DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but were not found persuasive over the previous prior art rejection of record for the reasons set forth below. See claims 1–2 and 4-11 rejections below.
Applicant argues that “the Examiner improperly objected to the drawings and that the phrase “Conventional Art” should be acceptable in place of “Prior Art” because MPEP §608.02(g) does not explicitly exclude alternate phrases and similar terminology has been used in issued patents” (see e.g. page 6 of applicant’s argument).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Pursuant to MPEP §608.02(g), when a figure illustrates subject matter that is admitted by the applicant to be old, conventional, or known, the figure must be identified by a legend such as “–Prior Art–.” The purpose of this requirement is to clearly distinguish subject matter that forms part of the applicant’s invention from that which is acknowledged to be known in the art, thereby preventing potential confusion as to the scope of the applicant’s contribution. Applicant’s own description of Figure 1 identifies the figure as illustrating a conventional structure and the known phenomenon in which the end of the positive electrode damages the negative electrode due to expansion and contraction. Because the figure is not directed to the claimed invention and merely illustrates known background material, the proper designation consistent with MPEP §608.02(g) is “–Prior Art–.” The fact that alternative terminology may appear in certain issued patents does not override the guidance of the MPEP or the Examiner’s requirement to clearly identify admitted prior art in the drawings. For the above reason, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Kang fails to disclose or suggest the amended limitation that ‘a distance between the welded portion and the end of the electrode assembly is greater than a distance between the end of the positive electrode active material layer and the end of the electrode assembly,’ and further argues that Kang does not disclose that the disconnection preventing layer is formed on a surface of a negative electrode current collector portion facing the end of the positive electrode” (see e.g. pages 7–10 of applicant’s argument).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kang discloses an electrode assembly including electrode plates having coated and uncoated portions with a folded portion extending from the uncoated region of the current collector (see e.g. paragraphs [0034]–[0039] and FIG. 2 of Kang). As explained in the prior Office Action, Kang expressly teaches that the first electrode plate may be used as a negative electrode plate and the second electrode plate may be used as a positive electrode plate (see e.g. paragraphs [0034]–[0035]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reverse the polarity assignment of the electrode plates depending on the desired battery configuration, thereby resulting in the folded disconnection preventing portion being located on the negative electrode current collector as claimed.
Additionally, Woo teaches welding a bent conductive portion, such as a lead tab, to an uncoated portion of a current collector to achieve a stable electrical connection and reduced internal resistance (see e.g. paragraphs [0094]–[0095] of Woo). Applying Woo’s teaching to the folded portion disclosed by Kang would have predictably resulted in a welded connection between the bent portion and the uncoated region of the current collector.
Furthermore, the claim recites the relative distances with respect to “the end of the electrode assembly.” However, the claim does not clearly define which end of the electrode assembly is being referenced, and an electrode assembly inherently has two opposing ends. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, the recited relationship is satisfied where the welded portion is positioned further from one end of the electrode assembly than the end of the positive electrode active material layer. As illustrated in the annotated figure of Kang below relied upon in the rejection, the folded portion and associated connection structure are positioned inward relative to the edge of the electrode assembly, while the positive electrode active material layer terminates closer to the opposite edge. Accordingly, Kang inherently satisfies the claimed relationship that the welded portion is located at a greater distance from an end of the electrode assembly than the end of the positive electrode active material layer.
Additionally, Kang’s folded disconnection preventing layer is positioned on a portion of the current collector that faces the opposing electrode within the electrode stack, which necessarily corresponds to a surface facing the end region of the opposing electrode when the plates are stacked in the electrode assembly. Thus, the structural arrangement disclosed by Kang, particularly when considered together with the polarity reversal discussed above, teaches or at least renders obvious the claimed configuration.
