DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments and Arguments
2. Claims 1, 4, 35, 65-67, 69 and 114 are pending.
Claim 65 is drawn to non-elected species are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 2, 11, 18, 19, 21, 28, 36, 38, 44, 50, 51, 53, 59, 87, 88, 90, 108, 109, 113, 115 and 125 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 4, 35, 66, 67, 69 and 114 with species, (biomarker): kinesin family member 1B (KIF1B) in Tables 1 and 2; B7-H6 (NCR3LG1) in Table 2; and HLA-E are examined on the merits.
Biomarker species, ectonucleoside triphosphate diphosphohydrolase-1 (ENTPD1) also art known as CD39 in Tables 1, 2, B2 and C has been deleted from the claims.
Withdrawn Objections
Claim Objections
4. Claim 4 is no longer objected to because it no longer cites misspelled “optionally” and has been replaced with the proper word, optionally, see Amendments to the Claims submitted July 10, 2026, page 2. Claims 21, 38 and 53 have been cancelled.
Withdrawn Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. The rejection of claims 1, 4, 35, 66, 67, 69 and 114 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims, see Amendments to the Claims submitted July 10, 2026. Claims 2, 11, 18, 19, 21, 28, 36, 38, 44, 50, 51, 53, 59, 87, 88, 90, 108, 109, 113, 115 and 125 have been cancelled.
6. The rejection of claim 67 is withdrawn in light of the amendment to the claim in former step f), see Amendments to the Claims submitted July 10, 2026, page 4. Claim 88 has been deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. The claimed invention (claim 35) is no longer directed to judicial exception (JE) as the JE is integrated into a practical application with the amendment to the claim, see Amendments to the Claims submitted July 10, 2026, page 3. Claims 2, 11, 18, 19, 21, 28, 36, 38, 44, 50, 51, 53, 59, 108, 109, 113 and 115 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. The rejection of claim(s) 1, 4, 35, 66, 67, 69 and 114 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haining et al., US 2017/0233808 A1 (published August 17, 2017) is withdrawn in light of the amendment to independent claims 1, 35, 66 and 114 deleting species, ectonucleoside triphosphate diphosphohydrolase-1 (ENTPD1) also art known as CD39, see Amendments to the Claims submitted July 10, 2023. Claims 2, 11, 18, 19, 21, 28, 36, 44, 50, 51, 53, 59, 87, 88, 90, 108, 109, 113, 115 and 125 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. The rejection of claim(s) 1, 4, 35, 66, 67, 69 and 114 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munirajan et al. (The Journal of Biological Chemistry 283(36): 24426-24434, September 5, 2008), and further in view of Semeraro et al., (OncoImmunology 4:11, e1042202-1 to e1042202-3, November 2015/ IDS reference CB submitted September 22, 2022) and Haining et al., US 2017/0233808 A1 (published August 17, 2017) is withdrawn in light of the amendment to independent claims 1, 35, 66 and 114, see Amendments to the Claims submitted July 10, 2023. Claims 2, 11, 18, 19, 21, 28, 36, 38, 44, 50, 51, 53, 59, 87, 88, 90, 108, 109, 113, 115 and 125 have been cancelled.
New Objections
Claim Objections
10. Claim 35 is objected to because of the following informality: a comma is required at the end of the claim text on line 3 after “copy number”, thereby separating the values in the list.
Correction is required.
New and Maintained Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
12. The claimed inventions (claims 1, 4 and 114) are directed to judicial exception without significantly more. Claims 2, 11, 18, 19, 21, 28, 36, 38, 44, 50, 51, 53, 59, 108, 109, 113 and 115 have been cancelled.
Applicant argues “[t]he pending claims do not merely recite observation of a natural relationship. Rather, they recite measuring a biological characteristic and, based on the result of that measurement, selecting a patient for immunotherapy treatment. That selection is not a mere statement of a natural fact, but a clinically meaningful step that directly affects patient management.”, see Remarks submitted July 10, 2026, paragraph (para.) bridging pages 9 and 10.
Applicant continues their arguments stating “the claimed methods have concrete clinical consequences” and disagrees “[w]ith respect to the Examiner's characterization of "selection for immunotherapy treatment" as a law of nature”, see page 10 of the Remarks, 1st and 2nd paragraphs (paras.).
