DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 6-7, and 12 are currently amended. Claims 1-12 are currently pending. Claims 1-12 are currently rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamen et al (US 20190167902 A1; hereafter Kamen) in view of Rosinko (US 20180021514 A1; hereafter Rosinko).
Regarding claim 1, Kamen discloses a medical device with a safety verification, comprising:
a remote device (remote interface 3604, [0454], fig. 39);
a functional device (infusion pump 3602, [0454], fig. 39), wherein the remote device establishes a communication with the functional device so that the functional device receives functional instructions from the remote device ([0453] the remote interface 3604 may be used for non safety critical inputs and viewing, for example, initiate commands (but not confirming them), entering information for the bolus calculator/wizard and viewing the calculations and recommended volume of infusible fluid to be delivered using the remote interface 3604, but not confirming the information/volume or instructing the infusion pump 3602 to deliver…changes to the time of day may be done through the remote interface 3604), the functional instructions include drug infusion instructions or non-infusion instructions ([0453] mentions initiating commands and entering information as examples of functional instructions); and
a safety verification module (mini-remote interface 3610, [0454]), after the safety verification module receives a verification instruction (step 4106, fig. 41, “user confirms on mini-remote interface”) that matches one of the functional instructions (step 4100, fig. 41, “user enters/changes safety critical settings and/or commands into remote interface), the functional device executes the functional instructions (step 4108 fig. 41, “setting/command communicated to the infusion pump and/or implemented into the system”).
Kamen is silent to the safety verification module installed in the functional device and the verification instruction includes a user's body movements configured to match the received functional instruction, wherein different functional instructions are matched by different verification instructions having different body movements.
Rosinko, in the art of insulin delivery devices, teaches a safety verification module (graphic user interface 60 having a touch sensitive screen 46, fig. 2, [0023]) installed in a functional device (pump 12, fig. 1, [0023] pump 12 includes a user interface) and the verification instruction includes a user's body movements configured to match the received functional instruction ([0035] the described confirmation procedures requiring a user to trace an icon related to the programmed parameter or providing another associative confirmation as described herein can be applied to any programming aspect of such a pump, including, for example, programming a basal rate, programming operation limits, such as, e.g., a maximum bolus amount, programming alerts and reminders, etc.), wherein different functional instructions are matched by different verification instructions having different body movements ([0030] In addition, in one embodiment the tracing pattern of each icon would be different from the tracing pattern of each other icon to further help avoid possible accidental confirmation.) ([0036] icons may be tapped in multiple spots instead of being traced) ([0037] rather than or in addition to tracing a pattern of an icon, a user can be required to make a gesture, movement, reorientation, etc. of the device to provide the confirmation as measured by, e.g., a gyroscope or accelerometer within the device. In one embodiment, a video or graphic can be displayed on the device instructing the user as to the specific, e.g., gesture, required to confirm a specific parameter.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the functional device/infusion pump 3602 to include the safety verification module/mini-remote interface 3610 of Kamen as taught by Rosinko’s pump 12 incorporating user interface 60 which is used to verify commands, and to modify the verification instruction of Kamen to be specific to the functional instruction, as taught by Rosinko [0030] and [0037], since both references deal with insulin delivery devices. One would have been motivated to make the modification because having the safety verification module included in the functional device ensures that the user of the functional device has access to and control of the safety verification module for improved security and, as noted by Rosinko [0030], having a different confirmation movement (tracing pattern) for each type of entry/instruction (each icon matches a type of entry) helps avoid possible accidental confirmation of an improper entry, which Rosinko [0029] notes “can lead to serious medical consequences”.
Regarding claim 2, Kamen modified by Rosinko discloses the medical device with the safety verification of claim 1, as described above, including wherein: the safety verification module includes a linear acceleration sensor or a gyroscope sensor (Rosinko: [0037] a user can be required to make a gesture, movement, reorientation, etc. of the device to provide the confirmation as measured by, e.g., a gyroscope or accelerometer within the device).
Regarding claim 4, Kamen modified by Rosinko discloses the medical device with the safety verification of claim 1, as described above. Kamen further discloses wherein: a drug includes insulin ([0453] the amount of infusible fluid (e.g., insulin) to deliver to the user), and one of the drug infusion instructions includes a basal insulin infusion instruction or a bolus insulin infusion instruction ([0453] commands may include the amount of infusible fluid (e.g. insulin) to be delivered to the user, the timing of delivery, and/or the command to deliver the infusible fluid to the user).
