Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
There does not appear to be support in the original disclosure for the claimed “identifying that the target MME does not store information matching the received first UE radio capability information”.
It is unclear if the intent of this claim limitation is (A) that the MME does not STORE matching information, or (B) that the information stored in the MME does not MATCH.
Based on Paragraph [0069] of the specification, it appears the intent is option (B) above. If so, the examiner believes clarity could be added by amending the limitation to read similarly to “…in case that the information stored in the target MME does not match the first UE radio capability information...”
Paragraph [0069] of the specification states:
[0069] Also, in operation 315, the source AMF (111) may generate network assigned PLMN associated UE radio information (e.g., network assigned UE radio information, PLMN assigned UE radio information, or PLMN assigned UE radio capability identity information IE (information element)) and allocate the same to the UE. This operation may be performed when the information included in the target MME 181 does not match the information included in the UE 101 or when the target MME 181 intends to allocate the PLMN assigned UE radio information to the UE 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 5, 8, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Procedures for the 5G System (5GS); Stage 2 (Release 16), in view of Zaus et al. (US 20150264637 A1 dated 2015-09-17), REXHEPI (WO 2010092457 A1 dated 2010-08-19), Wang et al. (CN 108632917 A dated 2018-10-09), Wu (US 20190281518 A1 dated 2019-09-12), CASATI et al. (US 20210266729 A1 dated 2018-06-26), hereinafter 3GPP 1-Zaus-Rexhepi-Wang-Wu-Casati
As to claim 1, 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Procedures for the 5G System (5GS); Stage 2 (Release 16) discloses A method, performed by a target mobility management entity(MME), of performing communication in a wireless communication system (implicitly disclosed), the method comprising:
receiving a forward relocation request comprising first user equipment (UE) radio capability information from a source access and mobility management function (AMF) entity in case that a handover of a UE is determined (Section 4.9.1.3.2 Page 168 – “If the source NG RAN and target NG RAN support RACS as defined in TS 23.501 [2], the Source to Target transparent container shall contain the UE's UE Radio Capability ID instead of UE radio access capabilities. In the case of inter-PLMN handover, when the source and target NG-RAN support RACS as defined in TS 23.501 [2] and the source NG-RAN determines based on local configuration that the target PLMN does not support the UE Radio Capability ID assigned by the source PLMN, then the source NG-RAN includes the UE radio access capabilities in the Source to Target transparent container instead of UE Radio Capability ID.”);
3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Procedures for the 5G System (5GS); Stage 2 (Release 16) discloses identifying that the target MME does not store information matching the received first UE radio capability information (Section 4.9.1.3.2 Page 168 – “If the source NG RAN and target NG RAN support RACS as defined in TS 23.501 [2], the Source to Target transparent container shall contain the UE's UE Radio Capability ID instead of UE radio access capabilities. In the case of inter-PLMN handover, when the source and target NG-RAN support RACS as defined in TS 23.501 [2] and the source NG-RAN determines based on local configuration that the target PLMN does not support the UE Radio Capability ID assigned by the source PLMN, then the source NG-RAN includes the UE radio access capabilities in the Source to Target transparent container instead of UE Radio Capability ID.”);
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Zaus et al. (US 20150264637 A1 dated 2015-09-17) discloses identifying that the target network entity does not store information matching the received first UE radio capability information (Paragraph [0045] – “In method 3, a network node (e.g., an eNB or an MME) can receive radio capability information regarding a UE and store only the portions of the UE radio capability information that are relevant to capabilities supported in the network (e.g., by any nodes in the network).”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to matching radio capability information as taught by wireless network of Zaus et al. in order to avoid unnecessary updates.
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Zaus et al. (US 20150264637 A1 dated 2015-09-17) discloses wherein the first UE radio capability information comprises a first radio capability identifier and version information of the first UE radio capability identifier ([0029] talks about radio capability info, [0030] then gets into using parameters to identify supported bands, and then [0036] says those parameters may be different release versions – “A UE that receives this information can be configured to send radio capability information regarding release version x and any previous release versions.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to radio capability identifier and version information as taught by wireless network of Zaus et al. in order to maintain latest identifier and version information.