Applicant concludes these arguments asserting the claimed steps amount to significant post-solution activity” and “…significantly more than a claim directed to a law of nature”, see page 10, 3rd para.
Applicant’s arguments and points of view have been carefully considered, however they have been found unpersuasive.
Contrary to Applicant’s arguments herein, the law of nature is the relationship between the one or more values (copy number, expression level or activity) or as Applicant’ recites “biologic characteristic” and selection of a patient for immunotherapy treatment and/or determining whether or not treatment should or should not continue, see First Action on the Merits mailed April 10, 2026, para. bridging pages 6 and 7; and Step 2A, prongs 1 and 2 spanning pages 7 and 8, respectively. The relationship is a natural phenomenon that describes how the patient’s body naturally responds (with or without treatment) and the biologic characteristic(s) of the cancer biomarkers.
The law of nature or judicial exception (JE) is not integrated into a practical application because additional steps of selecting a patient for treatment and/or continued treatment based upon the copy number, amount and/or activity of cancer biomarker(s) or biologic characteristic(s) is not an inventive step because determining these values are implemented utilizing traditional assays and data gathering steps required to use the correlation and do not add a meaningful limitation to the methods as they are insignificant extra-solution activity, step 2A, prong 2. Moreover, claim 1 does not recite any active steps of administration, but rather suggests or recommends whom to select for probable treatment based on values ascertained from the patient’s tumor sample and its biological characteristic(s).
There are no inventive concepts and no integration of the JE into a practical application.
Furthermore, the decision to continue treatment is conditional. “[I]f the copy number, amount and/or activity of i) KIF1B or B7 H6 is increased at the subsequent point in time or ii) HLA-E is decreased at the subsequent point in time” there is continued immunotherapy treatment, see Amendments to the Claims, page 6, claim 114, lines 13-15 submitted July 10, 2026. However, the claims do not provide if the converse is reached or if the characteristics are equal. There is no direction. There are no additional elements or combination of additional elements to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
For these reasons, those of record and herein, the rejection is maintained and made.
The claim(s) recite(s) a method of selecting a cancer patient with diagnosed cancer for immunotherapy based on the one or more values for one or more biomarkers; and a method of determining whether or not to continue treatment in a patient currently undergoing cancer treatment based upon the initial administered agent’s impact upon the copy number, amount and/or activity of biomarker(s), comparing patient samples at different time points if the one of the values differs at different time points and differences in these values between the patient and biomarker control thresholds and/or differences between these values at different time points is indicative of which patient should be selected for treatment. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims describe a law of nature, namely the relationship between biomarker(s) values and selection for immunotherapy treatment, and whether or not cancer treatment should continue or not. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because assaying copy number, expression level, activity and/or amount of a biomarker(s) does not add significantly more and is not an inventive concept.
The analysis as set forth in the 2019 Guidance is as follows:
Step 1: Yes, claims are drawn to methods which are one of the four statutory categories, a process.
Step 2A, prong 1: Yes, the claims recite/describe a law of nature or natural phenomenon. Claim 1 describes the relationship between the values (copy number, expression level, activity, combination thereof or amount) of one of the biomarkers and selection of a patient for treatment and continued treatment of cancer.
Step 2A, prong 2: No, the law of nature or natural phenomenon does not integrate into a practical application because there are no additional steps beyond the determination of a value and difference between one or more values for one or more biomarkers detected from a subject and a biomarker control threshold. This embodiment does not rely on or use the exception, this language does not integrate the law of nature or judicial exception into a practical application. There is observation of biomarker(s) and its value within a subject and one or more biomarker-specific control thresholds. Once one has the information regarding the values is detected from the subject, the subject is selected for treatment or continued treatment.
In claim 114, one of ordinary skill in the art determines and/or selects (mental step(s)) further treatment if certain conditions are met. For all intents and purposes there is nothing further to do if those conditions are not met. Essentially one of ordinary skill in the art does nothing and there is a lack of action.
Step 2B: There is no inventive concept present in the claims. The steps of analyzing for at least one biomarker and a value for one or more biomarker(s) is established by well understood, routine conventional methods, and in addition they are pre-solution activity, i.e. data gathering necessary to perform the correlation. The claims and steps inform one of ordinary skilled in the art whether or not an individual should be selected for treatment or the said treatment should be continued based on the biological characteristics of the biomarkers, i.e. copy number, amount, expression level and/or activity. The claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the law of nature and are recited at a high level of generality, and are necessary data-gathering steps. Accordingly, these claims are not eligible under step 2A or step 2B.