Regarding claim 5, Kamen modified by Rosinko discloses the medical device with the safety verification of claim 4, as described above. Kamen further discloses wherein: the non-infusion instructions include one of a start/stop instruction of the functional device ([0453] commands the command to deliver the infusible fluid to the user or to cancel delivery of infusible fluid), a function switching instruction, a function selection instruction, a data recording/display instruction, a failure detection instruction, a reconnection/disconnection instruction or a pairing instruction between the remote device and the functional device, or a combination of these said instructions.
Regarding claim 6, Kamen modified by Rosinko discloses the medical device with the safety verification of claim 5, as described above, including wherein: the body movements include one of jumping, squatting, leg movements, arm movements, taps on the functional device (Rosinko: [0036] the user may be required to touch the icon in a designated number of discrete locations without specific icons dictating the locations of those touches), bending over, torso twist, walking, or a combination of these said movements, and the verification instructions that match different functional instructions are not exactly the same (Rosinko: [0036] FIGS. 11A-11C therefore depict alternative icons for carbohydrate confirmation 144, BG level confirmation 152 and insulin bolus confirmation 160 according to embodiments of the present invention; [0037] In one embodiment, a video or graphic can be displayed on the device instructing the user as to the specific, e.g., gesture, required to confirm a specific parameter.).
Examiner further notes that another embodiment of Kamen teaches wherein a body movement may be taps ([0519] tapping on the device in specific codes may convey information) on the functional device ([0519] the infusion pump 1802, 19002 may include at least one accelerometer), further supporting the previously established modification of Kamen by Rosinko.
Regarding claim 7, Kamen discloses a method for a safety verification of a medical device, comprising:
providing a remote device (remote interface 3604, [0454], fig. 39), a functional device (infusion pump 3602, [0454], fig. 39), and a safety verification module (mini-remote interface 3610, [0454]), wherein the remote device establish a communication with the functional device ([0458] . For example, in some embodiments, the remote interface 3604 may communicate using a low power protocol radio with the infusion pump 3602),
a user operates the remote device to wirelessly send functional instructions (step 4100, fig. 41, “user enters/changes safety critical settings and/or commands into remote interface) to the functional device ([0453] the remote interface 3604 may be used for non safety critical inputs and viewing, for example, initiate commands (but not confirming them), entering information for the bolus calculator/wizard and viewing the calculations and recommended volume of infusible fluid to be delivered using the remote interface 3604, but not confirming the information/volume or instructing the infusion pump 3602 to deliver…changes to the time of day may be done through the remote interface 3604), the functional instructions include drug infusion instructions or non-infusion instructions ([0453] mentions initiating commands and entering information as examples of functional instructions);
the user sends a verification instruction (user input at step 4106, fig. 41, “user confirms on mini-remote interface”) that matches one of the functional instructions (step 4100, fig. 41, “user enters/changes safety critical settings and/or commands into remote interface) to the safety verification module (mini-remote interface 3610);
the safety verification module receives the verification instruction (mini-remote interface recognizes user input at step 4106, fig. 41, “user confirms on mini-remote interface”); and
the functional device executes the functional instructions (step 4108 fig. 41, “setting/command communicated to the infusion pump and/or implemented into the system”).
Kamen is silent to the safety verification module set in the functional device and the verification instruction includes a user's body movements configured to match the received functional instruction, wherein different functional instructions are matched by different verification instructions having different body movements.
Rosinko, in the art of insulin delivery devices, teaches wherein a safety verification module (graphic user interface 60 having a touch sensitive screen 46, fig. 2, [0023]) is set in the functional device (pump 12, fig. 1, [0023] pump 12 includes a user interface),
and the verification instruction includes a user's body movements configured to match the received functional instruction ([0035] the described confirmation procedures requiring a user to trace an icon related to the programmed parameter or providing another associative confirmation as described herein can be applied to any programming aspect of such a pump, including, for example, programming a basal rate, programming operation limits, such as, e.g., a maximum bolus amount, programming alerts and reminders, etc.), wherein different functional instructions are matched by different verification instructions having different body movements ([0030] In addition, in one embodiment the tracing pattern of each icon would be different from the tracing pattern of each other icon to further help avoid possible accidental confirmation.) ([0036] icons may be tapped in multiple spots instead of being traced) ([0037] rather than or in addition to tracing a pattern of an icon, a user can be required to make a gesture, movement, reorientation, etc. of the device to provide the confirmation as measured by, e.g., a gyroscope or accelerometer within the device. In one embodiment, a video or graphic can be displayed on the device instructing the user as to the specific, e.g., gesture, required to confirm a specific parameter.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the functional device/infusion pump 3602 to include the safety verification module/mini-remote interface 3610 of Kamen as taught by Rosinko’s pump 12 incorporating user interface 60 which is used to verify commands, and to modify the verification instruction of Kamen to be specific to the functional instruction, as taught by Rosinko [0030] and [0037], since both references deal with insulin delivery devices. One would have been motivated to make the modification because having the safety verification module included in the functional device ensures that the user of the functional device has access to and control of the safety verification module for improved security and, as noted by Rosinko [0030], having a different confirmation movement (tracing pattern) for each type of entry/instruction (each icon matches a type of entry) helps avoid possible accidental confirmation of an improper entry, which Rosinko [0029] notes “can lead to serious medical consequences”.