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Zaus et al. (US 20150264637 A1 dated 2015-09-17) discloses wherein the second UE radio capability information comprises a second UE radio capability identifier and version information of the second UE radio capability identifier ([0029] talks about radio capability info, [0030] then gets into using parameters to identify supported bands, and then [0036] says those parameters may be different release versions – “A UE that receives this information can be configured to send radio capability information regarding release version x and any previous release versions.”),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to radio capability identifier and version information as taught by wireless network of Zaus et al. in order to maintain latest identifier and version information.
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Zaus et al. (US 20150264637 A1 dated 2015-09-17) discloses in case that the target MME identifies that the target MME does not store the information matching the first UE radio capability information, allocating second UE radio capability information to the UE (Paragraph [0045] – “In method 3, a network node (e.g., an eNB or an MME) can receive radio capability information regarding a UE and store only the portions of the UE radio capability information that are relevant to capabilities supported in the network (e.g., by any nodes in the network).”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to matching radio capability information as taught by wireless network of Zaus et al. in order to avoid unnecessary updates.
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, REXHEPI (WO 2010092457 A1 dated 2010-08-19) discloses allocating second UE radio capability information to the UE (Description, page 8, Fig. 3 – “The RAU Accept or Attach Accept message may include a request for the provision of an inter-RAT information container defining the inter-RAT capabilities of the MS. At operation 104, the MS may provide a RAU Complete or Attach Complete message to the old SGSN. The RAU Complete or Attach Complete message may provide the inter-RAT information container (e.g., including the START_PS and UE RAC capabilities) to the old SGSN.” Here, the inter-RAT information center includes UE RAC capabilities, the network element is sending it to the UE as mentioned in step 102 in Fig. 3. This can be understood that UE radio capability information is being allocated to the UE as mentioned in the claim)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to UE radio capability information allocation to the UE as taught by wireless network of REXHEPI in order to update the UE with new radio capability information for successful inter-RAT handover.
3GPP 1. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Wang et al. (CN 108632917 A dated 2018-10-09) discloses transmitting a forward relocation response comprising the container to the source AMF that provides the container to the UE through a source base station (Description, Page 10, 11 – “Because the switching request sent by the access network entity in the source base station to the content of transparent container transparent base station is invalid, the AMF receiving the mapping is finished after the EPS bearer context will not be sent to the access network entity. but to the MME in traditional LTE network transmits the EPS bearer context, the MME transmits carries with a handover request of EPS bearer list to the target base station, and the handover request in the content of transparent container by the source base station to the target base station. the target base station analyzes said switching request confirming content of the transparent container of the source base station to the target base station, the target base station carried in the switching request of EPS bearer list building E-RAB. the target base station sends the response message to the MME after finishing the establishment of the E-RAB, the MME returns a forward relocation response to the MS according to the response message (Forward relocation Response)”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to transmitting a forward location response to the UE as taught by wireless network of Wang et al. in order to operate efficiently in the network.
3GPP 1 et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Wu (US 20190281518 A1 dated 2019-09-12) discloses transmitting, to a target base station, a handover request message comprising second UE radio capability information allocated by the target MME, receiving, from the target base station, a handover request acknowledge comprising a container that is generated by the target base station and comprises the second UE radio capability information allocated by the target MME; (Paragraph [0100] – “In one example, the Handover Request message includes at least one of UE Radio Capabilities, a PDCP configuration, a DRB configuration, a SRB configuration and a SDAP configuration. The DRB configuration includes a DRB identity. The SRB configuration includes a SRB identity. For example, the Handover Request message includes a radio bearer configuration (e.g., RadioBearerConfig).”),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to handover request message comprising UE radio capability information as taught by wireless network of Wu in order to operate efficiently in the network.
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, CASATI et al. (US 20210266729 A1 dated 2018-06-26) discloses wherein the UE determines to update the first UE radio capability information stored in the UE in case that the version information of the first UE radio capability identifier does not match the version information of the second UE radio capability identifier (see [0108] for a discussion of timestamps / versions and [0112] for updating the store when receiving a newer version and further teaches the benefit of being able to check and update the info [0117].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of 3GPP 1 so that the radio capability information is determined based on version matching of radio capability identifiers of the UE and to include such in the identifying, as taught by wireless network of Casati in order to easily check and update the exchanged info as suggested by Casati.
