Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendments and remarks received on 12/16/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,3-7,9-12,15-19,22-23,25-28 and 43-45 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-12, 15-19, 22, 25-28, 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuering et al. (DE 102011077904 A1), hereinafter Schuering, in view of Schilling et al. (US 10019626 B2), hereinafter Schilling, and iPhone XR. Technical Specification. Apple, 2018 [retrieved on 2025-04-02]. Retrieved from the Internet: <https://support.apple.com/en-us/111868>, hereinafter iPhone.
Regarding claim 1, Schuering teaches A method for authenticating a security document by means of at least one device, wherein in the method the following steps are carried out: (Para. 1 see "The invention relates to a device and a method for checking documents, in particular security documents."). a) providing the security document comprising at least one first security element and at least one second security element, (Para. 2 discloses at least one security feature of a security document. Para. 26 discloses a large number of different security features.). b) providing the at least one device, wherein the at least one device comprises at least one sensor, (Para. 1 see "using a mobile phone which comprises at least one camera."). c) capturing first items of optical information of the at least one first security element by means of the at least one sensor of the at least one device during a first illumination, (Para. 75 see "an optical capture 108 and a reading and storage of the image data 109 from the camera takes place. Multiple images with different lighting can be captured." Para. 14 discloses the security document containing at least one security feature.). the first illumination comprising a portion of light falling substantially perpendicularly on the at least one first security element, (Para. 34 and 64-65 disclose illuminants (LEDs 21-24) arranged circumferentially around the housing opening 28/camera lens 51 to provide incident illumination on the document surface 18. See also Fig. 2. (Examiner note: the LEDs are above the security document. Therefore, the light falls substantially perpendicularly on the security element.)). wherein at least one first dataset specifying these items of information is generated therefrom, (Para. 75 discloses the security document data being captured.). d) shielding the portion of light falling substantially perpendicularly on the at least one first security element of the first illumination with the at least one device to provide a second illumination on the at least one second security element, (Para. 29 and 72 disclose a housing 11 and shielding elements 37 that block ambient and external light from entering the camera space 12, ensuring the document is shielded when specific internal light sources are inactive. Para. 13 see "a device holder arranged on the outside of the housing, which is designed to mechanically guide and hold a mobile phone equipped with a camera in such a way that, when the mobile phone is arranged in the device holder, a camera lens is arranged in front of a housing opening through which at least one image of the document arranged in the camera chamber can be captured by means of the camera." Para. 34 and 64-65 disclose illuminants (LEDs 21-24) arranged circumferentially around the housing opening 28/camera lens 51 to provide incident illumination on the document surface 18. See also Fig. 2. (Examiner note: There is an opening in the device holder that incident lighting can enter through. When the phone is placed over the opening, little to no lighting will enter through the opening. Therefore, the device (phone) shields the portion of light falling substantially perpendicularly on the security element. This is supported by para. 13 and 29.)). e) capturing second items of optical information of the at least one second security element by means of the at least one sensor of the at least one device during the second illumination, wherein at least one second dataset specifying these items of information is generated therefrom, (Para. 75 see "an optical capture 108 and a reading and storage of the image data 109 from the camera takes place. Multiple images with different lighting can be captured." Para. 75 discloses the security document data being captured. Para. 14 discloses the security document containing at least one security feature.). the third illumination comprising the second illumination plus light from the internal light source falling substantially perpendicularly on the at least one second security element, (Para. 70 see " The lighting device 15 is controlled via an application that is executed on a processor unit 61 of the mobile telephone 4 and via the controller 32 in order to illuminate the security document 2 with one of the different lighting means or several of the different lighting means 21 - 26." Para. 75 see "an optical capture 108 and a reading and storage of the image data 109 from the camera takes place. Multiple images with different lighting can be captured." Para. 14 discloses the security document containing at least one security feature. Para. 34 and 64-65 disclose illuminants (LEDs 