Claims that describe the relation set forth a natural law. The claim limitations setting forth additional elements are insufficient to transform the identified natural law into a patentable process. The method for making such determinations were well known in the art and these activities are not sufficient to transform an unpatentable law of nature into a patent-eligible application of such law.
Claims 1, 4 and 114 are drawn to a non-statutory method having a "natural principle" as a limiting element or step without reciting additional elements/steps that integrate the natural principle into the claimed invention such that the natural principle is practically applied, and are sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the natural principle itself. In the instant case, the "natural principle" is: the claims recite/describe a law of nature or natural phenomenon. The claims describe the relationship between cancer biomarker(s) and selecting one for immunotherapy and/or continued cancer treatment with assessment of the efficacy of a therapeutic agent and immunotherapy at different time points with different patient samples.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because assaying differences in values between the values for one or more biomarker(s) from the subject and control thresholds at different time points, as well as before and after treatment does not add significantly more and is not an inventive concept. Because methods for making such determinations were well known in the art, these steps simply tell researchers to engage in well-understood, routine, conventional activity previously engaged in by scientists in the field. Such activities are normally not sufficient to transform an unpatentable law of nature into a patent-eligible application of such law. Detection of candidate cancer biomarker(s) has been observed by applicant but not engineered by applicant. The claims do not add significantly more to the natural phenomenon because the claims do not require a novel reagent, apparatus of incorporate a novel treatment based on the correlation.
A claim that focuses on use of a natural principle must also include additional elements or steps to show that the inventor has practically applied, and added something significant to, the natural principle itself. See Mayo, 101 USPQ2d at 1966. Recited elements such as “selecting, “detecting”, “determining”, “comparing” and “continuing” based on the natural principle impose no meaningful limit on the performance of the claimed invention. As set forth the claims do not impose meaningful limits on the performance of the claimed invention. Patents cannot be obtained on subject matter identified by the courts as being exempted from eligibility (i.e., laws of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract ideas). Further, the method steps are conventional and routine in the art for the reasons stated above and the claims do not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception. The claims do not "practically apply" the judicial expectation; rather, the claims "simply inform" the judicial exception to one performing routine active method steps and do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. In the instant case, the outcome of the claimed method is only a statement of the judicial exception, evaluating differences in the values of biomarker(s) between different time periods and different samples. Thus, the invention has not been practically applied. It is concluded that the instant claims are judicial exceptions to 35 U.S.C. 101 and are therefore not patent eligible. See the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance and Federal Register https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2019/10/18/2019-22782/october-2019-patent-eligibility-guidance-update; and FDsys.gov.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claim(s) 1, 4, 35, 66, 67, 69 and 114 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haining et al., US 2017/0233808 A1 (published August 17, 2017), and further in view of Munirajan et al. (The Journal of Biological Chemistry 283(36): 24426-24434, September 5, 2008) and Semeraro et al., (OncoImmunology 4:11, e1042202-1 to e1042202-3, November 2015/ IDS reference CB submitted September 22, 2022).
Applicant has preemptively argued, “[t]he prior art rejections are based upon the previously pending claim scope. The independent claims have been substantially amended to recite, inter alia, specific biomarkers, biomarker-specific threshold relationships, NK-cell immunotherapy and additional functional limitations, many of which were previously recited in dependent claims.
For example, Haining is not alleged to disclose or motivate selection of the particular biomarkers now recited in amended claims 1, 4, 35, 66-67, 69 or 114, nor selection of a patient for treatment, or treatment of that patient, with an immunotherapy comprising NK cells based upon the measurement of one of the listed biomarkers.
Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references, whether considered individually or in combination, neither teach nor suggest the claims as currently amended.”, see Remarks submitted July 10, 2026, page 11.
Applicant’s arguments and points of view have been carefully considered, but fail to persuade.