As to claim 5, 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Procedures for the 5G System (5GS); Stage 2 (Release 16) discloses A method, performed by a user equipment (UE), of performing communication in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting a registration request comprising first UE radio capability information to a source base station (Section 4.9.1.3.2 Page 168 – “If the source NG RAN and target NG RAN support RACS as defined in TS 23.501 [2], the Source to Target transparent container shall contain the UE's UE Radio Capability ID instead of UE radio access capabilities. In the case of inter-PLMN handover, when the source and target NG-RAN support RACS as defined in TS 23.501 [2] and the source NG-RAN determines based on local configuration that the target PLMN does not support the UE Radio Capability ID assigned by the source PLMN, then the source NG-RAN includes the UE radio access capabilities in the Source to Target transparent container instead of UE Radio Capability ID.”);
in case that a handover of the UE is determined in the source base station, receiving, from the source base station, a handover command comprising a container that is generated by a target base station and comprises second UE radio capability information, wherein the second UE radio capability information is allocated from a target mobility management entity (MME) (Section 4.9.1.3.2 Page 168 – “If the source NG RAN and target NG RAN support RACS as defined in TS 23.501 [2], the Source to Target transparent container shall contain the UE's UE Radio Capability ID instead of UE radio access capabilities. In the case of inter-PLMN handover, when the source and target NG-RAN support RACS as defined in TS 23.501 [2] and the source NG-RAN determines based on local configuration that the target PLMN does not support the UE Radio Capability ID assigned by the source PLMN, then the source NG-RAN includes the UE radio access capabilities in the Source to Target transparent container instead of UE Radio Capability ID.”),
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Zaus et al. (US 20150264637 A1 dated 2015-09-17) discloses based on that the target MME does not store information matching, the first UE radio capability information allocated from the target MME; and (Paragraph [0045] – “In method 3, a network node (e.g., an eNB or an MME) can receive radio capability information regarding a UE and store only the portions of the UE radio capability information that are relevant to capabilities supported in the network (e.g., by any nodes in the network).”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to matching radio capability information as taught by wireless network of Zaus et al. in order to avoid unnecessary updates.
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Zaus et al. (US 20150264637 A1 dated 2015-09-17) discloses updating the first UE radio capability information stored in the UE based on the second UE radio capability information allocated from the target MME, wherein the first UE radio capability information comprises a first UL radio capability identifier and version information of the first UE radio capability identifier ([0029] talks about radio capability info, [0030] then gets into using parameters to identify supported bands, and then [0036] says those parameters may be different release versions – “A UE that receives this information can be configured to send radio capability information regarding release version x and any previous release versions.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to radio capability identifier and version information as taught by wireless network of Zaus et al. in order to maintain latest identifier and version information.
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Zaus et al. (US 20150264637 A1 dated 2015-09-17) discloses wherein the second UE radio capability information allocated from the target MME comprises a second UE radio capability identifier and version information of the second UE radio capability identifier ([0029] talks about radio capability info, [0030] then gets into using parameters to identify supported bands, and then [0036] says those parameters may be different release versions – “A UE that receives this information can be configured to send radio capability information regarding release version x and any previous release versions.”),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to radio capability identifier and version information as taught by wireless network of Zaus et al. in order to maintain latest identifier and version information.
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, CASATI et al. (US 20210266729 A1 dated 2018-06-26) discloses wherein the method further comprises: determining to update the first UE radio capability information stored in the UE in case that the version information of the first UE radio capability identifier does not match the version information of the second UE radio capability identifier (see [0108] for a discussion of timestamps / versions and [0112] for updating the store when receiving a newer version and further teaches the benefit of being able to check and update the info [0117].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of 3GPP 1 so that the radio capability information is determined based on version matching of radio capability identifiers of the UE and to include such in the identifying, as taught by wireless network of Casati in order to easily check and update the exchanged info as suggested by Casati.
