DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR20190059256A; US20200251777A1 is used as an English equivalent) in view of Kamizori (US20160020494A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte for a lithium secondary battery comprising [0013, Lim]: a lithium salt selected from the group consisting of LiPF6, LiClO4, LiBF4, lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide, lithium bis(pentafluoroethanesulfonyl)imide, LiSO3CF3, lithium bis(oxalate)borate, lithium difluoro(oxalate)borate, lithium difluoro(bisoxalato) phosphate, lithium tetrafluoro(oxalate) phosphate, and a combination thereof [0014, 0042, Lim]; an organic solvent [0015, Lim]; a compound represented by Formula 1A below as a first additive [0022 (Formula 1a), Lim]; lithium difluorophosphate as a second additive [0088, Lim], and prop-1-ene-1,3-sultone as a fourth additive [0080, Lim discloses that sultone-based additives may be added including 1,3-propene sultone (which is equivalent to prop-1-ene-1,3-sultone)] wherein, in Formula 1A, R1 to R3 are each independently hydrogen, or a C1-C3 alkyl group [0022 (Formula 1a), Lim], and L1 is a C1-C3 alkylene group [0022 (Formula 1a), Lim].
Annotated figure of Formula 1a from Lim
In regards to the limitation “and optionally at least one of vinylene carbonate or 1,3-propane sultone as a fifth additive”. The examiner notes that as this is optional the limitation is not required to be rejected as it is not required to be present. However, in the interest of compact prosecution the examiner notes that Lim teaches this [0080, 0086, Lim discloses that 1,3-propane sultone and vinylene carbonate may be used as additives].
Lim further discloses wherein the first additive is included in an amount of 0.1 wt% to 1 wt% based on a total weight of the non-aqueous electrolyte [0024, Lim discloses using the first additive in a range of 0.01-11.5 wt%, which overlaps with the applicants claimed range], the second additive is included in an amount of 0.1 wt% to 1.5 wt% based on the total weight of the non-aqueous electrolyte [0088, Lim discloses adding lithium fluorophosphate as an additive in an amount of 3 wt% or less, which overlaps with the applicants claimed range], and the third additive is included in an amount of 1 wt% to 5 wt% based on the total weight of the non-aqueous electrolyte [0083, Lim discloses adding a fluorinated-substituted carbonate as an additive in an amount of 5wt% or less, which overlaps with the applicants claimed range.], and the fourth additive is included in an amount of 0.1 to 1 wt% based on the total weight of the non-aqueous electrolyte [0080, Lim discloses that the sultone-based additives may be present in an amount of 0.3-5 wt%, which overlaps with the applicants claimed range].
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." (see MPEP 2144.05)].
Finally Lim teaches that the organic solvent includes a carbonate [0057, Lim].
Lim discloses that a halogen-substituted carbonate based compound, such as fluoroethylene carbonate, may be used as an additive [0079, Lim]. But is silent to it being the structure of Formula 2.
However, Kamizori discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte containing for a lithium ion battery in which halogen-substituted carbonate compounds such as fluoroethylene carbonate or trifluoroethyl methyl carbonate, may be used [0094, Kamizori].
Trifluoroethyl methyl carbonate reads on the compound represented by Formula 2 below as an additive and
[Formula 2]
wherein, in Formula 2, L2 is a single bond or a methylene group, R4 is a C1 or C2 alkyl group substituted with at least one fluorine, and R5 is a methyl group or an ethyl group alkyl group.
Annotated figure of Trifluoroethyl methyl carbonate
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Lim such that the halogen-substituted carbonate additive was the Trifluoroethyl methyl carbonate disclosed by Kamizori. Doing so would provide an additive that is capable to improving charge/discharge cycle characteristics and enhancing safety such as high-temperature storage characteristic and overcharge prevention, as taught by Kamizori ([0094]).
Regarding claim 3, Lim as modified above discloses the non-aqueous electrolyte for a lithium secondary battery, wherein the compound represented by Formula 1 is propargyl 1H-imidazole-l-carboxylate [0022 (Formula 1a), Lim].
Regarding claim 5, Lim as modified above discloses the non-aqueous electrolyte for a lithium ion battery, wherein the compound represented by Formula 2 is methyl 2,2,2-trifluoroethyl carbonate [0094, Kamizori discloses using trifluoroethyl methyl carbonate which is equivalent to methyl 2,2,2-trifluoroethyl carbonate].
Regarding claim 12, Lim as modified above discloses the non-aqueous electrolyte for a lithium ion battery, wherein the organic solvent comprises a cyclic carbonate-based solvent and a linear carbonate-based solvent [0046, Lim].
Regarding claim 13, Lim as modified above discloses a lithium secondary battery comprising: a positive electrode including a positive electrode active material [0098, 0130, Lim]; a negative electrode including a negative electrode active material [0109, 0131, Lim]; a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode [0122, 0132 Lim]; and the non-aqueous electrolyte solution [0132, Lim].
Regarding claim 14, Lim as modified above discloses the lithium secondary battery, wherein the positive electrode active material comprises a lithium composite transition metal oxide represented by Formula 3 below [0100-0101, Lim]: [Formula 3] Li (NiaCobMncMd)O2 wherein, in Formula 3, M is W, Cu, Fe, V, Cr, Ti, Zr, Zn, Al, In, Ta, Y, La, Sr, Ga, Sc, Gd, Sm, Ca, Ce, Nb, Mg, B, or Mo, and a, b, c, and d are atomic fractions of each independent elements, which satisfy 0.5≤a<1, 0<b≤0.3, 0<c≤0.3, 0≤d≤0.05, and a+b+c+d=1 [0100-0101, Lim].
Regarding claim 15, Lim as modified above discloses the lithium secondary battery, wherein a, b, c, and d in Formula 3 are 0.70≤a≤0.95, 0.025≤b≤0.20, 0.025≤c≤0.20 and 0≤d≤0.03, respectively [0101, Lim].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See below for additional details.
Applicant argues the use of Lim requiring an easter. But they additionally teach of using a carbonate as an organic solvent. This reads on the applicant’s claimed limitation.
Applicant then argues the lithium salts of Mu and Kim. However, these are not relied upon for the rejection of claim 1. As such, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
The examiner maintains their rejection
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (12/10/25) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following prior art discloses using the first, second, fourth and fifth additives in concentrations that overlap with the applicant’s claimed range.
CN 111244546 A (Mu)
US 2022140391 A1 (Kim)
/QUINTIN D. ELLIOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724