Applicant has not provided evidence demonstrating that the claimed relative positional relationship yields a critical or unexpected result beyond what would be expected from routine placement of a folded and welded connection structure within the electrode assembly. For the above reason, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Kang does not recognize the problem addressed by the present invention relating to fatigue failure caused by expansion and contraction of the positive electrode and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to arrive at the claimed structure (see e.g. pages 8-9 of applicant’s argument).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. A reference need not recognize the identical problem addressed by the applicant in order to render the claimed invention obvious. It is sufficient that the prior art teaches the claimed structure or that the combination of references would have suggested the claimed arrangement to one of ordinary skill in the art. Kang already discloses a folded portion extending from an uncoated region of the current collector that functions as a disconnection preventing structure (see e.g. paragraphs [0034]–[0039]). Woo further teaches welding a bent conductive portion to the uncoated region of the current collector to provide a stable electrical connection and reduce internal resistance. The combination of Kang and Woo therefore provides a predictable improvement to the electrical connection of a bent current collector portion regardless of whether the exact fatigue mechanism described by the applicant is recognized. Obviousness does not require that the prior art recognize the same problem as the applicant, only that the claimed structure would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. For the above reason, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Kang does not disclose the limitation of claim 5 reciting that “a length of the first negative electrode active material layer is greater than a length of the second negative electrode active material layer,” and further argues that varying the uncoated portion length disclosed in Kang would merely adjust both coated portions equally rather than creating layers of different lengths” (see e.g. page 11 of applicant’s argument).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kang discloses electrode plates including coated portions and uncoated portions and teaches that the length of the uncoated portion may be varied depending on design requirements (see e.g. paragraph [0041] of Kang). As illustrated in Kang, the uncoated portion is located at an edge region of the electrode current collector while the coated portions terminate adjacent to that region. Modifying the position or length of the uncoated portion necessarily alters the termination point of at least one of the coated active material layers relative to the electrode edge. Accordingly, varying the position or length of the uncoated portion inherently affects the relative lengths of the coated active material layers on the current collector.
Furthermore, Kang expressly teaches that the polarity assignment of the electrode plates may be reversed (see e.g. paragraphs [0034]–[0035]). When the polarity is reversed, the structural arrangement of the coated and uncoated regions remains the same while their designation as positive or negative electrodes changes. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the relative lengths of the active material layers on the negative electrode current collector correspond to the coated regions shown in Kang. Because the termination points of the coated regions relative to the edge of the electrode assembly depend on the placement of the uncoated portion and folded region, the resulting structure inherently provides coated portions of differing effective lengths relative to the assembly edge. Adjusting these relative coated lengths would have been an obvious matter of routine design choice within the ordinary skill in the art in order to accommodate tab placement, electrical connection regions, or assembly tolerances.
Applicant has not provided evidence demonstrating that the claimed length relationship produces any unexpected or critical result. In the absence of such evidence, specifying that one active material layer is longer than another merely reflects a routine dimensional variation of the coated regions of the electrode collector. For the above reason, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Kang does not disclose the amended limitation of claim 9 requiring that the disconnection preventing layer be bent to overlap the non-coated part so that a first surface of the disconnection preventing layer faces a first surface of the non-coated part and that the bonding portion is located between those two surfaces” (see e.g. pages 11-12 of applicant’s argument).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kang discloses a folded portion (27a) extending from the uncoated part (27) of the current collector which is bent to overlap the uncoated portion (see e.g. paragraphs [0034]–[0039] and FIG. 2 of Kang). When the current collector extension is folded over the uncoated region, the opposing surfaces of the folded portion and the underlying portion of the current collector necessarily face one another. Kang further discloses that an insulating tape (31) is applied around the folded portion (see e.g. paragraph [0041] and FIG. 2 of Kang). Because the tape is wrapped around the folded region that overlaps the uncoated portion, the tape is positioned within the overlapping region of the folded current collector structure.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, the term “between” does not require that an element be completely enclosed or perfectly sandwiched by two surfaces. Rather, the term encompasses configurations in which the element is at least partially interposed within the region formed by two structures. In Kang, the insulating tape is applied to the folded portion that overlaps the uncoated part and therefore occupies the region between the overlapping surfaces of the folded portion and the underlying current collector structure. Accordingly, Kang teaches a bonding portion located between the surfaces of the overlapping current collector portions as claimed.