As to claim 8, 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Procedures for the 5G System (5GS); Stage 2 (Release 16) discloses A target mobility management entity (MME) in a wireless communication system, the target MME comprising: a transceiver (UE); and at least one processor configured to receive a forward relocation request comprising first user equipment (UE) radio capability information from a source access and mobility management function (AMF) through the transceiver in case a handover of a UE is determined (Section 4.9.1.3.2 Page 168 – “If the source NG RAN and target NG RAN support RACS as defined in TS 23.501 [2], the Source to Target transparent container shall contain the UE's UE Radio Capability ID instead of UE radio access capabilities. In the case of inter-PLMN handover, when the source and target NG-RAN support RACS as defined in TS 23.501 [2] and the source NG-RAN determines based on local configuration that the target PLMN does not support the UE Radio Capability ID assigned by the source PLMN, then the source NG-RAN includes the UE radio access capabilities in the Source to Target transparent container instead of UE Radio Capability ID.”),
3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Procedures for the 5G System (5GS); Stage 2 (Release 16) discloses identify that the target MME does not store information (Section 4.9.1.3.2 Page 168 – “If the source NG RAN and target NG RAN support RACS as defined in TS 23.501 [2], the Source to Target transparent container shall contain the UE's UE Radio Capability ID instead of UE radio access capabilities. In the case of inter-PLMN handover, when the source and target NG-RAN support RACS as defined in TS 23.501 [2] and the source NG-RAN determines based on local configuration that the target PLMN does not support the UE Radio Capability ID assigned by the source PLMN, then the source NG-RAN includes the UE radio access capabilities in the Source to Target transparent container instead of UE Radio Capability ID.”), and
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Zaus et al. (US 20150264637 A1 dated 2015-09-17) discloses in case that the target MME identifies that the target MME does not store information matching the first UE radio capability information, allocate second UE radio capability information to the UE (Paragraph [0045] – “In method 3, a network node (e.g., an eNB or an MME) can receive radio capability information regarding a UE and store only the portions of the UE radio capability information that are relevant to capabilities supported in the network (e.g., by any nodes in the network).”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to matching radio capability information as taught by wireless network of Zaus et al. in order to avoid unnecessary updates.
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, REXHEPI (WO 2010092457 A1 dated 2010-08-19) discloses allocate second UE radio capability information to the UE (Description, page 8, Fig. 3 – “The RAU Accept or Attach Accept message may include a request for the provision of an inter-RAT information container defining the inter-RAT capabilities of the
MS. At operation 104, the MS may provide a RAU Complete or Attach Complete message to the old SGSN. The RAU Complete or Attach Complete message may provide the inter-RAT information container (e.g., including the START_PS and UE RAC capabilities) to the old SGSN.” Here, the inter-RAT information center includes UE RAC capabilities, the network element is sending it to the UE as mentioned in step 102 in Fig. 3. This can be understood that UE radio capability information is being allocated to the UE as mentioned in the claim)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to UE radio capability information allocation to the UE as taught by wireless network of REXHEPI in order to update the UE with new radio capability information for successful inter-RAT handover.
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Zaus et al. (US 20150264637 A1 dated 2015-09-17) discloses wherein the first UE radio capability information UE comprises a first UE radio capability identifier and version information of the first UE radio capability identifier ([0029] talks about radio capability info, [0030] then gets into using parameters to identify supported bands, and then [0036] says those parameters may be different release versions – “A UE that receives this information can be configured to send radio capability information regarding release version x and any previous release versions.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to radio capability identifier and version information as taught by wireless network of Zaus et al. in order to maintain latest identifier and version information.
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Zaus et al. (US 20150264637 A1 dated 2015-09-17) discloses wherein the second UE radio capability information allocated by the target MME comprises a second UE radio capability identifier and version information of the second UE radio capability identifier ([0029] talks about radio capability info, [0030] then gets into using parameters to identify supported bands, and then [0036] says those parameters may be different release versions – “A UE that receives this information can be configured to send radio capability information regarding release version x and any previous release versions.”),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to radio capability identifier and version information as taught by wireless network of Zaus et al. in order to maintain latest identifier and version information.