21-24) arranged circumferentially around the housing opening 28/camera lens 51 to provide incident illumination on the document surface 18. See also Fig. 2.). g) capturing third items of optical information of the at least one second security element by means of the at least one sensor of the at least one device during the third illumination, wherein at least one third dataset specifying these items of information is generated therefrom, wherein the second illumination differs from the third illumination, (Para. 75 see "an optical capture 108 and a reading and storage of the image data 109 from the camera takes place. Multiple images with different lighting can be captured." Para. 75 discloses the security document data being captured. Para. 14 discloses the security document containing at least one security feature.). h) checking the genuineness of the security document and/or the at least one second security element at least on the basis of the at least one second dataset and the at least one third dataset, (Para. 76 discloses evaluating the data captured. Para. 10 discloses the evaluation being a verification method 112 of the document.). wherein the at least one second security element only generates the third items of optical information when subjected to the light from the internal light source falling substantially perpendicularly on the at least one second security element, (Para. 6 and 8 disclose security features such as holograms that store information perceptible only with "suitable illumination and viewing geometry" and produce different optical information under different types of illumination.). and wherein the second items of optical information of the at least one second security element are not captured by means of the at least one sensor of the at least one device during the capturing the third items of optical information from the at least one second security element, (Para. 75 see "an optical capture 108 and a reading and storage of the image data 109 from the camera takes place. Multiple images with different lighting can be captured." (Examiner note: this indicates discrete capture events with different illuminations.)). and wherein the at least one device in step b) is selected from: smartphone, tablet, spectacles and/or PDA, (Para. 1 see "using a mobile phone which comprises at least one camera."). and wherein the first lateral dimension in the first direction (X) and the second lateral dimension in the second direction (Y) of the at least one device in step b) span at least one shielding surface, (Para. 66-67 and Fig. 2 discloses a shielding element 37 spanning the first and second direction.). and wherein the at least one shielding surface of the at least one device in step b) shields the security document and/or the at least one first security element and/or the at least one second security element from diffuse illumination and/or background illumination. (Para. 29 discloses the test attachment and device blocking all external light.).
Schuering does not teach f) activating an internal light source of the at least one device to provide a third illumination, wherein the at least one device has a lateral dimension in a first direction (X) of from 50 mm to 200 mm, and/or has a second lateral dimension in a second direction (Y) of from 100 mm to 250 mm,.
However, Schilling teaches f) activating an internal light source of the at least one device to provide a third illumination, (Col. 6, Lines 45-55 discloses using the built in light source of a hand-held device. Col. 1, Lines 64-65 using a mobile phone.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schuering to incorporate the teachings of Schilling to use the integrated flash of a smartphone to provide directed illumination. Doing so would predictably save on device costs by simplifying the device requirements by using a widely available device.
Furthermore, iPhone teaches wherein the at least one device has a lateral dimension in a first direction (X) of from 50 mm to 200 mm, and/or has a second lateral dimension in a second direction (Y) of from 100 mm to 250 mm, (Size and Weight discloses a mobile phone with a width of 75.7 mm and height of 150.9 mm.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schuering and Schilling to incorporate the teachings of iPhone to use a widely and commercially available smartphone to avoid manufacturing costs of a device used for imaging when checking for security features of a security document.
Regarding claim 3, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
In addition, Schuering teaches wherein the first lateral dimension in the first direction (X) and the second lateral dimension in the second direction (Y) of the at least one device in step b) span at least one shielding surface. (Para. 66-67 and Fig. 2 discloses a shielding element 37 spanning the first and second direction.).
Regarding claim 4, Schuering in view of iPhone and Schilling teaches The method according to claim 3.
In addition, Schuering teaches wherein the at least one shielding surface has an outline in the plane spanned by the first direction (X) and the second direction (Y). (Para. 66-67 and Fig. 2 discloses a shielding element 37 spanning the first and second direction.).