Additionally, as explained in the prior Office Action, Kang explicitly teaches that the polarity assignment of the electrode plates may be reversed (see e.g. paragraphs [0034]–[0035]). Reversing the polarity does not change the structural relationship between the folded portion, the uncoated region, and the insulating tape, but simply results in the same structure being associated with the negative electrode current collector. Therefore, Kang teaches or at least renders obvious the claimed arrangement. For the above reason, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “the dependent claims are allowable because they depend from independent claims 1, 5, and 9 which applicant asserts are patentable” (see e.g. page 12 of applicant’s argument).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Because independent claims 1, 5, and 9 remain unpatentable over the applied prior art references for the reasons discussed above, the dependent claims that rely upon those independent claims likewise remain unpatentable. Applicant has not presented additional arguments demonstrating that the additional limitations of the dependent claims provide patentable distinction over the applied prior art references. For the above reason, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
In conclusion, the arguments and amendments filed were not found to be persuasive over the previous prior art rejection of record. The rejections of the claims have been updated to reflect the amendments where appropriate. See claims 1–2 and 4-11 rejections below.
Summary
This is a continued examination non-final office action for application 17/792,889 in response to the amendments filed on 03/02/2026. Claims 1-2 and 4-12 are under examination. Claim 12 is still withdrawn from consideration
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copies have been filed in parent Application Nos. KR10-2020-0096593 filed on 08/03/2020 and PCT/KR2021/009583 filed on 07/23/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS)s submitted on 07/14/2022, 08/28/2023, 09/06/2023, 10/24/2024, 02/26/2025 and 03/19/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US-20040126648-A1) and further in view of Woo (US-20130252053-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kang discloses an electrode assembly (see e.g. "electrode unit" in Abstract and FIG. 2) comprising:
a positive electrode (see e.g. "positive electrode plate" in paragraph [0003] and part number 28 in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below);
a negative electrode (see e.g. "negative electrode plate" in paragraph [0003] and part number 24 in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below); and
a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (see e.g. "a separator interposed therebetween" in paragraph [0003] and part number 30 in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below);
wherein the positive electrode includes a positive electrode active material layer located on a positive electrode current collector (see e.g. "A second electrode coated portion 25 coated with a second electrode compound material containing a second electrode active material is formed on at least one side of the second electrode collector 26" in paragraph [0035] and part number 25 in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below), and the negative electrode includes a negative electrode active material layer located on a negative electrode current collector (see e.g. " A first electrode coated portion 21 coated with a first electrode compound material containing a first electrode active material is formed on at least one side of the first electrode collector 22." in paragraph [0034] and part number 25 in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below),
wherein a non-coated part is located at an edge of the positive electrode current collector (see e.g. part number 27 in FIG 2 and annotated figure below), and
wherein a disconnection preventing layer is located at the positive electrode current collector (see e.g. part number 27a in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below), the disconnection preventing layer extending from an external side of the non-coated part, and the disconnecting preventing layer is bent to overlap a portion of the non-coated part (see e.g. part number 27a in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below).
Kang does not explicitly disclose the disconnection preventing layer as being located on the negative electrode current collector, as required by claim 1.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kang’s electrode assembly by reversing the polarity assignment of the first and second electrode plates. Kang explicitly teaches that the first electrode plate 24 generally may be used as a negative electrode plate and the second electrode plate 28 may be used as a positive plate (see e.g. “Generally, the first electrode plate 24 may also be used as a negative electrode plate.” In paragraph [0034] and “The second electrode plate 28 that may be used as a positive plat” in paragraph [0035]). Kang also discloses that changes may be made to the example embodiment made by the disclosure without departing from the principles and spirit of the invention (see e.g. paragraph [044]). Such a reversal would not alter the underlying structure or function of the electrode assembly and would simply reassign the existing folded portion (27a) to the negative electrode current collector instead of the positive. Because of this it would have been an obvious design choice to reverse the electrode polarity assignment in Kang based on the desired battery and application, thereby resulting in a structure in which the disconnection preventing layer (folded portion) is located on the negative electrode current collector.
