DETAILED ACTION
Restriction/Election
In response to the claims filed 07/20/2022, the Office issued a Restriction/Election Requirement on 06/04/2025. The Office required restriction between the invention of Group I (Claims 1-19) and the invention of Group II (Claims 20-25). Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 08/04/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). However, upon further review, Examiner notes that the invention of Group I and the invention of Group II appear to be so linked as to possess unity of invention. Thus, the restriction requirement between the invention of Groups I and II is hereby withdrawn.
In view of the withdrawal of the restriction requirement, applicant(s) are advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application. Once the restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
The Office also required an election between the following patentably distinct species: Species A (afocal magnifying lens train comprises one or more lenses to magnify or demagnify an image of an object, corresponding to FIG. 2), Species B (afocal magnifying lens train comprises objective and ocular lens(es)), and Species C (afocal magnifying lens train comprises a catadioptric system, corresponding to FIG. 6). Applicant’s election of Species A are acknowledged in the reply filed on 08/04/2025. Election was made with traverse. Applicant asserts that Species A and B as delineated (see pgs. 3-4 of Restriction on 06/04/2025) are both within the scope of the embodiment corresponding to FIG. 2. Upon further review, Applicant’s arguments appear to be persuasive. Thus, the previously delineated Species A & B are now considered a single species of Species A, drawn to an afocal magnifying lens train comprising: one or more lenses to magnify or demagnify an image of an object, objective lenses, and ocular lens(es). Nonetheless, Species A and C are still maintained as patentably distinct by virtue of their specific mutually exclusive features as delineated in pgs. 3-4 of Restriction requirement.
The election of species requirement between Species A and C are still deemed proper and is made FINAL. Claims 5-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention of Species C, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Examiner notes that claims 20-25 are cancelled (claims filed 08/04/2025). Accordingly, Claims 1-4, 11-19 and newly added claims 26-31 will be examined herein on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on 07/20/2022 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is/are being considered by the Examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed on 01/23/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of the reference listed that is not in the English language. Specifically, the reference listed under Foreign Patent Literature Document by Narcy et al. with a publication date of 07/15/2005. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority for U.S. National Stage under 35 U.S.C. 371 filed on 01/21/2021 (Application No: PCT/US2021/014408). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55(f)(2).
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 62/963,625 filed 01/21/2020, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application (Application No. 17/794,009), namely the subject matter as recited in claims 2, 4, 6-8, 10-15, 19 and 28-29 (see claims filed 08/04/2025).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
1. a first optical device having a fixed magnification must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 26-31;
2. a second optical device coupled to the first optical device must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 26-31;
3. a first set of optical elements incorporated in a body of at least one of the bars must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 11-12;
4. a second set of optical elements of the first and second magnetic member outer capsules, along with their respective covered and exposed portions must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 11 and 13;
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11-19 and 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bechtold et al. (US 2,945,415 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Bechtold discloses: An optical device (FIGS. 2-4 & 9; c. 1: zoom effect lens system) comprising: an afocal magnifying lens train comprising a plurality of optical elements (c. 9: lens system is preferably afocal); an alignment adjustment mechanism to tilt, tip, or move one or more of the optical elements of the afocal magnifying lens train (c. 5: free sliding movement of the lens unit in the barrel liner; c. 6: the lens unit 18 axially shift; c. 5: The slide bars 81 and longitudinally extending tongues 72 are disposed in parallelism with each other); and a clamp mechanism to secure the optical device to a rail or to another optical device (FIG. 2; c. 4: The end cap 54 carries the objective lens unit 19…end cap 54 is engaged over the rear end of the barrel shell 22 and fixedly positioned on the latter by one or more set screws 55; c. 4-5: intermediate lens unit 18 [part of second opt. dev.] includes a lens mounting annulus 80 disposed axially and slidably within the forward region of the barrel liner…projecting radially outwards from the lens mounting ring 80 is a cam follower lug which may constitute the head of a threaded fastener; c. 9 & FIG. 9: zoom lens is arranged longitudinally alongside of a viewfinder and fixedly secured to the latter by a transversely extending bracket 13).
Regarding Claim 2, Bechtold discloses the optical device according to Claim 1, as above. Bechtold further discloses: wherein the afocal magnifying lens train comprises one or more lenses to magnify or demagnify an image of an object (c. 8-9: movable lenses 73 and 82 are so spaced relative to each other and the fixed lens 67 as to neutralize each other and define an erect image of unit magnification… magnification and de-magnification varies directly with the distance between the lenses and in effect changes the focal length).
Regarding Claim 3, Bechtold discloses the optical device according to Claim 1, as above. Bechtold further discloses: wherein the afocal magnifying lens train comprises lenses that receive light and transmit light with zero or close to zero net convergence of light (c. 8: in zero magnification, i.e., no change in image size over that produced by the objective lens, the lens units of the zoom lens and viewfinder are in substantially the positions shown in Figs. 2, 4, and 7).
