DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is responsive to the communication received 02/03/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse in the Reply filed on 02/03/2026 of Group I, Claim(s) 1-5, 9 and 31-32 is acknowledged.
Applicant has elected without traverse in the Reply filed on 02/03/2026 the following species:
A. wherein the second plurality of peptide constructs comprises variant peptides that differ from the second peptide by a single point mutation and each point mutation is a substitution with alanine (claims 1 and 3)
The Restriction/Election Requirements are deemed proper and are made FINAL.
Claims 1-5, 9, 11-13, 16, 20, 22, 24, 30-32, 35, 39, 44 and 48 are pending.
Claims 11-13, 16, 20, 22, 24, 30, 35, 39, 44 and 48 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the Reply filed on 02/03/2026.
Claims 1-5, 9 and 31-32 are under examination in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 9 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to nonstatutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception, an abstract idea involving mathematical concepts and mental processes, without significantly more. Claims 2-5, 9 and 31-32 depend directly or indirectly from claim 1.
The claim 1-2 and 31-32 limitations directed to an abstract idea involving mathematical concepts and mental processes identifying a first peptide having specific binding to the target molecule, the first peptide having an identified threshold z-score; and identifying at least one variant peptide with increased binding to the target molecule compared to the first peptide, wherein the identified at least one variant peptide has a z-score higher than the identified threshold z-score of the first peptide; wherein a second peptide is identified as having a z-score higher than the threshold z-score of the first peptide; wherein the identified at least one variant peptide has a z-score higher than the z-score of the second peptide; wherein the z-score of identified peptides is calculated according to a method comprising: determining a relative abundance level of each peptide constructs in the library of peptide constructs and/or the second library of peptide constructs; grouping peptide constructs into bins based on similarity of relative abundance level, wherein each bin comprises at least 300 peptide constructs; normalizing the relative abundance level of each peptide construct against the average of the relative abundance level of the negative control peptide constructs in the library of peptide constructs and/or the second library of peptide constructs to produce a normalized relative abundance level; and determinizing a mean and a standard deviation of the normalized relative abundance levels in each bin; calculating the z-score of each peptide construct based on the mean and the standard deviation of the normalized relative abundance levels in each bin; wherein the step of determinizing the mean and the standard deviation of the normalized relative abundance levels in each bin excludes peptide constructs having outlier relative abundance levels.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because data gathering steps required to use the correlation do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claim recites additional elements that consist of well understood, routine, conventional activity already engaged in by the scientific community.
The claim 1 limitations directed to well understood, routine, conventional activity already engaged in by the scientific community are a method of maturing a peptide library to improve binding to a target molecule, the method comprising: identifying a first peptide having specific binding to the target molecule; generating a library of peptide constructs based on the first peptide, the library of peptide constructs comprising: a peptide construct comprising the first peptide, and a plurality of peptide constructs comprising variant peptides that differ from the first peptide by a single point mutation and each point mutation is a substitution with alanine; and variant peptides that differ from the first peptide by a single point mutation and each point mutation is a substitution with glycine; contacting the target molecule with the library of peptide constructs; and identifying at least one variant peptide with increased binding to the target molecule compared to the first peptide.
Watt et al. (04/03/2008) US Patent Application Publication 2008/0081768 A1 cited in the 11/16/2022 IDS (hereinafter referred to as Watt) teaches a method of maturing a peptide library to improve binding to a target molecule, the method comprising: identifying a first peptide having specific binding to the target molecule; generating a library of peptide constructs based on the first peptide, the library of peptide constructs comprising: a peptide construct comprising the first peptide, and a plurality of peptide constructs comprising variant peptides that differ from the first peptide by a single point mutation and each point mutation is a substitution with alanine; and variant peptides that differ from the first peptide by a single point mutation and each point mutation is a substitution with glycine; contacting the target molecule with the library of peptide constructs; and identifying at least one variant peptide with increased binding to the target molecule compared to the first peptide (see [0046] to [0099], [0158] to [0201] and [0279] to [0281]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103(a)
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
5. Secondary considerations (objective evidence of nonobviousness): a) commercial success; b) long felt need; c) evidence of unexpected results; d) skepticism of experts; and e) copying.
Common Ownership of Claimed Invention Presumed
Claims 1-5, 9 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Watt et al. (04/03/2008) US Patent Application Publication 2008/0081768 A1 cited in the 11/16/2022 IDS (hereinafter referred to as Watt) in view of Sampson et al. (03/24/2011) US Patent Application Publication 2011/0071043 A1 cited in the 11/16/2022 IDS (hereinafter referred to as Sampson).