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Wang et al. (CN 108632917 A dated 2018-10-09) discloses transmit, through the transceiver, a forward relocation response comprising the container to the source AMF that provides the container to the UE through a source base station (Description, Page 10, 11 – “Because the switching request sent by the access network entity in the source base station to the content of transparent container transparent base station is invalid, the AMF receiving the mapping is finished after the EPS bearer context will not be sent to the access network entity. but to the MME in traditional LTE network transmits the EPS bearer context, the MME transmits carries with a handover request of EPS bearer list to the target base station, and the handover request in the content of transparent container by the source base station to the target base station. the target base station analyzes said switching request confirming content of the transparent container of the source base station to the target base station, the target base station carried in the switching request of EPS bearer list building E-RAB. the target base station sends the response message to the MME after finishing the establishment of the E-RAB, the MME returns a forward relocation response to the MS according to the response message (Forwardrelocation Response)”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to transmitting a forward location response to the UE as taught by wireless network of Wang et al. in order to operate efficiently in the network.
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Wu (US 20190281518 A1 dated 2019-09-12) discloses transmit, to a target base station through the transceiver, a handover request message comprising the second UE radio capability information allocated by the target MME, receive, from the target base station through the transceiver, a handover request acknowledge comprising a container that is generated by the target base station and comprises the second UE radio capability information allocated by the target MME, and (Paragraph [0100] – “In one example, the Handover Request message includes at least one of UE Radio Capabilities, a PDCP configuration, a DRB configuration, a SRB configuration and a SDAP configuration. The DRB configuration includes a DRB identity. The SRB configuration includes a SRB identity. For example, the Handover Request message includes a radio bearer configuration (e.g., RadioBearerConfig).”),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to handover request message comprising UE radio capability information as taught by wireless network of Wu in order to operate efficiently in the network.
3GPP 1 et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, CASATI et al. (US 20210266729 A1 dated 2018-06-26) discloses wherein the UE determines to update the first UE radio capability information stored in the UE in case that the version information of the first UE radio capability identifier does not match the version information of the second UE radio capability identifier (see [0108] for a discussion of timestamps / versions and [0112] for updating the store when receiving a newer version and further teaches the benefit of being able to check and update the info [0117].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of 3GPP 1 so that the radio capability information is determined based on version matching of radio capability identifiers of the UE and to include such in the identifying, as taught by wireless network of Casati in order to easily check and update the exchanged info as suggested by Casati.
As to claim 12, 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Procedures for the 5G System (5GS); Stage 2 (Release 16) discloses A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor configured to transmit a registration request comprising first UE radio capability information to a source base station through the transceiver (Section 4.9.1.3.2 Page 168 – “If the source NG RAN and target NG RAN support RACS as defined in TS 23.501 [2], the Source to Target transparent container shall contain the UE's UE Radio Capability ID instead of UE radio access capabilities. In the case of inter-PLMN handover, when the source and target NG-RAN support RACS as defined in TS 23.501 [2] and the source NG-RAN determines based on local configuration that the target PLMN does not support the UE Radio Capability ID assigned by the source PLMN, then the source NG-RAN includes the UE radio access capabilities in the Source to Target transparent container instead of UE Radio Capability ID.”),
in case that a handover of the UE is determined in the source base station, receive, from the source base station through the transceiver, a handover command comprising a container that is generated by a target base station and comprises second UE radio capability information (Section 4.9.1.3.2 Page 168 – “If the source NG RAN and target NG RAN support RACS as defined in TS 23.501 [2], the Source to Target transparent container shall contain the UE's UE Radio Capability ID instead of UE radio access capabilities. In the case of inter-PLMN handover, when the source and target NG-RAN support RACS as defined in TS 23.501 [2] and the source NG-RAN determines based on local configuration that the target PLMN does not support the UE Radio Capability ID assigned by the source PLMN, then the source NG-RAN includes the UE radio access capabilities in the Source to Target transparent container instead of UE Radio Capability ID.”),
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Zaus et al. (US 20150264637 A1 dated 2015-09-17) discloses wherein the second radio capability information is allocated from a target mobility management entity (MME) based on that the target MME does not store information matching the first UE radio capability information (Paragraph [0045] – “In method 3, a network node (e.g., an eNB or an MME) can receive radio capability information regarding a UE and store only the portions of the UE radio capability information that are relevant to capabilities supported in the network (e.g., by any nodes in the network).”), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to matching radio capability information as taught by wireless network of Zaus et al. in order to avoid unnecessary updates.