Regarding claim 5, Schuering in view of iPhone and Schilling teaches The method according to claim 3.
In addition, Schuering teaches wherein, the at least one shielding surface of the at least one device in step b) shields the security document and/or the at least one first security element and/or the at least one second security element from diffuse illumination and/or background illumination. (Para. 29 discloses the test attachment and device blocking all external light.).
Regarding claim 6, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
In addition, Schuering teaches wherein, the at least one sensor of the at least one device in step b) is an optical sensor. (Para. 19 discloses the sensor as a camera.).
Regarding claim 7, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
Schuering does not teach wherein, the at least one sensor of the at least one device in step b) has a distance and/or an average distance and/or minimum distance from the outline of the at least one shielding surface, of from 3 mm to 70 mm.
However, iPhone teaches wherein, the at least one sensor of the at least one device in step b) has a distance and/or an average distance and/or minimum distance from the outline of the at least one shielding surface, of from 3 mm to 70 mm. (Size and Weight discloses a mobile phone with a depth of 8.3 mm.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schuering and Schilling and iPhone to incorporate the teachings of iPhone to use a widely and commercially available smartphone to avoid manufacturing costs of a device used for imaging when checking for security features of a security document.
Regarding claim 9, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
Schuering does not teach wherein, the at least one sensor of the at least one device in step b) has a distance and/or an average distance from the at least one internal light source of the at least one device of from 5 cm to 20 cm.
However, iPhone teaches wherein, the at least one sensor of the at least one device in step b) has a distance and/or an average distance from the at least one internal light source of the at least one device of from 5 cm to 20 cm. (External Buttons and Connectors discloses a camera 7 and a flash 8.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schuering and Schilling and iPhone to incorporate the teachings of iPhone to integrate an internal light source of the mobile phone with an average distance of 5 cm to 20 cm away from the camera for better control of the lighting environment when capturing an image with the camera. Doing so would improve image quality.
Regarding claim 10, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
In addition, Schuering teaches wherein, the at least one device in step b) comprises at least one output unit. (Para. 77 and Fig. 2 discloses a mobile phone 4 with a camera 52 a processor unit 61 output device 53 an interface 55 and a mobile controlled lighting device 15. Para. 76 discloses a display.).
Regarding claim 11, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches Method according to claim 1.
In addition, Schuering teaches wherein, the method comprises the following further step b1) outputting instructions and/or items of user information before and/or during the capture of the first, second and/or third items of optical information of the at least one first or second security element, in steps c), d) or e) to a user by means of the at least one device. (Para. 74 discloses running and application on the mobile phone and outputting instructions. Para. 76 discloses outputting the test result to a display.).
Regarding claim 12, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
In addition, Schuering teaches wherein, the method comprises the following further step b2) outputting instructions and/or items of user information before and/or during the capture of the second and/or third items of optical information of the at least one first or second security element, in steps d) or e), at least on the basis of the at least one first dataset and/or the at least one second dataset, to a user by means of the at least one device. (Para. 74 discloses running and application on the mobile phone and outputting instructions. Para. 76 discloses outputting the test result to a display.).
Regarding claim 15, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
In addition, Schuering teaches wherein, the first, second and/or third items of optical information of the at least one first or second security element, in steps c), d) or e) are captured by means of the at least one sensor of the at least one device. (Para. 75 see "an optical capture 108 and a reading and storage of the image data 109 from the camera takes place. Multiple images with different lighting can be captured." Para. 75 discloses the security document data being captured. Para. 14 discloses the security document containing at least one security feature.).
Regarding claim 16, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
In addition, Schuering teaches wherein, the first illumination during the capture of the first items of optical information of the at least one first security element in step c) is diffuse or is directed or has diffuse and directed portions and/or is background illumination. (Para. 65 discloses illuminants 21 -24 to be diffuse lighting.).
