DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9, 13 and 16–18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasseris et al., WO 2018/119032 A1 in view of Wang et al., US 2012/0160191 A1 in view of Matsuchima et al., US 2017/0350328 A1 and in further view of either Hirson et al., US 2015/0275705 A1 or Kelly et al., US 2020/0271046 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kasseris teaches a gasification system, which reads on the claimed “integrated system for producing power from solid fuels.” See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 4, l. 17–18.
The system comprises a gasifier 101 to form producer gas from biomass. See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 5, ll. 19–26, p. 12, ll. 1–11. The gasifier 101 reads on the “syngas generator to form producer gas from solid fuels.”
The system also comprises a clean-up engine 114 in communication with an outlet of the gasifier 101 to remove tar from the producer gas and created cleaned syngas. See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 12, l. 18–p. 13, l. 17. The clean-up engine 114 reads on the “cleanup engine.” The clean-up engine 114 is configured to be operated under fuel-rich conditions of air being mixed with fuel such that there is between 5 to 50% of the stoichiometric amount of air, which overlaps with an air-to-fuel ratio of 0.1 to 0.5. Id. at p. 12, ll. 11–21.
The system further comprises a power engine 116 in communication with an outlet of the clean-up engine 114 to generate power. See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 14, ll. 10–15. The power engine 116 reads on the “power producing engine.”
The system also comprises a source of air from air filter 103 to clean-up engine 114 to deliver air to the clean-up engine 114, which reads on the “oxidant source to deliver an oxidant, the oxidant selected from the group consisting of air and oxygen.” See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 12, ll. 2–21.
The clean-up engine 114 comprises an intake valve to introduce air into it. See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 12, ll. 23–26. The intake valve reads on the “cleanup air actuator in communication with the oxidant source and an inlet of the cleanup engine.”
The system also comprises a controller 107, which reads on the “controller.”. See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 7, ll. 15–20. The controller 107 is in communication with the intake valve that supplies filtered air to the clean-up engine 114. Id.
Kasseris differs from claim 1 because it is silent as to the system comprising a power engine fuel actuator disposed between the outlet of the clean-up engine 114 and the inlet of the power engine 116.
But the power engine 116 is an internal combustion engine that uses producer gas (generated by biomass gasifier 101) from the clean-up engine 114 as fuel. See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 14, ll. 10–15.
With this in mind, Wang teaches an internal combustion engine 106 that uses process gas from a gasifier 102 as fuel. See Wang Fig. 1, [0014]. The engine 106 comprises an engine control valve 144 between the source of process gas and the engine. Id. at Fig. 1, [0021]. The engine control valve 144 operates similar to an engine throttle to control the amount of fuel provided to the engine 106, and therefore the speed and power of the engine 106. Id.
It would have been obvious for system of Kasseris to comprise an engine control valve between the clean-up engine 114 and the power engine 116 to control the amount of fuel provided to the power engine 116 to therefore control the speed and power of the power engine 116. With this modification, the engine control valve reads on the “power engine fuel actuator disposed between the outlet from the cleanup engine and an inlet of the power producing engine.”
Kasseris also differs from claim 1 because it is silent as to a cleanup engine sensor comprising a knock sensor configured to monitor knock intensity in the cleanup engine 114 with the controller 107 being configured to receive knock sensor signals in real time and regulate the air intake valve (the “cleanup air actuator”) to adjust a flow of the air (the “oxidant”) into the cleanup engine 114, thereby maintaining a maximum rate of pressure rise (MRPR) of in-cylinder pressure within a desired operating range.
But, while the cleanup engine 114 can operate by auto-ignition (see Kasseris p. 13, ll. 1–6), the gas-air mixture is controlled to avoid catastrophic auto-ignition that leads to knock (id. at p. 6, ll. 29–31).
