DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 03/17/2026, has been entered. Claims 1, 3, and 5 are amended. Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are now pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “bus bar cover”. This limitation is interpreted in view of the instant specification, which recites “the bus bar cover 230 is electrically connected with the electrode lead 112 to serve as the bus bar, and also serves as the cover protecting the end of the battery cell stack”. Accordingly, the bus bar cover is interpreted as a bus bar which also covers at least a portion of end of the battery cell stack, wherein a bus bar is not defined in the specification, and is accordingly given its customary definition in the art as a rigid, metal strip used to carry high current and electrically tie multiple connection points together (see https://litechpower.com/what-is-a-busbar-in-battery-systems/).
Claim 1 also recites the limitation “wherein the bus bar cover is a plate-shaped member”, which is interpreted to refer to a member whose thickness is small relative to its planar dimensions. Contributing to this interpretation, the specification recites “The bus bar cover 230 is a plate-shaped member … Although not illustrated in particular, a slit, to which the electrode lead 112 is inserted, may be included in the bus bar cover 230, but the present invention is not limited thereto. That is, the electrode lead 112 may be inserted into the slit and coupled to an external side of the bus bar cover 230 by welding, and may also be coupled within the slit by welding.” Accordingly, Applicant expressly states that the plate-shaped member may include a slit. Therefore, under the applicant’s own lexicography, a plate-shaped member is not limited to a solid, uninterrupted sheet.
Claim 1 also recites “an internal bus bar member that directly contacts a first bus bar cover…with a second bus bar cover”, which is interpreted to mean “an internal bus bar member that directly contacts a first bus bar cover…and a second bus bar cover”.
Claim 5 recites a fastening hole for coupling with a respective bolt member, wherein this limitation is not further defined in the specification. Accordingly, it is interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation to mean any designed opening, slot, or geometric void capable of receiving a bolt.
Claim 8 recites “expansion control pad” which is interpreted in accordance with the specification as a any member “which is capable of absorbing volume expansion of the battery cell”, which is interpreted as any material capable of exhibit a normal force in response to expansion, such as solid materials.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “an internal bus bar member that directly contacts a first bus bar cover…with a second bus bar cover”, which is grammatically awkward, and unnecessarily confuses the meaning of the claim, wherein the wording appears to identify the covers themselves as the contacting structures, despite the intended structural relationship of the internal busbar being the contacting structure (see interpretation above). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a bus bar cover… a first bus bar cover…a second bus bar cover”. However, it is unclear whether the claim is requires a first, second, and third busbar cover, or whether the claim requires a busbar cover including a first and second bus bar cover. Claim 1 is interpreted in accordance with Fig. 5 of the instant application, wherein the bus bar cover 230 comprises a first and second busbar cover.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US-20190001838-A1) in view of Nishijima (JP-2013222603-A) (refer to enclosed translations in office action mailed 05/09/2025 for citations).
Regarding claim 1,
Choi teaches a battery module (Fig. 14, 50; [0001]), comprising:
a plurality of cell blocks (see annotated Fig. 7; wherein each dashed block includes a stack of cells connected together through a corresponding bus bar cover, see [0044]),
each cell block including a battery cell stack (Fig. 2, wherein each cell block includes a stack battery cells 100; [0044]) including one or more battery cells 100,
each battery cell (Fig. 2, 100; [0042]) including an electrode lead (Fig. 2, 150; [0042]),
and a bus bar cover (Fig. 7, leftmost bus bar 220; see claim interpretation above, wherein each busbar 220 covers at least a portion of lateral sides of 100; [0068]) electrically connected [0050] with the electrode leads (Fig. 2, leads 150) at an end (Fig. 2, left end of cell stack of 100) of the battery cell stack (annotated Fig. 2, pair of 100 corresponding to the “pair of leads” ) from which the electrode leads 150 protrude (Fig. 2, wherein 150 partially protrude to the left; [0044]) and covering (Fig. 7, wherein 220 covers at least a portion of the lateral ends of cells 100) the end of the battery cell stack (Fig. 2, left end of 100 pair; [0044]);
wherein the busbar cover (Fig. 7, 220) is a plate-shaped member (Fig. 7, wherein 220 is a member whose thickness is small relative to its planar dimensions, see claim interpretation above) made of a conductive material (wherein bus bars, by definition, are metallic/conductive) is electrically connected [0050] to the electrode lead 150,
and simultaneously serves as a cover protecting (see Fig. 7, wherein 220 serves as a metal member covering at least a portion of cells 100, thus protecting) the end of the battery cell stack (see Fig. 6, left side of stack of 100 wherein at least a portion of the left side is protected by 220; [0050]);
a first bus bar cover (annotated Fig. 7, first bus bar cover) of a first cell block (annotated Fig. 7, first cell block, see 112(b) rejection above)
a second bus bar cover (Fig. 7, second bus bar cover 220, see 112(b) rejection above) of a second cell block (annotated Fig. 7, second cell block) of the plurality of blocks (Fig. 7, plurality of pairs of cells 100 correspondingly connected to each bus bar cover 220), wherein the first cell block (annotated Fig. 7, first cell block) and the second cell block (annotated Fig. 7, second cell block) are adjacent to each other (see annotated Fig. 7, laterally disposed cell blocks).