Haining teaches methods of identifying a cell type, monitoring the progression of a disorder, based on “… a) determining the presence, copy number, amount, and/or activity of at least one biomarker …in a biological sample comprising CD8+ T cells; b) determining the presence, copy number, amount, and/or activity of the at least one biomarker in a control; and c) comparing the presence, copy number, amount, and/or activity of said at least one biomarker detected in steps a) and b); wherein the presence or a significant increase in the copy number, amount, and/or activity of the at least one biomarker in the biological sample relative to the control indicates that the biological sample comprises exhausted CD8+ T cells, is provided.”, see page 2, section 0008; and page 3, section 0012. Haining also teaches biomarker, kinesin family member 1B (KIF1B), see page 71. B7-H6 (NCR3LG1) and HLA-E.
“The term “biomarker” refers to a measurable entity of the present invention that has been determined to be associated with a chronic immune disorder. Biomarkers can include, without limitation, nucleic acids, proteins, and metabolites,.”, see page 7, section 0042.
The chronic immune disorder may be cancer, see page 3, 2nd column (col.) last 3 lines. The cancer may be epithelial ovarian cancer, see page 4, 1st col., 2nd to last sentence before “Brief…” segment; and page 9, section 0052.
“The term “altered amount” or “altered level” refers to increased or decreased copy number (e.g., germline and/or somatic) of a biomarker nucleic acid, e.g., increased or decreased expression level in a chronic immune disorder sample, as compared to the expression level or copy number of the biomarker nucleic acid in a control sample. The term “altered amount” of a biomarker also includes an increased or decreased protein level of a biomarker protein in a sample. e.g., a chronic immune disorder sample, as compared to the corresponding protein level in a normal, control sample. Furthermore, an altered amount of a biomarker protein may be determined by detecting posttranslational modification such as methylation status of the marker, which may affect the expression or activity of the biomarker protein.
“The amount of a biomarker in a subject is “significantly” higher or lower than the normal amount of the biomarker, if the amount of the biomarker is greater or less, respectively, than the normal level by an amount greater than the standard error of the assay employed to assess amount, and preferably at least 20%, 30%, 40%, 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, 90%, 100%, 150%, 200%, 300%, 350%, 400%, 500%, 600%, 700%, 800%, 900%, 1000% or than that amount. Alternately, the amount of the biomarker in the subject can be considered “significantly” higher or lower than the normal amount if the amount is at least about two, and preferably at least about three, four, or five times, higher or lower, respectively, than the normal amount of the biomarker. Such “significance” can also be applied to any other measured parameter described herein, such as for expression, inhibition, cytotoxicity, cell growth, and the like.
The term “altered level of expression” of a biomarker refers to an expression level or copy number of the biomarker in a test sample, e.g., a sample derived from a patient suffering from a chronic immune disorder, that is greater or less than the standard error of the assay employed to assess expression or copy number, and is preferably at least twice, and more preferably three, four, five or ten or more times the expression level or copy number of the biomarker in a control sample (e.g., sample from a healthy subjects not having the associated disease) and preferably, the average expression level or copy number of the biomarker in several control samples. The altered level of expression is greater or less than the standard error of the assay employed to assess expression or copy number, and is preferably at least twice, and more preferably three, four, five or ten or more times the expression level or copy number of the biomarker in a control sample (e.g., sample from a healthy subjects not having the associated disease) and preferably, the average expression level or copy number of the biomarker in several control samples.
The term “altered activity” of a biomarker refers to an activity of the biomarker which is increased or decreased in a disease state, e.g., in a chronic immune disorder sample, as compared to the activity of the biomarker in a normal, control sample. Altered activity of the biomarker may be the result of, for example, altered expression of the biomarker, altered protein level of the biomarker, altered structure of the biomarker, or, e.g., an altered interaction with other proteins involved in the same or different pathway as the biomarker or altered interaction with transcriptional activators or inhibitors.”, see page 6, section 0032-0034.
The determining step reads on Applicant’s step of selecting treatment for the subject, whom a biomarker(s) has been detected. Haining further teaches once it is determined targeted therapy will be administered against the disorder, immunotherapy including anti-immune checkpoint inhibitor therapy is selected as it is able to evoke and increase immune response against the disorder. “In most cases, the actual determination of the suitable treatment regimen for the subject will be performed by the attending physician or doctor.”, see page 10, section 0058.
