DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments 2/12/2026 for
response of the office action mailed on 8/28/2025. Claims 41-42, 46, 49-50, 54, and 57-58 have been amended. Claims 61-64 have been canceled. Claims 41-43, 46-47, 49-51, 54-55, 57-59, and 65-67 remain pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 2/12/2026 are entered for prosecution. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims
have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed on 8/28/2025.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 8-13), filed on 2/12/2026, with respect to the claims 41 and 42
have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in page 11 for independent claim 41, applicant remarks that Chen never teaches or suggests that after monitoring a PDCCH, the UE will receive another RRC release message, as recited in clam 1. Furthermore, Chen never mentions that monitoring a PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI of the UE after transmission for the SDT is performed, as further recited in claim 41.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Chen (US 2023/0030443 Al) discloses (UE may receive an indication via dedicated signaling (e.g., in an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration) that indicates whether the UE is allowed to transmit small data in the RRC_INACTIVE state via a 4-step RA procedure. the BS may consider that the small data transmission is not complete yet (e.g., subsequent data transmission is required) and may configure a subsequent UL grant (e.g., via the MSGB or via an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration) to the UE or may command the UE to transition back to the RRC_CONNECTED state, Chen: [0038]-[0048]), and (if small data retransmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state is supported, a UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state may monitor the common PDCCH (or common Control Resource Set (CORESET)) addressed by the CS-RNTI (or other RNTI) if the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state is configured with PUSCH resources for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state. UE may monitor a pre-configured PDCCH or CO RESET (via dedicated signaling or broadcast system information) to receive Acknowledgement (ACK) information (e.g., by monitoring the initial CORESET or CORESET #0 by using C-RNTI, Resume ID, or other RNTI), Chen: [0053]-[0058], [0062]-[0066]).
Regarding remarks in page 12 for dependent claim 42, applicant remarks that Jeon never mention the feature "receiving a contention resolution information.", and Jeon fails to teach or suggest "monitoring the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI of the UE, until expiry of a timer".
Chen discloses (UE performs the MSG3 transmission and monitors the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) for contention resolution, Chen: [0029]), and Jeon et al. (US 2018/0279375 Al) discloses (if the wireless device detects the C-RNTI on the PDCCH, the wireless device may determine the success of RA procedure. wireless device may restart the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer. If a wireless device starts or restarts the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer, the wireless device may start monitoring a downlink control channel using the C-RNTI or TC-RNTI. The wireless device may start this monitoring at a subframe and/or at a time offset from a start or restart of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer, Jeon: [0119], [0168] - [0169]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 41, 46, 49, 54, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by CHEN et al. (US 2023/0030443 Al, hereinafter “Chen”) in view of Shih et al. (US 2021/0211994 Al, hereinafter “Shih”).
Regarding claim 41, Chen discloses:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising (method of small data transmission for a user equipment (UE) is provided, Chen: [0007]):
receiving, from a base station, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) Release message comprising configured grant information and UE may receive an indication indicating that small data transmission via the configured grants in RRC_INACTIVE state is allowed in action 202. In an example, a configuration of the configured grants is included in an RRC Release message, Chen: [0081]);
performing Small Data Transmission (SDT) based on the configured grant information and the CS-RNTI while remaining in an inactive state (if small data retransmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state is supported, a UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state may monitor the common PDCCH (or common Control Resource Set (CORESET)) addressed by the CS-RNTI (or other RNTI) if the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state is configured with PUSCH resources for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state. when a UE transmits UL data (e.g., small data) via pre-configured PUSCH resources, the UE may monitor a pre-configured PDCCH or CORESET (via dedicated signaling or broadcast system information) to receive Acknowledgement (ACK) information (e.g., by monitoring the initial CORESET or CORESET #0 by using C-RNTI, Resume ID, or other RNTI), Chen: [0053], [0066]); and
