DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 11, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (US 10,361,337 B2) in view of Bernard (US 2010/0047117 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ahmed et al. teaches a semiconductor light-emitting element collecting apparatus, comprising:
a housing (tank 1202; figure 12) configured to accommodate a fluid (1208; see figure 12) and semiconductor light-emitting elements (micro LED chips 1206, figure 12) therein;
a rotation generator (fluid flow 1210; figure 12) configured to rotate the fluid accommodated in the housing (1202; figure 12); and
a fluid remover (see figure 12 where the fluid 1208 is removed from a bottom surface of the tank 1202) configured to remove the fluid (1208) accommodated in the housing (tank 1202), wherein the semiconductor light-emitting elements (micro LED chips 1206) are settled on a bottom surface of the housing (tank 1202) by a rotation of the fluid accommodated in the housing (see figure 12, fluid flow of 1210 rotating and collecting the LEDs 1206 in tank 1202).
Ahmed et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the rotation generator generates a vortex by rotating the fluid accommodated in the housing, so that the semiconductor light-emitting elements dispersed in the housing are concentrated toward a central portion of the housing.
Bernard teaches wherein the rotation generator generates a vortex by rotating the fluid (liquid mass 200; paragraph [0054]; figure 3) accommodated in the housing (see paragraph [0023] where rotation of liquid to create a vortex is disclosed), so that the light-emitting element (600) dispersed in the housing is concentrated toward a central portion of the housing (100).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ahmed et al. to generate a vortex by rotating the fluid accommodated in the housing as taught by Bernard to ensure a condenser and uniform mixing of the liquid mass is generated (see paragraph [0055] of Bernard).
Regarding claim 2, Ahmed et al. teaches the semiconductor light-emitting element collecting apparatus of claim 1, wherein the housing (tank 1202; figure 12) comprises an opening formed in at least an opposite side to the bottom surface of the housing (see opening in tank 1202 in at least figure 12).
Regarding claim 3, Ahmed et al. teaches the semiconductor light-emitting element collecting apparatus of claim 2, wherein the housing (tank 1202) tapered in width from the opening to the bottom surface (see at least figure 12 where tank 1202 is tapered from the opening to the bottom surface; column 11, lines 14-45).
Regarding claim 4, Ahmed et al. teaches the semiconductor light-emitting element collecting apparatus of claim 1, wherein the rotation generator (fluid flow 1210) rotates the fluid accommodated in the housing (tank 1202) centering on a symmetry axis of the housing (tank 1202; see column 11, lines 14-45 and at least figure 12).
Regarding claim 5, Ahmed et al. teaches the semiconductor light-emitting element collecting apparatus of claim 1, wherein the rotation generator (fluid flow 1210; figure 12) rotates the fluid accommodated in the housing (tank 1202) while moving from an edge to the central portion of the housing (1202; see at least 12 and column 11, lines 14-45 “Fluid flow 1210 is depicted by the arrows for continued circulation of the micro LED chips 1206 over the surface of the substrate 1204 . The substrate 1204 may be a " temporary carrier plate " or the actual display backplane . A gas inlet 1212 provides gas (such as nitrogen ) to generate fluid flow .”).
Regarding claim 6, Ahmed et al. teaches a method for collecting semiconductor light-emitting elements (micro LED chips 1206; figure 12), the method comprising:
feeding a fluid (1208; figure 12) and the semiconductor light-emitting elements (1206; figure 12) to a housing (1202);
rotating the fluid (see fluid flow 1208 in at least figure 12) accommodated in the housing (tank 1202) so that the semiconductor light-emitting elements (1206; figure 12) accommodated in the housing (1202; figure 12) are settled on a bottom surface of the housing (1202; figure 12);
removing the fluid (1208; figure 12) accommodated in the housing (1202; figure 12) in a state where the semiconductor light-emitting elements (1206; figure 12) accommodated in the housing (1202) are settled on the bottom surface of the housing (see figure 12; tank 1202); and
collecting the semiconductor light-emitting elements (1206; see at least figure 12) settled on the bottom surface of the housing (1202).
Ahmed et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the rotation generator generates a vortex by rotating the fluid accommodated in the housing, so that the semiconductor light-emitting elements dispersed in the housing are concentrated toward a central portion of the housing.
Bernard teaches wherein the rotation generator generates a vortex by rotating the fluid (liquid mass 200; paragraph [0054]; figure 3) accommodated in the housing (see paragraph [0023] where rotation of liquid to create a vortex is disclosed), so that the light-emitting element (600) dispersed in the housing is concentrated toward a central portion of the housing (100).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ahmed et al. to generate a vortex by rotating the fluid accommodated in the housing as taught by Bernard to ensure a condenser and uniform mixing of the liquid mass is generated (see paragraph [0055] of Bernard).
Regarding claim 7, Ahmed et al. teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the housing (tank 1202; figure 12) comprises an opening in at least an opposite side to the bottom surface of the housing (see tank 1202 in at least figure 12), and is tapered in width from the opening to the bottom surface (see tank 1202 where from the opening to the bottom surface there is a taper).
Regarding claim 8, Ahmed et al. teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the rotating is carried out to rotate the fluid (1208; see at least figure 12) accommodated in the housing (1202) centering on a symmetry axis of the housing (tank 1202; figure 12).
Regarding claim 9, Ahmed et al. teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the rotating starts at an edge of the housing (1202; figure 12) and ends at a center of the housing (see figure 12 where 1210 enters the housing 1202 at a center).
Regarding claim 10, Ahmed et al. teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the feeding, the rotating, the removing and the collecting are performed after some of the semiconductor light-emitting elements (micro LEDs 1206; figure 12) are seated on preset positions of a substrate (1204; figure 12) within a chamber containing the fluid (1208; see at least figure 12).