“[D]etermining a suitable treatment regimen for the subject” is taken to mean the determination of a treatment regimen (i.e., a single therapy or a combination of different therapies that are used for the prevention and/or treatment of the chronic immune disorder in the subject) for a subject that is started, modified and/or ended based or essentially based or at least partially based on the results of the analysis according to the present invention. One example is determining whether to provide targeted therapy against a chronic immune disorder to provide immunotherapy that generally increases immune responses against the chronic immune disorder (e.g., anti-CD39 therapy with or without anti-immune checkpoint inhibitor therapy)… The determination can, in addition to the results of the analysis according to the present invention, be based on personal characteristics of the subject to be treated. In most cases, the actual determination of the suitable treatment regimen for the subject will be performed by the attending physician or doctor.”, see page 10, section 0058.
The immunotherapy is inclusive of an “immunotherapeutic agent”… any molecule, peptide, antibody or other agent which can stimulate a host immune system to generate an immune response against the chronic immune disorder in the subject.”, see page 16, section 0086. Non-limiting examples of anti-immune checkpoint inhibitor therapy taught in Haining are (e.g., anti-PD-1, anti-PD-L1, anti-PD-L2, and anti-CTLA4 therapies), see page 2, sections 0008-0010; page 11, section 0064-page 14, section 0074; page 50, sections 0283, 0286; page 52, section 0294; and page 57, section 0340. With the administration of the immunotherapy, it would naturally flow that primarily natural killer (NK) cells would be leveraged and modifies the biomarker(s).
“[O]ne aspect of the present invention relates to diagnostic assays for determining the amount and/or activity level of a biomarker … in the context of a biological sample (e.g., blood, serum, cells, or tissue) to thereby identify the presence of exhausted CD8+ T cells and/or the status of an individual afflicted with a chronic immune disorder.”, see page 55, section 0324.
“As described [in Haining], a “pre-determined” biomarker amount and/or activity measurement(s) may be a biomarker amount and/or activity measurement(s) used to, by way of example only, evaluate a subject that may be selected for treatment, evaluate a response to a therapy (e.g., anti-CD39 therapy with or without anti-immune checkpoint inhibitor therapy), and/or evaluate a response to a combination of therapies. A pre-determined biomarker amount and/or activity measurement(s) may be determined in populations of patients with or without a chronic immune disorder. The pre-determined biomarker amount and/or activity measurement(s) can be a single number, equally applicable to every patient, or the pre-determined biomarker amount and/or activity measurement(s) can vary according to specific subpopulations of patients…”, see page 32, section 0125.
“The pre-determined biomarker amount and/or activity measurement(s) can be any suitable standard. For example, the pre-determined biomarker amount and/or activity measurement(s) can be obtained from the same or a different human for whom a patient selection is being assessed. In one embodiment, the pre-determined biomarker amount and/or activity measurement(s) can be obtained from a previous assessment of the same patient…[T]he progress of the selection of the patient can be monitored over time.”, see page 32, section 0126.
“In another aspect, a method of monitoring the progression of a chronic immune disorder in a subject, comprising a) detecting at a first point in time the presence, copy number, amount, and/or activity of at least one biomarker … in CD8+ T cells from a subject sample; b) repeating step a) during at least one subsequent point in time after administration of a therapeutic agent; and c) comparing the presence, copy number, amount, and/or activity detected in steps a) and b), wherein the presence or a significantly increased copy number, amount, and/or activity of the at least one biomarker …in the CD8+ T cells from the first subject sample relative to at least one subsequent subject sample, indicates that the agent treats the chronic immune disorder in the subject, is provided. In one embodiment, the method further comprises determining the copy number, level of expression, and/or level of activity of at least one immune checkpoint inhibitor in the CD8+ T cells from the first subject sample; determining the copy number, level of expression, and/or level of activity of the at least one immune checkpoint inhibitor in the CD8+ T cells from the at least one subsequent
subject sample; and comparing the differences in the copy number, level of expression, and/or level of activity of the at least one immune checkpoint inhibitor between the samples, wherein a significant decrease in the copy number, level of expression, and/or level of activity of the at least one immune checkpoint inhibitor in the at least one subsequent subject sample relative to the first subject sample further indicates that the agent treats the chronic immune disorder in the subject. In another embodiment, the method further comprises determining T cell effector function of the CD8+ T cells in the first subject sample; determining T cell effector function of the CD8+ T cells in the at least one subsequent subject sample; and comparing the T cell effector function determinations, wherein a significant increase in the T cell effector function of the CD8+ T cells in the at least one subsequent subject sample relative to the first subject sample further indicates that the agent treats the chronic immune disorder in the subject. In still another embodiment, the subject has undergone treatment, completed treatment, and/or is in remission for the chronic immune disorder in between the first point in time and the subsequent point in time. In yet another embodiment, the subject has undergone anti-immune checkpoint inhibitor therapy in between the first point in time and the subsequent point in time. In another embodiment, the first and/or at least one subsequent sample is selected from the group consisting of ex vivo and in vivo samples. In still another embodiment, the first and/or at least one subsequent sample is obtained from an animal model of the chronic immune disorder. In yet another embodiment, the first and/or at least one subsequent sample is a portion of a single sample or pooled samples obtained from the subject.”, page 3, section 0012.