after transmission for the SDT is performed, monitoring a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) addressed to a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) of the UE (if small data retransmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state is supported, a UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state may monitor the common PDCCH (or common Control Resource Set (CORESET)) addressed by the CS-RNTI (or other RNTI) if the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state is configured with PUSCH resources for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state. UE may monitor a pre-configured PDCCH or CO RESET (via dedicated signaling or broadcast system information) to receive Acknowledgement (ACK) information (e.g., by monitoring the initial CORESET or CORESET #0 by using C-RNTI, Resume ID, or other RNTI), Chen: [0053]-[0058], [0062]-[0066]),
until reception of a second RRC Release message (UE may receive an indication via dedicated signaling (e.g., in an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration) that indicates whether the UE is allowed to transmit small data in the RRC_INACTIVE state via a 4-step RA procedure. the BS may consider that the small data transmission is not complete yet (e.g., subsequent data transmission is required) and may configure a subsequent UL grant (e.g., via the MSGB or via an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration) to the UE or may command the UE to transition back to the RRC_CONNECTED state, Chen: [0038]-[0048]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose:
a Configured Scheduling Radio Network Temporary Identifier (CS-RNTI);
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shih teaches:
a Configured Scheduling Radio Network Temporary Identifier (CS-RNTI) (RRC defines the periodicity of the configured uplink grant while PDCCH addressed to CS-RNTI can either signal and activate the configured uplink grant, or deactivate it; i.e. a PDCCH addressed to CS-RNTI indicates that the uplink grant can be implicitly reused according to the periodicity defined by RRC, until deactivated, Shih: [0065]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Shih in order to further modify Configured Scheduling Radio Network Temporary Identifier (CS-RNTI) from the teachings of Shih.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have small data transmission procedure by the UE (Shih: [0376]).
Regarding claim 46, Chen in view of Shih teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 41 above.
Chen further discloses:
The method of claim 41, wherein at least one of an uplink grant or a downlink assignment is carried in a downlink control information (DCI) (UE may further receive the UL grant (e.g., via the MSG4, via downlink control information (DCI), or via dedicated signaling) for the subsequent small data transmission, Chen: [0039]-[0040])
transmitted in the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI of the UE (UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state may monitor the common PDCCH (or common CORESET) addressed by CS-RNTI (or other RNTI) for deactivation or activation of pre-configured PUSCH resources if the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state is configured with PUSCH resources for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state, Chen: [0053]-[0058], [0062]-[0066]), and
wherein the SDT is based on at least one of the uplink grant or the downlink assignment (UE may further receive the UL grant (e.g., via the MSG4, via downlink control information (DCI), or via dedicated signaling) for the subsequent small data transmission, Chen: [0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 49, Chen discloses:
A method performed by a base station, the method comprising (The method includes receiving, from a base station (BS), Chen: [0007]):
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) Release message comprising configured grant information and after the UE capability for supporting small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state is transmitted to the BS, the BS may provide the configured grants (e.g., pre-configured PUSCH resources) in an RRC Release message. Thus, the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state performs the small data transmission via the configured grants when a predefined condition is confirmed/satisfied/fulfilled, Chen: [0080]); and
receiving Small Data Transmission (SDT) based on the configured grant information and the CS-RNTI from the UE, while the UE is remaining in an inactive state (a cell may broadcast an indication via system information to indicate whether a UE is allowed to transmit small data in the RRC_INACTIVE state via a 4-step RA procedure. UE performs the small data transmission via the RA procedure. if small data retransmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state is supported, a UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state may monitor the common PDCCH (or common Control Resource Set (CORESET)) addressed by the CS-RNTI (or other RNTI) if the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state is configured with PUSCH resources for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state. when a UE transmits UL data (e.g., small data) via pre-configured PUSCH resources, the UE may monitor a pre-configured PDCCH or CORESET (via dedicated signaling or broadcast system information) to receive Acknowledgement (ACK) information (e.g., by monitoring the initial CORESET or CORESET #0 by using C-RNTI, Resume ID, or other RNTI), Chen: [0038]-[0041], [0053], [0066], [0073]-[0075]).