Regarding claim 8, Kamen modified by Rosinko discloses the method for the safety verification of the medical device of claim 7, as described above, including wherein: the safety verification module includes a linear acceleration sensor or a gyroscope sensor (Rosinko: [0037] a user can be required to make a gesture, movement, reorientation, etc. of the device to provide the confirmation as measured by, e.g., a gyroscope or accelerometer within the device).
Regarding claim 10, Kamen modified by Rosinko discloses the method for the safety verification of the medical device of claim 7, as described above. Kamen further discloses wherein: a drug includes insulin ([0453] the amount of infusible fluid (e.g., insulin) to deliver to the user), and the drug infusion instructions include a basal insulin infusion instruction or a bolus insulin infusion instruction ([0453] commands may include the amount of infusible fluid (e.g. insulin) to be delivered to the user, the timing of delivery, and/or the command to deliver the infusible fluid to the user).
Regarding claim 11, Kamen modified by Rosinko discloses the method for the safety verification of the medical device of claim 10, as described above. Kamen further discloses wherein: the non-infusion instructions include one of a start/stop instruction of the functional device ([0453] commands the command to deliver the infusible fluid to the user or to cancel delivery of infusible fluid), a function switching instruction, a function selection instruction, a data recording/display instruction, a failure detection instruction, a reconnection/disconnection instruction or a pairing instruction between the remote device and the functional device, or a combination of these said instructions.
Regarding claim 12, Kamen modified by Rosinko discloses the method for the safety verification of the medical device of claim 11, as described above, including wherein: the body movements include one of jumping, squatting, leg movements, arm movements, taps on the functional device (Rosinko: [0036] the user may be required to touch the icon in a designated number of discrete locations without specific icons dictating the locations of those touches), bending over, torso twist, walking, or a combination of these said movements, and the verification instructions that match different functional instructions are not exactly the same (Rosinko: [0036] FIGS. 11A-11C therefore depict alternative icons for carbohydrate confirmation 144, BG level confirmation 152 and insulin bolus confirmation 160 according to embodiments of the present invention; [0037] In one embodiment, a video or graphic can be displayed on the device instructing the user as to the specific, e.g., gesture, required to confirm a specific parameter.).
Examiner further notes that another embodiment of Kamen teaches wherein a body movement may be taps ([0519] tapping on the device in specific codes may convey information) on the functional device ([0519] the infusion pump 1802, 19002 may include at least one accelerometer), further supporting the previously established modification of Kamen by Rosinko.
Claim(s) 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamen modified by Rosinko and further in view of Pulliam et al (US 9782122 B1; hereafter Pulliam).
Regarding claim 3, Kamen modified by Rosinko discloses the medical device with the safety verification of claim 2, as described above.
Kamen and Rosinko are silent to the acceleration sensor being a three-axis linear acceleration sensor.
Pulliam, in the art of insulin infusion and measurement devices, teaches wherein: the linear acceleration sensor is a three-axis linear acceleration sensor (col. 21 ln. 35-36, preferably, the accelerometers are 3-axis accelerometers capable of measuring acceleration in all 3 axes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the linear acceleration sensor of Kamen modified by Rosinko to be a three-axis linear acceleration sensor as taught by Pulliam, since both deal with drug delivery and sensing patient movement. Using a three-axis acceleration sensor would be a simple substitution that would not detract from the device’s functionality. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as noted by Pulliam col. 21 ln. 35-36, the 3-axis accelerometer can measure acceleration in all three axes. This would allow the device of Yang to better monitor the position of the patient and determine the patient’s type of movement.
Regarding claim 9, Kamen modified by Rosinko discloses the method for the safety verification of the medical device of claim 8, as described above.
Kamen and Rosinko are silent to the acceleration sensor being a three-axis linear acceleration sensor.