Choi is silent to teaching an internal bus bar member that directly contacts a first bus bar cover of a first cell block of the plurality of cell blocks with a second bus bar cover of a second cell block of the plurality of cell blocks to electrically connect the first bus bar cover of the first cell block of the plurality of cell blocks with the second bus bar cover of the second block of the plurality of cell blocks.
Nishijima teaches an internal bus bar member (Fig. 1, 109 internal to 161, see Fig. 3; [0032])
that contacts (via 141; [0033]) a first bus bar cover (Fig. 6, 180; [0070]; see claim interpretation above, wherein 180 is external to cells 170a and 170b, wherein 180 is a metal strip electrically connecting and covering a portion of cells 170a 170b, functionally equivalent to the bus bar cover of Choi) of a first cell block (Fig. 5, 101, see Figs. 1/ 4 illustratively, leftmost block of 101 containing par of cells 170a and 170b; [0071]) of the plurality of cell blocks (see Fig. 5 and 1/ 4 illustratively, plurality of cell blocks defined by can 101, wherein each block includes a stack of cells 170a/170b) ;
with a second bus bar cover (Fig. 6, 190; [0070], see Fig. 1 where 109 connects terminals 141 and 151, and thus also covers 180 and 190, across adjacent blocks; [0033]) of a second cell block (Fig. 1/ 4, 101 to the right of leftmost 101) of the plurality of cell blocks (Figs. 5 and 1/ 4 illustratively, plurality of blocks enclosed within can 101)
to electrically connect ([0033], [0070]) the first bus bar cover 180 of the first cell block (leftmost 101) of the plurality of cell blocks with the second bus bar cover 190 of the second block (101 to right of leftmost 101) of the plurality of cell blocks (plurality of blocks 101).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the battery module of Choi by providing an internal bus bar member (109 of Nishijima as bolted, see [0033]) between adjacent bus bar covers 220 corresponding to adjacent cell blocks of Choi, in order to electrically connect the adjacent cell blocks, as described by Nishijima [0032].
Choi in view of Nishijima teaches wherein the internal bus bar 109 directly contacts (wherein bolting a bridge internal bus bar 109 between the first and second bus bar cover of Choi places 109 in direct contact with 220) with a second bus bar cover (annotated Fig. 9, second bus bar cover, wherein 109 is bolted into both covers in view of the combination).
Regarding claim 2,
Choi in view of Nishijima teaches the battery module of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein: an additional insulating frame is not disposed between the bus bar cover and the battery cell stack (wherein Choi is silent to an additional insulating frame disposed between the busbar cover and the battery cell stack).
Regarding claim 3,
Choi in view of Nishijima teaches the battery module of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but is silent to wherein: each cell block of the plurality of cell blocks (see plurality of cell blocks in annotated Fig. 7) includes an insulating cover surrounding an external surface of the battery cell stack. Nishijima teaches each cell block (Fig. 5, 101) of the plurality of cell blocks(Figs. 1/4/5, plurality of cell blocks defined by can 101) further includes an insulating cover (Fig. 5, film 108/insulating film on bottom surface of 170; see [0072]) surrounding an external surface (Fig. 5, insulating film 108 surrounding external surface of cell stacks 170a/170b) of the battery cell stack (Fig. 5, 170a/170b; [0072]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the battery module of Choi by inserting an insulating cover surrounding an external surface of the battery cell stack, as taught by Nishijima in order to insulate the electrode group [0072] and better dissipate heat ([0097];[0145]), improving battery functioning.
Regarding claim 4,
Choi in view of Nishijima teaches the battery module of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the internal bus bar member (Nishijima, 109) includes a rod member (Nishijima, Fig. 4, thin, straight plate portion of 109) defining holes at both ends (Nishijima; Fig. 1, wherein 109 has holes at both ends; [0032-0033]) and a bolt member (Nishijima, Fig. 1, bolt in each hole of 109; [0033], “nut”, wherein bolts use nuts) coupled to each hole (Nishijima; Fig. 1, left and right holes of 109; [0033]).