With this in mind, Matsuchima teaches a controller 50 for controlling knock within an internal combustion engine 1. See Matsuchima Fig. 1 [0055], [0062]. The controller 50 receives signals from a knock sensor 12 in real time, and the controller analyzes the signals to determine if a knock occurrence intensity is high or low. Id. at [0075]–[0076], [0123]. The controller uses this information to regulate an air intake valve to adjust a flow of air to the engine 1 because the controller 50 operates the valve to decrease the amount of air supplied to the engine when the knock occurrence intensity is high (to reduce knock), and operates the valve to increase the amount of air when the knock occurrence intensity is low (to allow knock to rise to a background level). Id. at [0123]. This operation maintains a maximum rate of pressure rise of in-cylinder pressure within a desired operating range because the controller maintains knock intensity between high and low. The knock detection technique of Matsuchima is beneficial because it can detect and correct for occurrence of knock even when the frequency distribution of the knock signal is distorted according to the occurrence state of knocking. Id. at [0009].
It would have been obvious to include the knock sensor 12 of Matsuchima with the cleanup engine 114 of Kasseris, and to modify the controller 107 of Kasseris to include the knock detection programming of the controller 50 of Matsuchima to detect and correct for occurrence of knock even when the frequency distribution of the knock signal is distorted according to the occurrence state of knocking.
With this modification, the knock sensor 12 reads on the “cleanup engine sensor, comprising a knock sensor, configured to monitor knock intensity of the cleanup engine.” Also, the controller 107 would be configured to receive knock sensor signals in real time and regulate the air intake valve to adjust a flow of the air to the cleanup engine 114, thereby maintaining a maximum rate of pressure rise of in-cylinder pressure within a desired operating range, as claimed, because the controller 107 would open or close the valve to increase or decrease knock to maintain it between high and low intensity. See Matsuchima [0123].
Kasseris further differs from claim 1 because it is silent as to the system comprising a cleanup exhaust temperature sensor in communication with the controller 107.
But the system comprises a heat exchanger 115 that receives the exhaust gas from the clean-up engine 114, with the exhaust gas being sent to the power engine 116 for use as fuel. See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 17, l. 30–p. 18, l. 5. Also, the heat exchanger 115 is configured so that temperature of the fuel introduced into the power engine 116 is controlled so that the fuel gas is cooled but is at a temperature above the dew point of lighter organic components in the fuel gas. Id. at p. 14, ll. 4–8, p. 18, ll. 1–5. The heat exchanger 115 may also be used to recuperate useful heat. Id.
With this in mind, Hirson teaches a heat exchange device 118 that is used to cool a first fluid mixture, which comprises gas that can be used for fuel. See Hirson Fig. 1A, [0002], [0022]. Th heat exchange device 118 receives a relatively cold heat exchange material, such as water, at input port 120 and expels a heated heat exchange material, such as steam, at output port 122. Id. at Fig. 1A, [0022]. The heated heat exchange material can be used to generate electricity. Id. The heat exchange device 118 also comprises a temperature sensor 119a for monitoring the temperature of the fuel gas that is cooled within the heat exchange device 118 so that it is cooled to a specific temperature range (e.g., 38 to 200°C). Id. at Fig. 1A, [0024]. The heat exchange device 118 of Hirson is beneficial because it is able to control the temperature of the fuel gas being cooled, and is able to recuperate the energy of the heat exchange material (e.g., water) to generate electricity. Id. at [0022], [0024].
It would have been obvious to use the heat exchange device 118 of Hirson as the heat exchanger 115 of Kasseris in order to control the temperature of the fuel gas being cooled to be within a desired range (e.g., higher than the dew point of lighter organic components) while also providing a mechanism to recuperate the heat of the cooled fuel gas to generate electricity.
With this modification, the temperature sensor 119a of the heat exchange device 118 reads on the “cleanup exhaust temperature sensor.” It would have been obvious for the controller 107 of Kasseris to be in communication with the temperature sensor 119a, because the controller 107 is the mechanism used to control operation of the system. See Kasseris p. 7, ll. 15–20.