after transmission for the SDT is received, transmitting to the UE, a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) addressed to a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) of the UE, wherein the PDCCH is monitored by the UE (if small data retransmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state is supported, a UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state may monitor the common PDCCH (or common Control Resource Set (CORESET)) addressed by the CS-RNTI (or other RNTI) if the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state is configured with PUSCH resources for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state. UE may monitor a pre-configured PDCCH or CO RESET (via dedicated signaling or broadcast system information) to receive Acknowledgement (ACK) information (e.g., by monitoring the initial CORESET or CORESET #0 by using C-RNTI, Resume ID, or other RNTI), Chen: [0053]-[0058], [0062]-[0066])
until a second RRC Release message is received by the UE (UE may receive an indication via dedicated signaling (e.g., in an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration) that indicates whether the UE is allowed to transmit small data in the RRC_INACTIVE state via a 4-step RA procedure. the BS may consider that the small data transmission is not complete yet (e.g., subsequent data transmission is required) and may configure a subsequent UL grant (e.g., via the MSGB or via an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration) to the UE or may command the UE to transition back to the RRC_CONNECTED state, Chen: [0038]-[0048])
Chen does not explicitly disclose:
and a Configured Scheduling Radio Network Temporary Identifier (CS-RNTI); and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shih teaches:
a Configured Scheduling Radio Network Temporary Identifier (CS-RNTI) (RRC defines the periodicity of the configured uplink grant while PDCCH addressed to CS-RNTI can either signal and activate the configured uplink grant, or deactivate it; i.e. a PDCCH addressed to CS-RNTI indicates that the uplink grant can be implicitly reused according to the periodicity defined by RRC, until deactivated, Shih: [0065]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Shih in order to further modify Configured Scheduling Radio Network Temporary Identifier (CS-RNTI) from the teachings of Shih.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have small data transmission procedure by the UE (Shih: [0376]).
Regarding claim 54, Chen in view of Shih teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 49 above.
Chen further discloses:
The method of claim 49, wherein at least one of an uplink grant or a downlink assignment is carried in a downlink control information (DCI) transmitted in the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI of the UE (UE may further receive the UL grant (e.g., via the MSG4, via downlink control information (DCI), or via dedicated signaling) for the subsequent small data transmission. UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state may monitor the common PDCCH (or common CORESET) addressed by CS-RNTI (or other RNTI) for deactivation or activation of pre-configured PUSCH resources if the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state is configured with PUSCH resources for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state, Chen: [0039]-[0040], [0053]-[0058], [0062]-[0066]), and
wherein the SDT is based on at least one of the uplink grant or the downlink assignment (UE may further receive the UL grant (e.g., via the MSG4, via downlink control information (DCI), or via dedicated signaling) for the subsequent small data transmission, Chen: [0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 57, Chen discloses:
A user equipment (UE) comprising (UE for performing small data transmission is provided, Chen: [0008]):
a processor configured to cause the UE to (UE includes at least one processor, and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one memory storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE to perform the above-disclosed method of performing the small data transmission, Chen: [0008]):
receive, from a base station, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) Release message comprising configured grant information and UE may receive an indication indicating that small data transmission via the configured grants in RRC_INACTIVE state is allowed in action 202. In an example, a configuration of the configured grants is included in an RRC Release message, Chen: [0081]);
perform Small Data Transmission (SDT) based on the configured grant information and the CS-RNTI, while remaining in an inactive state (the RA procedure (e.g., 2-step RA procedure or 4-step RA procedure) may be triggered for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state if the RA procedure for small data transmission is configured/indicated/ allowed by the NW (e.g., a BS) via system information. if small data retransmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state is supported, a UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state may monitor the common PDCCH (or common Control Resource Set (CORESET)) addressed by the CS-RNTI (or other RNTI) if the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state is configured with PUSCH resources for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state. when a UE transmits UL data (e.g., small data) via pre-configured PUSCH resources, the UE may monitor a pre-configured PDCCH or CORESET (via dedicated signaling or broadcast system information) to receive Acknowledgement (ACK) information (e.g., by monitoring the initial CORESET or CORESET #0 by using C-RNTI, Resume ID, or other RNTI), Chen: [0038]-[0041], [0053], [0066]); and