Regarding claim 17, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
In addition, Schuering teaches wherein, the second illumination during the capture of the second items of optical information of the at least one second security element in step d) is diffuse. (Para. 65 discloses illuminants 21 -24 to be diffuse lighting.).
Regarding claim 18, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
In addition, Schuering teaches wherein, the at least one device and/or the at least one shielding surface of the at least one device is arranged during the capture of the second items of optical information of the at least one second security element in step d) such that the at least one device and/or the at least one shielding surface of the at least one device shields against at least 75%, of directed and/or diffuse portions of the light of all external light sources in the environment of the security document (1) and/or of the at least one second security element. (Para. 29 discloses the test attachment and device blocking all external light.).
Regarding claim 19, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
In addition, Schuering teaches wherein, the at least one device and/or the at least one shielding surface of the at least one device is arranged during the capture of the second items of optical information of the at least one second security element in step d) such that the at least one device and/or the at least one shielding surface of the at least one device shields the security document and/or the at least one second security element from at least 75%, of directed and/or diffuse portions of the light of all external light sources at a distance of at least 0.3 m. (Para. 29 discloses the test attachment and device blocking all external light.).
Regarding claim 22, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
In addition, Schuering teaches at a solid angle smaller than or equal to 10°. (Para. 35 discloses a directed light at less than 15 degrees or 10 degrees.).
Schuering does not teach wherein, the directed third illumination is emitted by the at least one internal light source of the at least one device.
However, Schilling teaches wherein, the directed third illumination is emitted by the at least one internal light source of the at least one device (Col. 6, Lines 45-55 discloses using the built in light source of a hand-held device. Col. 1, Lines 64-65 using a mobile phone.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schuering and Schilling and iPhone to incorporate the teachings of Schilling to use the integrated flash of a smartphone to provide directed illumination. Doing so would predictably save on device costs by simplifying the device requirements by using a widely available device.
Regarding claim 25, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
In addition, Schuering teaches wherein, the third items of optical information of the at least one second security element in step e) comprise an item of optical and/or geometric information and/or wherein the third items of optical information of the at least one second security element in step e) do not comprise the item of optical and/or geometric information. (Para. 2 discloses at least one security feature in the form of different printing processes, the use of special colorants, metallic or magnetic materials, embossing, holograms, perforations, integrated microchips).
Regarding claim 26, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
In addition, Schuering teaches wherein, the method, comprises the following further step: f1) outputting instructions and/or items of user information before and/or during the checking of the genuineness of the security document and/or of the at least one second security element, at least on the basis of the at least one second dataset and the at least one third dataset, to a user by means of the at least one device. (Para. 74 discloses running and application on the mobile phone and outputting instructions. Para. 76 discloses outputting the test result to a display.).
Regarding claim 27, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
In addition, Schuering teaches wherein, the at least one first security element in step a) is selected from: barcode, QR code, alphanumeric characters, numbering, hologram, print, barcode, QR code, number, hologram or kinegram design and/or printed design of a product or combinations thereof. (Para. 2 discloses at least one security feature in the form of different printing processes, the use of special colorants, metallic or magnetic materials, embossing, holograms, perforations, integrated microchips).
Regarding claim 28, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
In addition, Schuering teaches wherein, the at least one second security element in step a) comprises at least asymmetrical structures, holograms, micromirrors, matte structures, kinegram, blazed gratings, diffraction structures, mirror surfaces, microlenses, and/or combinations of these structures. (Para. 2 discloses at least one security feature in the form of different printing processes, the use of special colorants, metallic or magnetic materials, embossing, holograms, perforations, integrated microchips).
Regarding claim 43, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
In addition, Schuering teaches wherein the at least one second security element in step a) comprises computer-generated holograms, and wherein the virtual height of the computer-generated holograms generate the third items of optical information under the third illumination. (Para. 6 see "Other security features that can be optically verified are holograms, which, with suitable illumination and viewing geometry, can be perceived as information stored in the hologram, for example as three dimensional image information.").
