feNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. IT102020000001213, filed on 01/22/2020.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/20/2026, with respect to Claim(s) 1-13 under the nonstatutory (obviousness-type) double patenting rejection over the U.S. Patent No. 12,208,388 and/or the Publication No. US20220032296A1 and the provisional statutory double patenting rejection under 35 U.S.C. §101 over copending U.S. Application No. 17/793,713 of 11/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the “filler medium itself emits light and whose emission intensity is modulated by marker concentration” (See in pg. 3 of Remarks) of US17/793,713, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In response to applicant's argument that US12208388B2 and US20220032296A1 “relies on spatial confinement of particles to produce a signal, whereas the present claims rely on emission from freely movable particles. The operating principles are different”, and that “the optical signal is produced by marker emission rather than chamber-dependent confinement” (See in pg. 4 of Remarks), a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Thus, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of De Angelis et al. (US20220032296A1) herein referred to as De Angelis '296 and De Angelis et al. (US20230051647A1) herein referred to as De Angelis '647.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,208,388 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the microfluidic device of ‘388 discloses similar structural limitations (i.e. “portions” and “compartments”) in comparison to the instant application.
Claim(s) 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-13 of copending Application No. 17/793713 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the microfluidic device of the ‘713 reference application discloses similar structural limitations (i.e. “layers” and “compartments”) in comparison to the instant application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 line 10 has the typo "characterised". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by De Angelis et al. (US20220032296A1) referred to as De Angelis ‘296.
The applied reference has a common joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding Claim 1, De Angelis ‘296 teaches a microfluidic device (See the Abstract, Claim 1, and the microfluidic device 1, in [0028]-[0036] in Fig. 1-3) in comprising:
- a lower layer that is electrically conductive and transparent with respect to an incident optical beam (See how the lower layer 2 is electrically conductive and are partly or totally transparent to an incident optical beam generated by an optical source 10 in [0030] in Fig. 1),
- an upper layer (See the upper layer 3 in [0036] in Fig. 1), comprising
- first portions that are electrically conductive and configured to receive an electrical signal (See how the first upper portions 3 are electrically conductive and are configured to receive an electrical signal in [0034] in Fig. 1), and
- second portions that are electrically insulating, the first and second portions being adjacent and alternated between them, characterized in that it comprises (See how the second upper portions 3′ are electrically insulating, and how the microfluidic device 1 comprises second upper portions 3′ disposed between contiguous first upper portions 3 in [0040] in Fig. 1):
- a compartment interposed between the lower layer and the upper layer throughout the extension of the lower layer and of the upper layer and seamlessly extending between the lower layer and the upper layer (See how compartment 6 is interposed between upper layer 3 and lower layer 2 in [0045] in Fig.1), the compartment containing a filler medium that is transparent with respect to the incident optical beam and markers dispersed in the filler medium (See how the device 1 comprises one or more compartments 6 containing a filler means 7 and markers M homogeneously dispersed in the filler means 7 in [0045] in Fig. 1), wherein
- the markers are electrically charged and are adapted to move inside the compartment in all directions in variable amounts according to the intensity of the electrical signal applied to one or more of the first portions (See how the markers M are electrically charged and are configured to move between an upper chamber 9 and one or more lower chambers 8 in variable amounts according to the intensity of the electric signal applied to the first upper portions 3 and to emit an optical emission beam at an emission wavelength when illuminated in the lower chamber 8 by the incident optical beam produced by a light source 10 in [0051] in Fig. 3) and
to emit an optical emission beam when they are lit by an incident optical beam (See how in the presence of a liquid {such as a filler medium}, the markers M can move in all directions in variable amounts, according to the intensity and the sign of the electric potential applied to the first upper portions 3 and the amount and the sign of the electric charge, the molecular weight and the concentration of the markers M in [0060]-[0063] in Fig. 1-3 in Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 2, De Angelis ‘296 teaches the microfluidic device limitations of claim 1.
De Angelis ‘296 further teaches a microfluidic device (See the Abstract, Claim 1, and the microfluidic device 1, in [0028]-[0036] in Fig. 1-3), wherein the first portions are at least partially reflective with respect to the incident optical beam (See how the shielding portions 4 are made of a metal material, e.g. gold. In other words, the shielding portions 4 are opaque to the incident optical beam and are arranged between the first 3 and second 3′ upper portions and the lower portions 2 in [0041] in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim(s) 3-4, De Angelis ‘296 teaches the microfluidic device limitations of claim 1.
De Angelis ‘296 further teaches a microfluidic device (See the Abstract, Claim 1, and the microfluidic device 1, in [0028]-[0036] in Fig. 1-3), wherein the second portions are transparent with respect to the optical emission beam (See how the second upper portions 3′ are transparent and the first upper portions 3 include electrodes that carry the electrical signal of the cells C on the top face 3b to the bottom face 3a of the first upper portions 3 in [0040] in Fig. 1 and in Claim 3); and
wherein the second portions are at least partially reflective with respect to the incident optical beam (See how the lower portions 2 are electrically conductive and are partly or totally transparent to an incident optical beam generated by an optical source 10 in [0029]-[000033] in Fig. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 5, De Angelis ‘296 teaches the microfluidic device limitations of claim 1.