after transmission for the SDT is performed, monitor a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) addressed to a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier ( C-RNTI) of the UE (if small data retransmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state is supported, a UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state may monitor the common PDCCH (or common Control Resource Set (CORESET)) addressed by the CS-RNTI (or other RNTI) if the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state is configured with PUSCH resources for small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state. UE may monitor a pre-configured PDCCH or CORESET (via dedicated signaling or broadcast system information) to receive Acknowledgement (ACK) information (e.g., by monitoring the initial CORESET or CORESET #0 by using C-RNTI, Resume ID, or other RNTI), Chen: [0053]-[0058], [0062]-[0066]),
until reception of a second RRC message (UE may receive an indication via dedicated signaling (e.g., in an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration) that indicates whether the UE is allowed to transmit small data in the RRC_INACTIVE state via a 4-step RA procedure. the BS may consider that the small data transmission is not complete yet (e.g., subsequent data transmission is required) and may configure a subsequent UL grant (e.g., via the MSGB or via an RRC Release message with a suspend configuration) to the UE or may command the UE to transition back to the RRC_CONNECTED state, Chen: [0038]-[0048]),
Chen does not explicitly disclose:
and a Configured Scheduling Radio Network Temporary Identifier (CS-RNTI); and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shih teaches:
a Configured Scheduling Radio Network Temporary Identifier (CS-RNTI) (RRC defines the periodicity of the configured uplink grant while PDCCH addressed to CS-RNTI can either signal and activate the configured uplink grant, or deactivate it; i.e. a PDCCH addressed to CS-RNTI indicates that the uplink grant can be implicitly reused according to the periodicity defined by RRC, until deactivated, Shih: [0065]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Shih in order to further modify Configured Scheduling Radio Network Temporary Identifier (CS-RNTI) from the teachings of Shih.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have small data transmission procedure by the UE (Shih: [0376]).
Claims 42-43, 47, 50-51, 55, 58-59, and 65-67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Shih in view of Jeon et al. (US 2018/0279375 Al, hereinafter “Jeon”).
Regarding claim 42, Chen in view of Shih teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 41 above.
Chen further discloses:
The method of claim 41, further comprising:
in a case where a Random Access (RA) SDT is performed (To support small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state, a random access channel (RACH)-based scheme (e.g., 2-step RA procedure or 4-step RA procedure) for small data transmission, Chen: [0035], [0037]-[0039]):
receiving a contention resolution information from the base station (UE performs the MSG3 transmission and monitors the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) for contention resolution, Chen: [0029]); and
Chen in view of Shih teaches does not explicitly disclose:
monitoring the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI of the UE, until expiry of a timer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon teaches:
monitoring the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI of the UE, until expiry of a timer (if the wireless device detects the C-RNTI on the PDCCH, the wireless device may determine the success of RA procedure. wireless device may restart the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer. If a wireless device starts or restarts the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer, the wireless device may start monitoring a downlink control channel using the C-RNTI or TC-RNTI. The wireless device may start this monitoring at a subframe and/or at a time offset from a start or restart of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer, Jeon: [0119], [0168] - [0169] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Shih in view of Jeon in order to further modify monitoring the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI of the UE, until expiry of a timer from the teachings of Jeon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because if the wireless device detects the C-RNTI on the PDCCH, the wireless device may determine the success of RA procedure (Jeon: [0119]).
Regarding claim 43, Chen and Shih and Jeon teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 42 above.
Chen further discloses:
The method of claim 42, wherein a value of the timer is broadcasted in system information (receiving, from a base station (BS), a radio resource control (RRC) release message, the RRC release message including a configured grant configuration and a first timer associated with the configured grant configuration, the configured grant configuration indicating an uplink (UL) resource; transitioning to an RRC_INACTIVE state in response to receiving the RRC release message, Chen: [0007], [0062], [0081]).