Regarding claim 44, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
Schuering does not teach wherein the method comprises the following further step: b1) outputting instructions and/or items of user information before and/or during the capture of the first, second and/or third items of optical information of the at least one first or second security element in steps c), d) or e) to a user by means of the at least one device, from which the user infers a predetermined relative position or relative position change or relative position progression, a predetermined distance, or distance change or distance progression and/or a predetermined angle or angle change or angle progression between the at least one device and the security document and/or the at least one first and/or the at least one second security feature during the capture of the first, second and/or third items of optical information.
However, Schilling teaches wherein the method comprises the following further step: b1) outputting instructions and/or items of user information before and/or during the capture of the first, second and/or third items of optical information of the at least one first or second security element in steps c), d) or e) to a user by means of the at least one device, (Col. 14 Lines 39-48 see "Before and/or during the capture of the image sequence in step a), instructions are preferably displayed to a user of the hand-held device on a display of the hand-held device about the relative position with respect to the security element and/or the distance from the security element at which the hand-held device is to be held and/or moved during the capture of the image sequence. These instructions can be based on measurement data of the position sensor and/or motion sensor of the hand-held device or be independent thereof." Col. 19 Lines 60-67 see "it is indicated to the user on a display of the device 3 how he is to move the smartphone relative to the security element 1 in order to obtain an image sequence which can be evaluated optimally. During the capture of the image sequence, the relative position between device 3 and security element 1 can additionally be measured by means of a position sensor of the device 3, with the result that for each individual image the respective observation angle is known."). from which the user infers a predetermined relative position or relative position change or relative position progression, a predetermined distance, or distance change or distance progression and/or a predetermined angle or angle change or angle progression between the at least one device and the security document and/or the at least one first and/or the at least one second security feature during the capture of the first, second and/or third items of optical information. (Col. 6 Lines 5-15 see "aids are provided to make it easier for the user to carry out the method according to the invention. For example, one or more orientation frames can be imaged on the screen of the hand-held device, into which the security element or parts of the motif are to be placed for the recognition. Alternatively or in addition to this, further optical aids or displays can be provided in order to reduce, for example, perspective distortions and/or contortions. For example, these can be movable crosshairs or other elements, which are to be positioned relative to each other by means of movement of the hand-held device." Col. 19 Lines 60-67 see "it is indicated to the user on a display of the device 3 how he is to move the smartphone relative to the security element 1 in order to obtain an image sequence which can be evaluated optimally. During the capture of the image sequence, the relative position between device 3 and security element 1 can additionally be measured by means of a position sensor of the device 3, with the result that for each individual image the respective observation angle is known.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schuering and Schilling and iPhone to incorporate the teachings of Schilling to output instructions before or during the capturing of images to direct the user on the correct position, distance, or angle. Doing so would predictably increase accuracy of authentication by allowing a user to image the security document using the correct orientation of the phone.
Regarding claim 45, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
Schuering does not teach wherein the method comprises the following further step: b2) outputting instructions and/or items of user information before and/or during the capture of the second and/or third items of optical information of the at least one first or second security element in steps d) or e), at least on the basis of the at least one first dataset and/or the at least one second dataset, to a user by means of the at least one device, from which the user infers a predetermined relative position or relative position change or relative position progression, a predetermined distance, or distance change or distance progression and/or a predetermined angle or angle change or angle progression between the at least one device and the security document and/or the at least one first and/or the at least one second security feature during the capture of the second and/or third items of optical information.
