DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2021/071497 filed 01/13/2021. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based on CN 202010036519.0 filed 01/14/2020 and CN 202010036500.6 filed 01/14/2020. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-6, 9-15 and 19-25 are pending. Claims 1 and 3 are amended. Claims 9-13 and 19-25 are withdrawn. Claims 7, 8 and 26 are cancelled.
Claims 1-6, 14 and 15 (claim set filed 03/11/2026) are examined on the merits herein.
Withdrawal of Rejections
The response and amendment filed on 03/11/2026 are acknowledged. All of the amendment and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed and considered.
For the purposes of clarity of the record, the reasons for the Examiner's withdrawal and/or maintaining if applicable, of the substantive or essential claim rejections are detailed directly below and/or in the Examiner's response to arguments section.
The previous claims 1-8, 14, 15 and 26 rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been withdrawn necessitated by amendment of claim 1.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the catalytic site A" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 6 depends on claim 5, depending on claim 1. Neither claim 5, not claim 1 recite “a catalytic site A”. It is not clear what catalytic site claim 6 is referring to. The scope and boundaries of claim 6 are not certain making claim 6 indefinite.
Maintained/Modified Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GenBank 1 (GenBank KMT22110.1, 2015 [retrieved on 01/13/2025]. Retrieved from the Internet:< isochorismatase-like protein [Clostridium cylindrosporum DSM 605] - Protein - NCBI>) in view of Rabinowitz (Rabinowitz and Pricer J. Biol. Chem., 1956, 218, 189-199 on record in IDS), GenBank 2 (GenBank AND39904.1, 2016 [retrieved on 11/30/2025]. Retrieved from the Internet <allantoinase [Cytobacillus oceanisediminis 2691] - Protein - NCBI>) and Percudani (WO 2007052326 A2).
Regarding claim 1, GenBank 1 provides sequence for isochorismatase-like protein from Clostridium cylindrosporum DSM 605 genome. The sequence from GenBank 1 is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:1 of the polypeptide A which is 4-ureido-5-carboxyimidazole amide hydrolase as described in the specification (paragraph 0070). Since GenBank 1 teaches polypeptide with the claimed sequence, this polypeptide will necessarily possess 4-ureido-5-carboxyimidazole amide hydrolase activity. MPEP 2112.01 states: “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.”
GenBank 1 does not teach a polypeptide B with SEQ ID NO: 103 and a composition comprising polypeptide A and polypeptide B.
Rabinowitz teaches purine fermentation by Clostridium cylindrosporum (Title). Rabinowitz describes degradation of xanthine to glycine, formic acid and ammonia by extracts of Clostridium cylindrosporum (p. 189, 1st paragraph and p. 190 – scheme). Rabinowitz mentions that another biochemical transformation of xanthine is to uric acid (p. 198, 2nd paragraph). Rabinowitz discloses that xanthine incubated with Clostridium cylindrosporum extracts is converted to 4-ureido-5- carboxyimidazole carboxylic acid and in vitro incubation of 4-ureido-5-carboxyimidazole carboxylic acid with the extracts of Clostridium cylindrosporum results in its degradation (hydrolysis) to 4-amino-5- imidazole carboxylic acid (p. 196, 3rd paragraph, pp. 198-199 - Summary). Rabinowitz mentions that hydrolysis to 4-ureido-5-carboxyimidazole carboxylic acid is similar to conversion of allantoin to allantoic acid (p. 198, 2nd paragraph). Thus, Rabinowitz indicated presence of enzymes in the xanthine degradation pathway catalyzing reaction of formation of 4-ureido-5-carboxyimidazole carboxylic acid from xanthine corresponding to reaction of instant polypeptide A and reaction of hydrolysis of 4-ureido-5-carboxyimidazole carboxylic acid to 4-amino-5- imidazole carboxylic acid corresponding to reaction of instant polypeptide B (p. 190, Scheme).
GenBank 2 teaches the sequence for allantoinase from Cytobacillus oceanisediminis 2691. That polypeptide has 100% identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 103 which is xanthine amide hydrolase as described in the specification (paragraph 0172). Since GenBank 2 teaches polypeptide with the claimed sequence, this polypeptide will necessarily possess xanthine amide hydrolase activity producing 4-ureido-5-carboxyimidazole carboxylic acid from xanthine.