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Zaus et al. (US 20150264637 A1 dated 2015-09-17) discloses update the first UE radio capability information stored in the UE based on the second UE radio capability information allocated from the target MME, wherein the first UE radio capability information UE comprises a first UE radio capability identifier and version information of the first UE radio capability identifier ([0029] talks about radio capability info, [0030] then gets into using parameters to identify supported bands, and then [0036] says those parameters may be different release versions – “A UE that receives this information can be configured to send radio capability information regarding release version x and any previous release versions.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to radio capability identifier and version information as taught by wireless network of Zaus et al. in order to maintain latest identifier and version information.
3GPP 1 does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Zaus et al. (US 20150264637 A1 dated 2015-09-17) discloses wherein the second UE radio capability information allocated from the target MME comprises a second UE radio capability identifier and version information of the second UE radio capability identifier ([0029] talks about radio capability info, [0030] then gets into using parameters to identify supported bands, and then [0036] says those parameters may be different release versions – “A UE that receives this information can be configured to send radio capability information regarding release version x and any previous release versions.”),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of 3GPP 1 to include the means to radio capability identifier and version information as taught by wireless network of Zaus et al. in order to maintain latest identifier and version information.
3GPP 1 et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, CASATI et al. (US 20210266729 A1 dated 2018-06-26) discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine to update the first UE radio capability information stored in the UE in case that the version information of the first UE radio capability identifier does not match the version information of the second UE radio capability identifier (see [0108] for a discussion of timestamps / versions and [0112] for updating the store when receiving a newer version and further teaches the benefit of being able to check and update the info [0117].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of 3GPP 1 so that the radio capability information is determined based on version matching of radio capability identifiers of the UE and to include such in the identifying, as taught by wireless network of Casati in order to easily check and update the exchanged info as suggested by Casati.
Claim 3, 7, 10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP 1-Zaus-Rexhepi-Wang-Wu-Casati as applied in claim 1, 5, 8, 12 and further in view of CASATI (US 20210266729 A1 dated 2018-06-26) and Zelig et al. (US 20060109802 A1 dated 2004-11-19)
As to claim 3, The combination of 3GPP 1-Zaus-Rexhepi-Wang-Wu-Casati does not explicitly recite The method of claim 1, wherein the UE determines to update the first UE radio capability information stored in the UE based on a result of comparing a least significant bit (LSB) of the first UE radio capability information with an LSB of the second UL radio capability information allocated by the target MME
In an analogous art, CASATI (US 20210266729 A1 dated 2018-06-26) discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the UE determines to update the first UE radio capability information stored in the UE based on a result of comparing a least significant bit (LSB) of the first UE radio capability information with an LSB of the second UL radio capability information allocated by the target MME ( [0121] teaches that a bitmap can be used as a form of version number and used to check for up to date or valid information.).
Further in an analogous art, Zelig et al. (US 20060109802 A1 dated 2004-11-19) discloses comparing a least significant bit (LSB) of the first UE radio capability information with an LSB of the second UL radio capability information (Paragraph [0123] – “the filter may compare only the least significant bits of VPLS ID 92 to its table of VPLS instances.” Here it is known in the art that two parameters can be compared using the least significant bits. Similarly, it is possible to compare a least significant bit (LSB) of the received radio capability information of the UE with an LSB of the radio capability information of the UE stored at the target network entity.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of 3GPP 1-Zaus-Rexhepi-Wang-Wu-Casati to include the means to comparing and matching a least significant bit (LSB) of the received radio capability information of the UE with an LSB of the radio capability information of the UE stored at the target network entity as taught by wireless network of Casati and Zelig et al in order to get UE radio capability information updated with the latest information.
As to claim 7, The combination of 3GPP 1-Zaus-Rexhepi-Wang-Wu-Casati does not explicitly recite The method of claim 5, further comprising: determining to update the first UEallocated from the target MME.