However, Schilling teaches wherein the method comprises the following further step: b2) outputting instructions and/or items of user information before and/or during the capture of the second and/or third items of optical information of the at least one first or second security element in steps d) or e), at least on the basis of the at least one first dataset and/or the at least one second dataset, to a user by means of the at least one device, (Col. 14 Lines 39-48 see "Before and/or during the capture of the image sequence in step a), instructions are preferably displayed to a user of the hand-held device on a display of the hand-held device about the relative position with respect to the security element and/or the distance from the security element at which the hand-held device is to be held and/or moved during the capture of the image sequence. These instructions can be based on measurement data of the position sensor and/or motion sensor of the hand-held device or be independent thereof." Col. 19 Lines 60-67 see "it is indicated to the user on a display of the device 3 how he is to move the smartphone relative to the security element 1 in order to obtain an image sequence which can be evaluated optimally. During the capture of the image sequence, the relative position between device 3 and security element 1 can additionally be measured by means of a position sensor of the device 3, with the result that for each individual image the respective observation angle is known."). from which the user infers a predetermined relative position or relative position change or relative position progression, a predetermined distance, or distance change or distance progression and/or a predetermined angle or angle change or angle progression between the at least one device and the security document and/or the at least one first and/or the at least one second security feature during the capture of the second and/or third items of optical information. (Col. 6 Lines 5-15 see "aids are provided to make it easier for the user to carry out the method according to the invention. For example, one or more orientation frames can be imaged on the screen of the hand-held device, into which the security element or parts of the motif are to be placed for the recognition. Alternatively or in addition to this, further optical aids or displays can be provided in order to reduce, for example, perspective distortions and/or contortions. For example, these can be movable crosshairs or other elements, which are to be positioned relative to each other by means of movement of the hand-held device." Col. 19 Lines 60-67 see "it is indicated to the user on a display of the device 3 how he is to move the smartphone relative to the security element 1 in order to obtain an image sequence which can be evaluated optimally. During the capture of the image sequence, the relative position between device 3 and security element 1 can additionally be measured by means of a position sensor of the device 3, with the result that for each individual image the respective observation angle is known.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schuering and Schilling and iPhone to incorporate the teachings of Schilling to output instructions before or during the capturing of images to direct the user on the correct position, distance, or angle. Doing so would predictably increase accuracy of authentication by allowing a user to image the security document using the correct orientation of the phone.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuering et al. (DE 102011077904 A1), hereinafter Schuering, in view of Schilling et al. (US 10019626 B2), hereinafter Schilling, and iPhone XR. Technical Specification. Apple, 2018 [retrieved on 2025-04-02]. Retrieved from the Internet: <https://support.apple.com/en-us/111868>, hereinafter iPhone, and Smith et al. (US 20160209727 A1), hereinafter Smith.
Regarding claim 23, Schuering in view of Schilling and iPhone teaches The method according to claim 1.
Schuering does not teach wherein, the directed third illumination from the at least one internal light source of the at least one device has a luminous intensity of from 5 lumens to 100 lumens.
However, Schilling teaches wherein, the directed third illumination from the at least one internal light source of the at least one device (Col. 6, Lines 45-55 discloses using the built in light source of a hand-held device. Col. 1, Lines 64-65 using a mobile phone.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schuering and Schilling and iPhone to incorporate the teachings of Schilling to use the integrated flash of a smartphone to provide directed illumination. Doing so would predictably save on device costs by simplifying the device requirements by using a widely available device.
Furthermore, Smith teaches has a luminous intensity of from 5 lumens to 100 lumens. (Para. 10-11 discloses photographing documents with a smartphone flashlight of 5-10 lumens or 25-50 lumens.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schuering and Schilling and iPhone to incorporate the teachings of Smith to use a specified range of 5 to 100 lumens. Doing so would provide enhanced visibility of security features and greater control of the lighting environment when validating a security document with a camera. And to try various luminous intensities within the lumens range (5-10 or 25-50) of a smartphone flashlight to find the optimal or desired value when photographing a document with a smartphone.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Whiteman (US 20150356805 A1) discloses imaging security documents using a mobile phone camera.
/ALEXANDER JOSEPH VAUGHN/Examiner, Art Unit 2675
/EDWARD PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2675