DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are examined in this office action as claims 6-15 are directed to a withdrawn invention and claims 1 and 4-5 are amended in the reply dated 12/23/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “Mo: 0.1 - ˂2.5” in the composition. As this recitation uses both a dash to indicate that there is a range between two numbers as well as the less than symbol, it is not clear what the amount of Mo is in this composition. A dash indicates that a range is inclusive of its endpoints. Thus, it is not clear whether the claimed amount of Mo is a range between 0.1-2.5%, whether this is merely supposed to be Mo less than 2.5%, or some other meaning. Applicant is reminded that the text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived, see MPEP § 714 and 37 C.F.R. 1.121 (b)(1)(ii). Claims 2-5 are also rejected as they depend from claim 1 and do not solve the above issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6641640 B1 of Hesse.
Table A
Element
Claims 1-5 limitation
(mass %)
Hesse claim 1 (wt %)
C
0.15-1.0%
Not more than 0.5%
N
0.15-1.0%
0.55 to 1.2%
Si
0.1-2.0%
Up to 2% (col 4, line 31)
Mn
10-25%
At least 15% (claim 2)
2 to 26%
Cr
5-21%
At least 14% (claim 3)
11 to 24%
Mo
0.1-˂2.5%
2.5 to 10%
Ni
≤5%
At most 0.1% (claim 4)
Permissible upper limit of 0.5% (col 3, lines 64-66)
Total contents of C and N (claim 5)
0.6-1.5%
0.55 to 1.7%
Fe and unavoidable impurities
Remainder and unavoidable impurities
Iron alloy so balance iron and unavoidable impurities (col 4, lines 27-28)
With respect to claims 1-5, these claims are to a “metal powder for use in an additive manufacturing process”. The claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "'extraneous' limitations from the specification." Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999), see MPEP § 2111.02(II). In the instant case, the claim fully sets forth the structure of the powder by describing its composition, size, and flow rate. As such, the preamble is merely an intended use for the claimed powder and does not limit the scope of the claims.
It is not clear what is meant by “Mo: 0.1 - ˂2.5”, see 112(b) rejection above. For the purposes of applying prior art, this will be interpreted as requiring a range of 0.1 to 2.5% as the dash is considered as creating an inclusive range. Hesse discloses a nickel- and cobalt-free, nitrogen containing steel in powder form having a mean particle size of at least 0.1 micrometer and not more than 100 micrometers (Hesse, col 7, lines 63-67) and discloses a specific example with a mean particle size of 8 micrometers (Hesse, col 10, lines 20-21), meeting the claimed particle size of 5-150 µm.. Hesse discloses the composition of the powder in comparison to the claims in Table A above and Hesse discloses a composition which overlaps the claimed composition. As the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness is established as it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to select the claimed composition over the prior art disclosure since the prior art teaches that this composition produces parts with excellent mechanical properties such as strength and hardness (Hesse, col 11, lines 9-14) throughout the disclosed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) . See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
While Hesse is silent concerning flow rate, Hesse nevertheless discloses that the metallic powder is manufactured using gas atomization (Hesse, col 3, lines 38-39). As Hesse discloses the same starting composition, see Table A above, and applies the same method of gas atomization to form the powder (pg. 16, first paragraph of specification noting use of gas or water atomization to form the powder), the same method applied to the same starting material would produce the same results of the metal powder having a flow rate determined in accordance with DIN EN ISO 4490 of less than 30 sec/50 g. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (emphasis added), see MPEP § 2112.01(I).
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over "Gas–solid interactions during nonisothermal heat treatment of a high-strength CrMnCN austenitic steel powder: Influence of atmospheric conditions and heating rate on the densification behavior." Of Krasokha.
Table B
Element
Claims 1-5 limitation
(mass %)
Krasokha Table 1 (mass %)
C
0.15-1.0%
0.36 %
N
0.15-1.0%
0.40%
Si
0.1-2.0%
0.38%
Mn
10-25%
At least 15% (claim 2)
19.20%
Cr
5-21%
At least 14% (claim 3)
18.00%
Mo
0.1-˂2.5%
1.03%
Ni
≤5%
At most 0.1% (claim 4)
0.36%
Total contents of C and N (claim 5)
0.6-1.5%
0.76%
Fe and unavoidable impurities
Remainder and unavoidable impurities
balanced
With respect to claims 1-3 and 5, these claims are to a “metal powder for use in an additive manufacturing process”. The claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "'extraneous' limitations from the specification." Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999), see MPEP § 2111.02(II). In the instant case, the claim fully sets forth the structure of the powder by describing its composition, size, and flow rate. As such, the preamble is merely an intended use for the claimed powder and does not limit the scope of the claims.