With regards to claims 1-5 and 9, Watt teaches:
a) as in claims 1-5 and 9, a method of maturing a peptide library to improve binding to a target molecule, the method comprising: identifying a first peptide having specific binding to the target molecule; generating a library of peptide constructs based on the first peptide, the library of peptide constructs comprising: a peptide construct comprising the first peptide, and a plurality of peptide constructs comprising variant peptides that differ from the first peptide by a single point mutation and each point mutation is a substitution with alanine; and variant peptides that differ from the first peptide by a single point mutation and each point mutation is a substitution with glycine; contacting the target molecule with the library of peptide constructs; and identifying at least one variant peptide with increased binding to the target molecule compared to the first peptide; the method further comprising: generating a second library of peptide constructs comprising: a peptide construct comprising the second peptide, and a second plurality of peptide constructs comprising variant peptides; contacting the target molecule with the second library of peptide constructs; and identifying at least one variant peptide from the second library of peptide constructs with increased binding to the target molecule compared to that of the second peptide; wherein the second plurality of peptide constructs comprises variant peptides that differ from the second peptide by a single point mutation and each point mutation is a substitution with alanine; wherein at least two variant peptides are identified from the library of peptide constructs with increased binding to the target molecule compared to that of the first peptide, the method further comprising generating a library of peptide constructs that comprise multimers of the at least two variant peptides; wherein the library of peptide constructs based on the first peptide comprises at least 10,000 peptide constructs; the library of peptide constructs based on the first and/or second peptide comprise a plurality of negative control peptide constructs; wherein the first peptide comprises a consensus sequence generated from bound peptides, the plurality of peptide constructs comprise variant constructs comprising a core sequence having at least 5 consecutive amino acids from the consensus sequence (see [0046] to [0099], [0158] to [0201] and [0279] to [0281]).
Watt does not explicitly teach:
a) as in claims 1-2 and 31-32, a method comprising: identifying a first peptide having specific binding to the target molecule, the first peptide having an identified threshold z-score; and identifying at least one variant peptide with increased binding to the target molecule compared to the first peptide, wherein the identified at least one variant peptide has a z-score higher than the identified threshold z-score of the first peptide; wherein a second peptide is identified as having a z-score higher than the threshold z-score of the first peptide; wherein the identified at least one variant peptide has a z-score higher than the z-score of the second peptide; wherein the z-score of identified peptides is calculated according to a method comprising: determining a relative abundance level of each peptide constructs in the library of peptide constructs and/or the second library of peptide constructs; grouping peptide constructs into bins based on similarity of relative abundance level, wherein each bin comprises at least 300 peptide constructs; normalizing the relative abundance level of each peptide construct against the average of the relative abundance level of the negative control peptide constructs in the library of peptide constructs and/or the second library of peptide constructs to produce a normalized relative abundance level; and determinizing a mean and a standard deviation of the normalized relative abundance levels in each bin; calculating the z-score of each peptide construct based on the mean and the standard deviation of the normalized relative abundance levels in each bin; wherein the step of determinizing the mean and the standard deviation of the normalized relative abundance levels in each bin excludes peptide constructs having outlier relative abundance levels.
With regards to claims 1-2 and 31-32, Sampson teaches:
a) as in claims 1-2 and 31-32, a method comprising: identifying a first peptide having specific binding to the target molecule, the first peptide having an identified threshold z-score; and identifying at least one variant peptide with increased binding to the target molecule compared to the first peptide, wherein the identified at least one variant peptide has a z-score higher than the identified threshold z-score of the first peptide; wherein a second peptide is identified as having a z-score higher than the threshold z-score of the first peptide; wherein the identified at least one variant peptide has a z-score higher than the z-score of the second peptide; wherein the z-score of identified peptides is calculated according to a method comprising: determining a relative abundance level of each peptide constructs in the library of peptide constructs and/or the second library of peptide constructs; grouping peptide constructs into bins based on similarity of relative abundance level, wherein each bin comprises at least 300 peptide constructs; normalizing the relative abundance level of each peptide construct against the average of the relative abundance level of the negative control peptide constructs in the library of peptide constructs and/or the second library of peptide constructs to produce a normalized relative abundance level; and determinizing a mean and a standard deviation of the normalized relative abundance levels in each bin; calculating the z-score of each peptide construct based on the mean and the standard deviation of the normalized relative abundance levels in each bin; wherein the step of determinizing the mean and the standard deviation of the normalized relative abundance levels in each bin excludes peptide constructs having outlier relative abundance levels (see [0042] to [0134] and [0167] to [0172]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the Applicant's invention as claimed with the above cited references before them. Sampson teaches that z-scores are useful in identifying library variants with specific binding to a target molecule from non-specific background noise (see [0042] to [0134] and [0167] to [0172]). One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the advantages of combining Sampson's z-score analysis with Watt's library screening identifying library variants with specific binding to a target molecule from non-specific background noise. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Heather Calamita can be reached at 571-272-2876. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/CHRISTIAN C BOESEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684