Pulliam, in the art of insulin infusion and measurement devices, teaches wherein: the linear acceleration sensor is a three-axis linear acceleration sensor (col. 21 ln. 35-36, preferably, the accelerometers are 3-axis accelerometers capable of measuring acceleration in all 3 axes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the linear acceleration sensor of Kamen modified by Rosinko to be a three-axis linear acceleration sensor as taught by Pulliam, since both deal with drug delivery and sensing patient movement. Using a three-axis acceleration sensor would be a simple substitution that would not detract from the device’s functionality. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as noted by Pulliam col. 21 ln. 35-36, the 3-axis accelerometer can measure acceleration in all three axes. This would allow the device of Yang to better monitor the position of the patient and determine the patient’s type of movement.
Claim(s) 6 and 12 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamen modified by Rosinko and further in view of Yang et al (WO 2018058287 A1; hereafter Yang).
Alternatively, regarding claim 6, Kamen modified by Rosinko discloses the medical device with the safety verification of claim 5, as described above, including wherein: the verification instructions that match different functional instructions are not exactly the same (Rosinko: [0036] FIGS. 11A-11C therefore depict alternative icons for carbohydrate confirmation 144, BG level confirmation 152 and insulin bolus confirmation 160 according to embodiments of the present invention; [0037] In one embodiment, a video or graphic can be displayed on the device instructing the user as to the specific, e.g., gesture, required to confirm a specific parameter.).
Kamen and Rosinko are silent to the body movement being jumping, squatting, leg movements, arm movements, taps on the functional device, bending over, torso twist, walking, or a combination of these said movements.
Yang, in the art of drug delivery devices, teaches wherein the body movements include one of jumping, squatting (pg. 6 para. 3, authentication is a jumping or squatting linear movement made by the user, see fig. 7), leg movements, arm movements, taps on the functional device, bending over, torso twist (pg. 6 para. 3, authentication is a twisting movement like twisting her or his body clockwise, see fig. 8), walking, or a combination of these said movements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific body movement verification instructions of Kamen and Rosinko (which match specific functional instructions) to include jumping, squatting, and/or twisting as taught by Yang since Yang also deals with a drug delivery device. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as noted by Rosinko [0041] “complex confirmation procedures requiring more than a simple tap or press of the screen described herein provide the additional advantage of substantially reducing the possibility of an inadvertent confirmation occurring while the device is stored by the user” and Rosinko [0037] “In one embodiment, a video or graphic can be displayed on the device instructing the user as to the specific, e.g., gesture, required to confirm a specific parameter.” Thus, Rosinko motivates the inclusion of more complex specific gestures to confirm specific parameters. Incorporating a full body movement requires more muscles and would further differentiate different gestures.
Alternatively, regarding claim 12, Kamen modified by Rosinko discloses the method for the safety verification of the medical device of claim 11, as described above, including wherein: the verification instructions that match different functional instructions are not exactly the same (Rosinko: [0036] FIGS. 11A-11C therefore depict alternative icons for carbohydrate confirmation 144, BG level confirmation 152 and insulin bolus confirmation 160 according to embodiments of the present invention; [0037] In one embodiment, a video or graphic can be displayed on the device instructing the user as to the specific, e.g., gesture, required to confirm a specific parameter.).
Kamen and Rosinko are silent to the body movement being jumping, squatting, leg movements, arm movements, taps on the functional device, bending over, torso twist, walking, or a combination of these said movements.
Yang, in the art of drug delivery devices, teaches wherein the body movements include one of jumping, squatting (pg. 6 para. 3, authentication is a jumping or squatting linear movement made by the user, see fig. 7), leg movements, arm movements, taps on the functional device, bending over, torso twist (pg. 6 para. 3, authentication is a twisting movement like twisting her or his body clockwise, see fig. 8), walking, or a combination of these said movements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific body movement verification instructions of Kamen and Rosinko (which match specific functional instructions) to include jumping, squatting, and/or twisting as taught by Yang since Yang also deals with a drug delivery device. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as noted by Rosinko [0041] “complex confirmation procedures requiring more than a simple tap or press of the screen described herein provide the additional advantage of substantially reducing the possibility of an inadvertent confirmation occurring while the device is stored by the user” and Rosinko [0037] “In one embodiment, a video or graphic can be displayed on the device instructing the user as to the specific, e.g., gesture, required to confirm a specific parameter.” Thus, Rosinko motivates the inclusion of more complex specific gestures to confirm specific parameters. Incorporating a full body movement requires more muscles and would further differentiate different gestures.
Conclusion
/I.S.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 03/19/2026