Percudani teaches a pharmaceutical composition for treating uric acid related disorders by modulating uric acid conversion to allantoin (Abstract). Percudani describes oxidation of xanthine in the purine degradation pathway to uric acid by xanthine oxidase. The uric acid can be further oxidized to allantoin by urate oxidase in most mammals but not in humans. Humans do not have enzyme degrading uric acid and high level of uric acid (hyperuricemia) can lead to such condition as gout when crystals accumulate in joints (p. 1, lines 7-19). Percudani discloses two specific enzymes which can degrade uric acid to allantoin and describes that administration of these polypeptides together with urate oxidase can provide treatment of hyperuricemia (p. 3, lines 9-12, 22- 25). Percudani mentions that administration of these enzymes together provides more effective and safe treatment of hyperuricemia (p. 3, lines 23-25). Percudani teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising at least one of these polypeptides for treatment of uric acid related disorders (p. 4, lines 28-29).
First, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow teaching of Rabinowitz and identify the polypeptide of GenBank 1 teaching isolated from Clostridium cylindrosporum as the enzyme of the xanthine degradation pathway and confirm its enzymatic activity in vitro by hydrolysis of 4-ureido-5-carboxyimidazole carboxylic acid. One would have been motivated to do so since Rabinowitz identified intermediates in the xanthine degradation pathway in Clostridium cylindrosporum and measured hydrolysis of 4-ureido-5- carboxyimidazole carboxylic acid which is the inherent functional property of the polypeptide from GenBank 1 teaching isolated from the same species. A skilled artisan would have reasonably expected success in that because GenBank 1 and Rabinowitz teach the enzyme with the same activity.
Second, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify the polypeptide of GenBank 2 teaching as another enzyme of the xanthine degradation pathway, xanthine amide hydrolase, preceding the 4-ureido-5-carboxyimidazole amide hydrolase in the xanthine degradation pathway as was shown by Rabinowitz. One would have been motivated to do so since Rabinowitz identified intermediates in the xanthine degradation pathway and predicted presence of xanthine amide hydrolase producing in 4-ureido-5-carboxyimidazole carboxylic acid and having reaction similar to allantoin conversion to allantoic acid and xanthine amide hydrolase activity is the inherent functional property of the polypeptide from GenBank 2 identical to claimed polypeptide B and this polypeptide is referred as allantoinase in GenBank 2. A skilled artisan would have reasonably expected success in this combination because GenBank 1, GenBank 2 and Rabinowitz teach the enzymes with the same activities, GenBank 1 and GenBank 2 provided the sequences and Rabinowitz identified pathway and intermediates and described the instructions for the enzymatic reactions.
Third, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow teaching of Percudani and prepare pharmaceutical composition for treatment of uric acid related disorders such as gout as described by Percudani with the polypeptides from GenBank 1 and GenBank 2 which are involved in degradation of xanthine as taught by Rabinowitz. One would have been motivated to do so since GenBank 1 provides the sequence of the polypeptide catalyzing hydrolysis of 4-ureido-5-carboxyimidazole carboxylic acid, GenBank 2 provides the sequence of the polypeptide catalyzing production of 4-ureido-5-carboxyimidazole carboxylic acid from xanthine, Rabinowitz showed these activities to be involved in the degradation of xanthine and Percudani teaches that conversion of xanthine to uric acid leads to disorders such as gout and can be treated with removal of uric acid and hence hydrolysis of xanthine by the pathway described by Rabinowitz will decrease production of uric acid. Additionally, Percudani teaches that administration of the composition comprising three enzymes of the same pathway together leads to more efficient and safe treatment of hyperuricemia providing motivation to include both polypeptides of GenBank 1 and GenBank 2 in the composition to increase its efficacy. A skilled artisan would have reasonably expected success in this combination because GenBank 1, GenBank 2, Rabinowitz and Percudani teach enzymes involved in xanthine degradation.
Thus, GenBank 1, Rabinowitz, GenBank 2 and Percudani teachings render claim 1 obvious.