Regarding claim 47, Chen in view of Shih teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 46 above.
Chen in view of Shih does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 46, further comprising:
performing a subsequent uplink transmission based on the uplink grant.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon teaches:
performing a subsequent uplink transmission based on the uplink grant (uplink grant may be for a wireless device that may have subsequent uplink data to transmit. buffer status report may be transmitted by a wireless device in the Uplink transmission. base station may use the buffer status report for determining a uplink grant, Jeon: [0138]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Jeon in order to further modify performing a subsequent uplink transmission based on the uplink grant from the teachings of Jeon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the base station may assign a uplink grant based on the indicator (Jeon: [0133]).
Regarding claim 50, Chen in view of Shih teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 49 above.
Chen further discloses:
The method of claim 49, further comprising:
in a case where a Random Access (RA) SDT is performed (To support small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state, a random access channel (RACH)-based scheme (e.g., 2-step RA procedure or 4-step RA procedure) for small data transmission, Chen: [0035], [0037]-[0039]):
transmitting a contention resolution information to the UE (UE performs the MSG3 transmission and monitors the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) for contention resolution, Chen: [0029]),
Chen in view of Shih does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI of the UE is further monitored by the UE until expiry of a timer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon teaches:
wherein the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI of the UE is further monitored by the UE until expiry of a timer (wireless device may restart the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer. If a wireless device starts or restarts the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer, the wireless device may start monitoring a downlink control channel using the C-RNTI or TC-RNTI. The wireless device may start this monitoring at a subframe and/or at a time offset from a start or restart of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer, Jeon: [0119], [0168] - [0169]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Shih in view of Jeon in order to further modify the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI of the UE is further monitored by the UE until expiry of a timer from the teachings of Jeon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because if the wireless device detects the C-RNTI on the PDCCH, the wireless device may determine the success of RA procedure (Jeon: [0119]).
Regarding claim 51, Chen and Shih and Jeon teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 50 above.
Chen further discloses:
The method of claim 50, wherein a value of the timer is broadcasted in system information (receiving, from a base station (BS), a radio resource control (RRC) release message, the RRC release message including a configured grant configuration and a first timer associated with the configured grant configuration, the configured grant configuration indicating an uplink (UL) resource; transitioning to an RRC_INACTIVE state in response to receiving the RRC release message, Chen: [0007], [0062], [0081]).
Regarding claim 55, Chen in view of Shih teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 54 above.
Chen in view of Shih does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 54, wherein a subsequent uplink transmission is performed based on the uplink grant.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon teaches:
wherein a subsequent uplink transmission is performed based on the uplink grant (uplink grant may be for a wireless device that may have subsequent uplink data to transmit. buffer status report may be transmitted by a wireless device in the Uplink transmission. base station may use the buffer status report for determining a uplink grant, Jeon: [0138]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Shih in view of Jeon in order to further modify performing a subsequent uplink transmission based on the uplink grant from the teachings of Jeon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the base station may assign a uplink grant based on the indicator (Jeon: [0133]).
Regarding claim 58, Chen in view of Shih teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 57 above.
Chen further discloses:
The UE of claim 57, wherein the processor is configured to:
in a case where a Random Access (RA) SDT is performed (To support small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state, a random access channel (RACH)-based scheme (e.g., 2-step RA procedure or 4-step RA procedure) for small data transmission, Chen: [0035], [0037]-[0039]):
receive a contention resolution information from the base station (UE performs the MSG3 transmission and monitors the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) for contention resolution, Chen: [0029]); and
Chen in view of Shih does not explicitly disclose:
monitor the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI of the UE, until expiry of a timer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon teaches:
monitor the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI of the UE, until expiry of a timer (if the wireless device detects the C-RNTI on the PDCCH, the wireless device may determine the success of RA procedure. wireless device may restart the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer. If a wireless device starts or restarts the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer, the wireless device may start monitoring a downlink control channel using the C-RNTI or TC-RNTI. The wireless device may start this monitoring at a subframe and/or at a time offset from a start or restart of the mac-ContentionResolutionTimer, Jeon: [0119], [0168] - [0169]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Shih in view of Jeon in order to further modify monitoring the PDCCH addressed to the C-RNTI of the UE, until expiry of a timer from the teachings of Jeon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because if the wireless device detects the C-RNTI on the PDCCH, the wireless device may determine the success of RA procedure (Jeon: [0119]).