Alternatively, it is noted that the clean-up engine 114 of Kasseris is designed to operate at a temperature that is high enough to destroy tars but low enough to prevent damage to the engine 114. See Kasseris p. 13, ll. 8–10. With this in mind, Kelly teaches an engine 10 comprising an exhaust temperature sensor 128 in communication with a controller. See Kelly Fig. 1, [0032]. The controller may actuate a throttle valve 20 to supply additional air to the engine 10 to ensure that sufficient heat is generated by the engine 10 for heating an emission control device 170 downstream from the engine 10. Id.
It would have been obvious for the system of Kasseris to comprise an exhaust temperature senor for measuring the exhaust temperature of the gas produced by the clean-up engine 114 with a throttle valve for controlling the air supplied to the clean-up engine to control the temperature of the engine 114 so that it is within the range needed to destroy tars but prevent damage to the engine.
With this modification, the exhaust temperature sensor 128 reads on the “cleanup exhaust temperature sensor.”
Regarding claim 2, Kasseris teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above.
Kasseris differs from claim 1 because it is silent as to the dimensions of the system. Therefore, the reference fails to provide enough information to teach that a distance between the outlet of the gasifier 101 (the “syngas generator”) and the input of the clean-up engine 104 is less than 36 inches.
But Kasseris teaches that the system is a small scale biomass-to-power system, which allows biomass to be consumed locally. See Kasseris p. 2, ll. 17–20, p. 3, ll. 5–7. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use routine experimentation to determine the optimal distance between the outlet of the gasifier 101 and the input of the clean-up engine 104 depending on the size requirements needed for the system to be a small scale biomass-to-power system usable in a local environment. See MPEP 2144.05, subsection II (where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
Regarding claim 9, Kasseris teaches a gasification system, which reads on the claimed “integrated system for producing power from solid fuels.” See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 4, l. 17–18.
The system comprises a gasifier 101 to form producer gas from biomass. See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 5, ll. 19–26, p. 12, ll. 1–11. The gasifier 101 reads on the “syngas generator to form producer gas from solid fuels.”
The system also comprises a clean-up engine 114 in communication with an outlet of the gasifier 101 to remove tar from the producer gas and created cleaned syngas. See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 12, l. 18–p. 13, l. 17. The clean-up engine 114 reads on the “cleanup engine.” The clean-up engine 114 is configured to be operated under fuel-rich conditions of air being mixed with fuel such that there is between 5 to 50% of the stoichiometric amount of air, which overlaps with an air-to-fuel ratio of 0.1 to 0.5. Id. at p. 12, ll. 11–21.
The system further comprises a power engine 116 in communication with an outlet of the clean-upending 114 to generate power. See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 14, ll. 10–15. The power engine 116 reads on the “power producing engine.”
The system also comprises a source of air from air filter 103 to clean-up engine 114 to deliver air to the clean-up engine 114, which reads on the “oxidant source to deliver an oxidant, the oxidant selected from the group consisting of air and oxygen.” See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 12, ll. 2–21.
The clean-up engine 114 comprises an intake valve to introduce air into it. See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 12, ll. 23–26. The intake valve reads on the “cleanup air actuator in communication with the oxidant source and an inlet of the cleanup engine.”
The system additional comprises an electric generator 105 coupled to a drive shaft of the power engine 116. See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 14, ll. 10–15. The electric generator 105 reads on the “electrical generator.”
The system also comprises a controller 107, which reads on the “controller.”. See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 7, ll. 15–20. The controller 107 is in communication with the intake valve that supplies filtered air to the clean-up engine 114. Id.
Kasseris differs from claim 9 because it is silent as to the system comprising a power engine fuel actuator disposed between the outlet of the clean-up engine 114 and the inlet of the power engine 116.
But the power engine 116 is an internal combustion engine that uses producer gas (generated by biomass gasifier 101) from the clean-up engine 114 as fuel. See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 14, ll. 10–15.