Kang further discloses a burr portion connecting the disconnection preventing layer with the non-coated part is located on an end of the bent portion adjacent to the negative active material layer (see e.g. "burr portion" in paragraph [0039] and part number 27b in FIG. 3),
wherein a distance between the welded portion and the end of the electrode assembly is greater than a distance between the end of the positive electrode active material layer and the end of the electrode assembly (see e.g. annotated figure below), and
wherein the disconnection preventing layer is formed on a surface of a negative electrode current collector portion facing the end of the positive electrode (see e.g. annotated figure below).
Kang does not disclose that the welded portion connecting the disconnection preventing layer with the non-coated part is located on an end of the bent portion adjacent to the negative active material layer.
Woo, however, in the same field of endeavor, electrodes for wind up type batteries, discloses a secondary battery in which a bent lead tab (disconnection-preventing structure) is welded to an uncoated portion of the current collector (see e.g. “allowing a lead tab of a current collector to be bent and welded to the uncoated portion of the electrode assembly.” in paragraph [0094] of Woo). Woo further discloses that this structure is positioned such that it contacts both surfaces of the uncoated portion, and would inherently be adjacent to the active material layer based on standard battery stack construction.
Woo also teaches that by welding it always for a stable connection between the lead tab and the uncoated portion of the current collector decreasing the inner resistance within the battery and providing sufficient electrical power (see e.g. paragraph [0095] of Woo). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the disconnection prevention layer of Kang et al. such that it comprises a welded portion which connects the disconnection preventing layer with the non-coated part adjacent to the negative active material layer as taught by Woo in order to have a stable connection between the two pieces which decreases the inner resistance within the battery and provides sufficient electrical power as suggested by Woo.
(Kang, figure 2, annotated for illustration with reversed electrode polarities)
Regarding Claim 2, Kang in view of Woo discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Kang further discloses that a negative electrode tab is located on a surface of the non-coated part opposite to a surface where the disconnection preventing layer of the non-coated part is located (see e.g. " A first electrode tab 24a drawn out from a first electrode plate of the electrode unit 20” in paragraph [0032 and “the second electrode tab 28a may also be positioned at the second electrode uncoated portion in the central portion of the winding, like the first electrode tab 24a” in paragraph [0036] and part 28a in FIG. 1 and part number 24a in FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Kang in view of Woo discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Kang further discloses that the positive electrode active material layer includes a first positive electrode active material layer on a first surface of the positive electrode current collector, and a second positive electrode active material layer on a second surface of the positive electrode current collector opposite the first surface (see e.g. FIG. 2 and annotated figure below; annotated figure shows the case when polarities are reversed as described in claim 1 rejection and below).
Kang does not explicitly disclose that the negative electrode active material layer includes a first negative electrode active material layer on a first surface of the negative electrode current collector, and a second negative electrode active material layer on a second surface of the negative electrode current collector opposite the first surface.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kang’s electrode assembly by reversing the polarity assignment of the first and second electrode plates. Kang explicitly teaches that the first electrode plate 24 generally may be used as a negative electrode plate and the second electrode plate 28 may be used as a positive plate (see e.g. “Generally, the first electrode plate 24 may also be used as a negative electrode plate.” In paragraph [0034] and “The second electrode plate 28 that may be used as a positive plat “ in paragraph [0035]). Kang also discloses that changes may be made to the example embodiment made by the disclosure without departing from the principles and spirit of the invention (see e.g. paragraph [044]). Such a reversal would not alter the underlying structure or function of the electrode assembly and would simply reassign the existing folded portion (27a) to the negative electrode current collector instead of the positive. Because of this it would have been an obvious design choice to reverse the electrode polarity assignment in Kang based on the desired battery and application, thereby resulting in a structure in which the negative electrode
active material is on both a first and second surface of the negative electrode current collector.
