Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahnenfuhrer (4922823) in view of Bley (20110041968).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Rahnenfuhrer discloses an igniter tube made with nitrocellulose (col. 4, lines 10-25) with an ignition charge deposited in a geometric pattern along the tube (see fig 1 and 4). The amounts of the ignition charge are not disclosed.
Bley teaches an ignition charge which includes 2-45 % of an auxiliary substance (0046-0047) such as nitrocellulose and the balance being the ignition powder (0035-0041).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and/or filed to use the ignition charge taught by Bley in place of the ignition charge of Rahnenfuhrer since both are compositions used for igniting and will have the same function or effect.
Regarding claim 2, both patents disclose the use of additives to the ignition charge.
Regarding claim 3, Rahnenfuhrer discloses that it is known to use potassium nitrate in ignition charges (col. 1, lines 10-25).
Regarding claim 4, both patents disclose the use of the ignition charge in guns and thus meets the limitation gunpowder.
Regarding claims 7-9, It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the pattern from that disclosed by Rahnenfuhrer since Applicant has not disclosed that this shape solves any stated problem or is for a particular purpose and it appears that the inventions would perform equally well with the shape disclosed by Rahnenfuhrer.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahnenfuhrer (4922823) in view of Bley (20110041968) and Brasquies (4649827).
Regarding claim 6, Brasquies disclose a combustible case that comprises 5 % resin, a ratio by weight of nitrocellulose with respect to cellulose may vary between 80:10 and 10:80 (col. 5, lines 5-20), and a stabilizer at 1 % (see examples).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and/or filed to use the combustible taught by Brasquies in place of the combustible case of Rahnenfuhrer since both casings used for combustible munitions and will have the same function or effect.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the ignition material and the prior art is distributed uniformly. The prior art reference does not recite this. Further in the figures it is clear that there are ridges or nodules of igniter material. Thus, these would represent geometric shapes and have spaces between them as shown in the figures. The reference discloses that uniform ignition is assured but does not indicate that the material itself is uniform. The reference also indicates that the adhesive is applied uniformly in dots or lines. These dots or lines would inherently have spaces in between them and thus meets the claim limitation. Further, spaces can be seen in the figures. There is no evidence that the ignition material taught by Bley will function any differently than other ignition materials used in the primary reference. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success for substituting in known ignition material for another.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AILEEN B FELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734