With this in mind, Wang teaches an internal combustion engine 106 that uses process gas from a gasifier 102 as fuel. See Wang Fig. 1, [0014]. The engine 106 comprises an engine control valve 144 between the source of process gas and the engine. Id. at Fig. 1, [0021]. The engine control valve 144 operates similar to an engine throttle to control the amount of fuel provided to the engine 106, and therefore the speed and power of the engine 106. Id.
It would have been obvious for system of Kasseris to comprise an engine control valve between the clean-up engine 114 and the power engine 116 to control the amount of fuel provided to the power engine 116 to therefore control the speed and power of the power engine 116. With this modification, the engine control valve would read on the “power engine fuel actuator disposed between the outlet from the cleanup engine and an inlet of the power producing engine.”
Kasseris differs from claim 9 because it is silent as to a cleanup engine sensor comprising a knock sensor configured to monitor knock intensity in the cleanup engine 114 with the controller 107 being configured to receive knock sensor signals in real time and regulate the air intake valve (the “cleanup air actuator”) to adjust a flow of the air (the “oxidant”) into the cleanup engine 114, thereby maintaining a maximum rate of pressure rise (MRPR) of in-cylinder pressure within a desired operating range.
But, while the cleanup engine 114 can operate by auto-ignition (see Kasseris p. 13, ll. 1–6), the gas-air mixture is controlled to avoid catastrophic auto-ignition that leads to knock (id. at p. 6, ll. 29–31).
With this in mind, Matsuchima teaches a controller 50 for controlling knock within an internal combustion engine 1. See Matsuchima Fig. 1 [0055], [0062]. The controller 50 receives signals from a knock sensor 12 in real time, and the controller analyzes the signals to determine if a knock occurrence intensity is high or low. Id. at [0075]–[0076], [0123]. The controller uses this information to regulate an air intake valve to adjust a flow of air to the engine 1 because the controller 50 operates the valve to decrease the amount of air supplied to the engine when the knock occurrence intensity is high (to reduce knock), and operates the valve to increase the amount of air when the knock occurrence intensity is low (to allow knock to rise to a background level). Id. at [0123]. This operation maintains a maximum rate of pressure rise of in-cylinder pressure within a desired operating range because the controller maintains knock intensity between high and low. The knock detection technique of Matsuchima is beneficial because it can detect and correct for occurrence of knock even when the frequency distribution of the knock signal is distorted according to the occurrence state of knocking. Id. at [0009].
It would have been obvious to include the knock sensor 12 of Matsuchima with the cleanup engine 114 of Kasseris, and to modify the controller 107 of Kasseris to include the knock detection programming of the controller 50 of Matsuchima to detect and correct for occurrence of knock even when the frequency distribution of the knock signal is distorted according to the occurrence state of knocking.
With this modification, the knock sensor 12 reads on the “cleanup engine sensor, comprising a knock sensor, configured to monitor knock intensity of the cleanup engine.” Also, the controller 107 would be configured to receive knock sensor signals in real time and regulate the air intake valve to adjust a flow of the air to the cleanup engine 114, thereby maintaining a maximum rate of pressure rise of in-cylinder pressure within a desired operating range, as claimed, because the controller 107 would open or close the valve to increase or decrease knock to maintain it between high and low intensity. See Matsuchima [0123].
Kasseris further differs from claim 9 because it is silent as to the system comprising a cleanup exhaust temperature sensor in communication with the controller 107.
But the system comprises a heat exchanger 115 that receives the exhaust gas from the clean-up engine 114, with the exhaust gas being sent to the power engine 116 for use as fuel. See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 17, l. 30–p. 18, l. 5. Also, the heat exchanger 115 is configured so that temperature of the fuel introduced into the power engine 116 is controlled so that the fuel gas is cooled but is at a temperature above the dew point of lighter organic components in the fuel gas. Id. at p. 14, ll. 4–8, p. 18, ll. 1–5. The heat exchanger 115 may also be used to recuperate useful heat. Id.