Regarding claim 5,
Choi in view of Nishijima teaches the battery module of claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above), wherein the rod member (Nishijima, Fig. 1, 109) is extended between the first bus bar cover (Choi in view of Nishijima wherein the rod 109 of Nishijima connects busbar covers 220 of Choi; see rejection of claim 1 above) of the first cell block (annotated Fig. 7, “first cell block”) of the plurality of cell blocks (annotated Fig. 7, plurality of cell blocks) and the second bus bar cover (annotated Fig. 7, second bus bar cover) of the second cell block (annotated Fig. 7) of the plurality of cell blocks (see plurality of cell blocks in annotated Fig. 7), and the first bus bar cover (annotated Fig. 7, first bus bar cover) and the second bus bar cover (annotated Fig. 7, second bus bar cover) includes a fastening hole (annotated Fig. 2, “fastening hole”, wherein any hole is a fastening hole and each element 220 for each cell block has a fastening hole) for coupling with a respective bolt member (wherein, “for coupling” is considered a functional limitation, see Nishijima, Fig. 1, bolt member in each hole of 220; [0033], “nut”; wherein all elements of Choi in view of Nishijima are directly or indirectly coupled, and wherein the fastening hole 220 of Choi is capable of receiving a small bolt, see claim interpretation above) of the internal bus bar member (Nishijima, Fig. 1, 109 internal to 161; [0033], “nut”).
Regarding claim 8,
Choi in view of Nishijima teaches the battery module of claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above), but fails to teach an expansion control pad disposed between the insulating cover and the battery cell stack. Nishijima teaches an expansion control pad (Fig. 8, 201; [0114], wherein the H-shaped 201 in Fig. 9 is a solid material capable of absorbing expansion 201,reading on all the positively recited structure, see claim interpretation above) disposed between the insulating cover (Fig. 8 and 9, wherein, along the vertical direction, at least a portion of 201 is between insulating film on the bottom of 170, see [0072], and 170a/170b) and the battery cell stack (Fig. 8, 170). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the battery module of Choi by inserting the expansion control pad of Nishijima between the insulating cover (Nishijima, Fig. 8, 108 and along bottom of 170; [0072]) and battery cell stack (Fig. 8, 170), as the H-shaped member 201 better distributes heat (Nishijima, [0114]).
Regarding claim 9,
Choi in view of Nishijima teaches a battery pack ([0079], “battery pack”), comprising: said at least one battery module of claim 1 ([0052], see rejection of claim 1 above); and a pack case (Fig. 14, 50; [0080]) configured to pack (Fig. 14, 50; [0080]) said at least one battery module (Fig. 14, 10; [0080]).
Regarding claim 10,
Choi in view of Nishijima teaches a device ([0002], “devices…EVs”) comprising at least one battery pack 10 of claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US-20190001838-A1) in view of Nishijima (JP-2013222603-A) (refer to enclosed translations in office action mailed 05/09/2025 for citations) and Lorentz (US-20180277807-A1).
Regarding claim 6,
Choi in view of Nishijima teaches the battery module of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); but fails to teach the electrode lead and bus bar cover are coupled by welding (wherein Choi only teaches connecting the leads by thermal bonding; [0050], which is not necessarily welding). Lorentz teaches the electrode lead (Fig. 2, tab 12; [0027]) and the bus bar (Fig. 2, 10; [0027] are coupled by welding [0027], such that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the to connect the electrode lead and bus bar cover by welding, as Lorentz’s bonding solution reduces stress [0029]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Choi and Nishijima fail to teach the amended limitations. Although the present rejection relies on the same prior art references, it applies different teachings and claim mappings than the previous rejection of record. Accordingly, to the extent that they overlap with the present rejection, Applicant’s arguments are addressed below.
Applicant argues Choi fails to disclose an internal bus bar member that directly contacts with first and second bus bar covers to electrically connect the first and second bus bar covers. However, this is not persuasive. The combination of claim 1 above is recited below, which outlines exactly Choi is modified in view of Nishijima such that adjacent bus bar covers 220 are brought into direct contact with internal bus bar 109,
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the battery module of Choi by providing an internal bus bar member (109 of Nishijima as bolted, see [0033]) between adjacent bus bar covers 220 corresponding to adjacent cell blocks of Choi, because Nishijima suggests that a series connection (Nishijima; [0032]) allows the capacity within the plurality of cell blocks to be utilized constructively.
Choi in view of Nishijima teaches wherein the internal bus bar 109 directly contacts a first bus bar cover (annotated Fig. 9, first bus bar cover) with a second bus bar cover (annotated Fig. 9, second bus bar cover, wherein 109 is bolted into both in view of the combination).
Applicant argues that Nishijima’s terminals are electrically insulated from lid 102, such that there is no electrical connection between adjacent lids. However, this is not persuasive, as applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claims, which do not require electrical connection between adjacent lids. The claims require electrical connection between adjacent bus bar covers (see claim interpretation above and 180/190 of Nishijima). The examiner notes that the rejection does not rely on lid 102 as corresponding to the claimed bus bar cover. Rather, the rejection relies on Nishijima’s internal bus bar member 109 and Choi’s modified conductive bus bar covers 220. The resulting combination accordingly provides direct contact between 109 and 220.
Applicant argues all other claims should be allowed due to their dependence on an allowable independent claim. However, the rejection on claim 1 has been sustained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US-20160172649-A1, relevant to an alternate disclosure of an internal busbar.
/PAUL CHRISTIAN ST WYROUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723