In an analogous art, CASATI (US 20210266729 A1 dated 2018-06-26) discloses The method of claim 5, further comprising: determining whether to update the first UEallocated from the target MME. ( [0121] teaches that a bitmap can be used as a form of version number and used to check for up to date or valid information.).
Further in an analogous art, Zelig et al. (US 20060109802 A1 dated 2004-11-19) discloses comparing a least significant bit (LSB) of the first UEcompare a least significant bit (LSB) of the received radio capability information of the UE with an LSB of the radio capability information of the UE stored at the target network entity.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of 3GPP 1-Zaus-Rexhepi-Wang-Wu-Casati to include the means to comparing and matching a least significant bit (LSB) of the received radio capability information of the UE with an LSB of the radio capability information of the UE stored at the target network entity as taught by wireless network of Casati and Zelig et al in order to get UE radio capability information updated with the latest information.
As to claim 10, The combination of 3GPP 1-Zaus-Rexhepi-Wang-Wu-Casati does not explicitly recite The target MME of claim 8, wherein the UE determines to update the first UE radio capability information stored in the UE based on a result of comparing a least significant bit (LSB) of the first UE radio capability information with an LSB of the second UE radio capability information allocated by the target MME.
In an analogous art, Zelig et al. (US 20060109802 A1 dated 2004-11-19) discloses The target MME of claim 8, wherein the UE determines whether to update the first UE radio capability information stored in the UE based on a result of comparing a least significant bit (LSB) of the first UE radio capability information with an LSB of the second UE radio capability information allocated by the target MME (Paragraph [0123] – “the filter may compare only the least significant bits of VPLS ID 92 to its table of VPLS instances.” Here it is known in the art that two parameters can be compared using the least significant bits. Similarly, it is possible to compare a least significant bit (LSB) of the received radio capability information of the UE with an LSB of the radio capability information of the UE stored at the target network entity.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of 3GPP 1-Zaus-Rexhepi-Wang-Wu-Casati to include the means to comparing and matching a least significant bit (LSB) of the received radio capability information of the UE with an LSB of the radio capability information of the UE stored at the target network entity as taught by wireless network of Zelig et al in order to get UE radio capability information updated with the latest information.
As to claim 14, The combination of 3GPP 1-Zaus-Rexhepi-Wang-Wu-Casati does not explicitly recite The UE of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine to update the first UEallocated from the target MME.
In an analogous art, CASATI (US 20210266729 A1 dated 2018-06-26) discloses The UE of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine whether to update the first UEa least significant bit (LSB) of the first UE radio capability information with an LSB of the second UL radio capability information ( [0121] teaches that a bitmap can be used as a form of version number and used to check for up to date or valid information.).
Further in an analogous art, Zelig et al. (US 20060109802 A1 dated 2004-11-19) discloses comparing a least significant bit (LSB) of the first UE radio capability information with an LSB of the second UL radio capability information (Paragraph [0123] – “the filter may compare only the least significant bits of VPLS ID 92 to its table of VPLS instances.” Here it is known in the art that two parameters can be compared using the least significant bits. Similarly, it is possible to compare a least significant bit (LSB) of the received radio capability information of the UE with an LSB of the radio capability information of the UE stored at the target network entity.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of 3GPP 1-Zaus-Rexhepi-Wang-Wu-Casati to include the means to comparing and matching a least significant bit (LSB) of the received radio capability information of the UE with an LSB of the radio capability information of the UE allocated from the PLMN as taught by wireless network of Casati and Zelig et al in order to get UE radio capability information updated with the latest information.
Claim 4, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP 1-Zaus-Rexhepi-Wang-Wu-Casati as applied in claim 1, 8, 12 and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20200053554 A1 dated 2020-02-13)
As to claim 4, The combination of 3GPP 1-Zaus-Rexhepi-Wang-Wu-Casati does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Kim et al. (US 20200053554 A1 dated 2020-02-13) discloses The method of claim 1, wherein first UE radio capability information stored in the UE is updated to the second UE radio capability information allocated by the target MME (Claim 16 – “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the AF via the NEF, updated UE radio capability information on UE radio capability ID and at least one UE radio capability mapping to the UE radio capability ID.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of 3GPP 1-Zaus-Rexhepi-Wang-Wu-Casati to include the means to updating with the radio capability information of the UE stored at the target network entity as taught by wireless network of Kim et al. in order to keep the UE updated.