With this in mind, Hirson teaches a heat exchange device 118 that is used to cool a first fluid mixture, which comprises gas that can be used for fuel. See Hirson Fig. 1A, [0002], [0022]. Th heat exchange device 118 receives a relatively cold heat exchange material, such as water, at input port 120 and expels a heated heat exchange material, such as steam, at output port 122. Id. at Fig. 1A, [0022]. The heated heat exchange material can be used to generate electricity. Id. The heat exchange device 118 also comprises a temperature sensor 119a for monitoring the temperature of the fuel gas that is cooled within the heat exchange device 118 so that it is cooled to a specific temperature range (e.g., 38 to 200°C). Id. at Fig. 1A, [0024]. The heat exchange device 118 of Hirson is beneficial because it is able to control the temperature of the fuel gas being cooled, and is able to recuperate the energy of the heat exchange material (e.g., water) to generate electricity. Id. at [0022], [0024].
It would have been obvious to use the heat exchange device 118 of Hirson as the heat exchanger 115 of Kasseris in order to control the temperature of the fuel gas being cooled to be within a desired range (e.g., higher than the dew point of lighter organic components) while also providing a mechanism to recuperate the heat of the cooled fuel gas to generate electricity.
With this modification, the temperature sensor 119a of the heat exchange device 118 reads on the “cleanup exhaust temperature sensor.” It would have been obvious for the controller 107 of Kasseris to be in communication with the temperature sensor 119a, because the controller 107 is the mechanism used to control operation of the system. See Kasseris p. 7, ll. 15–20.
Alternatively, it is noted that the clean-up engine 114 of Kasseris is designed to operate at a temperature that is high enough to destroy tars but low enough to prevent damage to the engine 114. See Kasseris p. 13, ll. 8–10. With this in mind, Kelly teaches an engine 10 comprising an exhaust temperature sensor 128 in communication with a controller. See Kelly Fig. 1, [0032]. The controller may actuate a throttle valve 20 to supply additional air to the engine 10 to ensure that sufficient heat is generated by the engine 10 for heating an emission control device 170 downstream from the engine 10. Id.
It would have been obvious for the system of Kasseris to comprise an exhaust temperature senor for measuring the exhaust temperature of the gas produced by the clean-up engine 114 with a throttle valve for controlling the air supplied to the clean-up engine to control the temperature of the engine 114 so that it is within the range needed to destroy tars but prevent damage to the engine.
With this modification, the exhaust temperature sensor 128 reads on the “cleanup exhaust temperature sensor.”
Regarding claim 13, Matsuchima teaches that the knock sensor 12 is an “acoustic device,” as claimed, because it outputs a vibration waveform signal according to vibration of the internal combustion engine. See Matsuchima [0061].
Regarding claim 16, Kasseris teaches that the clean-up engine 114 can operates at 1200 RPM. See Kasseris p. 16, ll. 30–31. The prior art value of 1200 RPM is within the claimed range of 600 to 1500 RPM.
Regarding claim 17, Kasseris teaches the limitations of claim 9, as explained above.
Kasseris differs from claim 17 because it is silent as to a compression ratio of the clean-up engine 114 ranging from 11:1 to 22:1, as claimed.
But Kasseris teaches that the compression ratio of the clean-up engine 114 is result effective because it can be increased to increase the temperature of the clean-up engine 114. See Kasseris p. 17, ll. 2–6. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use routine experimentation to determine the optimal compression ratio depending on the desired temperature of the clean-up engine 114. See MPEP 2144.05, subsection II (where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
Regarding claim 18, Kasseris teaches the limitations of claim 9, as explained above.
Kasseris differs from claim 18 because it is silent as to a relative air-to-fuel ratio of the clean-up engine 114 being between 0.1 and 0.5.