Regarding claims 2-6, claim 2 is directed to a catalytic site of the polypeptide A and claim 5 is directed to the binding site of the polypeptide A. Claims 2 and 5 recite the properties of the structure which is the polypeptide A with the SEQ ID NO:1. Claims 3 and 4 recite further limitation of claim 2 property and claim 6 recites further limitation for claim 5 property. Pursuant to MPEP 2112.01(I), where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Therefore, since the polypeptide of GenBank 1 teaching has the claimed structure, the polypeptide of the prior art inherently has property of a catalytic site including catalytic triads close to each other in spatial conformation further comprising a divalent metal ion and further comprising four amino acid residues coordinated with metal ion and the polypeptide of GenBank 1 teaching inherently has property of a binding site with the defined amino acid residues close to each other and the distance between the catalytic site and the binding site of not more than 5 angstroms. Thus, GenBank 1, Rabinowitz, GenBank 2 and Percudani teachings render claims 2-6 obvious.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, as described above, Percudani teaches a pharmaceutical composition for treating uric acid related disorders such as gout. Percudani discloses that humans do not have enzyme degrading uric acid and high level of uric acid (hyperuricemia) can lead to such condition as gout when crystals accumulate in joints (p. 1, lines 7-19). Percudani describes that uric acid is produced in purine degradation pathway from xanthine. Percudani discloses pharmaceutical composition comprising two specific enzymes which can degrade uric acid to allantoin and describes that administration of these polypeptides together with urate oxidase can provide treatment of hyperuricemia (p. 3, lines 9-12, 22- 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare pharmaceutical composition for treatment of gout as described by Percudani with the polypeptides from GenBank 1 and GenBank 2 which are involved in degradation of xanthine as taught by Rabinowitz. One would have been motivated to do so since GenBank 1 and GenBank 2 provide the sequences of hydrolases involved in degradation of xanthine as taught by Rabinowitz and Percudani teaches that conversion of xanthine to uric acid leads to disorders such as gout and hence hydrolysis of xanthine by the pathway described by Rabinowitz will decrease production of uric acid and prevent or treat gout disease. A skilled artisan would have reasonably expected success in this combination because GenBank 1, GenBank 2, Rabinowitz and Percudani teach enzymes involved in xanthine degradation. Thus, GenBank 1, Rabinowitz, GenBank 2 and Percudani teachings render claims 14 and 15 obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (addressing p. 6-9 of the Remarks) that combination of GenBank 1, Rabinowitz and GenBank 2 fails to teach or suggest the polypeptide composition of claim 1 and that there is no teaching or suggestion that would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to combine GenBank 1 and GenBank 2. Applicant further argues that Rabinowitz teaching does not provide connection between similar reactions of the hydrolysis to 4-ureido-5-imidazolecarboxylic acid and addition of another enzyme, xanthine amide hydrolase. These arguments are not persuasive because:
Current rejection is based on combination of prior art of GenBank 1, Rabinowitz, GenBank 2 and Percudani as described above. Although GenBank 1, Rabinowitz and GenBank 2 do not teach composition of polypeptides A and B, GenBank 1 and GenBank 2 teach sequences of polypeptides A and B and Rabinowitz teaches the xanthine degradation pathway including reactions catalyzed by the polypeptides A and B (p. 190, Scheme, pp. 198-199 – Summary). Percudani teaches composition comprising enzymes degrading uric acid, the product of xanthine oxidation, high levels of which result in hyperuricemia and lead to such condition as gout (p. 1, lines 7-19, p. 4, lines 28-29). That provides motivation to prepare composition for prevention or treatment of hyperuricemia related disorders such as gout that can reduce the amount of xanthine preventing it from being degraded to uric acid. Since Rabinowitz teaches pathway of xanthine hydrolysis and its intermediates suggesting presence of hydrolases for the specific steps of the pathway and GenBank 1 and GenBank 2 provide sequences for such enzymes, it provides motivation to include these hydrolases in the composition for prevention or treatment of hyperuricemia. Besides, Percudani mentions that administration of several enzymes of the same pathway together provides more effective and safe treatment of hyperuricemia (p. 3, lines 23-25) and that suggests to include both polypeptides of GenBank 1 and GenBank 2 in the composition to increase its efficacy in prevention or treatment of uric acid related disorders such as gout.
Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is maintained and modified.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 14 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18 and 19 of copending Application No. 17/793,014 in view of in view of GenBank 1 (GenBank KMT22110.1, 2015 [retrieved on 01/13/2025]. Retrieved from the Internet:< isochorismataselike protein [Clostridium cylindrosporum DSM 605] - Protein - NCBI>) and Rabinowitz (Rabinowitz and Pricer J. Biol. Chem., 1956, 218, 189-199 on record in IDS).
Claim 1 is directed to a polypeptide composition comprising polypeptide A and polypeptide B. Claims 14 and 15 are directed to a pharmaceutical composition comprising polypeptide composition of claim 1 used for prevention, intervention and/or treatment of gout.
Regarding claims 1, 14 and 15, reference claims 18 and 19 teach methods for treating gout comprising the polypeptide functional variant of amino acid sequence with SEQ ID NO:1 with xanthine amide hydrolase activity. The SEQ ID NO: 1 of reference application is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:103 for polypeptide B. Although the reference application teaches method of treatment, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the method of treatment requires the pharmaceutical composition.
The reference claims 18 and 19 do not teach the polypeptide A.
GenBank 1 teaches polypeptide from Clostridium cylindrosporum DSM 605 genome 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:1 of the instant polypeptide A. Since the Clostridium cylindrosporum polypeptide of GenBank 1 teaching has the identical structure to the claimed polypeptide A with SEQ ID NO:1, the polypeptide of the prior art inherently possesses the functional property, i.e. 4-ureido-5-carboxyimidazole amide hydrolase activity.
Rabinowitz teaches that xanthine incubated with Clostridium cylindrosporum extracts is converted to 4-ureido-5-carboxyimidazole carboxylic acid which is hydrolyzed to 4-amino-5-imidazole carboxylic acid (p. 196, 3rd paragraph, pp. 198-199 - Summary) and thus describes sequential reactions of the claimed polypeptide B with xanthine amide hydrolase activity and polypeptide A with 4-ureido-5- carboxyimidazole amide hydrolase activity in Clostridium cylindrosporum extracts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add polypeptide from GenBank 1 teaching to the pharmaceutical composition for treatment of gout based on method taught in the reference application. One would have been motivated to do so since GenBank 1 provides the sequence of the polypeptide catalyzing hydrolysis of 4- ureido-5-carboxyimidazole carboxylic acid and the reference application teaches method comprising polypeptide of the same pathway hydrolyzing xanthine as shown by Rabinowitz and resulting in production of 4-ureido-5-carboxyimidazole carboxylic acid and hence the combination of polypeptides will decrease production of uric acid from xanthine resulting in prevention or treatment of gout. A skilled artisan would have reasonably expected success in this combination because the reference application, GenBank 1 and Rabinowitz teach enzymes involved in xanthine degradation. Thus, combination of the reference claims 18 and 19, GenBank 1 and Rabinowitz renders claims 1, 14 and 15 obvious.
Regarding claims 2-6, claim 2 is directed to a catalytic site of the polypeptide A and claim 5 is directed to the binding site of the polypeptide A. Claims 2 and 5 recite the properties of the structure which is the polypeptide A with the SEQ ID NO:1. Claims 3 and 4 recite further limitation of claim 2 property and claim 6 recites further limitation for claim 5 property. Pursuant to MPEP 2112.01(I), where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Therefore, since the polypeptide of GenBank 1 teaching has the claimed structure, the polypeptide of the prior art inherently has property of a catalytic site including catalytic triads close to each other in spatial conformation further comprising a divalent metal ion and further comprising four amino acid residues coordinated with metal ion and the polypeptide of GenBank 1 teaching inherently has property of a binding site with the defined amino acid residues close to each other and the distance between the catalytic site and the binding site of not more than 5 angstroms. Thus, reference claims 18 and 19, GenBank 1 and Rabinowitz teachings render claims 2-6 obvious.
Therefore, since instant claims 1-6, 14 and 15 encompass the subject matter of the reference claims 18 and 19, they are rejected under obviousness double patenting.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant states (addressing p. 9 of the Remarks) that this is a provisional rejection and both applications are still pending and that the double patenting rejection will be addressed upon indication of allowability if necessary. The Applicant comment is acknowledged. The double patenting rejection is maintained and modified taking into consideration amendment of claims of both applications.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/L.G.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653