Regarding claim 59, Chen and Shih and Jeon teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 58 above.
Chen further discloses:
The UE of claim 58, wherein a value of the timer is broadcasted in system information (receiving, from a base station (BS), a radio resource control (RRC) release message, the RRC release message including a configured grant configuration and a first timer associated with the configured grant configuration, the configured grant configuration indicating an uplink (UL) resource; transitioning to an RRC_INACTIVE state in response to receiving the RRC release message, Chen: [0007], [0062], [0081]).
Regarding claim 65, Chen in view of Shih teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 41 above.
Chen in view of Shih does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 41, wherein the PDCCH is monitored after reception of a contention resolution identity Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) indicating successful contention resolution.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon teaches:
wherein the PDCCH is monitored after reception of a contention resolution identity Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) indicating successful contention resolution (The contention resolution in the fourth step may be to ensure that a wireless device does notincorrectly use another wireless device identity. The contention resolution mechanism may be based on either a C-RNTI on a PDCCH, or a UE Contention Resolution Identity on a DL-SCH, e.g., depending on whether or not a wireless device has a C-RNTI, Jeon: [0119], [0136]-[0137], [0166]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Shih in view of Jeon in order to further modify monitoring the PDCCH after reception of a contention resolution identity Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) indicating successful contention resolution from the teachings of Jeon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because if the wireless device detects the C-RNTI on the PDCCH, the wireless device may determine the success of RA procedure (Jeon: [0119]).
Regarding claim 66, Chen in view of Shih teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 49 above.
Chen in view of Shih does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 49, wherein the PDCCH is monitored after reception, by the UE, of a contention resolution identity Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) indicating successful contention resolution.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon teaches:
wherein the PDCCH is monitored after reception, by the UE, of a contention resolution identity Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) indicating successful contention resolution (The contention resolution in the fourth step may be to ensure that a wireless device does notincorrectly use another wireless device identity. The contention resolution mechanism may be based on either a C-RNTI on a PDCCH, or a UE Contention Resolution Identity on a DL-SCH, e.g., depending on whether or not a wireless device has a C-RNTI, Jeon: [0119], [0136]-[0137], [0166]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Shih in view of Jeon in order to further modify monitoring the PDCCH after reception of a contention resolution identity Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) indicating successful contention resolution from the teachings of Jeon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because if the wireless device detects the C-RNTI on the PDCCH, the wireless device may determine the success of RA procedure (Jeon: [0119]).
Regarding claim 67, Chen in view of Shih teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 41 above.
Chen in view of Shih does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 41, wherein the PDCCH is monitored after reception of a success Random Access Response (RAR) during a 2-step RA triggered by the SDT procedure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon teaches:
wherein the PDCCH is monitored after reception of a success Random Access Response (RAR) during a 2-step RA triggered by the SDT procedure (The base station may send a random access response (RAR) (e.g., Msg2 message) to the wireless device. two-step RA procedure may be attempted by a wireless device. The base station may transmit, to the wireless device, a random access response (RAR). The base station may include the RAR in a MAC PDU, Jeon: [0081], [0116], [0122], [0153]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Shih in view of Jeon in order to further modify monitoring the PDCCH after reception of a success Random Access Response (RAR) during a 2-step RA triggered by the SDT procedure from the teachings of Jeon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because if the wireless device detects the C-RNTI on the PDCCH, the wireless device may determine the success of RA procedure (Jeon: [0119]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension
of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the
specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 March 20, 2026