DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arndt et al (US. Pat. App. Pub. 2021/0345659).
Regarding independent claim 1, and dependent claims 7 and 12, Arndt et al discloses an aerosol-generating article (read: heat-not-burn article) which comprises an aerosol-generating substrate (1020) (read: inner core). The substrate may comprise one or more sheets of homogenized plant material in the form of one or more gathered sheets. Arndt et al clearly teaches that the term “gathered” means that the sheet(s) of homogenized plant material is “compressed” into the form of a plug or rod (read: compressed rod). It further teaches that the homogenized plant material may comprise up to 92 percent weight of Cannabis particles (read: cannabis-based material) on a dry weight bases (see abstract, paras. [0094],[0137]) (corresponding to the claimed “[a] heat-not-burn article comprising: an inner core comprising at least one compressed rod of cannabis-based material”; and the “wherein the heat-not-burn article has a total cannabis content of at least about 90%” recitation of claim 12).
Arndt et al further discloses that the sheet(s) of homogenized plant material may then be circumscribed with a wrapper (1060) to form a continuous rod or plug. The wrapper may be a paper wrapper, but it may also be a non-paper wrapper such as a sheet of homogenized tobacco material (read: plant-based material) (see para. [0140]) (corresponding to the claimed “an outer sheath comprising a sheet of plant-based material, the outer sheath receiving the inner core therein”; and the “wherein the inner core is substantially encased in the outer sheath” recitation of claim 7).
Regarding claim 2, Arndt et al states that its aerosol-generating substrate, in the form of a compressed homogenized plant sheet material may be produced by dough reconstitution (see para. [0167], [0188] - which means that the cannabis-based aerosol-generating substrate sheet material would comprise “reconstituted cannabis material” (corresponding to the claimed wherein the cannabis-based material comprises reconstituted cannabis material”).
Regarding claim 3, Arndt et al discloses that its aerosol-forming substrate sheet may be cut into strips to form the compressed rod (see para. [0124],[0190]) (corresponding to the claimed “wherein the reconstituted cannabis material is in the form of a plurality of strips of a reconstituted cannabis sheet”).
Regarding claim 4, Arndt et al discloses that its cannabis content is based in a dry weight basis, which indicates that the cannabis plant material is, in fact, dry (i.e., dried) (corresponding to the claimed “wherein the cannabis-based material comprises dried cannabis plant matter”).
Regarding claim 6, Arndt et al discloses that its homogenized plant material (sheet) may further include fibers to alter the mechanical properties, including cellulose fibers (read: cellulosic material) (see para. [0111]) (corresponding to the claimed “wherein the sheet of plant-based material comprises cellulosic material”).
Regarding claim 8, since Arndt et al discloses that its sheet(s) of homogenized plant material is “circumscribed” with the wrapper, and further indicates, as seen in Fig. 1, the wrapper (1060) enables the coaxial alignment of the aerosol-generating substrate (1020) with the other article elements (1030,1040) (see para. [0251]). This indicates that the wrapper, in essence, forms a “receptable” in which the compressed/gathered sheet (read: rod) is “sealed within” (corresponding to the claimed “wherein the sheet of plant-based material is formed into a receptacle and the at least one rod is sealed within the receptacle”).
Regarding claim 9, Arndt et al discloses that its aerosol-generating substrate/sheet (read: cannabis-based material) may include additives (see para. [0253]) (corresponding to the claimed “wherein the cannabis-based material comprises at least one additive”).
Regarding claims 10-11, Arndt et al discloses that its aerosol-generating substate/sheet may include at least 1 microgram of beta-caryophyllene per gram of aerosol-generating substrate, on a dry weight basis (see abstract) (corresponding to the “wherein the at least one additive comprises at least one of…a terpene” recitation of claim 10; and the “wherein the terpene comprises …beta-caryophyllene” recitation of claim 11).
Regarding claim 13, Arndt et al discloses its aerosol-generating article (1000) which comprises, in addition to the aerosol-generating substrate (1020) (read: a first rod), an additional hollow cellulose acetate tube (1030), a spacer element (1040) and a mouthpiece filter (1050) (read: second rod) - each of which elements are clearly axially aligned with and abutting one another (read: end-to-end formation) (see Fig. 1, para. [0251]) (corresponding to the claimed “wherein the at least one rod comprises a first rod and a second rod, the first rod and the second rod being approximately axially aligned in an end-to-end formation”).