But Kasseris teaches that the air-to-fuel ratio of the clean-up engine 114 is result effective because the temperature of the clean-up engine 114 can be increased by increasing the air/fuel ratio. See Kasseris p. 17, ll. 2–6. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use routine experimentation to determine the optimal air-to-fuel ratio of the clean-up engine 114 depending on the desired temperature. See MPEP 2144.05, subsection II.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasseris et al., WO 2018/119032 A1 in view of Wang et al., US 2012/0160191 A1 in view of Matsuchima et al., US 2017/0350328 A1 in view of either Hirson et al., US 2015/0275705 A1 or Kelly et al., US 2020/0271046 A1, and in further view of Springer et al., US 5,534,659.
Regarding claim 3, Kasseris as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above.
Kasseris as modified differs from claim 3 because it is silent as to a manifold between the outlet of the gasifier 101 (the “syngas generator”) and an input to the clean-up engine 114 being thermally insulated.
But the temperature of the producer gas between the gasifier 101 and the clean-up engine 114 is maintained to prevent undesirable contaminants (e.g., tar) from forming. See Kasseris p. 6, ll. 10–14. Therefore, while the producer gas is cooled in a heat exchanger 106, its temperature is maintained above the tar dew point. Id.
With this in mind, Springer teaches a system of handling off-gas, where the off-gas is transported between a processing chamber and a quencher, where the off-gas is cooled. The piping 26 between the processing chamber and the quencher is thermally insulated to maintain the off-gas at an elevated temperature to prevent the formation of complex organic compounds until the off-gas can be cooled in the quencher. See Springer Fig. 1, col. 9, ll. 50–67, claim 1.
It would have been obvious for the pathway between the gasifier 101 and the heat exchanger 106 of Kasseris to be thermally insulated in order to ensure that the temperature of the producer gas is above the tar dew point to prevent tar from forming.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasseris et al., WO 2018/119032 A1 in view of Wang et al., US 2012/0160191 A1 in view of Matsuchima et al., US 2017/0350328 A1 in view of either Hirson et al., US 2015/0275705 A1 or Kelly et al., US 2020/0271046 A1, and in further view of Idicheria et al., US 2018/0340507 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Kasseris as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above.
Kasseris as modified differs from claim 4 because it is silent as to each cylinder of the clean-up engine 114 having exactly one valve.
But Idicheria teaches an internal combustion engine where each cylinder can have either a single intake valve (for air and fuel) or can have multiple intake valves. See Idicheria [0014]. The internal combustion engine also has a throttle valve for controlling the airflow to the engine. Id. at [0004].
It would have been obvious for the each cylinder of the clean-up engine 114 of Kasseris to have exactly one intake valve because it is conventional for an internal combustion engine to have either a single or multiple intake valves.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasseris et al., WO 2018/119032 A1 in view of Wang et al., US 2012/0160191 A1 in view of Matsuchima et al., US 2017/0350328 A1 in view of either Hirson et al., US 2015/0275705 A1 or Kelly et al., US 2020/0271046 A1, and in further view of Haller, US 5,494,011.
Regarding claim 5, Kasseris as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above.
Kasseris as modified differs from claim 5 because it is silent as to the structure of the intake runner of the clean-up engine 114. Therefore, the reference fails to provide enough information to teach the intake runner and port having straight designs with uniform inner diameters.
But Haller teaches an internal combustion engine where the intake manifold 10 includes a plurality of straight runner tubes 30 and associated ports with uniform inner diameters. See Haller Fig. 1, col. 3, ll. 35–45. The straight runner tubes 30 are beneficial because they provide improved strength, airflow and performance over standard curved tubes. Id. at col. 1, ll. 29–56. It would have been obvious for the intake manifold of the clean-up engine 114 of Kasseris to comprise the straight runner tubes of Haller to improve strength, airflow and performance of the engine.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasseris et al., WO 2018/119032 A1 in view of Wang et al., US 2012/0160191 A1 in view of Matsuchima et al., US 2017/0350328 A1 in view of either Hirson et al., US 2015/0275705 A1 or Kelly et al., US 2020/0271046 A1, and in further view of Contreras Orellana, US 5,197,434.