It is not clear what is meant by “Mo: 0.1 - ˂2.5”, see 112(b) rejection above. For the purposes of applying prior art, this will be interpreted as requiring a range of 0.1 to 2.5% as the dash is considered as creating an inclusive range. Krasokha discloses where the particle size is smaller than 200 µm (Krasokha, pg. 4239, section II, left column, 1st paragraph), overlapping the claimed particle size of 5-150 µm and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select within the overlapping range for particle size to reach the claimed invention. “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”, see MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Krasokha discloses the composition in comparison to the claimed ranges in Table B above. As Krasokha discloses a composition which in the example austenitic steel powder has a composition which is within the claimed range for the composition, Krasokha anticipates the claim 1-3 and 5 composition limitations. "[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985), see MPEP § 2131.03(I).
While Krasokha is silent concerning flow rate, Krasokha nevertheless discloses that the metallic powder is manufactured using gas atomization (Krasokha, pg. 4239, section II, left column, 1st paragraph). As Krasokha discloses the same starting composition, see Table B above, and applies the same method of gas atomization to form the powder (pg. 16, first paragraph of specification noting use of gas or water atomization to form the powder), the same method applied to the same starting material would produce the same results of the metal powder having a flow rate determined in accordance with DIN EN ISO 4490 of less than 30 sec/50 g. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (emphasis added), see MPEP § 2112.01(I).
As to claim 4, Krasokha discloses where Ni is 0.36 mass% (Krasokha, Table 1), which is close to the claimed range of at most 0.1 mass%. The MPEP provides that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). See also In re Becket, 88 F.2d 684 (CCPA 1937) ("Where the component elements of alloys are the same, and where they approach so closely the same range of quantities as is here the case, it seems that there ought to be some noticeable difference in the qualities of the respective alloys."), see MPEP § 2144.05(I). Given the closeness of the disclosed Ni amount to the claimed composition, one of ordinary skill would naturally expect the alloys to exhibit the same properties.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over "Gas–solid interactions during nonisothermal heat treatment of a high-strength CrMnCN austenitic steel powder: Influence of atmospheric conditions and heating rate on the densification behavior." Of Krasokha in view of US 6641640 B1 of Hesse.
As to claim 4, in the alternative, while Krasokha does not explicitly disclose where the Ni amount is at most 0.1 mass%, this amount of Ni is obvious in view of the teachings of the art.
Hesse relates to the same filed of endeavor of nitrogen containing steels (Hesse, abstract; see also Table A above showing a composition which overlaps the claimed range). Hesse teaches that a permissible upper limit for nickel in these steel alloys is preferably 0.05 wt% (Hesse, col 3, lines 64-67). Hesse teaches that this content of nickel allows for the use of these alloys on or in the human body such as in a watch, earpiece, or implant (Hesse, col 4, lines 1-3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute control of nickel to be less than 0.05 wt% as taught by Hesse into the steel alloy disclosed in Krasokha, thereby allowing the alloy to be used in such applications as a watch, earpiece, or implant (Hesse, col 4, lines 1-3).
Response to Arguments
With respect to the 103 rejection over Hesse, applicant asserts that claim 1 no longer overlaps the disclosed ranges for Mo in Hesse and therefore Hesse does not render the instant claims obvious (Applicant’s remarks, pg. 7, 1sst full paragraph).
However, as noted in the 112(b) rejection above, the claim limitations concerning Mo are not clear. As the claimed amount for Mo includes both a dash which is inclusive of endpoints as well as a less than symbol, the claimed amount of Mo is not clear. Therefore the broadest reasonable interpretation is that the range is inclusive of the endpoint and Hesse still overlaps the claimed ranges, rendering them obvious.
Further, even if the range for Mo were interpreted as being not being inclusive of 2.5%, this a retreated range from the originally disclosed Mo range of 0.1-3.0% and the Mo amount in Hesse is so mathematically close to the range of 0.1 to less than 2.5% that that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the alloy to have the same or patentably indistinct properties from the alloy with the claimed range. MPEP § 2144.05(I) provides that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties." See also Warner-Jenkinson Co., Inc. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 41 USPQ2d 1865 (1997) (under the doctrine of equivalents, a purification process using a pH of 5.0 could infringe a patented purification process requiring a pH of 6.0-9.0). See also In re Brandt, 886 F.3d 1171, 1177, 126 USPQ2d 1079, 1082 (Fed. Cir. 2018)(the court found a prima facie case of obviousness had been made in a predictable art wherein the claimed range of "less than 6 pounds per cubic feet" and the prior art range of "between 6 lbs./ft3 and 25 lbs./ft3" were so mathematically close that the difference between the claimed ranges was virtually negligible absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality.).In the instant case, there is no showing that the range of 0.1 to less than 2.5% or less exhibits unexpected results nor criticality for this range. As such, the Mo composition of 2.5-10 wt% (Hesse, claim 1) creates a prima facie case of obviousness that is not rebutted by the evidence on record.
Applicant also notes that the example described in Hesse teaches a Mo content of 3.4 wt% in the metal powder (Applicant’s remarks, pg. 7, 1sst full paragraph).
With respect to applicants argument that Hesse teaches away by disclosing a specific example which is higher than the instant claimed range, "the prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed…." In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004), see MPEP § 2141.02(VI). "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)), see MPEP § 2123(I). Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971), see MPEP§ 2123(II).
Thus, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA S CARPENTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JOPHY S. KOSHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733