the preamble ‘…for use in a liquid deodorant agent…’, it is noted that this phrase is the intended use of the claimed composition. MPEP 2111.02(II) states that “…if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction”. Accordingly, ‘…for use in a liquid deodorant agent…’ is not a claim limitation (Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997)).
Regarding Claims 7 and 19, the composition of Tsai has a composition as claimed; particularly, the composition of Tsai is disclosed as SiO2:(0-0.05)Al2O3:(0-0.05)CuO (2.1.1. MCM-41). Here, ‘a’ as claimed is equal to 0-0.05, ‘c’ is equal to 0-0.05, and ‘e’ is equal to 0. These parameters satisfy the instant claims.
Regarding Claims 8 and 20, Tsai discloses a specific surface area of the porous silica is 500 m2/g or more (Table 2: all the produced substituted MCM samples have a specific surface area higher than 500 m2/g).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (Synthesis of TMBQ using Cu(II)-substituted MCM-41 as the catalyst, Applied Catalysis A, 2001), hereinafter ‘Tsai’.
Regarding Claims 6 and 18, it is noted that Tsai discloses the synthesis of substituted Cu and Al MCM-41 for use as a catalyst, noting particularly that the high surface area and highly ordered uniform mesopores make it a potential candidate for applications in catalytic conversions of bulky molecules encountered in the cracking of heavy crude oil or the manufacture of fine chemicals and pharmaceuticals (1. Introduction).
However, Tsai does not disclose the composition further comprises a metal Z as claimed.
Imyen discloses studies regarding the synthesis and characterization of Cu–Zn/Core–Shell Al-MCM-41 as a Catalyst for Reduction of NO (title). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized Tsai as analogous to Imyen, as both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, MCM-41-based catalysts comprising both aluminum and copper - a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, In re Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325, 72 USPQ2d at 1212.
Notably, Imyen discloses that the use of Zn as a promoter for Cu-containing catalysts is well known for many reactions, that is well-known that ZnO can improve the dispersion of copper, and that the interaction between Cu and Zn plays a critical role in the improvement of the catalytic activity of the catalyst, explaining that the introduction of Zn is helpful to create active sites at the Cu–Zn interface and stabilize the Cu(I) species by a strong interaction (1. Introduction).
In light of this, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to incorporate a third metal comprising Zn into the catalyst of Tsai. Imyen shows that Zn and Cu interact synergistically when integrated within the same catalytic article, improving the dispersion of copper and creating active sites at the Cu-Zn interface, thereby stabilizing the copper species.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/03/2025, are acknowledged.
With respect to arguments in regard to prior art rejections under section 102, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under section 102 in view of Tsai.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LOGAN LACLAIR
Examiner
Art Unit 1736
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736