Regarding claim 6, Kasseris as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above.
Kasseris as modified differs from claim 6 because it is silent as to an engine cylinder head of the clean-up engine 114 comprising a pent roof.
But Contreras Orellana teaches that a pent-roof combustion chamber for an internal combustion engine is advantageous because it allows for increased valve diameter. See Contreras Orellana col. 2, ll. 6–16. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the combustion chambers of the clean-up engine 114 of Kasseris to have a pent-roof to allow for increased valve diameter.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasseris et al., WO 2018/119032 A1 in view of Wang et al., US 2012/0160191 A1 in view of Matsuchima et al., US 2017/0350328 A1 in view of either Hirson et al., US 2015/0275705 A1 or Kelly et al., US 2020/0271046 A1, and in further view of Tsuji, US 2005/0115531 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Kasseris as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above.
Kasseris differs from claim 7 because it is silent as to the system comprising a valve spring used to control an intake valve with the valve spring having a spring constant 20 to 80% greater than 300 lbs/in.
But Kasseris teaches that the system comprises clean-up engine 114, which is an internal combustion engine. See Kasseris Fig. 3, p. 12, l. 30–p. 13, l. 4.
With this in mind, Tsuji teaches that a conventional internal engine comprises an intake valve pressed against a valve seat by a spring. See Tsuji [0003]. The spring constant of the spring is result effective because it is set so as to have a strength such that the intake valve is inhibited from being opened due to the reaction of the collision of the valve when it is opened at closed at a high speed. Id.
It would have been obvious for the clean-up engine 114 of Kasseris to comprise an intake valve with a spring because this is a conventional arrangement for an internal combustion engine. It also would have been obvious to use routine experimentation to determine the optimal spring constant for the spring because the spring constant is result effective as the constant is set so as to have a strength such that the intake valve is inhibited from being opened due to the reaction of the collision of the valve when it is opened at closed at a high speed. See MPEP 2144.05, subsection II (where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasseris et al., WO 2018/119032 A1 in view of Wang et al., US 2012/0160191 A1 in view of Matsuchima et al., US 2017/0350328 A1 in view of either Hirson et al., US 2015/0275705 A1 or Kelly et al., US 2020/0271046 A1, and in further view of Zhao, US 2017/0356403 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Kasseris as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above.
Kasseris as modified differs from claim 8 because it is silent as to the air being heated prior to entering the inlet of the clean-up engine 114.
But Zhao teaches that the air entering an engine can be preheated before entering the engine to reduce starting time. See Zhao [0018]–[0021].
It would have been obvious for the air entering the clean-up engine 114 to be preheated to reduce the starting time.
Claims 10–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasseris et al., WO 2018/119032 A1 in view of Wang et al., US 2012/0160191 A1 in view of Matsuchima et al., US 2017/0350328 A1 and in further view of Kelly et al., US 2020/0271046 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Kasseris in view of Wang and Kelly teaches that the controller 107 of Kasseris would monitor the exhaust temperature sensor of Kelly provided with the clean-up engine 114 of Kasseris, as explained in the rejection of claim 9 above. The controller 107 would adjust the throttle valve in response to values received from the exhaust temperature sensor, to adjust the amount of air supplied to the clean-up engine 114 to adjust the temperature of the engine. See Kelly Fig. 1, [0032]. Note that the throttle valve reads on the “cleanup air actuator.”
Regarding claim 11, Kasseris teaches that the controller 107 maintains an air-to-fuel ratio of the clean-up engine 114 within a predetermined range. See Kasseris p. 17, ll. 2–6.
Regarding claim 12, Kasseris as modified teaches that the “cleanup engine sensor” comprises the knock sensor of Wang, as noted in the rejection claim 9 above.
Kasseris as modified differs from claim 12 because it is silent as to an upper and lower limit of the air-to-fuel ration being determined based on an output from the knock sensor of the exhaust temperature from the exhaust temperature sensor.