Regarding Claim 4, Bechtold discloses the optical device according to Claim 1, as above. Bechtold further discloses: wherein the afocal magnifying lens train comprises an objective lens proximate to a first end of the optical device and an ocular lens proximate to a second end of the optical device opposite the first end (see FIG. 2 showing objective lens 19 proximate to a first end of optical device; c. 2, c.4: lens assembly 19 functions only as an objective lens unit; c. 8: in the normal position, there is no change in image size over that produced by the objective lens; c. 6 & 9: the eyepiece lenses 128 and 129 in the viewfinder barrel 90 [ocular lenses]; see FIG. 4).
Regarding Claim 11, Bechtold discloses the optical device according to Claim 1, as above. Bechtold further discloses: further comprising: a first cradle to support a first set of optical elements of the afocal magnifying lens train, the first set comprising an objective lens (c. 8: zoom lens 10 [set comprising objective lens] includes a generally tubular barrel 15, lens unit 16 and an intermediate lens unit 18 mounted in the barrel between the front and rear lenses; c. 8: change in magnification is dependent only upon movement of the diverging lens 82; c. 5: The slide bars 81 and longitudinally extending tongues 72 are disposed in parallelism with each other); and a second cradle to support a second set of optical elements of the afocal magnifying lens train, the second set comprising an ocular lens (c. 7: viewfinder barrel 90 [set comprising ocular lenses] has a front, converging viewfinder lens unit 91, an intermediate diverging viewfinder lens unit 92, and a rear viewfinder lens unit 93;.c. 7: the intermediate viewfinder lens unit 92 includes a tubular lens mount 117 arranged longitudinally within the barrel shell 95 and slidable forwards and rearwards in the latter).
Regarding Claim 12, Bechtold discloses the optical device according to Claim 11, as above. Bechtold further discloses: wherein the alignment adjustment mechanism is to tilt, tip, or move one or more of the first set of optical elements (c. 6: the lens units 18 and 17 axially shift).
Regarding Claim 13, Bechtold discloses the optical device according to Claim 11, as above. Bechtold further discloses: wherein the alignment adjustment mechanism is to tilt, tip, or move one or more of the second set of optical elements (c. 7: Rotation of the drive ring 103 causes the pin 104 to slide in the groove or guideway 118 and shift the lens unit 92 forwardly and rearwardly in the viewfinder barrel 90).
Regarding Claim 14, Bechtold discloses the optical device according to Claim 1, as above. Bechtold further discloses: further comprising a focus adjustment mechanism to move the one or more optical elements of the afocal magnifying lens train along an optical axis of the afocal magnifying lens train to adjust a focus of the afocal magnifying lens train (FIG. 1; c. 4 & 9: in order to focus the zoom effect lens system for objects at different distances, it is only necessary to rotate the focusing tube 36 relative to the barrel shell 22 to place the desired graduation of scale).
Regarding Claim 15, Bechtold discloses the optical device according to Claim 1, as above. Bechtold further discloses: wherein the alignment adjustment mechanism is a first alignment adjustment mechanism to tilt, tip, or move one or more of the elements along a first axis, and the optical device further comprises a second alignment adjustment mechanism to tilt, tip, or move one or more of the optical elements along a second axis orthogonal to the first axis (FIGS. 2 & 5; c. 6-7: clockwise rotation of the operating Lever or arm 13 [second AA] will axially shift the lens units 18 and 17…movement of the movable lens units [first AA] of both the zoom lens and viewfinder is effected by actuation of the lever 13).
Regarding Claim 16, Bechtold discloses the optical device according to Claim 1, as above. Bechtold further discloses: wherein the clamp mechanism comprises a rail mount (c. 5: The slide (guide) bars 81 and longitudinally extending tongues 72 are disposed in parallelism with each other).
Regarding Claim 17, Bechtold discloses the optical device according to Claim 1, as above. Bechtold further discloses: further comprising an adapter to surround an objective lens of another optical device (c. 4: An end cap 54 [adapter] is engaged over the rear end of the barrel shell 22 and carries the objective lens unit 19 [another device]).
Regarding Claim 18, Bechtold discloses the optical device according to Claim 1, as above. Bechtold further discloses: wherein the clamp mechanism comprises a clamp to mount the optical device onto another optical device (c. 6: an open ended tubular barrel 90, which is disposed longitudinally alongside of the zoom lens 10 and fixedly connected to the latter by the bracket 12 [clamp]…an end portion or loop 106 of the bracket 12 is clamped about or otherwise fixedly secured to the barrel shell 95; c. 7: the bracket 12 fixedly secures the accessory zoom lens 10 and viewfinder 11 in laterally spaced apart relation).
Regarding Claim 19, Bechtold discloses the optical device according to Claim 1, as above. Bechtold further discloses: wherein the clamp mechanism comprises a quick connect rail mount that includes a lever lock (c. 5: the tongues 72 [quick connect rail mount] insure free sliding movement of the lens unit 17 in the barrel liner; c. 6: clockwise rotation of the operating lever 13, as viewed in Fig. 5, will axially shift the lens units 18 and 17 to their extreme position of movement toward each other [rail mount includes lever lock]; c. 7: movement of the movable lens units of both the zoom lens and viewfinder is effected by actuation of the lever 13).