(Kang, figure 2, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 10, Kang in view of Woo discloses the electrode assembly of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Kang further discloses that the positive electrode, the negative electrode, and the separator are wound in a jelly-roll shape after being laminated (see e.g. "That is, according to an embodiment of the present invention, a jelly-roll type electrode unit 20 has the first and second electrode plates 24 and 28 and the separator 30 interposed therebetween, laminated and wound." in paragraph [0033] and FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Kang in view of Woo discloses a secondary battery (see e.g. "a secondary battery comprises an electrode unit" in paragraph [0018] and FIG. 1) comprising the electrode assembly according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US-20040126648-A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Kang discloses an electrode assembly (see e.g. "electrode unit" in Abstract and FIG. 2) comprising:
a positive electrode (see e.g. "positive electrode plate" in paragraph [0003] and part number 28 in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below);
a negative electrode (see e.g. "negative electrode plate" in paragraph [0003] and part number 24 in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below); and
a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (see e.g. "a separator interposed therebetween" in paragraph [0003] and part number 30 in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below);
wherein the positive electrode includes a positive electrode active material layer located on a positive electrode current collector (see e.g. "A second electrode coated portion 25 coated with a second electrode compound material containing a second electrode active material is formed on at least one side of the second electrode collector 26" in paragraph [0035] and part number 25 in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below), and the negative electrode includes a negative electrode active material layer located on a negative electrode current collector (see e.g. " A first electrode coated portion 21 coated with a first electrode compound material containing a first electrode active material is formed on at least one side of the first electrode collector 22." in paragraph [0034] and part number 25 in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below),
wherein a non-coated part is located at an edge of the positive electrode current collector (see e.g. part number 27 in FIG 2 and annotated figure below), and
wherein a disconnection preventing layer is located at the positive electrode current collector (see e.g. part number 27a in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below), the disconnection preventing layer extending from an external side of the non-coated part, and the disconnecting preventing layer is bent to overlap a portion of the non-coated part (see e.g. part number 27a in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below).
Kang does not explicitly disclose the disconnection preventing layer as being located on the negative electrode current collector, as required by claim 5.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kang’s electrode assembly by reversing the polarity assignment of the first and second electrode plates. Kang explicitly teaches that the first electrode plate 24 generally may be used as a negative electrode plate and the second electrode plate 28 may be used as a positive plate (see e.g. “Generally, the first electrode plate 24 may also be used as a negative electrode plate.” In paragraph [0034] and “The second electrode plate 28 that may be used as a positive plat” in paragraph [0035]). Kang also discloses that changes may be made to the example embodiment made by the disclosure without departing from the principles and spirit of the invention (see e.g. paragraph [044]). Such a reversal would not alter the underlying structure or function of the electrode assembly and would simply reassign the existing folded portion (27a) to the negative electrode current collector instead of the positive. Because of this it would have been an obvious design choice to reverse the electrode polarity assignment in Kang based on the desired battery and application, thereby resulting in a structure in which the disconnection preventing layer (folded portion) is located on the negative electrode current collector.
Kang further discloses that the positive electrode active material layer includes a first positive electrode active material layer on a first surface of the positive electrode current collector, and a second positive electrode active material layer on a second surface of the positive electrode current collector opposite the first surface (see e.g. FIG. 2 and annotated figure below; annotated figure shows the case when polarities are reversed as described in claim 1 rejection and below).
Kang does not explicitly disclose that the negative electrode active material layer includes a first negative electrode active material layer on a first surface of the negative electrode current collector, and a second negative electrode active material layer on a second surface of the negative electrode current collector opposite the first surface.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kang’s electrode assembly by reversing the polarity assignment of the first and second electrode plates. Kang explicitly teaches that the first electrode plate 24 generally may be used as a negative electrode plate and the second electrode plate 28 may be used as a positive plate (see e.g. “Generally, the first electrode plate 24 may also be used as a negative electrode plate.” In paragraph [0034] and “The second electrode plate 28 that may be used as a positive plat “in paragraph [0035]). Kang also discloses that changes may be made to the example embodiment made by the disclosure without departing from the principles and spirit of the invention (see e.g. paragraph [044]). Such a reversal would not alter the underlying structure or function of the electrode assembly and would simply reassign the existing folded portion (27a) to the negative electrode current collector instead of the positive. Because of this it would have been an obvious design choice to reverse the electrode polarity assignment in Kang based on the desired battery and application, thereby resulting in a structure in which the negative electrode active material is on both a first and second surface of the negative electrode current collector.