Haining does not explicitly teach the assessment of biomarkers that are kinesin family member 1B (KIF1B) and B7-H6 (NCR3LG1) and a tumor sample was obtained from a subject assayed for NK-cell cytotoxicity and shown to have more as compared to a control sample.
However, Munirajan teaches “…Fig.5, A and B [see at bottom of page 24430], expression levels of KIF1Bb mRNA were significantly higher in tumors at favorable stages (1, 2, and 4s, 1.654 + 0.257, mean S.E., n=60) than in those at advanced stages (3 and 4, 0.503 + 0.180, n = 42, p 0.001).”…tumors with monoallelic loss of KIF1Bb gene locus expressed significantly lower levels of KIF1B mRNA (0.126 + 0.092, n = 13) as compared with those with two KIF1Bb alleles (0.364 + 0.035, n = 16, p = 0.019).
And Semeraro teaches “…neuroblastoma cells express the NKp30 ligand B7-H6, which can be shed from the tumor cells. Elevated soluble B7-H6 levels contained in patient sera inhibited NK functions in vitro and correlated with downregulation of NK-p30 on NK cells,”, see abstract on page 1.
The caption for figure 1 on page e1042202-2 states “[t]wo possible scenarios describe the NKp30 involvement in controlling high-risk neuro-blastoma (HR-NB): in the first one, a favorable ratio of the NKp30B over the immunosuppressiveNKp30C isoform (NKp30DBChigh) is associated with tumor growth control. In particular, the NKp30/B7-H6 recognition between NK lymphocytes and neuroblasts and/or monocytes elicits a Th1 response with consequent cytotoxic, cytostatic and anti-angiogenic effects. In the second possible scenario, the presence of a predominant immunosuppressive NKp30 isoform (NKp30DBClow) induces IL-10 production with a consequent immunosuppressive environment resulting in tumor growth.” Therefore, Figure 1 teaches one of ordinary skill in the art can readily determine whether or not a tumor sample from a subject is or is not susceptible to NK-cell cytotoxicity as compared to a control sample. As it is art known, “[a] fully exhausted CD8+ T cell is one which does not proliferate, does not lyse target cells (cytotoxicity), and/or does not produce appropriate cytokines, such as IL-2, TNFα, or IFNγ, in response to normal input signals. Such lack of effector functions can occur when the antigen load is high and/or CD4 help is low.”, see Haining, page 14, section 0078.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the references to assay biological samples for different potential candidate biomarkers in cancer, as well as survey different values that yield information regarding cancer prognosis, best treatment and/or efficacy of treatment, see all references in their entirety, in particular Haining. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Haining and Semeraro to measure and determine whether or not involvement of biomarkers including B7-H6 expressed by tumour induce, trigger and/or neutralize NK cells ability to facilitate NK-cell cytotoxicity, see Haining, page 6, section 0032; page 14, section 0075-0078; and Semeraro, entire document, specifically para. bridging pages e1042202-1 and e1042202-2 and Figure 1 on page e1042202-2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success by teachings in all references, there are several art known methods in the art that can be efficiently and reproducibly implemented to analyze several candidate biomarkers for clinical decisions, discern candidate biomarkers impact on a cancer patient’s clinical outcome, as well as NK cell responses, see all references in their entirety.
Conclusion
15. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Julie Wu can be reached on 571-272-5205. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
ALANA HARRIS DENT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1643
Alana Harris Dent
23 September 2026
/Alana Harris Dent/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643