Regarding Claim 26, Bechtold discloses: An optical system comprising: a first optical device having a fixed magnification (c. 4 & 8: the rear lens unit includes converging lens 73 [portion of first optical device] plays no part in changing the magnification of the system; c. 2, c.4: lens assembly 19 [another portion of first device] functions only as an objective lens unit; c. 8: in the normal position, there is no change in image size over that produced by the objective lens); and a second optical device coupled to the first optical device, comprising: an afocal magnifying lens train comprising a plurality of optical elements (c. 9: lens system is preferably afocal); an alignment adjustment mechanism to tilt, tip, or move one or more of the optical elements of the afocal magnifying lens train (c. 5: free sliding movement of the lens unit in the barrel liner; c. 6: the lens unit 18 axially shift; c. 5: The slide bars 81 and longitudinally extending tongues 72 are disposed in parallelism with each other); and a clamp mechanism to secure the second optical device to a rail or to the first optical device (see FIG. 2 showing clamp mechanism 54+55 to secure the second optical device to the first optical device 19, and clamp mechanism 80+84 securing second optical device to rail 81; c. 4: The end cap 54 carries the objective lens unit 19…end cap 54 is engaged over the rear end of the barrel shell 22 and fixedly positioned on the latter by one or more set screws 55; c. 4-5: intermediate lens unit 18 [part of second opt. dev.] includes a lens mounting annulus 80 disposed axially and slidably within the forward region of the barrel liner…projecting radially outwards from the lens mounting ring 80 is a cam follower lug which may constitute the head of a threaded fastener).
Regarding Claim 27, Bechtold discloses the optical system according to Claim 26, as above. Bechtold further discloses: wherein the afocal magnifying lens train comprises lenses that receive light and transmit light with zero or close to zero net convergence of light (c. 8: in zero magnification, i.e., no change in image size over that produced by the objective lens, the lens units of the zoom lens and viewfinder are in substantially the positions shown in Figs. 2, 4, and 7).
Regarding Claim 28, Bechtold discloses the optical system according to Claim 26, as above. Bechtold further discloses: wherein the alignment adjustment mechanism is a first alignment adjustment mechanism to tilt, tip, or move one or more of the optical elements of the afocal magnifying lens train along a first axis, and the second optical device further comprises a second alignment adjustment mechanism to tilt, tip, or move one or more of the optical elements of the afocal magnifying lens train along a second axis orthogonal to the first axis (FIGS. 2 & 5; c. 6-7: clockwise rotation of the operating Lever or arm 13 [second AA] will axially shift the lens units 18 and 17…movement of the movable lens units [first AA] of both the zoom lens and viewfinder is effected by actuation of the lever 13).
Regarding Claim 29, Bechtold discloses the optical system according to Claim 26, as above. Bechtold further discloses: wherein the second optical device further comprises a focus adjustment mechanism to move one or more of the optical elements of the afocal magnifying lens train along an optical axis of the afocal magnifying lens train to adjust a focus of the afocal magnifying lens train (FIG. 1; c. 4 & 9: in order to focus the zoom effect lens system for objects at different distances, it is only necessary to rotate the focusing tube 36 relative to the barrel shell 22 to place the desired graduation of scale) .
Regarding Claim 30, Bechtold discloses the optical system according to Claim 26, as above. Bechtold further discloses: wherein the first optical device and the second optical device each comprise a mechanism to secure the respective optical device to a rail (FIG. 5 & c. 4-5: the rear converging lens unit 17 [first opt. dev.] includes a lens mounting ring 70 slidably received in the rearward portion of the barrel liner 30. A plurality of circumferentially spaced, elongate tongues or slide bars 72 [rail] project forwards from the mounting ring 70…the tongues 72 insure free sliding movement of the lens unit 17 in the barrel liner; FIG. 2 & c. 5: The intermediate lens unit 18 [second device] includes a lens mounting annulus or ring 80 disposed axially and slidably…a plurality of longitudinally extending tongues or slide bars 81 [rail] protect rearwards from the lens mounting ring 80 toward the lens mounting ring 70 and are disposed in parallelism with each other, circumferentially spaced about the mounting ring 80, and each in slidable engagement with the interior surface of the barrel liner).
Regarding Claim 31, Bechtold discloses the optical system according to Claim 26, as above. Bechtold further discloses: wherein the first optical device comprises one or more of a scope, a night-vision imager, a thermal imager, and an optical sighting device (c. 1: an improved viewfinder [optical sighting device] for use with zoom effect lens systems).
Other Relevant Documents Considered
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure: Sauter et al. (US 6,111,692 A) and Shimokawa et al. (US 2009/0237650 A1) both disclose an optical device comprising an afocal magnifying lens train comprising a plurality of optical elements, an alignment adjustment mechanism to tilt, tip, or move one or more of the optical elements of the afocal magnifying lens train, a clamp mechanism to secure the optical device to a rail or to another optical device, and further satisfying some of the additional conditions as claimed.
Conclusion
/SAMANVITHA SRIDHAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872