DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13 and 18-20 in the reply filed on 7/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the “beer transforms into a spirit” and claim 18 recites “transforms the beer”. However, it is unclear how the beer is transformed (i.e., what physical parameters).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent No. 5,695,795 (MURRAY) in view of Rodrigues, et al., Probing beer aging chemistry by nuclear magnetic resonance and multivariate analysis, Analytica Chimica Acta (2011, pg. 178-187 (RODRIGUES).
MURRAY teaches a method for converting beer into spirits, comprising: producing a beer (col. 6, lines 55-60). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to keep the beer in a tank. Moreover, the process of producing and finish the beer would naturally introduce oxygen into the product.
MURAY teaches that it is desirable to accelerate the aging of the beer (col. 8, lines 20-25).
The composition can be chilled in a range of -2°C to -5°C for a chill period (col. 15, lines 5-10). This overlaps that claimed.
The product can then be filtered (col. 16, lines 35-40). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to pump the resulting liquid through a filtration system.
As to the alcohol content of the beer, MURRAY teach the use of high gravity beers (col. 8, lines 64-67) but does not recite the alcohol content of the beer. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide a beer with a varying alcohol content.
MURRAY does not teach treating/aging the beer at 45-50oC.
However, RODRIGUES teaches that beer can be aged 45°C for up to 18 days (see pg. 179, Section 2.1). This changes the flavor profile of the beer. The following aging stages were characterized by gradually more marked decreases in GABA, unknowns 1 and 7 and ratio linear/branched dextrins and increases in 5-HMF, acetic, pyruvic and succinic acids and unknowns 3, 5 and 6. In addition, over-aged beer (days 13 and 18) shows an inversion of the increasing trend for acetic, pyruvic and succinic acids and unknown 3 (See Conclusion).
Thus, it would have been obvious to age the beer to 45°C for up to 18 days to obtain the desired flavor compounds.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-13, 18-20 are free of prior art. While the prior art teaches accelerated aging of beer (e.g., Rodrigues) and chill treating such beverages (e.g., MURRAY), the prior art does not teach converting beer into spirits by introducing ultra-high gravity beer between 24% and 54% alcohol by volume; diluting the ultra-high gravity beer to the beer at 21% alcohol by volume by adding a deaerated liquid to the ultra-high gravity beer, introducing the a beer into an aging tank and maintain the temperature, introducing oxygen into the beer while inside the tank, wherein during the aging period the beer transforms into a spirit, and chilling the spirit as claimed.
Conclusion
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791