DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 5 (in the last line of the claim), it is noted that the limitation 0.5Li2Mn0.98B0.02O2.95F0.05 * 0.5LiNi0.4Co0.4Mn0.22B0.02O1.95F0.05 lacks Ti. On the other hand, independent claim 1 (from which claim 5 depends) includes Ti, rendering the claim indefinite. In this instance, it is unclear whether or not Ti should be added to the last line of claim 5, or if independent claim 1 should have Ti removed from the compound. Correction and clarification are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 2015/0010823).
Regarding independent claim 1, as well as claim 16-18 dependent therefrom, Yu et al. disclose a lithium-rich manganese-based positive electrode material of a positive electrode plate used in a lithium-ion battery that is operable for use in an electric vehicle (abstract; paragraphs [0018]-[0038], [0050]-[0085], [0097], [0124], and [0136]-[0138]; and Figure 1), wherein the positive electrode material of the lithium-ion battery comprises a crystal structure (see paragraphs [0018]-[0030] and [0136]-[0138]) formed by the following formula (Chemical Formula 2, as disclosed in paragraphs [0018] and [0059]): LiaNibCocMndMeO2-fM’f (also see paragraphs [0018]-[0026] and [0059]-[0062]). Although the claimed values/ranges of x and v (wherein “v” is equivalent to “f” in Chemical Formula 2) within the parameters of 0.4 < x < 0.6 and 0.005 ≤ v ≤ 0.02 would be met by adjusting the percentages of the elemental compositions set forth in the claimed ranges of independent claim 1, it is noted that the claimed lower limits are “0” (zero) for α, µ, λ, α’, a, b, c, λ’, and v’, and thus do not require the presence of numerous elements as set by “0” (zero), including for four out of five variables in the formula α’ + a + b + c + λ’ = 1. In addition, Yu et al. disclose that M comprises at least one doping agent (see paragraph [0097]), including in the form of boron (B3+).
In view of the composition disclosed in (at least) paragraph [0018] of Yu et al., one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the values/ranges of “x” and “v” (“f”) in the parameters of 0.4 < x < 0.6 and 0.005 ≤ v ≤ 0.02, and in considering formula α’ + a + b + c + λ’ = 1, in the lithium-rich manganese-based positive electrode material used in a lithium-ion battery, would be obvious since these ranges would be readily contemplated by one of ordinary skill in the art. In this instance, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the obviousness of the above ranges of Ishikawa et al., as set forth in MPEP 2144.05. “In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980).
Regarding claim 3, Yu et al. disclose that M’ is an anion element of at least one of F-, S2-, Cl-, and/or Br- (see paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 4, Yu et al. disclose that the median diameter D50 of the lithium-rich manganese-based positive electrode material is between 2 µm and 20 µm, which totally encompasses the claimed range of 3 µm and 14 µm (see paragraph [0026]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach or suggest a lithium-rich manganese-based positive electrode material that includes all components of independent claim 1, and further comprising at least one of the following (of dependent claim 5):
0.5Li2Mn0.97Ti0.01B0.02O2.95F0.05 * 0.5LiNi0.4Co0.4Mn0.22B0.02O1.95F0.05 , or
0.5Li2Mn0.98B0.02O2.95F0.05 * 0.5LiNi0.4Co0.4Mn0.22B0.02O1.95F0.05.
Response to Arguments
The examiner acknowledges the applicants’ amendment provided with the request for continued examination received by the USPTO on March 2, 2026. The amendment overcomes the prior objection to the abstract. Although the applicants’ amendments to independent claim 1 overcome the prior 35 USC 103 rejection, a new 35 USC 103 rejection is provided for all claims of record (with the exception of claim 5 that is indicated as allowable subject matter in above sections 7 and 8) in view of the newly provided reference to Yu et al. (US 2015/0010823) – see above section 6. A new 35 USC 112(b) rejection is also raised (see above section 2). Claims 6-15 remain withdrawn from consideration as drawn to a non-elected invention. Claims 1, 3-5, and 16-18 remain under consideration in the application.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 4, and 16-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection includes a new reference to Yu et al. (US 2015/0010823) in the above 35 USC 103 rejection, and thus does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants' disclosure. US 2016/0133929 is also cited in PTO-892.
/KEVIN P KERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735 March 27, 2026