Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 3, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that the LiBOB content disclosed in Yoon is outside the range of the instant claims (p. 4). However, the cited value is only an example. Yoon allows for as much as 5 wt% LiBOB, with a preferred range of up to 0.5 wt% (~0.03 mol/L) (Yoon [0036]), which overlaps the range of the instant claim.
Applicant contends that Yoon does not describe control of the LiBOB concentration (p. 6). However, Yoon describes the concentration relative to the electrolyte as a whole, the concentration of other salts, and the concentration of other additives, with a range of acceptable values for each (Yoon [0036]). Determining an appropriate value for a given electrolyte composition would necessarily entail experimentation and optimization.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 2020/0067078 A1) in view of Ma et al. (“A Study of Esters As Co-Solvents in Lithium-Ion Batteries”, ECS Meeting Abstracts MA2017-02 394, October 2017), Yoon et al. (US 2019/0067740 A9), Aravindan et al. ("Effect of LiBOB Additive on the Electrochemical Performance of LiCoPO4," Journal of the Electrochemical Society 159 A1435, August 2012), and Zhao et al. ("Simultaneous Stabilization of LiNi0.76Mn0.14Co0.10O2 Cathode and Lithium Metal Anode by Lithium Bis(oxalato)borate as Additive," ChemSusChem 11(13), pp. 2211-2220, July 2018).
Regarding claim 1, Son teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising an electrode assembly including a positive electrode (LiCoO2 on aluminum foil, Son [0074]) and a negative electrode (graphite on copper foil, Son [0072]-[0073]), and a non-aqueous electrolyte solution including a solvent (LiPF6 in EC-DEC, Son [0075]), with a N/P ratio (ratio Qn/Qp) of 1.5-2 (Son [0018]), which overlaps the range of the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Son does not teach the addition of methyl acetate to the electrolyte. Ma teaches that adding 5 vol% methyl acetate to a LiPF6 alkylene carbonate electrolyte significantly improves stability of the electrodes (Ma Fig. 1 a and e). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add 5 vol% methyl acetate, which falls within the range of the instant claim, to the electrolyte of Son in order to improve stability of the electrodes.
Son does not teach the addition of 0.025-0.05 M LiBOB to the electrolyte. Yoon teaches that adding up to 0.5 wt% of LiBOB to a LiPF6 alkylene carbonate electrolyte (Yoon [0036], [0041], [0042], and [0045]) significantly improves capacity retention (Yoon [0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add up to 0.5 wt% of LiBOB to the electrolyte of Son (up to approximately 0.03 M) in order to improve capacity retention. In addition, it is well known that LiBOB additive concentration controls capacity retention for a variety of lithium-ion battery chemistries. See, for example, Aravindan Fig. 5 or Zhao Fig. 1. LiBOB concentration is therefore a known result-effective variable. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select an optimum LiBOB concentration, including values with the range of the instant claim, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See, e.g., In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, the electrolyte of Son includes ethylene carbonate (Son [0075]).
Regarding claim 3, the electrolyte of Son includes lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6, Son [0075]).
Conclusion
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722