Regarding claim 14, as disclosed above, the aerosol-generating article (1020) (read: a first rod) may be comprised of cannabis material (read: a first chemical composition), and Arndt et al discloses that its hollow tube (1030) (read: a second rod) may be comprised of cellulose acetate (read: a second chemical composition”) (corresponding to the claimed “wherein the first rod comprises a first chemical composition and the second rod comprises a second chemical composition, the first chemical composition being different from the second chemical composition”).
Regarding claim 15, that which is circumscribed by the wrapper (1060) (read: inner core) includes the hollow tube (1030) which lies in an end-to-end relationship with the aerosol-generating substrate (1020) (read: rod). Since the hollow tube (1030) is made out of cellulose acetate (a filtering material), it may be properly asserted that the hollow tube (1030) serves as a “filter” (corresponding to the claimed “wherein the inner core further comprises a filter, the filter and the at least one rod being approximately axially aligned in an end-to-end formation”).
Regarding claim 16, Arndt et al discloses that a heating element may be inserted into the aerosol-generating substrate (1020) (see para. [0194]). This infers that there is inherently a “recess” to receive such a heating element at an end of the aerosol-generating substrate (1020) (corresponding to the claimed “wherein each rod of the at least one rod has a first end and a second end and wherein at least one of the first end and the second end defined a recess to receive a heating element of a heat-not-burn device therein”).
Regarding independent claim 17, and dependent claim 20, as stated above, Arndt et al discloses an aerosol-generating article and, inherently, discloses a method of making the same in that Arndt et al teaches an aerosol-generating article (read: heat-not-burn article) which comprises an aerosol-generating substrate (1020) (read: inner core). The substrate may comprise one or more sheets of homogenized plant material in the form of one or more gathered sheets. Arndt et al clearly teaches that the term “gathered” means that the sheet(s) of homogenized plant material is “compressed” into the form of a plug or rod (read: compressed rod). It further teaches that the homogenized plant material may comprise up to 92 percent weight of Cannabis particles (read: cannabis-based material) on a dry weight bases (see abstract, paras. [0094],[0137]) (corresponding to the claimed “[a] method for making heat-not-burn article, the method comprising: providing at least one compressed rod comprising cannabis-based material”).
Arndt et al further discloses that the sheet(s) of homogenized plant material may then be circumscribed with a wrapper (1060) to form a continuous rod or plug. The wrapper may be a paper wrapper, but it may also be a non-paper wrapper such as a sheet of homogenized tobacco material (read: plant-based material) (see para. [0140]) (corresponding to the claimed “providing a sheet comprising plant-based material; and wrapping the at least one rod in the sheet”; and the “wherein wrapping the at least one rod in the sheet comprises substantially encasing the at least one rod in the sheet”).
Regarding claim 18, Arndt et al states that its aerosol-generating substrate, in the form of a compressed homogenized plant sheet material may be produced by dough reconstitution (see para. [0167], [0188] - which means that the cannabis-based aerosol-generating substrate sheet material would comprise “reconstituted cannabis material”. Further, Arndt et al discloses that its aerosol-forming substrate sheet may be cut into strips to form the compressed rod (see para. [0124],[0190]) (corresponding to the claimed “wherein providing the at least one rod comprises: providing reconstituted cannabis material; shredding the reconstituted cannabis material into a plurality of strips; and compressing the plurality of strips to form the at least one rod”).
Regarding claim 19, Arndt et al discloses that its aerosol-generating substrate/sheet (read: reconstituted cannabis-based material) may include additives (see para. [0253]) (corresponding to the claimed “wherein providing the reconstituted cannabis material further comprises infusing the reconstituted cannabis material with at least one additive”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arndt et al (US. Pat. App. Pub. 2021/0345659).
Regarding claim 5, since Arndt et al discloses that its wrapper (1060) can be a non-paper wrapper (para. [0140]), and also discloses the use of sheets of reconstituted cannabis (as stated above), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have opted to use, as the material of construction for the wrapper (1060), reconstituted cannabis sheet(s), as such material is already envisioned for use in the article of Arndt et al (corresponding to the claimed “wherein the sheet of plant-based material comprises reconstituted cannabis material”).
Conclusion
/DIONNE W. MAYES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747