De Angelis ‘296 further teaches a microfluidic device (See the Abstract, Claim 1, and the microfluidic device 1, in [0028]-[0036] in Fig. 1-3), wherein
- the first portions comprise a plurality of upper electrodes, each upper electrode being configured to receive a respective electrical signal (See how the first upper portions 3 are electrically conductive and are configured to receive an electrical signal in [0034] in Fig. 1 and in Claim 11),
- the lower layer consists of a single lower electrode (See how the lower layer 2 identifies as a lower electrode in [0031] in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim(s) 6-7, De Angelis ‘296 teaches the microfluidic device limitations of claim 5.
De Angelis ‘296 further teaches a microfluidic device (See the Abstract, Claim 1, and the microfluidic device 1, in [0028]-[0036] in Fig. 1-3), wherein upper electrodes have a conformation selected from plate, polygonal, spheroidal or a combination thereof (Note what is discussed in MPEP § 2144 IV. A. concerning changes in the size or portions of a claimed invention. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. The current claims regarding the configuration selected for the upper electrodes, does not change the function of the claimed invention in comparison to the prior art. Thus, De Angelis ‘19 still reads on claim 6); and
wherein the upper electrodes and the lower electrode are electrically connected between them in an electric circuit or are floating (See how the upper layer 3 has a bottom surface 3a and a top surface 3b, opposite to the bottom surface 3a, and how the first upper portions 3 comprise a plurality of upper electrodes, where each upper electrode is configured to receive a respective electric signal in [0036]-[0039] in Fig. 1-3; Also, see how lower layer 2 and upper a layer 3 appear to float in Fig. 1). Regarding
Regarding Claim(s) 11-12, De Angelis ‘296 teaches the microfluidic device limitations of claim 1.
De Angelis ‘296 further teaches a microfluidic device (See the Abstract, Claim 1, and the microfluidic device 1, in [0028]-[0036] in Fig. 1-3), wherein each first portion is configured to house at least a cell and to receive an electrical signal of the action potential generated by the excited cell (See Claim 12); and
wherein the first portions have such dimensions as to house one single cell each (See how the electrically conductive first upper portions 3 are configured to accommodate at least one cell C and to receive an electrical signal of the action potential generated by the cell C in [0038] in Fig. 1-5).
Regarding Claim 13, De Angelis ‘296 teaches an apparatus (See the Abstract, Claim 13, and the apparatus 100, in [0050] in Fig. 1-3) in comprising:
- a microfluidic device according to claim 1 (See Claim 1 and the microfluidic device 1, in [0028]-[0036] in Fig. 1-3),
- an optical source configured to emit an incident optical beam towards the lower layer at least at the first portions of the microfluidic device (See the optical source 10 on lower layer 2 in [0030]-[0033], [0055] in Fig. 1)
- a detection optical device configured to receive an optical emission beam - generated by the markers (See the optical detection device 11, preferably a CCD or CMOS device, or an array of detectors and is filtered on the emission wavelength of the markers M {contained in filler medium 7} to thereby generate an optical signal representative of the electric signal applied to the first upper portions 3 in [0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Angelis et al. (US20220032296A1) referred to as De Angelis ’296, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of De Angelis et al. (US20230051647A1) herein referred to as De Angelis '647.
Claim(s) 8-10, De Angelis '296 teaches the microfluidic device limitations of claim 5.
De Angelis '296 fails to explicitly teach a microfluidic device, wherein the first portions are spaced between them at a distance between 1 and 100 pm; wherein the markers are nanoparticles of predefined dimensions selected from fluorophores of predefined spectral output and/or shape and/or molecular weight and/or electrical charge and/or hydrodynamic radius; and wherein the filler medium is a substance in liquid or gel form; and wherein the filler medium is a substance in solid form.
However, in the analogous art of microfluidic devices and methods, De Angelis ‘647 teaches a microfluidic device (See the Abstract and the microfluidic device 1 in Fig. 1-3), wherein the first portions are spaced between them at a distance between 1 and 100 pm; wherein the markers are nanoparticles of predefined dimensions selected from fluorophores of predefined spectral output and/or shape and/or molecular weight and/or electrical charge and/or hydrodynamic radius; and wherein the filler medium is a substance in liquid or gel form; and wherein the filler medium is a substance in solid form (See Final Amended Claim(s) 8-10 in US17/793713 aka De Angelis ’647).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the device of De Angelis '296 by incorporating first portions that are spaced between them at a distance between 1 and 100 pm, wherein the markers are nanoparticles of predefined dimensions selected from fluorophores of predefined spectral output and/or shape and/or molecular weight and/or electrical charge and/or hydrodynamic radius; and wherein the filler medium is a substance in liquid or gel form; and wherein the filler medium is a substance in solid form (As taught by De Angelis '647) for the benefit of particle monitoring in a microfluidic device.
Conclusion
/BRITNEY N. WASHINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1797
/JENNIFER WECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797