DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant remarks that the Nakamura teaches that the added amount of the additive is based on the weight of the negative electrode material, and not in accordance with a basis weight of the coated part set in advance.
Examiner concedes that Nakamura teaches an additive amount based on the weight of the negative electrode material; however, it is the examiner’s position that one skilled in the art would have arrived to an additive amount related to either the slurry speed or the weight of the coated part without undue experimentation, based on the rheological properties of the slurry (see response to claim 1 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 20110052984 A1) in view of the machine translation of Ikegami (JP 2020095779 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Nakamura teaches a method of first preparing the slurry of the active material, binder, and solvent, and then teaches an optional step of adding the component [E] additive. After the slurry is prepared, a method of coating at least one main surface of the current collector is taught (para. 0065).
In further detail, Nakamura teaches a coating method comprising:
a first step of kneading an active material, a binder, and a solvent to obtain a kneaded slurry (para. 0025 [the negative electrode active material contains an active material, [A] a polyvinyl fluoride component (para. 0047, binder), [B] a styrene butadiene component, [C] a non-ionic surfactant, and [D] N-methylpyrrolidone (para. 0057 solvent)]) (para. 0028 [preparing the slurry containing components A-D]) (para. 0148, explains that the mixture is kneaded).
a second step of adding an additive to the kneaded slurry and stirring the kneaded slurry and the additive to obtain a coating slurry (para. 0076 [component [E] (para. 0060 additive)] may be directly added to the negative electrode composition slurry [kneaded mixture [A-D]]
a third step of intermittently applying the coating slurry onto a current collector to form a coated part and a non-coated part (para. 0096-0097 [describes a coating treatment with an intermittent coating setting. An intermittent coating setting would produce coated and non-coated areas on the current collector.])
the additive contains a cellulose component (para. 0093).
Nakamura does not teach:
wherein in the second step, an addition amount of the additive is set in accordance with a basis weight of the coated part set in advance, and the additive contains a cellulose component.
Nakamura teaches the importance for optimizing for the amount of cellulose additive (para. 0174 -0176) which enhances the rheological properties of the slurry (para. 0176, [since the slurry is enhanced in rheological properties]). Nakamura teaches that, the cellulose as a thickener also has some degree of elasticity, so that the presence of the cellulose is considered to contribute to good flexibility of the negative electrode active material layer (para. 0175).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the instant invention was filed, to have optimized the cellulose addition based on the rheological properties of the slurry, in order to impart some degree of elasticity to the slurry, as taught by Nakamura. It is the Examiner’s position that this routine optimization would have led one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed, to have arrived at an addition amount of the additive is set in accordance with a coating speed of the coating slurry or a basis weight of the coated part set in advance, without undue experimentation, particularly given that Nakamura teaches that the presence of cellulose contributes to good flexibility and thus enhances the rheological properties of the slurry used to coat the electrode surface (para. 0175-0176).
Nakamura does not teach:
the additive contains at least one of castor oil, cellulose nanofibers, modified silicone, an amide, polyethylene oxide, propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate, polyaniline, and polycarboxylic acid.
Ikegami, in the same field of endeavor, active materials for electrodes, teaches:
an additive contains at least cellulose nanofibers and lignocellulose nanofibers (pg. 1, para. 9).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used the cellulose nanofibers as the cellulose additive of Nakamura, specifically a lignocellulose nanofiber, as taught by Ikegami, in order to effectively suppress the aggregation of particles in the active material, as taught by Ikegami (pg. 2, para. 3). Suppressing the aggregation of particles leads to a battery having excellent charge/discharge characteristics (pg. 2, para. 3).
Regarding claim 3, modified Nakamura teaches the coating method according to claim 1.
Further, Ikegami teaches wherein the cellulose nanofibers, and the cellulose nanofibers contain 50% or more (relative particle amount based on 100% as a whole) of particles having a number average width of a short width of 3 to 100 nm (pg. 3, para. 4 [The average fiber diameter of CNF (A) is 50 nm or less, preferably 20 nm or less, and more preferably 10 nm or less. The lower limit is not particularly limited, but is usually 1 nm or more]), an aspect ratio of 40 (pg. 3, para.4 (2 micron long width to 50 nm of the short width yields a 40 aspect ratio)) or more, and a number average width of a long width of 100 μm (pg. 3, para. 4 [The average length of CNF(A) is preferably 100 nm to 100 μm, more preferably 1 μm to 100 μm]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Nakamura teaches the coating method according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein the additive contains the cellulose nanofibers.
Ikegami teaches that the additive contains the cellulose nanofibers, and the cellulose nanofibers are contained in an amount of 0.01 mass % to 0.2 mass % based on 100 mass % of a solid content of the coating slurry (pg. 3, para. 6 [0.01 parts by mass to 50 parts by mass, relative to 100 parts by mass of the solvent in the slurry]).
Conclusion
/V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1721 /ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721