But Kasseris teaches that the air/fuel ratio can adjusted to obtain a desired temperature of the clean-up engine 114. See Kasseris p. 17, ll. 2–6. Also, Kelly teaches that the controller adjusts the amount of air supplied to the engine 10 based on the temperature measured by the exhaust temperature sensor 128. See Kelly Fig. 1, [0032]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the air/fuel ratio supplied to the clean-up engine 114 of Kasseris to be determined based on the temperature measured by the exhaust temperature sensor because the air/fuel ratio affects engine temperature with the temperature measured by the sensor 128 being used to change the amount of air supplied to the engine to adjust the temperature.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasseris et al., WO 2018/119032 A1 in view of Wang et al., US 2012/0160191 A1 in view of Matsuchima et al., US 2017/0350328 A1 in view of either Hirson et al., US 2015/0275705 A1 or Kelly et al., US 2020/0271046 A1, in view of Appel et al., US 2016/0068772 A1 and in further view of Blutke et al., US 2004/0251241 A1.
Regarding claim 14, Kasseris as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9, as explained above.
Kasseris as modified differs from claim 14 because it is silent as to the system comprising a syngas air actuator.
But Appel teaches a gasifier that comprises a valve that supplies air to the gasifier to assist in the gasifier starting up. See Appel [0042]. It would have been obvious for the system of Kasseris to comprise a valve that supplies air to the gasifier 101 to assist with it starting up. With this modification, the valve would read on the “syngas fuel actuator.”
Kasseris also differs from claim 14 because it is silent as to a load presented by the electrical generator 105 varying over time and the controller 107 varying a flow rate of solid fuel or air entering the gasifier 101 in response to a variation in load.
But Blutke teaches system of using fuel gas to generate electricity using an internal combustion engine as the electrical generator, where the electrical generator has a variable load to meet demand. See Blutke [0023]–[0024]. The system also comprises a load-based controller that increases the flow rate of carbonaceous material fuel to an ICP torch (which produces the fuel gas) when the variable load increases. Id. The load-based controller is beneficial because it is able to increase or decrease the amount of electricity produced by the generator to meet demand. Id.
It would have been obvious to modify the system of Kasseris to use the load-based controller of Blutke so that the controller 107 varies a flow rate of solid fuel entering the gasifier 101 in response to a variation in load on the electrical generator 105 in order to meet electricity demand.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasseris et al., WO 2018/119032 A1 in view of Wang et al., US 2012/0160191 A1 in view of Matsuchima et al., US 2017/0350328 A1 in view of either Hirson et al., US 2015/0275705 A1 or Kelly et al., US 2020/0271046 A1, in view of Ahrens et al., 6,701,710 and in further view of Blutke et al., US 2004/0251241 A1.
Regarding claim 15, Kasseris teaches that the controller 107 controls the intake valve (the “cleanup air actuator”) to maintain an air-to-fuel ratio within a predetermined range to maintain a desired temperature in the clean-up engine 114. See Kasseris p. 17, ll. 2–6.
Kasseris as modified differs from claim 15 because it is silent as to an output gas from the power engine 116 being recirculated back to an input of the clean-up engine 114.
But Ahrens teaches an internal combustion engine comprising a turbocharger that recirculates exhaust air back to the engine to increase power. See Ahrens col. 1, ll. 6–12. It would have been obvious for exhaust gas from the power engine 116 to be recirculated to a turbocharger of the clean-up engine 114 to increase the power of the clean-up engine 114.
Kasseris as modified also differs from claim 15 because it is silent as to a load of the electrical generator 105 varying over time.
But Blutke teaches a system of using fuel gas to generate electricity where the electrical generator has a variable load so that the generator can meet demand. See Blutke [0023]. It would have been obvious for the electrical generator 105 to have a load that varies over time to be adjustable to meet demand.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the elected claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
T. BENNETT MCKENZIE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1776
/T. BENNETT MCKENZIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776