The amendment filed August 31, 2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ketchum (US 2017/0281367).
Claim 1: Ketchum discloses a method of manufacturing an external breast prosthesis (¶¶ 60, 65, 107). The method includes providing a 3D image of the prosthesis (¶¶ 65, 102, 105), and forming the prosthesis using an additive manufacturing process (¶¶ 65, 69, 105), in which additive manufacturing process the breast prosthesis is made by forming a structure of a polymer (¶¶ 53, 65, 105), the structure corresponding to the 3D image of the prosthesis (¶¶ 65, 102, 105), the structure having an inner wall and an outer wall (¶¶ 55, 103), wherein the polymer used is a thermoplastic elastomer (¶ 53), and the structure is formed as a reticulated solid foam having pores being continuous from the inner wall to the outer wall of the prosthesis (¶¶ 54-57, 77, 103, 106), to allow air to freely penetrate completely through the structure (¶ 57).
Claim 7: Ketchum discloses the additive manufacturing is performed using a 3D printing technology (¶¶ 69, 71, 105).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ketchum (US 2017/0281367), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Mao (CN 107638231; paragraph numbers to attached English language translation).
Claim 2: Ketchum is silent as to the claimed porosity ranges. However, in the same field of endeavor, Mao discloses a breast prosthesis wherein the porosity of the reticulated solid foam is 50-80% (¶ 35). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilized the porosity range of Mao in the prosthesis of Ketchum to obtain the desired compliance and support, adjusting member dimensions and spacing while retaining the open pore network.
Claim 3: The range of Mao overlaps the claimed range. Where ranges overlap, a prima facie case of obviousness is made out). In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 275 (CCPA 1980). See also In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (a prima facie case of obviousness exists when the ranges of a claimed composition overlap the ranges disclosed in the prior art) and In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1341 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (same).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ketchum (US 2017/0281367), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Laghi (US 2009/0183822) and Guillemette (Rapid isothermal substrate microfabrication of a biocompatible thermoplastic elastomer for cellular contact guidance, Acta Biomaterialia, Volume 7, Issue 6, 2011, Pages 2492-2498).
Claim 4: Ketchum is silent as to the thermoplastic elastomer being a non-biodegradable polymer. However, in the same field of endeavor, Laghi discloses an external breast prosthesis including SEBS (¶ 33). As taught by Laghi, utilizing SEBS in the manufacture of breast prostheses provides the texture, appearance and elasticity of a normal human breast (¶ 10). Guillemette discloses the need for non-biodegradable biocompatible articles made from SEBS with good tissue functionality (abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have utilized a SEBS elastomer in the method of Ketchum to provide the prosthesis with the texture, appearance and elasticity of a normal human breast, and particularly the non-biodegradable SEBS elastomer of Guillemette for the good tissue functionality.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ketchum (US 2017/0281367), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Laghi (US 2009/0183822).
Claim 5: Ketchum is silent as to the thermoplastic elastomer being a styrene block copolymer. However, in the same field of endeavor, Laghi discloses an external breast prosthesis including SEBS (¶ 33). As taught by Laghi, utilizing SEBS in the manufacture of breast prostheses provides the texture, appearance and elasticity of a normal human breast (¶ 10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have utilized the elastomer of Laghi in the method of Ketchum to provide the prosthesis with the texture, appearance and elasticity of a normal human breast.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ketchum (US 2017/0281367), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Sun (US 2009/0148813).
Ketchum is silent as to using inkjet technology. However, in the same field of endeavor of manufacturing prosthetics using additive manufacturing, Sun discloses depositing polymer droplets that fuse together after being deposited as part of the inkjet deposition technology (¶ 125). As taught by Sun, utilizing inkjet deposition achieves good dimensional stability and advantageous mechanical integrity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have included the inkjet deposition technology of Sun in the method of Ketchum in order to achieve good dimensional stability and better mechanical integrity of the prosthetic.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ketchum (US 2017/0281367), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kelley (US 2014/0309750).
Ketchum is silent as to thermal conductors. However, in the same field of endeavor of manufacturing prosthetics, Kelley discloses a method of manufacturing prosthetics that includes elongated thermal conductors (¶¶ 70-72). As taught by Kelley, including enhanced thermal conductivity in a prosthetic enhances heat absorption capabilities (¶ 70). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have included the thermal conductors of Kelley in the method of Ketchum in order to enhance heat absorption capabilities of the prosthetic.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LARRY W THROWER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754