DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/27/2023, 3/3/2023, 5/14/2024, 5/15/2024, 9/18/2024, 2/19/2025 and 7/15 /2025 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on 8/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 19, 21, 23-24, 37, 39-42, 48-49 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (WO 2019/067737 A1) to Altman (hereinafter Altman).
Altman is directed toward methods of treating a leather substrate with a silk formulation. Altman discloses at page 8, line 5 that the coated materials include leather materials. Altman discloses at page 8, line 9 that the molecular average weight of the silk protein fragments are 5 kDa to about 144 kDa. Altman discloses at page 10, line 10 that the protein fragments have a polydispersity of about 1.5 to 3.0, which reads on Applicants range. Altman discloses at page 8, line 25 that the protein fragments have 0.10% to about 10% of sericin, which reads on Applicants same range. Altman discloses at page 10, line 11 that the silk protein does not gelate or change in color. Altman discloses at page 76, line 16 that the silk may be infused into the substrate. Altman discloses at page 232, line 10 that a rheological additive is listed. Altman discloses at page 120, line 26 that a defoaming agent may be added. Altman discloses at page 126, line 16 that a polyurethane is added. Altman discloses at page 55, line 4 that fibron is present from 1% to 10%, which reads on Applicants range of 0.1% to 15%. Altman discloses at page 274, line 33 that the method steps may further include dyeing. Altman discloses at page 207, line 19 that the coated leather article has improved colorfastness. Altman discloses each and every element of claims 19, 21, 23-24, 37, 39-42, 48-49 and 51.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 19, 21, 23-26, 28, 30-34, 36-37, 39-42, 48-49 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (WO 2019/067737 A1) to Altman (hereinafter Altman).
Altman is directed toward methods of treating a leather substrate with a silk formulation. Altman discloses at page 8, line 5 that the coated materials include leather materials. Altman discloses at page 8, line 9 that the molecular average weight of the silk protein fragments are 5 kDa to about 144 kDa. Altman discloses at page 10, line 10 that the protein fragments have a polydispersity of about 1.5 to 3.0, which reads on Applicants range. Altman discloses at page 8, line 25 that the protein fragments have 0.10% to about 10% of sericin, which reads on Applicants same range. Altman discloses at page 10, line 11 that the silk protein does not gelate or change in color. Altman discloses at page 76, line 16 that the silk may be infused into the substrate. Altman discloses at page 232, line 10 that a rheological additive is listed. Altman discloses at page 120, line 26 that a defoaming agent may be added. Altman discloses at page 126, line 16 that a polyurethane is added. Altman discloses at page 55, line 4 that fibron is present from 1% to 10%, which reads on Applicants range of 0.1% to 15%. Altman discloses at page 274, line 33 that the method steps may further include dyeing. Altman discloses at page 207, line 19 that the coated leather article has improved colorfastness.
Altman discloses at page 64, line 6 that the protein fragments may be mixed with a cellulose or a starch as a medical filler, which acts as a rheology modifier. One skilled in the art knows that coatings required proper rheology to coat properly and therefore it would be obvious to select a modifier from other silk coatings disclosed. Altman discloses at page 67, line 10 that a PEG chain may be included.
Altman discloses each and every element of claims 19, 21, 23-26, 28, 30-34, 36-37, 39-42, 48-49 and 51.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claim 27 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
11. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art did not teach a leather treatment including a gellan gum.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766