Kang does not explicitly disclose that a length of the first negative electrode active material layer is greater than a length of the second negative electrode active material layer.
Kang, however, does disclose that the second uncoated positive electrode portion 27 may vary in length (see e.g. “To this end, the second electrode uncoated portion 27 may be 5 to 15 mm in length (L)” in paragraph [0041] and part number (L) in FIG. 2). It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that changing the length of the uncoated portion on one end of the positive electrode current collector directly impacts the corresponding length of the coated (active material) portion. That is, decreasing the uncoated length necessarily lengthens the active material layer on that end, and vice versa.
As such, the length of the active material layers on opposing sides of the electrode is a result-effective variable that is inherently adjusted when modifying the uncoated portions. Based on the teachings of Kang, it would have been a predictable design choice to configure the electrode such that one active material layer is longer than the other, depending on desired electrical performance, electrode stability, or tab placement.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kang’s electrode assembly by reversing the polarity assignment of the first and second electrode plates. Kang explicitly teaches that the first electrode plate 24 generally may be used as a negative electrode plate and the second electrode plate 28 may be used as a positive plate (see e.g. “Generally, the first electrode plate 24 may also be used as a negative electrode plate.” In paragraph [0034] and “The second electrode plate 28 that may be used as a positive plat” in paragraph [0035]). Kang also discloses that changes may be made to the example embodiment made by the disclosure without departing from the principles and spirit of the invention (see e.g. paragraph [044]). Such a reversal would not alter the underlying structure or function of the electrode assembly and would simply reassign the existing folded portion (27a) to the negative electrode current collector instead of the positive. Because of this it would have been an obvious design choice to reverse the electrode polarity assignment in Kang based on the desired battery and application, thereby resulting in a structure in which the length of the first negative electrode active material is greater than a length of the second negative electrode active material.
(Kang, figure 2, annotated for illustration with reversed electrode polarities)
Regarding Claim 6, Kang discloses the electrode assembly of claim 5 (see e.g. claim 5 rejection above).
Kang further discloses that a distance between an end of the first positive electrode active material layer and an end of the electrode assembly is smaller than a distance between an end of the negative electrode active material layer and the end of the electrode assembly (see e.g. FIG. 2 and annotated figure below; annotated figure shows the case when polarities are reversed as described in claim 1 rejection and below).
Kang does not explicitly disclose that a distance between an end of the first negative electrode active material layer and an end of the electrode assembly is smaller than a distance between an end of the positive electrode active material layer and the end of the electrode assembly, and a distance between an end of the second negative electrode active material layer and the end of the electrode assembly is greater than the distance between the end of the positive electrode active material layer and the end of the electrode assembly.
Kang, however, does disclose that the second uncoated positive electrode portion 27 may vary in length (see e.g. “To this end, the second electrode uncoated portion 27 may be 5 to 15 mm in length (L)” in paragraph [0041] and part number (L) in FIG. 2). It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that changing the length of the uncoated portion on one end of the positive electrode current collector directly impacts the corresponding length of the coated (active material) portion. That is, decreasing the uncoated length necessarily lengthens the active material layer on that end, and vice versa. Thus, Kang implicitly discloses that the second positive electrode active material layer and the end of the electrode assembly can be greater than the distance between the end of the negative electrode active material layer and the end of the electrode assembly depending on the desired length of second electrode uncoated portion which is determined based on the desired properties of the electrode unit (see annotated figure below).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kang’s electrode assembly by reversing the polarity assignment of the first and second electrode plates. Kang explicitly teaches that the first electrode plate 24 generally may be used as a negative electrode plate and the second electrode plate 28 may be used as a positive plate (see e.g. “Generally, the first electrode plate 24 may also be used as a negative electrode plate.” In paragraph [0034] and “The second electrode plate 28 that may be used as a positive plat” in paragraph [0035]). Kang also discloses that changes may be made to the example embodiment made by the disclosure without departing from the principles and spirit of the invention (see e.g. paragraph [044]). Such a reversal would not alter the underlying structure or function of the electrode assembly and would simply reassign the existing folded portion (27a) to the negative electrode current collector instead of the positive. Because of this it would have been an obvious design choice to reverse the electrode polarity assignment in Kang based on the desired battery and application, thereby resulting in a structure in which a distance between an end of the first negative electrode active material layer and an end of the electrode assembly is smaller than a distance between an end of the positive electrode active material layer and the end of the electrode assembly, and wherein a distance between an end of the second negative electrode active material layer and the end of the electrode assembly is greater than the distance between the end of the positive electrode active material layer and the end of the
electrode assembly as described above.