Regarding claim 11, Ahmed et al. teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the removing of the fluid (1208; figure 12) is performed by a fluid remover (see figure 12 where the fluid 1208 is removed from a bottom surface of the tank 1202).
Regarding claim 13, Ahmed et al. teaches the semiconductor light-emitting element collecting apparatus of claim 3, wherein a size of the opening is greater than a size of the bottom surface (see opening in tank 1202 in at least figure 12).
Regarding claim 15, Ahmed et al. teaches the semiconductor light-emitting element collecting apparatus of claim 1, wherein the fluid remover is a pump (see figure 12 where the fluid 1208 is removed from a bottom surface of the tank 1202).
Regarding claim 16, Ahmed et al. teaches a collecting apparatus for semiconductor light-emitting elements (micro LED chips 1206), the collecting apparatus comprising: a housing (tank 1202) configured to collect the semiconductor light-emitting elements (micro LED chips 1206) therein, and configured to accommodate a fluid (1208) and the semiconductor light-emitting elements (1206) suspended in the fluid; and a rotation generator (fluid flow 1210; figure 12) to control rotation of the fluid accommodated in the housing (tank 1202) to enable the semiconductor light-emitting elements (1206; figure 12) to settle at a bottom surface of the housing (tank 1202).
Ahmed et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the rotation generator generates a vortex by rotating the fluid accommodated in the housing, so that the semiconductor light-emitting elements dispersed in the housing are concentrated toward a central portion of the housing.
Bernard teaches wherein the rotation generator generates a vortex by rotating the fluid (liquid mass 200; paragraph [0054]; figure 3) accommodated in the housing (see paragraph [0023] where rotation of liquid to create a vortex is disclosed), so that the light-emitting element (600) dispersed in the housing is concentrated toward a central portion of the housing (100).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ahmed et al. to generate a vortex by rotating the fluid accommodated in the housing as taught by Bernard to ensure a condenser and uniform mixing of the liquid mass is generated (see paragraph [0055] of Bernard).
Regarding claim 17, Ahmed et al. teaches the collecting apparatus of claim 16, wherein an arc of rotation of the rotation generator (see figure 12 where fluid flow 1210 rotates through the housing 1202) is decreased from an inside edge of the housing (see figure 12 where the fluid flow 1210 has an arc of rotation that decreases when entering a top edge of tank 1202) towards the central portion of the housing (see figure 12 where 1210 enters the housing 1202 at a center) to enable the semiconductor light-emitting elements (micro LED chips 1206) to settle at the bottom surface of the housing (tank 1202) when the rotation generator (fluid flow 1210; figure 12) is rotating at the central portion (see figure 12).
Regarding claim 18, Ahmed et al. teaches the collecting apparatus of claim 16, further comprising a fluid remover see figure 12 where the fluid 1208 is removed from a bottom surface of the tank 1202) to remove the fluid accommodated in the housing (tank 1202) after the semiconductor light-emitting elements (micro LED chips 1206) settle at the bottom surface of the housing (tank 1202; figure 12).
Regarding claim 19, Ahmed et al. teaches the collecting apparatus of claim 16, wherein the housing (tank 1202; figure 12) comprises an opening formed at an opposite side to the bottom surface of the housing (tank 1202; figure 12), and wherein a size of the opening is greater than a size of the bottom surface (see at least figure 12 where tank 1202 is tapered from the opening to the bottom surface; column 11, lines 14-45 “Fluid flow 1210 is depicted by the arrows for continued circulation of the micro LED chips 1206 over the surface of the substrate 1204 . The substrate 1204 may be a " temporary carrier plate " or the actual display backplane. A gas inlet 1212 provides gas (such as nitrogen) to generate fluid flow.”).
Claim(s) 12, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (US 10,361,337 B2) in view of Bernard (US 2010/0047117 A1) as applied to claims 1, 6 and 14, respectively, above and further in view of Deery et al. (US 2013/0320858 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Ahmed et al. teaches the method of claim 6, but does not explicitly teach wherein the housing is transparent.
Deery et al. teaches a housing that is transparent ( see paragraph [0028] where outer housing 26 can be constructed of a transparent material).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the housing of Ahmed et al. to be transparent as taught by Deery et al. to allow light from the light source to illuminate outward from the housing (see paragraph [0028] of Deery et al.).
Regarding claim 14, Ahmed et al. teaches the semiconductor light-emitting element collecting apparatus of claim 1, but Ahmed et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the housing is transparent.
Deery et al. teaches a housing that is transparent ( see paragraph [0028] where outer housing 26 can be constructed of a transparent material).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the housing of Ahmed et al. to be transparent as taught by Deery et al. to allow light from the light source to illuminate outward from the housing (see paragraph [0028] of Deery et al.).
Regarding claim 20, Ahmed et al. teaches the collecting apparatus of claim 16, but does not explicitly teach wherein the housing is transparent.
Deery et al. teaches a housing that is transparent ( see paragraph [0028] where outer housing 26 can be constructed of a transparent material).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the housing of Ahmed et al. to be transparent as taught by Deery et al. to allow light from the light source to illuminate outward from the housing (see paragraph [0028] of Deery et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment of independent claims 1, 6 and 16. Applicant amended claims 1, 6 and 16 to include the limitation, wherein the rotation generator generates a vortex by rotating the fluid accommodated in the housing, so that the semiconductor light-emitting elements dispersed in the housing are concentrated toward a central portion of the housing. A new reference, Bernard (US 2010/0047117 A1), has been found to teach the limitation of the amended claims. Therefore, claims 1, 6 and 16 remain rejected. See rejection above.
Dependent claims 2-5, 7-15 and 17-20 are rejected based on dependency on a rejected base claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA M APENTENG/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875