As to claim 11, The combination of 3GPP 1-Zaus-Rexhepi-Wang-Wu-Casati does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Kim et al. (US 20200053554 A1 dated 2020-02-13) discloses The target MME of claim 8, wherein the first UE radio capability information stored in the UE is updated to the second UE radio capability information allocated by the target MME (Claim 16 – “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the AF via the NEF, updated UE radio capability information on UE radio capability ID and at least one UE radio capability mapping to the UE radio capability ID.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of 3GPP 1-Zaus-Rexhepi-Wang-Wu-Casati to include the means to updating with the radio capability information of the UE stored at the target network entity as taught by wireless network of Kim et al. in order to keep the UE updated.
Response to Remarks and Arguments
All the remarks and arguments posted on 03/02/2026 have been reviewed.
In response to applicant’s arguments, “Zaus still fails to teach or suggest that "the target MME identifies that the target MME does not store information matching the received first UE radio capability information."”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zaus describes that "an MME can store only the portions of received information that are relevant to supported capabilities." Here, information matching the received first UE radio capability information can be considered irrelevant, thereby the MME will not store it as mentioned in the claim.
In response to Applicant’s arguments “Therefore, the combination of 3GPP and Zaus fail to teach or suggest "allocating second UE radio capability information to the UE, in case that the target MME identifies that the target MME does not store the information matching the first UE radio capability information, as recited in amended independent Claim 1.” … the combination of 3GPP and Zaus likewise fail to teach or suggest that the second UE radio capability information allocated by the target MME is transferred. Further, Wu merely describes UE radio capability included in the handover request message, but Wu does not teach or suggest "second UE radio capability information allocated to the UE by the target MME under a specific condition." Furthermore, 3GPP merely describes a UE Radio Capability ID included in a handover request from the T-AMF to the T-RAN, but does not teach or suggest "second UE radio capability information allocated to the UE by the target MME under a specific condition" or a handover request including such information. Therefore, the combination of 3GPP, Zaus, and Wu fails to teach or suggest "transmitting, to a target base station, a handover request message comprising the second UE radio capability information allocated by the target MME," as recited in amended independent Claim 1. In contrast, 3GPP merely describes that a target-to-source container including a UE container is transmitted from the T-RAN to the T-AMF, and that the UE container is transmitted to the UE through the T-AMF, S-AMF, and S-RAN, but does not teach or suggest that the UE container includes UE radio capability information - particularly, second UE radio capability information allocated by the target MME under a specific condition.", the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Here, a new amendment, “allocating second UE radio capability information to the UE” has been added. Regarding this new amendment, REXHEPI (WO 2010092457 A1 dated 2010-08-19) has been added to reject this limitation. REXHEPI (WO 2010092457 A1 dated 2010-08-19) discloses allocating second UE radio capability information to the UE (Description, page 8, Fig. 3 – “The RAU Accept or Attach Accept message may include a request for the provision of an inter-RAT information container defining the inter-RAT capabilities of the MS. At operation 104, the MS may provide a RAU Complete or Attach Complete message to the old SGSN. The RAU Complete or Attach Complete message may provide the inter-RAT information container (e.g., including the START_PS and UE RAC capabilities) to the old SGSN.” Here, the inter-RAT information center includes UE RAC capabilities, the network element is sending it to the UE as mentioned in step 102 in Fig. 3. This can be understood that UE radio capability information is being allocated to the UE as mentioned in the claim)
In response to Applicant’s arguments, “Further, CHOI describes that "the cellular controller transmits a UE Capability Enquiry message to the UE." However, CHOI's UE capability enquiry message is intended to request UE capability information to the UE and does not include UE radio capability information.”, the Examiner agrees. Rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, Wang et al. (CN 108632917 A dated 2018-10-09) has been added to reject the corresponding limitations. The details are given above under the respective claims.
Conclusion
/ABDULLAH AL MAMUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/MATTHEW D. ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646