(Kang, figure 2, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 7, Kang discloses the electrode assembly of claim 6 (see e.g. claim 6 rejection above).
Kang further discloses that the disconnection preventing layer is located on the second surface of the positive electrode current collector, and wherein the disconnection preventing layer is spaced apart from the second positive electrode active material layer by a predetermined distance (see e.g. part number 27a in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below; annotated figure shows the case when polarities are reversed as described in claim 1 rejection and below).
Kang does not disclose that the disconnection preventing layer is located on the second surface of the negative electrode current collector, and wherein the disconnection preventing layer is spaced apart from the second negative electrode active material layer by a predetermined distance.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kang’s electrode assembly by reversing the polarity assignment of the first and second electrode plates. Kang explicitly teaches that the first electrode plate 24 generally may be used as a negative electrode plate and the second electrode plate 28 may be used as a positive plate (see e.g. “Generally, the first electrode plate 24 may also be used as a negative electrode plate.” In paragraph [0034] and “The second electrode plate 28 that may be used as a positive plat” in paragraph [0035]). Kang also discloses that changes may be made to the example embodiment made by the disclosure without departing from the principles and spirit of the invention (see e.g. paragraph [044]). Such a reversal would not alter the underlying structure or function of the electrode assembly and would simply reassign the existing folded portion (27a) to the negative electrode current collector instead of the positive. Because of this it would have been an obvious design choice to reverse the electrode polarity assignment in Kang based on the desired battery and application, thereby resulting in a structure in which the disconnection preventing layer is located on the second surface of the negative electrode current collector (instead of the second surface of the positive electrode current collector), and wherein the disconnection preventing layer is spaced apart from the second negative electrode active material layer (instead of the second positive electrode active material layer) by a predetermined distance.
(Kang, figure 2, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 8, Regarding Claim 8, Kang discloses the electrode assembly of claim 7 (see e.g. claim 7 rejection below).
Kang further discloses that a distance between the welded portion and the end of the electrode assembly is greater than the distance between the end of the negative electrode active material layer and the end of the electrode assembly (see e.g. FIG. 2 and annotated figure below; annotated figure shows the case when polarities are reversed as described in claim 1 rejection and below).
Kang does not disclose that the distance between the welded portion and the end of the electrode assembly is greater than the distance between the end of the positive electrode active material layer and the end of the electrode assembly.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kang’s electrode assembly by reversing the polarity assignment of the first and second electrode plates. Kang explicitly teaches that the first electrode plate 24 generally may be used as a negative electrode plate and the second electrode plate 28 may be used as a positive plate (see e.g. “Generally, the first electrode plate 24 may also be used as a negative electrode plate.” In paragraph [0034] and “The second electrode plate 28 that may be used as a positive plat” in paragraph [0035]). Kang also discloses that changes may be made to the example embodiment made by the disclosure without departing from the principles and spirit of the invention (see e.g. paragraph [044]). Such a reversal would not alter the underlying structure or function of the electrode assembly and would simply reassign the existing folded portion (27a) to the negative electrode current collector instead of the positive. Because of this it would have been an obvious design choice to reverse the electrode polarity assignment in Kang based on the desired battery and application, thereby resulting in a structure in which the distance between the welded portion and the end of the electrode assembly is greater than the distance between the end of the positive electrode active material layer and the end of the electrode assembly.
