DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendments received in the Remarks on November 11th, 2025:
Claims 1-4 are pending in the current office action and claim 1 has been amended.
Claim 1 has been amended to specify the lithium-transition metal composite oxide has “a single-phase”.
Status of Objections and Rejections from the Office Action of August 12th, 2025:
The previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C 103 have been overcome in view of the amendments received in the Remarks filed on November 11th, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 specifies the lithium-transition metal composite oxide has “a single-phase” rock-salt structure, the limitation “single-phase” does not seem to be cited nor referenced within the instant specification, closest mention is in regards to the space group, wherein the lithium-transition metal composite oxide has a rock-salt crystal structure belonging to the space group Fm-3m [instant specification, 0006 & 0025] and there is no such reference to the citation of this added material within the Remarks received on November 11th, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ceder et al, US 20190088945 A1 (as cited in the IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Ceder teaches a positive electrode material including a lithium metal oxide or oxyfluoride [Ceder, 0014], wherein the lithium metal oxide or oxyfluoride have a general formula of LixM’aM”bO2-yFy, having a rock-salt structure, may be defined as 1.09 ≤x≤ 1.35, 0.1 ≤a≤ 0.7, 0.1 ≤b≤ 0.7 and 0 ≤y≤ 0.7, and M’ may be selected from the group including Mn2+, Fe2+, Co2+, Ni2+, and combinations thereof and M” is selected from the group including V3+, V4+, Mo4+, Mo5+, and combinations thereof [Ceder, 0010]. The lithium metal oxides or oxyfluorides belong to the crystallographic space group Fm-3m [Ceder, 0011], and have an a-lattice constant between 4.10 Å and 4.30 Å [Ceder, 0067]. However, Ceder is silent to teach the lithium metal oxides or oxyfluoride having a single-phase.
Moreover, according to MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir.1990).
While Ceder does not explicitly teaches the lithium metal oxides or oxyfluoride having a single-phase rock-salt crystal structure, Ceder teaches the lithium metal oxides or oxyfluorides taught have a disordered rock-salt structure characterized by a crystallographic space group Fm-3m [Ceder, 0011], and mentions not other crystallographic space group. Further, figures 11A and 11B show the x-ray diffraction patterns (XRD) and scanning electron microscopy (SEM) images of compounds LR-LMVO, Li1.2Mn0.2V0.6O2, and LR-LMVF20, Li1.23Mn0.255V0.515O1.8 F0.2, reveal the products are phase pure disordered rock-salt [Ceder, 0056] and figure 6 shows the XRD patterns of inventive LMV1 through LMV4 compounds [Ceder, 0050], and confirms that each are phase pure products [Ceder, 0096]. Moreover, Ceder teaches the lithium metal oxide or oxyfluoride have a general formula of LixM’aM”bO2-yFy, having a rock-salt structure, may be defined as 1.09 ≤x≤ 1.35, 0.1 ≤a≤ 0.7, 0.1 ≤b≤ 0.7 and 0 ≤y≤ 0.7, and M’ may be selected from the group including Mn2+, Fe2+, Co2+, Ni2+, and combinations thereof and M” is selected from the group including V3+, V4+, Mo4+, Mo5+, and combinations thereof [Ceder, 0010], wherein according to the instant specification, the positive electrode active material includes a lithium-transition metal composite oxide having a crystal structure belonging to a space group Fm-3m and represented by the compositional formula LixMnyMaObFc, wherein M is at least one metal element excluding Mn, x+y+a=b+c=2, 1 <x≤ 1.35, 0.4 ≤y≤ 0.9, 0 ≤a≤0.2, 1.3 ≤b≤1.8 [instant specification, 0023].
Therefore, based on MPEP 2112.01, Part II, "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Thus the lithium metal oxides or oxyfluorides taught by Ceder should inherently be a single-phase rock-salt structure.
Regarding Claim 2, Ceder teaches the positive electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the lithium metal oxide or oxyfluoride have a general formula of LixM’aM”bO2-yFy, and x, representing the compositional ratio of Li and is defined by 1.09 ≤x≤1.35 [Ceder, 0010], satisfying the claimed requirement of 1.1 ≤x≤ 1.35.
Regarding Claim 3, Ceder teaches the positive electrode active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the lithium metal oxide or oxyfluoride have a general formula of LixM’aM”bO2-yFy, and M”b is a high-valent transition metal [Ceder, 0012], and is selected from V3+, V4+, Mo4+, Mo5+, and combinations thereof [Ceder, 0013].
Regarding Claim 4, Ceder teaches a lithium-ion battery comprising a negative electrode material, and electrolyte and a positive electrode material [Ceder, 0037], wherein the positive electrode material comprises a lithium metal oxide or oxyfluoride [Ceder, 0036], Further, examples 1 of Ceder teaches an ethylene carbonate (EC), and dimethyl carbonate (DMC) solution used as the electrolyte and a separator used in the assembly of a cell [Ceder, 0095], wherein according to the instant specification, ethylene carbonate (EC) and dimethyl carbonate (DMC), are used to prepare the non-aqueous electrolyte liquid [instant specification, 0039] and teaches the assembly includes the cathode film, corresponding to the positive electrode of the claim, electrolyte solution, separator and the Li metal, counter electrode [Ceder, 0095], corresponding to the negative electrode of the claim, indicating the separator is interposed between the positive electrode and negative electrode.
Conclusion
/LILIAN ALICE ODOM/Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722