(Kang, figure 2, annotated for illustration)
Regarding Claim 9, Kang discloses an electrode assembly (see e.g. "electrode unit" in Abstract and FIG. 2) comprising:
a positive electrode (see e.g. "positive electrode plate" in paragraph [0003] and part number 28 in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below);
a negative electrode (see e.g. "negative electrode plate" in paragraph [0003] and part number 24 in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below); and
a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (see e.g. "a separator interposed therebetween" in paragraph [0003] and part number 30 in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below) and
a bonding portion (see e.g. "insulating tape 31" in paragraph [0041] and part number 31 in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below);
wherein the positive electrode includes a positive electrode active material layer located on a positive electrode current collector (see e.g. "A second electrode coated portion 25 coated with a second electrode compound material containing a second electrode active material is formed on at least one side of the second electrode collector 26" in paragraph [0035] and part number 25 in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below), and the negative electrode includes a negative electrode active material layer located on a negative electrode current collector (see e.g. " A first electrode coated portion 21 coated with a first electrode compound material containing a first electrode active material is formed on at least one side of the first electrode collector 22." in paragraph [0034] and part number 25 in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below),
wherein a non-coated part is located at an edge of the positive electrode current collector (see e.g. part number 27 in FIG 2 and annotated figure below), and
wherein a disconnection preventing layer is located at the positive electrode current collector (see e.g. part number 27a in FIG. 2), the disconnection preventing layer extending from an external side of the non-coated part, and the disconnecting preventing layer is bent to overlap a portion of the non-coated part so that a first surface of the disconnection preventing layer faces a first surface of the non-coated part (see e.g. part number 27a in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below).
Kang does not explicitly disclose the disconnection preventing layer as being located on the negative electrode current collector, as required by claim 9.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kang’s electrode assembly by reversing the polarity assignment of the first and second electrode plates. Kang explicitly teaches that the first electrode plate 24 generally may be used as a negative electrode plate and the second electrode plate 28 may be used as a positive plate (see e.g. “Generally, the first electrode plate 24 may also be used as a negative electrode plate.” In paragraph [0034] and “The second electrode plate 28 that may be used as a positive plat” in paragraph [0035]). Kang also discloses that changes may be made to the example embodiment made by the disclosure without departing from the principles and spirit of the invention (see e.g. paragraph [044]). Such a reversal would not alter the underlying structure or function of the electrode assembly and would simply reassign the existing folded portion (27a) to the negative electrode current collector instead of the positive. Because of this it would have been an obvious design choice to reverse the electrode polarity assignment in Kang based on the desired battery and application, thereby resulting in a structure in which the disconnection preventing layer (folded portion) is located on the negative electrode current collector.
Kang further discloses that the electrode assembly comprises a bonding portion located between the first surface of the non-coated part and the first surface of the disconnection preventing layer (see e.g. "insulating tape 31" in paragraph [0041] and part number 31 in FIG. 2 and annotated figure below).
Once again, Kang does not explicitly disclose that this occurs on the negative current collector. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kang’s electrode assembly by reversing the polarity assignment of the first and second electrode plates. Kang explicitly teaches that the first electrode plate 24 generally may be used as a negative electrode plate and the second electrode plate 28 may be used as a positive plate (see e.g. “Generally, the first electrode plate 24 may also be used as a negative electrode plate.” In paragraph [0034] and “The second electrode plate 28 that may be used as a positive plat” in paragraph [0035]). Kang also discloses that changes may be made to the example embodiment made by the disclosure without departing from the principles and spirit of the invention (see e.g. paragraph [044]). Such a reversal would not alter the underlying structure or function of the electrode assembly and would simply reassign the existing folded portion (27a) to the negative electrode current collector instead of the positive. Because of this it would have been an obvious design choice to reverse the electrode polarity assignment in Kang based on the desired battery and application, thereby resulting in a structure in which the bonding portion is formed between the non-coated part and the disconnection preventing layer of the
negative current collector.
(Kang, figures 2 and 3, annotated for illustration with reversed electrode polarities)
Conclusion
/J.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TONG GUO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723